OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

Re: collection of happiness!!!!!!

Postby zoom rader » March 11th, 2012, 4:12 pm

boomkid wrote:now starting d collection of all my favourites!!!!!!!!

Damm Dude, you got a serious collection there !

Re: OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

Postby zoom rader » March 11th, 2012, 4:15 pm

Anyone knows where sells the 21 year old Johnnie walker limited Edition?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » March 11th, 2012, 7:23 pm

indian duty free.....

Postby eliteauto » March 11th, 2012, 7:57 pm

for people that like 10 Cane, and more importantly those who love mojitos, cosmos etc I suggest you look at getting a bottle of cachaca, which is also made with fresh cane juice as opposed to rum which is made with molasses, I was introduced to this recently at a seminar hosted by Brydens who sells the Sagatiba brand, quite good as a straight drink and excellent in cocktails. Liked it so much that I got this in Brazil on a recent trip

http://www.cocktailtimes.com/dictionary/cachacas.shtml

Postby De Dragon » March 11th, 2012, 11:57 pm

American Guy I work with recently was drinking a bottle of 35 year old Jack Daniel's. I was fasting so I could not partake, but he promised me a bottle after Lent. Anyone ever had this?

Postby zoom rader » March 20th, 2012, 8:00 am

Glenfiddich, from my collection of Rare Malts only 100 of these where made.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » March 20th, 2012, 8:18 am

very nice, you going to taste it?

Postby zoom rader » March 20th, 2012, 8:23 am

gfbl wrote:very nice, you going to taste it?

These are collectors Malts for investments. I did taste it when I brought it. When you buy rare malts it sometimes comes with a Dram for tasting.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » March 20th, 2012, 8:38 am

best youve ever had?

Postby zoom rader » March 20th, 2012, 9:13 am

gfbl wrote:best youve ever had?

The 40 year old Glenfiddich was even better, but this sells for 1500 pounds a bottle.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2012, 6:45 pm

Appleton 50yr Old Rum

Appleton Estate 50 Year Old Jamaica Rum – Jamaica Independence Reserve is believed to be the oldest rum in the world available for sale and only 800 bottles of this very rare, Limited Edition bottling will be made available for sale around the world at a target Retail Price of US$5,000 per 750ml bottle.

Appleton Estate 50 Year Old Jamaica Rum - Jamaica Independence Reserve

In 1962 just before Jamaica received its independence, several barrels of rums from the Appleton Estate were set aside to age with the edict that these rums were to be used to create a very special blend of 50 Year Old Rum that would celebrate the 50th Anniversary of Jamaica’s Independence.

These rums were placed in a special area in one of our ageing warehouses and for fifty years they were carefully monitored, first by Master Blender Owen Tulloch and then by current Master Blender, Joy Spence.

As the rums rested in the oak barrels a transformation took place as rich, complex flavours and aromas were developed naturally from the interaction of the rum with the oak and the rums also became very smooth and mellow and developed a dark mahogany colour.

In preparation for the 50th Anniversary of Jamaica’s Independence, Master Blender Joy Spence conducted extensive quality checks on each barrel of rum to ensure that it had achieved the smoothness, complexity and richness worthy of the Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum 50 Year Old – Jamaica Independence Reserve.

Once Joy confirmed that the barrels had aged to perfection, each barrel was then individually rolled out of the warehouse to ensure that its cherished contents were protected.

After resting in oak barrels for fifty years, the final phase of the precious rum’s journey had begun.

Under Joy’s watchful eye, the cooper carefully removed the bung from each barrel and after resting in oak for fifty years the Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum 50 Year Old Jamaica Independence Reserve was finally released.

Joy once again conducted extensive quality tests and the blend was then placed in a special vat to rest and allow the “marrying” process to take place. During “marrying” process, the character, flavor and bouquet of the rums fused together creating a fuller and more rounded product.

http://www.refinedvices.com/appleton-estate-50-year-old-jamaica-rum

Postby eliteauto » June 18th, 2012, 12:41 pm

^^ a bargain compared to the Johnnie Walker Diamond Jubilee which retails for £100,000 ($158,235 ) only 60 bottles available by invitation only, all scotches in the blend are 60 years old
The packaging as one may notice is equally cherishable as the golden liquid beverage inside. Involving the work of 60 artisans including Royal Warrant Holders, and Britain’s premier silversmiths, Hamilton & Inches, the 6 legged Baccarat crystal decanters are being worked on, which represent each decade of her majesty’s rule of the kingdom. The casing for these bottles will decorated with sterling silver set along with half a carat diamond, the royal coat of arms, and even John Walker & Sons monogram, and also individual numbered seals. Along with this, there would be Crumbia crystal glasses which have been engraved by Philip Lawson, along with a commemorative book by Laura West and personalization by Sally Magnum, who all come by special appointments from her majesty, Queen Elizabeth.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 18th, 2012, 4:56 pm

Price tag a bit steep for my taste.. will stick to glenfiddich 18yo ..

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 12th, 2012, 1:40 pm

Guys figured Id ask here rather than open a new thread.

I have a birthday to attend pretty soon and Id like to carry along a bottle of wine, problem is Im not familiar with the local wine retailers nor what they carry.

Id like to get a red wine, preferably clean and smooth more so laying on the sweeter side of things.

