wtk : changing name on ID's after marriage

Premera

wtk : changing name on ID's after marriage

Postby Premera » July 9th, 2012, 2:05 pm

Not sure who or where to go to, trying to assist someone with this.

Recently got married, and needs to have her name changed as follows :

ID card
Driver's Permit
Passport
US VISA

Thanks for the assistance.......

dan80

Re: wtk : changing name on ID's after marriage

Postby dan80 » July 9th, 2012, 2:22 pm

Well first i think yuh will need to get a sworn affidavit of the name change along with the marriage cert. then go to
Scott's House, upper Frederick St. (for the ID)
License Office, Wrightson Road (for the DP)
Immigration Office also on Fred. St. (for the Passport)
US Embassy, Marli St. (for the visa)

Postby crazybalhead » July 9th, 2012, 2:23 pm

Need to make sure you have a legal copy of marriage cert from ministry of legal affairs. Takes about a week, $25.

For the DP, I THINK you need to swear an affidavit (5-25$ depending and should get that immediately).

I would wait until the documents are needing to be renewed instead of going through the hassle of changing it before time.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » July 9th, 2012, 2:29 pm

Walk with present ID 2 each per person and registered Marriage certificate which verifies that name change is required.

Elections & Boundary(EBC) in the area of residence now and apply for the new ID card.

Drivers permit - either South or North Licensing office after getting ID card or document slip form EBC.

Passport - again either South or North Passport office.

US Visa- you have have to pay the visa application fee and walk with your NEW PASSPORT & Old passport showing the approved US Visa.

Postby pete » July 9th, 2012, 2:39 pm

As CBH said.. wait until they need to be renewed. Otherwise you're wasting time and money getting documents changed. My wife just got her ID card updated and her passport was due to be renewed so did that after. DP still shows her maiden name.

Postby MG Man » July 9th, 2012, 3:29 pm

why she changing her name?

tdavies

Postby tdavies » July 9th, 2012, 3:36 pm

don't do it :D :D :D :D

Postby Habit7 » July 9th, 2012, 3:44 pm

I now reading about this crap, so my wife have to get a new US$160 10 year visa after barely 2 years?

http://trinidad.usembassy.gov/got_marri ... aiden_name

Postby ronsin1 » July 10th, 2012, 5:35 am

if your wife is an employee of the state don't have all the ID's changed
My wife had all hers changed and notified and applied for the name changed at the ministry of Education over fours years and Still it has not been changed it created all kind of hassles in the bank although they have her information before we were married

Premera

Postby Premera » July 10th, 2012, 6:45 am

thanks peeps :)

Postby foss » July 29th, 2024, 10:15 am

bumping..

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 31st, 2024, 9:03 pm

Why? to find out is she change back her name?

maxtech

Postby maxtech » August 1st, 2024, 12:18 am

you sure the marriage go last? tell she leave everything as is and give it a 7 years before changing.