TriniGT's Project R32 GTR - Fuel Setup On The Way!!!

Death-Row

Re: TriniGT's Project R32 GTR

Postby Death-Row » July 7th, 2012, 11:34 pm

Shio wrote:pbn registration?

yup.

know the car personally jason. this was the reason why my silvia went up for sale for the short time. decided to keep the silvia tho.

you got a really nice car tho bro. keep it simply i feel, the car looked great in black i fine. with those bronze TEs you got there on the black, stock spoiler etc. with the beauty of an engine you got there. would really be a timeless 32 to go down in the books.

good luck with the build, will check in from time to time.

525isport

Postby 525isport » July 8th, 2012, 7:01 am

TriniGT wrote:My predicament,

there you go problem sovled .

it just looks right

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 8th, 2012, 2:48 pm

Yep made up my mind, gunmetal it is. Calling the painter today. Have to order front and rear windscreen moldings and need to find upper door finishers. Does anyone know where had a two shell scrapping?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 8th, 2012, 3:26 pm

Friend of mines had a gtr r32 shell for 10k, no engine, box or brakes but everything else, body, interior, rearend, suspension etc.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 9th, 2012, 7:54 am

Hmm sounds good but at this point I just don't have the space for it, if he is willing to sell some items I am willing to purchase, namely all the windscreen moldings, door moldings, trunk interior and maybe some dashboard parts and maybe the dashboard itself if it has not bubbled yet. Let me know if he is willing to part out.

Postby Razkal » July 9th, 2012, 8:56 am

wow good luck with this translation in the build process you clever bastard!

what about a millenium jade colour choice? i wish rx7s looked good in green, i'd have jaded mine like a mo' fo'..

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 9th, 2012, 9:42 am

I seriously thought of the millenium jade and it was on the list but the colour is a luxurious colour which the R32 is not so I opted out, it is more suited to an R34 which has more looks and than power the R32 is more beast than looks.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 14th, 2012, 7:10 pm

Just a couple of phones pics of some progress, the rear has been somewhat stripped, all the windscreen moldings and upper glass moldings removed, I need to start finding replacements, picked up the Nismo three piece sideskirts and the Nismo rear lip spoiler to add to the collection of items to go on. Not the best pics but it was all I had.
Nismo Front Bumper,
Nismo Sideskirts,
Nismo Lip Rear Spoiler,

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 16th, 2012, 10:39 am

ill give you my s14 for that car, AS IS RIGHT NOW hahahah. good luck bro. really excited to see what you cook up here.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 16th, 2012, 1:00 pm

Haha thanks just need to get my hands on some windscreen moldings and door glass moldings and I should be set. Painter found some rust spots to the rear arches that were fillered so he is removing the filler and repairing the metal along with some horrid engine bay intercooler holes and whatnot and and then the engine bay should have new paint by weekend he said. Of course pics will follow whenever I get a chance to see progress.

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » July 16th, 2012, 5:27 pm

Will get some pics for you soon Jason. Keep me posted :)

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 17th, 2012, 8:04 am

No probs Kev, I still hunting for the moldings currently, not so urgent as yet as they can be fitted after. I can't wait to see the engine bay colour, he said he wants me to okay the colour and then he can continue prepping the rest of the car for the respray.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 21st, 2012, 10:32 am

Got another piece to the puzzle, Tomei intake and exhaust manifold gaskets. The head gasket came as well but not needed, can be cleaned and reused but will just keep it as extras. Gaskets will be mocked up to see where needs some porting and then once done I can refit the intake and exhaust manifolds and the turbo and then the A/C and powersteering pumps etc.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 22nd, 2012, 1:15 pm

bro did you get the mouldings locally?

tarzan

Postby tarzan » July 22nd, 2012, 1:23 pm

when i grow up...i wanna be like TriniGT

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » July 22nd, 2012, 3:29 pm

Very, very nice :shock:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 22nd, 2012, 10:33 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:bro did you get the mouldings locally?

Windscreen moldings, nothing yet. Still looking around. Right now I got the metal gaskets but the job was harder than I thought, the Dremel worked well but it was tough, here are some pics of what was done, still have some cleaning to do though, as things settled dust collected so gonna cleanup some of the engine again. The intake manifold did not come out the way I wanted it to, the colour is not really what I was after but I will see how it works out or I will get it redone at some point.
Primed
Duplicolor Metal Cast
Freshly Painted
Dried
Porting Tomei Metal Intake Gaskets, oh the fun
Done
Fitted new Coolant Pipes to the Block
Fitted the Balance Tube Setup and Upgraded 50mm Throttles and used a sliver of silicone on the gaskets as some of the protecting film came off with the porting

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 22nd, 2012, 10:37 pm

DIY, the best way.