Any recommendations? Cant say a budget as Im not familiar with local prices, so maybe sub $200 to get the ball rolling?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 12th, 2012, 5:08 pm

Corrias Hard wine.... gots bois bande yo!
Ting fuh de boy

Postby X_Factor » July 12th, 2012, 6:38 pm

Trivento Sweet Malbec
its really cheap and sweet like 6USD for a bottle....dunno how much it sells for locally!
many ppl dont like it because of that
like 6USD for a bottle....saw it in Tru Valu but never priced it locally

Postby eliteauto » July 12th, 2012, 7:16 pm

kurpal the needs and budget you have does not require you to go to any specialist wine store any good supermarket or liquor store will suffice, the answer to your question depends on the persons drinking the wine
If it's a young group who aren't very wine sophisticated I'd suggest going with a fruit infused wine such as Arbor-Mist or Wild Vines, look for the Blackberry Merlot or Raspberry Zinfandel, these will run you about $60 a bottle so 3 will fit in your budget
If they're young but a little more sophisticated you can get the Septiembre Cool Wine both the Rojo and Fruitilla these are fun sweet red wines with a hint of fizz around $90 a bottle
If you want more "serious" wines you can look for zinfandels, lambrusco, or syrah wines (these are types/verietals) decent labels are Robert Mondavi, Yellow Tali Sweet Red Roo, Trivento sweet malbec and Sutter Home, all under $200

Postby X_Factor » July 12th, 2012, 7:27 pm

Riccadonna Ruby and Rose are decent cheap sparkling wines

Postby UML » July 12th, 2012, 7:27 pm

In celebration of our 50 years of Independence

One of twenty (worldwide) $180,000 "Legacy" Decanters of premium rum made by Angostura will be auctioned off at the Hyatt on August 4th

By invitation only

$1000 contribution to attend

http://www.refinedvices.com/legacy-by-a ... -25000-rum
Last edited by UML on July 13th, 2012, 7:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » July 12th, 2012, 7:32 pm

waste of time IMO, Angostura despite producing world class rums does not possess the pedigree to have limited quantity rums that would be bought for collections/investment (like some of the ones zoom rader has)...but Trinidad is full of never see come see ppl who will happily buy for show-off purposes

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 12th, 2012, 7:37 pm

X_Factor wrote:Trivento Sweet Malbec
its really cheap and sweet like 6USD for a bottle....dunno how much it sells for locally!
many ppl dont like it because of that
like 6USD for a bottle....saw it in Tru Valu but never priced it locally

Will look into it, thanks.

eliteauto wrote:If they're young but a little more sophisticated you can get the Septiembre Cool Wine both the Rojo and Fruitilla these are fun sweet red wines with a hint of fizz around $90 a bottle
If you want more "serious" wines you can look for zinfandels, lambrusco, or syrah wines (these are types/verietals) decent labels are Robert Mondavi, Yellow Tali Sweet Red Roo, Trivento sweet malbec and Sutter Home, all under $200

I think these two groups are where most of the party guests would fall into. Ill take your suggestions and take a look into the selection in hilo/tru value.

Postby cinco » July 13th, 2012, 7:12 am

check out the riunite lambrusco too Kurps
its about 90 a bottle and "grapy" tasting

Postby zoom rader » July 13th, 2012, 7:53 am

eliteauto wrote:waste of time IMO, Angostura despite producing world class rums does not possess the pedigree to have limited quantity rums that would be bought for collections/investment (like some of the ones zoom rader has)...but Trinidad is full of never see come see ppl who will happily buy for show-off purposes

Dude its not so much that the rum is worth the money. Its the Decanter thats worth the money only 20 ever made and never to made again.

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2012, 8:34 am

X_Factor wrote:Riccadonna Ruby and Rose are decent cheap sparkling wines

:sick:

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2012, 8:35 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Guys figured Id ask here rather than open a new thread.

I have a birthday to attend pretty soon and Id like to carry along a bottle of wine, problem is Im not familiar with the local wine retailers nor what they carry.

Id like to get a red wine, preferably clean and smooth more so laying on the sweeter side of things.

Any recommendations? Cant say a budget as Im not familiar with local prices, so maybe sub $200 to get the ball rolling?

Pick up one in pricesmart. Good prices and variety.

Postby X_Factor » July 13th, 2012, 9:10 am

crazybalhead wrote:
X_Factor wrote:Riccadonna Ruby and Rose are decent cheap sparkling wines

:sick:

u doh like that hoss?

Postby eliteauto » July 13th, 2012, 9:11 am

eliteauto wrote:waste of time IMO, Angostura despite producing world class rums does not possess the pedigree to have limited quantity rums that would be bought for collections/investment (like some of the ones zoom rader has)...but Trinidad is full of never see come see ppl who will happily buy for show-off purposes

Dude its not so much that the rum is worth the money. Its the Decanter thats worth the money only 20 ever made and never to made again.

Hmmm, something to consider although I'm still not convinced, what price point do you expect it to fetch, also do you expect a significant increase in value in 5 years?

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2012, 9:36 am

I rather drink a solo,or a fruta than anything name ricadonna. YACK!

Postby eliteauto » July 27th, 2012, 1:53 pm

Picked up a bottle of Ron Zacapa 15 yr old and El Dorado 12 yr old in duty free yest, I've never drank either, looking forward to sipping each this weekend

Postby cinco » July 27th, 2012, 2:04 pm

to me i would say dont get your hopes up on either