Country_Bookie wrote:This licensing exam was something that was set up in 1961. 51 years later, most of the ppl who want to be nurses are doing their degree at tertiary institutions supervised by the Accreditation Council.
Why do we still need this archaic body to tell nursing graduates that they can't be nurses? And all for not being able to pass some biased, subjective and non-independent exams. The real reason they fighting this is becos without this exam, local nurses wont be able to migrate to other countries to work as nurses. Can't see why we should continue to facilitate the brian drain.
UML wrote:so fuad khan explained why he removing the licensing exams and it made some sense
apparently after u train and do ur exams u have another exam to be accepted by the nursing council (which in itself has questionable practices)
he said that no other country has this requirment but trinidad which has a high failure rate
the nurses from cuba, phillipines,etc. dont write this exam in their country and when they come here they dont have to do it either....so they just come and start working
very unfair to our nurses.....and we already have a shortage of nurses since i doh know when.
so imagine u failing and cant work and these imported nurses not doing this exam and getting to work
so with this removal we can get more local nurses and reduce the shortage
about the nursin council.......wellllllllllll
he said nurses have to get approval to work through the nursing council.....but hear this.....u have to provide a passport picture before you know if u pass or fail
so you know how that works
zoom rader wrote:UML wrote:so fuad khan explained why he removing the licensing exams and it made some sense
apparently after u train and do ur exams u have another exam to be accepted by the nursing council (which in itself has questionable practices)
he said that no other country has this requirment but trinidad which has a high failure rate
the nurses from cuba, phillipines,etc. dont write this exam in their country and when they come here they dont have to do it either....so they just come and start working
very unfair to our nurses.....and we already have a shortage of nurses since i doh know when.
so imagine u failing and cant work and these imported nurses not doing this exam and getting to work
so with this removal we can get more local nurses and reduce the shortage
about the nursin council.......wellllllllllll
he said nurses have to get approval to work through the nursing council.....but hear this.....u have to provide a passport picture before you know if u pass or fail
so you know how that works
Yes this is what I said a post back, the nursin council is to let certain people in and others out . The exam is bogus
Its the same as when appling for an HDC house u had to provide a photo.
Conrad wrote:As for the attitude of nurses. That differs from individual to individual, not based on their ethnicity, area they grew up in, physical size or financial position. Dealing with sickly persons and their sometimes aggravat(ed/ing) family isn't an easy job, different nurses handle it differently. Just like in any job, it's part of your life and would reflect there.
Strauss wrote:It's about time we GET RID of some of those nurses who should not be there.
Strauss wrote:And maybe the threat of foreign nurses will improve our health care. I'm sick and tired of the attitude I get and health care I get as a citizen of this country. That exam is a big farse - it's like a VISA to use our resources and give nothing back in return.
Strauss wrote:And all this BS and crying about taking away this exam is so full of lies and hidden agendas by the few who run our healthcare system.
Strauss wrote:We are in a mess because people refuse to change. It's a lot of covering up where the lazy, heartless people are protecting their own interest. They don't want to be accountable or perform, yet want to keep their jobs and use some BS about the NLE to do it.
Strauss wrote:Conrad wrote:As for the attitude of nurses. That differs from individual to individual, not based on their ethnicity, area they grew up in, physical size or financial position. Dealing with sickly persons and their sometimes aggravat(ed/ing) family isn't an easy job, different nurses handle it differently. Just like in any job, it's part of your life and would reflect there.
This is a load of sh!t.
Regardless of how your day is, how your family is or how you grew up or that time of the month... you have to DO YOUR JOB as a nurse. And if you cannot meet these harsh requirements, then you should not be here.
Same applies for teachers, police, doctors et al.
Strauss wrote:Conrad wrote:As for the attitude of nurses. That differs from individual to individual, not based on their ethnicity, area they grew up in, physical size or financial position. Dealing with sickly persons and their sometimes aggravat(ed/ing) family isn't an easy job, different nurses handle it differently. Just like in any job, it's part of your life and would reflect there.
This is a load of sh!t.
Regardless of how your day is, how your family is or how you grew up or that time of the month... you have to DO YOUR JOB as a nurse. And if you cannot meet these harsh requirements, then you should not be here.
Same applies for teachers, police, doctors et al.
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Everybody quick to put down nurses but they can't last 2 hours doing the same job. If I was home I would have posted a mile long list of issues nurses face on a daily basis but I go leave peeps to wallow in ignorance til later
Strauss wrote:
Get those foreign nurses here FAST.
UML wrote:havent we been using foreign nurses for years?!!!
so wahs the issue?
the reason they removing the exam is to have more LOCAL nurses....because the exams puts locals at a disavantage
i thought i made it clear earlier.......some ah allyuh "intellects" really have shiit for brains oui
Habit7 wrote:The Council also denied having any previous discussions with Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan and dismissed his quotation of the 40 per cent failure rate for nurses sitting the Council licence exam.
"The Minister made reference to the percentages and some figures were quoted. In 2008, we had a pass rate of 66 per cent, in 2009 we had a pass rate of 89 per cent, in 2010 we had 62 per cent and in 2011 we had 64 per cent," he said.
"The fail-out rate is three to four per cent and when we look at the number of nurses, there's quite a large number passing the system," he said.
"Nurses are being successful, but not being employed," he said.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Nur ... 94985.html
shorty d wrote:UML wrote:havent we been using foreign nurses for years?!!!
so wahs the issue?
the reason they removing the exam is to have more LOCAL nurses....because the exams puts locals at a disavantage
i thought i made it clear earlier.......some ah allyuh "intellects" really have shiit for brains oui
It have PLENTY of local nurses that passed the exams and are not being placed in hospitals.So what u recommend UML put those who haven`t passed the exam to work instead ?
UML wrote:shorty d wrote:UML wrote:havent we been using foreign nurses for years?!!!
so wahs the issue?
It have PLENTY of local nurses that passed the exams and are not being placed in hospitals.So what u recommend UML put those who haven`t passed the exam to work instead ?
so is it the nursing council that blocking them?
stev wrote:matthewmazda wrote:so any qack could be a nurse now then
we dead
it wast like this all d time?
anyway...let me keep my mouth shut...i knows nuttin about nursing.
hustla_ambition101 wrote:UML wrote:shorty d wrote:UML wrote:havent we been using foreign nurses for years?!!!
so wahs the issue?
Isn't the RHAs who are responsible for hiring?
UML wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:UML wrote:shorty d wrote:UML wrote:havent we been using foreign nurses for years?!!!
so wahs the issue?
so why does the nursing council need passport pics??.....to send an "approved" listing to the RHA?
UML wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:UML wrote:shorty d wrote:UML wrote:havent we been using foreign nurses for years?!!!
so wahs the issue?
so why does the nursing council need passport pics??.....to send an "approved" listing to the RHA?
zoom rader wrote:UML wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:UML wrote:shorty d wrote:[quote="UML"]havent we been using foreign nurses for years?!!!
so wahs the issue?
zoom rader wrote:To keep certain people out. It is the PNM way of doing things.
Before they went by names, so it was easy to keep people out. But now we have all sorts of people carrying different names , so they put the Photos in to place to cure that problem.
Every wonder why only its only one group of people that get hired