Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » July 29th, 2012, 10:40 pm

you running a good skimmer?

Postby UML » July 29th, 2012, 11:04 pm

HondaB20B wrote:you running a good skimmer?

i find it good...but then again i dont know what to expect cause im a noob.

most ppl say its not good :(

but santoo has one as well and he say he satisfied with it
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 30th, 2012, 12:25 am

i running a seaclone on my FOWLR 75gal and it works ok. Its on a timer and runs from 7pm to 9am cause it scares the fish during the day. Too much damn fine bubbles. Its running nearly 2 yrs with no probs. small bioload though. On my big tank, I running a 250 gal skimmer....... no fine bubbles whatsoever because of the bio-pin wheel. I not even running extra baffles in my sump. its 25" tall with a 11"X12" footprint. it pulls real gunk out of my tank and has been running nonstop 11+mths now. Guess that what keeps my water clean. I feed my fish about 10-15 times a day..............real heavy too. garlic Pellets, freeze dried mysis, krill & plankton, frozen mysis, nori. A bottle of freeze dried Plankton (1oz - 28 grams) lasts me about under 2 wks. also feed them krill and mysis which is high protein. So you have to be skimming allot.
Also the more LR you have, the better filtration you get cause it helps absorb stuff
you want your nitrates to go to zero?......................................run bio-pellets or do vodka dosing or even both like me. allot of people recently started dosing vinegar with great results.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 30th, 2012, 2:51 am

anybody know where i cud get my hands on alligator gar?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 30th, 2012, 9:48 am

check Fishy Bizniz in dinsley.
He had 2 the last time I check.

ryan99tt wrote:anybody know where i cud get my hands on alligator gar?

LucaG

Postby LucaG » July 30th, 2012, 10:37 am

Saltwater Aquarium for sale with live rock, sand, fish, lighting, skimmer, phosban reactor, power head, hang on/internal overflow box.

Fish:
Purple Tang
Royal gramma
3 x Chromis
2 x Black Clownfish
Bubble tip anemone
Two frags of Pulsing Xeina

Equipment:
Aquarium - 25" Wide x 25" Deep x 25" High - Its a square tank. - $4000
Sump Tank - 20" Wide x 12" Deep x 15" High - $125
Coralife T5 Quad Lamp Fixture with Lunar Aqualight Led 30" T 5 - $2500
Aqua Lifter Pump with hang on bracket - $185
Phosban Aquarium Phosphate Reactor 150 with Top Quality Phosban (1 lb) - $700
Seaclone 150 Protein Skimmer - $300
Koralia Evolution Water Pump 1050gph - $350
E.S.V. B-Ionic 2 Part Calcium Buffer (2 x 1 Gallon Bottles) - $ 400

Coming with built in stand and cabinet

Price of Equipment (fish not included in price) -$8560 TTD

Contact Nicholas @ 472-8645
Last edited by LucaG on July 30th, 2012, 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 30th, 2012, 11:41 am

fellas I need help finding lighting for a 5 foot tank, I already have a canopy. Where can I get two 30' or a 60' fixture locally? Need this asap thanks

Postby foss » July 30th, 2012, 11:46 am

guys,

any of you have problems with the pumps purchased locally?

I have a few of the same brand that stopped working. Even got the kits to repair them and that didn't help. Brand is Stellar (yea right lol)

Any one else has probs ? I have maybe 6 that arent working..

Postby sharkman121 » July 30th, 2012, 12:14 pm

foss wrote:guys,

any of you have problems with the pumps purchased locally?

I have a few of the same brand that stopped working. Even got the kits to repair them and that didn't help. Brand is Stellar (yea right lol)

Any one else has probs ? I have maybe 6 that arent working..

stop buying Stellar :|

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 30th, 2012, 1:00 pm

Should I get like 15 lbs of live rock and 15 lbs of dry rock or all live rock, to save money nah...?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2012, 1:05 pm

guys i am gonna buy two fishing rods to use for fishing at chaguaramas....I an not too familiar with brand size etc.....so i would appreciate if u guys could recommend some rods for me or at least point me in the right direction....

thanks.!!