Can't wait to see the finished prod

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 23rd, 2012, 8:45 am

I may fit a normal intake manifold for now as the painted one will get ruined for sure when the engine is installed. Likewise with the cam covers they too will not be installed until after the engine is fitted to the car. I still jave lots of stuff to get for the car, both on the engine side and for the vehicle so bit by bit things will fall into place. Here is my current list of items to get,

Nismo Bonnet Lip - Should be getting that this coming weekend.
Front and Rear Windscreen Trim Kits - May have to order these items new from Japan
Upper Door Trim - Still looking around for this from a two door, preferrably from someone that has a shell scrapping
Left and Right Door Rubbers - May buy new if it can be had used
Need to pickup a couple interior bits, remove the front seats and give the interior a general cleaning, the dashboard may be replaced with another and then I need to run my gauges and whatnot to have things the way I want them.

For the engine I still need to order a timing belt and also an ATi Damper pulley, would love to order a Mines Cam Cover Baffle Kit as well, other than that I need to get the car back and see what all needs replacing on the harness. All the engine mounts and transmission mounts are Nismo and the rear subframe I have on the ground is complete with Nismo bushings. The rear frame is full of all Nismo arms and supposedly an upgraded differential as well, I will ave to scrap everything out and take a peak to really know for sure as the front diff is stock. I currently have four gearboxes and the plan is to run the one that came with the engine hoping that it can take the jamming, will swap over the short shifter from the other that came with the R32 same time.

Things to be done on the car currently, the body only had two major rust spots notorious with the R32, just behind the rear wheels, the previous owners decided to just do a botch job and slap filler over them, my painter saw this and cut them out entirely, man there tons of filler in that area, he assured me not to worry that he will make new pieces and refit and skim it lightly with filler. The sideskirting and rear spats along with the Nismo Tail Lip spoiler have already been primed along with the underside of the trunklid so things are progressing. The edges of the doors and windscreens too have been prepped somewhat and he said that by this weekend the entire car will be prepped and primed. We'll see how that all unfolds. Pics to folllow of any progress on that side.

As for the wheels, the current ones will be for sale and the TE37s I have will be blasted and powder coated in a satin black if that option is available. I will also see if the calipers can be stripped and then prepped for a suitable colour. When the car comes back home I will treat the underneath with some pressure washing and cleaning and then an undercoat using 3M rubberized undercoating and same time I will remove all the current fuel lines and prep it for the -6AN fuel lines for fuel delivery and a single -8AN return line from fuel rail to the swirl pot. Still trying to think about how to present the trunk area with the fuel setup, want it to really look proper. Let me just get the car home and things can begin.

Postby turbosingh » July 23rd, 2012, 8:59 am

Intake looking bess.

wilddog

Postby wilddog » July 24th, 2012, 9:56 pm

yellow calipers

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 25th, 2012, 8:01 am

wilddog wrote:yellow calipers

Huh, I may paint the calipers bright silver, maybe like a sparkling silver for them to stand out behind the black wheels. Taking down the Trust intercooler to check fitment to ensure whatever needs trimming is done before the stuff goes to be painted. I am thinking at least the front bumper support bar will need some shaving to the inside for the FMIC to fit. Gonna take down the headlights and indicators even though one is broken to check fitment and ensure the lines on the front are perfect.

moti

Postby moti » July 25th, 2012, 8:10 am

can't picture the silver calipers going well with your plan of colour scheme i.e. gunmetal with black rims nah maybe the same gunmetal with the nissan in silver? maybe i just sayin

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 25th, 2012, 8:17 am

Think of the Z-Tune or the Millenium Jade with the black wheels, they both have the silver calipers. Still up in the air anyway, when I am ready I want to strip them down and service everything, some of the bleeder nipples are clogged so everything will be thoroughly cleaned, painted and refitted. Will see, may even powder coat them. Not going black though or anything too dark where you will not notice them, trying to see if I can get bigger rotors and dob bone adapters for them to fill the entire area behind the wheel, maybe like some 355mm rotors or something.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 25th, 2012, 8:43 am

Evo Brembo conversion time?

S15 pewter silver paint
Black TE37s with blue decals
Calipers done lambo style i.e. yellow with BREMBO decals in black

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 25th, 2012, 11:36 am

Hmmmm but with black Brembos stencil.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 25th, 2012, 6:56 pm

looking sweeet

Postby javishm » July 25th, 2012, 9:50 pm

sweeetttt

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 26th, 2012, 12:39 pm

That's not my brakes, but an idea of the silver I am looking at. Or maybe a metallic gun grey similar to the colour of the car with black or white stenciling.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » July 26th, 2012, 9:23 pm

The 32 looking good.....Cyar wait to see the end product....

For me the white stenciling sounding deadly.....Not as comon as the black and red....