Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » July 17th, 2012, 11:58 pm

why you dont use wood (pitch pine) ...............3X3 for the legs and 4X2 or 6X2 for the braces

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 18th, 2012, 12:07 am

I though steel would be cheaper & stronger... Will search for wood work place in directory tomorrow.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 18th, 2012, 12:22 am

with wood you have no corrosion to worry about. 1" angle iron? what size tank is it

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 18th, 2012, 12:27 am

48"x18"x18"
Ooooooooooooooohhh.... Corrosion. Riiiiiiiiiiiiiight... Forgot about that!

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 18th, 2012, 12:38 am

if you going steel with that size tank, you cant use 1" angle iron. thats about 60gal +live rock+sand............thats nearly 1000lbs. The smallest you can use is 2"X2" angle iron or 2"X2" hollow section (square), better if you get 3"X2" even. then for best results and long term, get it sandblasted and painted properly. If you dont, in the long run you in problems. Power brushing and painting is a waste of time. Get an industrial paint.

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » July 18th, 2012, 1:27 am

honda I beam is d real ting

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 18th, 2012, 6:55 am

eternal audio wrote:honda I beam is d real ting

beside too costly, its overkill for the size tank. The way how angle iron is designed it can hold a great amount. Its only 18" wide X 48" long. The load is not that much to distribute the weight. If the tank was wider than 24" and maybe 6-8 ft, you can still go to 3"X3" or 3"X4" angle iron or hollow section. Besides going bigger, you can still maintain the same size angle iron and just go up with the actual thickness which increases your load bearing forces. If i'm not mistaken, you can get it in 3/16", 1/4" and 5/16" thickness. The thing with steel now is the cost for welding and getting someone to build it properly and know what they doing. It hard to go and let a muffler man weld it up and 6 mths down the road your livingroom or bedroom flood out. The welder must know what he doing and ensure he gets full penetration on all joints, because he might weld it and then want to grind flush (smooth) after due to cosmetic reasons, but what he has actually done is weakened the joint. You might not see it early on but the downward force is not the problem............ if not braced properly, any sideways motion can be the downfall. Better you build the stand properly first because, who knows, it might be in that same spot 5 years down the road and stabilized only to realize the stand crack or really rusted. It will be really hard to take down your tank just to fix something you should of fixed in the beginning............. I AINT GO LIE, THIS AINT NO CHEAP HOBBY NAH............. IT REALLY ADDS UP IN THE END.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » July 18th, 2012, 12:02 pm

^^ How the new calcium reactor and sulphur de nitrator working on the tank ???

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 18th, 2012, 12:26 pm

It going good for now......................... had a lil issues at first to dial it in with the bubble counter but it was later resolved by the manufacturer. Got the tank filled by IGL and it should last me about 1yr+ so i can increase with the SPS now. Saw a nice acropora by raj.
Now looking into getting a reliable dossing pump that can dose vodka daily to supliment the corals and enhance color.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 18th, 2012, 1:13 pm

Ahahahaha ah vodka dosing LOL. I've heard that some ppl defuse CO2 in their tank to make calcium carbonate. Hey when Santoo taking over Nu Image?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 18th, 2012, 1:22 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Ahahahaha ah vodka dosing LOL. I've heard that some ppl defuse CO2 in their tank to make calcium carbonate. Hey when Santoo taking over Nu Image?

Why you laugh at that. Dont you know you actually use vodka that you drink (non flavored) to feed the corals?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 18th, 2012, 1:25 pm

Really ......I did not know that, remember I am new to this

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 18th, 2012, 2:05 pm

It actually also lowers nitrates and phosphates................ you just have to know what you doing
Last edited by HondaB20B on July 18th, 2012, 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 18th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Lol I can't just say "hey dad immature buy some vodka" hahaha!.......I'm going buy raj Friday, I cant wait :D

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 18th, 2012, 2:39 pm

for live rock?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 18th, 2012, 4:02 pm

live rock and sand

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 18th, 2012, 4:13 pm

what about water

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 18th, 2012, 5:04 pm

I called Little Amazon today. The have ready made stands for just my size! 48''x18'' I'll check them out tomorrow. Can't wait to finally get this tank going and cycled properly! It just sitting on the bed in the spare bedroom...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 18th, 2012, 5:25 pm

Thats on ciperro st right?

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 18th, 2012, 6:35 pm

Nah. Its in Cunupia. Sorta opposite the football field around by Homeland Gardens. 2mins away from RumRunners...

Postby shogun » July 18th, 2012, 7:34 pm

Thinking of getting a tank. Any views on the fluval edge tanks?

Postby UML » July 18th, 2012, 8:57 pm

BAZZINGA wrote:Nah. Its in Cunupia. Sorta opposite the football field around by Homeland Gardens. 2mins away from RumRunners...

2 locations - Cipero Street San Fernando (south of Scotia Bank) & Southern Main Road, Cunupia (east of Homeland Gardens)

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 19th, 2012, 1:12 am

Ooooooooh... Well look at that! 2 locations! Haha! My bad...

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 19th, 2012, 1:52 pm

What about water Honda...I have a 50g bag of salt for the main tank and the sump raj has sea water? Lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 19th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Reefplanet wrote:What about water Honda...I have a 50g bag of salt for the main tank and the sump raj has sea water? Lol

you going to use tap water with the salt to full the tank? You need to have the salt mixed and areated 24 hrs prior to using it. If you use it just like that, you can seriously burn fish and other livestock also could put them in shock. Raj sells 5gal pre mixed salt water for $35

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 19th, 2012, 9:12 pm

Lol I'm mixing the water before the live rock tomorrow..imma mix the salt n leave it overnight so buy saturday the live rock n sand would be in.

Postby UML » July 20th, 2012, 9:26 am

*random lol*

what is the most effective way to reduce and control nitrates?

water change? refugium? mangrove plants? biopellets reactor? other?

I need to get my nitrates under control

btw does the salt mixing wait for 24hrs apply for water changes as well? or only when u now starting up?

didnt know about that......i usually mix and throw it in when i doing my water change. :oops:
Last edited by UML on July 20th, 2012, 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 20th, 2012, 9:31 am

Woke up and saw one of my cichlids died :(

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 20th, 2012, 6:35 pm

Reefplanet, yuh just ride out from by Raj.
Hope you had the salt mixed already for the tank.

Saw Raj bring in these fish. Saw them today. The fish real sweet in real.
Harlequin tusk.jpg
Batfish.jpg

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 21st, 2012, 8:13 am

He also have 3 of these.......................
horseshoe crab.jpg
horseshoe crab.jpg (29.2 KiB) Viewed 2162 times