Postby sharkman121 » July 30th, 2012, 1:17 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:guys i am gonna buy two fishing rods to use for fishing at chaguaramas....I an not too familiar with brand size etc.....so i would appreciate if u guys could recommend some rods for me or at least point me in the right direction....

thanks.!!

think you might get better answers for this in the fishermen thread.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2012, 1:19 pm

kool...didnt know there was a fisherman thread....

Postby sharkman121 » July 30th, 2012, 1:20 pm

Yeh, the OP is Wall.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2012, 1:24 pm

thnaks found it....

I will be revisiting this thread however as i will soon be starting a lil project....small pond with fountain to rear some kois.....

Postby UML » July 30th, 2012, 5:52 pm

wahs a good thermometer for my reef tank? my thermometer konk out....changed the battery but nuttin...........like i need a prayers for this tank!!!

wahs a good thermometer and where can i get it.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 31st, 2012, 6:31 pm

Do you really need RODI water and unit? does anyone have?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 31st, 2012, 10:21 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Do you really need RODI water and unit? does anyone have?

Nah, you really dont need one. Fish and coral will live, Its just that when you setup your reeftank you'll be crying with high phosphates along with algae. It will take you weeks or mths to get the nutrients out. And dont think about using Bluewaters water................. Thats just RO water. Problems with that in a reef also. Its about $2000-2500 for a RO/DI unit and for every 150-200gal of water made, you need to replace the DI media which is another $100. Then about every 6mths you have to change the charcoal and 5 & 10 micron filters........... which is an additional $2-300. This hobby really not cheap pal.......................... IT CAN REALLY BREAK THE PIGGY BANK :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

tecpure

Postby tecpure » July 31st, 2012, 11:29 pm

hi guys what you all think about aquarium& koi fish show there will be salt water fish in the show also

link

Postby link » August 1st, 2012, 1:09 am

tecpure wrote:hi guys what you all think about aquarium& koi fish show there will be salt water fish in the show also

what show ??? been out of circulation this last couple weeks...
rgds

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2012, 2:24 am

link wrote:
tecpure wrote:hi guys what you all think about aquarium& koi fish show there will be salt water fish in the show also

rgds

WHEY SAH..................... where you was............ Like it had ah SOE by you or whah :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .................... :pokes:

link

Postby link » August 1st, 2012, 10:13 am

HondaB20B wrote:
link wrote:

rgds

WHEY SAH..................... where you was............ Like it had ah SOE by you or whah :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .................... :pokes:

worse than that....flying frog invasion...
every tub (6) with spawned fighters 'got' eggs laid in them...boi ah cuss...is like dem frog wait until the eggs start hatching, THEN invade.
on top of that, the 400gal tank I prepared for fry transfer also got frog eggs, so had to clean & refill with pipewater, treat with salt & thio then transfer abt 650 fry (green/green & cobalt/cobalt halfmoon parents).
cyar wait for this growout

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 1st, 2012, 12:05 pm

RODI to expensive... you have one? Hmmm what if u put plants in the water for a week since plants use all those nutrients. :?

I WANT CORALS NOW!!!!!!!!!!! :crying: :crying: :crying: :crying: :crying: :crying:
Last edited by Reefplanet on August 1st, 2012, 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2012, 12:11 pm

Reefplanet wrote:RODI to expensive... you have one? Hmmm what if u put plants in the water for a week since plants use all those nutrients.

I WANT CORALS NOW!!!!!!!!!!!

Good luck with that :lol: i learnt the hard way dealing with algae blooms and excess phosphates in my system before i bought my ro-di unit.

besides being an expensive hobby, it is a PATIENT hobby. the only thing that comes quickly is death. :|

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 1st, 2012, 12:17 pm

Wish trinidad seas were clean........ :cry:

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2012, 12:22 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Wish trinidad seas were clean........ :cry:

depends on where you go..

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 1st, 2012, 12:36 pm

Where in trinidad has clean safe water?

Postby UML » August 1st, 2012, 12:37 pm

HondaB20B wrote:i running a seaclone on my FOWLR 75gal and it works ok. Its on a timer and runs from 7pm to 9am cause it scares the fish during the day. Too much damn fine bubbles. Its running nearly 2 yrs with no probs. small bioload though. On my big tank, I running a 250 gal skimmer....... no fine bubbles whatsoever because of the bio-pin wheel. I not even running extra baffles in my sump. its 25" tall with a 11"X12" footprint. it pulls real gunk out of my tank and has been running nonstop 11+mths now. Guess that what keeps my water clean. I feed my fish about 10-15 times a day..............real heavy too. garlic Pellets, freeze dried mysis, krill & plankton, frozen mysis, nori. A bottle of freeze dried Plankton (1oz - 28 grams) lasts me about under 2 wks. also feed them krill and mysis which is high protein. So you have to be skimming allot.
Also the more LR you have, the better filtration you get cause it helps absorb stuff
you want your nitrates to go to zero?......................................run bio-pellets or do vodka dosing or even both like me. allot of people recently started dosing vinegar with great results.

if i get a biopellet reactor will the nitrates drop to zero?

how often will I have to do partial water changes?

can i put a biopellet reactor on a freshwater tank to control nitrates as well?

i know nothing about the vodka dosing? wah brand, amount, how often?

my whole thing is i trying to make my tank easy to maintain....less work and effort for me....i already find i does have to top off my water too often (every 2 days) so i want less work. Hence the reason I trying to avoid the water changes so often.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2012, 1:27 pm

Reefplanet wrote:RODI to expensive... you have one? Hmmm what if u put plants in the water for a week since plants use all those nutrients. :?

I WANT CORALS NOW!!!!!!!!!!! :crying: :crying: :crying: :crying: :crying: :crying:

:shock: ................................. you on your own pal.
Try and get you tank set up and running properly first, then look for coral. Just warning you now, this is not keeping guppies in a lil aquarium that yuh forget to feed for ah few days and the water looking dirty.................................. cause the only thing you will surely have is a memory of it. If you figure it easy, it aint so. Its allot of dedication for the first few mths, after that, the tank starts to run on its own. When you rush things and you get either ick or velvet in your tank, you will bawl. Saltwater ick worse than freshwater ick. About 95% of meds for ick not reef or invert safe. And well if you get Velvet, it will wipe out every fish in your tank in 2-4 days. Try to take people advise on the forum and you wont get burned. Its true you have to face a tank wipeout to have experience, but dont try some of those things you thinking about. Also, everything you read on the internet is not always true on certain fish, get the advise from people that have the fish or coral or invert and work from there. guessing will cost you $$$$$$. I myself still have problems with corals, the ones that they have for experts growing good, but the ones for beginners lasting a few wks :pwned: ............................. I have a pardner that that in it allot longer than me and is the opposite. Yet still he breeding clownfish with ease. Some people just lucky. Allot of people start the hobby, crash and burn and then say the hobby hard and expensive...............then get fedup and want to sell. Take your time, get advise from fellas on the forum, use the internet (google is you friend) .......................... first things first REEFPLANET, i know you're young, but...............YOU EVER BOUGHT A BOOK ON KEEPING SALTWATER FISH?

NOW I'M NOT BASHING YOU OR ANY ONE THAT FIND IT OFFENSIVE ON WHAT I'VE SAID HERE, BUT WE ARE ALL HERE TO LEARN. I MYSELF AM STILL LEARNING ON KEEPING FISH AND CORAL.
just my 2cents, anyone else?

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2012, 1:32 pm

check out an auto top off system so u wont have to manually top up water. i use one from JBJ Auto.