Removal of nurses licensing exam

Postby shorty d » July 5th, 2012, 7:53 pm

Trinidad Express Newspaper National News of Trinidad and Tobago

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Nur ... 94985.html

Nursing Council defends exam
By

Story Created: Jul 4, 2012 at 11:58 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 5, 2012 at 2:32 PM ECT

The Nursing Council of Trinidad and Tobago (NCTT) yesterday defended the need for a Council-level licensing for graduating nurses.

In what has now become a public war-of-words between the two, Council members Russel Salcedo and David Murphy yesterday took Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan to task for his plans to amend the Nursing and Midwives Act without consultation.

The Council also denied having any previous discussions with Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan and dismissed his quotation of the 40 per cent failure rate for nurses sitting the Council licence exam.

"Unlike if I am at a factory and a tin goes bad I could dump it, we cannot afford to make mistakes and in order to ensure that we do not make mistakes, we must have some method of assessing the individuals competency and aptitude to be a nurse," Salcedo said.

"Any mistake that a nurse makes is either harm to a client or death and that is a critical factor," he added.

Salcedo said the Minister's quotation of the failure rate was also incorrect and instead said they have documents that show a fail-out rate of three to four per cent.

A fail-out rate is the nurses failure of all three chances to pass the Council's licensing exam within a five-year period.

"The Minister made reference to the percentages and some figures were quoted. In 2008, we had a pass rate of 66 per cent, in 2009 we had a pass rate of 89 per cent, in 2010 we had 62 per cent and in 2011 we had 64 per cent," he said.

He said while there were many institutions preparing nurses, they taught a different curriculum.

"The fail-out rate is three to four per cent and when we look at the number of nurses, there's quite a large number passing the system," he said.

"Nurses are being successful, but not being employed," he said.

He asked Khan to explain why there was a shortage, when nurses have passed the licensing exam a year ago and still remain unplaced in public hospitals.

He said that while locally trained and licensed nurses remain unplaced, nurses under a "Government to Government" exchange programme, like Cuba, St Kitts and Nevis, were placed immediately.

In response to those statements though, Khan said in a telephone interview he in fact did meet with the Council when he first assumed office.

Khan said the Council's licensing exam was done to ensure reciprocity of the nurses throughout the Commonwealth.

"For nurses to migrate, they have to have that licence," Khan said, adding that it was that reciprocity that added to the large amount of vacancies in the local health care system.

Khan though said he was not giving up the fight to have the five amendments passed as the "archaic" Council systems needed to change and "adapt to new technology".

He said in the absence of the licence, student nurses would still have to attend schools accredited by the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago.

"I am ready for the fight," Khan said.

—Renuka Singh
Last edited by shorty d on July 5th, 2012, 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

shandyman

Re: Removal of nurses licensing exam

Postby shandyman » July 5th, 2012, 8:35 pm

No source. Don't care.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » July 5th, 2012, 9:17 pm

so any qack could be a nurse now then
we dead

Postby stev » July 5th, 2012, 9:21 pm

matthewmazda wrote:so any qack could be a nurse now then
we dead

it wast like this all d time?

anyway...let me keep my mouth shut...i knows nuttin about nursing.

shorty d

Postby shorty d » July 5th, 2012, 9:29 pm

GOVERNMENT is moving to remove a practical testing element for nurses to qualify. So what new standards are we setting may I ask ...... What next? Same thing for Doctors as well? Most of them are quacks any ways so why not. They can only practice in Trinidad if they went to America with their qualifications they won’t even be allowed to attend to dogs and cats. Steups You should also do the same for driver’s licenses as well.

Postby turbosingh » July 6th, 2012, 6:42 am

Alyuh run fuh yuh lfe we dead!

Postby turbosingh » July 6th, 2012, 6:47 am

Hot_SexyNurse.jpg

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2012, 7:13 am

matthewmazda wrote:so any qack could be a nurse now then
we dead

This!!

Postby dougla_boy » July 6th, 2012, 7:35 am

this was in play a while now......heard from some nurses in grande hospital that it was to facilitate bringing in of people from India to come work with less/little passes.......

allyuh goberment eh

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2012, 10:51 am

^^correct the intent is to import nurses from India, heard about that plan since January, apparently the Nursing Council said they could not register them so this is the plan to circumvent that

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2012, 10:55 am

^^^Yup, aunty Kamla is an angel.... so when you die, she will take care of you.

Postby Habit7 » July 6th, 2012, 11:04 am

Postby dougla_boy » July 6th, 2012, 11:09 am

allyuh vote fuh dem eh

#JustSaying

Postby bluesteel29 » July 6th, 2012, 11:13 am

4king bobol :x

Postby dougla_boy » July 6th, 2012, 11:26 am

bluesteel29 wrote:4king bobol :x

everybody hadda eat ah food yuh know.....just dat we eh in d right place and know the right people

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2012, 12:24 pm

eliteauto wrote:^^correct the intent is to import nurses from India, heard about that plan since January, apparently the Nursing Council said they could not register them so this is the plan to circumvent that

When will the propaganda end

nivek

Postby nivek » July 6th, 2012, 2:34 pm

if "nurses" failing exams time after time it can be two reasons-1.teaching standard poor 2.individuals don't want to learn....putting that aside if they continuously failing the exam then it means you're not ready.....giving them the go ahead to attend to ppl will cause real chaos here.....if this is done for nursing exams well ppl who failing engineering(all fields),med school,etc should be given a walk in the park because they literally removed all standards!!!!

kual

Postby kual » July 6th, 2012, 2:44 pm

we wont know the difference. the current nurses in the public system are so not helpful and never knows anything.

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2012, 3:01 pm

I wonder if Fuad would allow his family to go by a doctor who was allowed to fail his med school exams

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2012, 3:33 pm

nivek wrote:if "nurses" failing exams time after time it can be two reasons-1.teaching standard poor 2.individuals don't want to learn....putting that aside if they continuously failing the exam then it means you're not ready.....giving them the go ahead to attend to ppl will cause real chaos here.....if this is done for nursing exams well ppl who failing engineering(all fields),med school,etc should be given a walk in the park because they literally removed all standards!!!!

There is another reason that some fail becuase they are not allowed to pass or not wanted by the council. The council exam appears tobe fixed.

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2012, 3:35 pm

kual wrote:we wont know the difference. the current nurses in the public system are so not helpful and never knows anything.

That is beacuse the exams are fixed to allow certain person in and certain person out.

Postby Habit7 » July 6th, 2012, 3:59 pm

Nursing Council defends exam

Story Created: Jul 4, 2012 at 11:58 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 5, 2012 at 2:32 PM ECT

The Nursing Council of Trinidad and Tobago (NCTT) yesterday defended the need for a Council-level licensing for graduating nurses.
In what has now become a public war-of-words between the two, Council members Russel Salcedo and David Murphy yesterday took Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan to task for his plans to amend the Nursing and Midwives Act without consultation.
The Council also denied having any previous discussions with Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan and dismissed his quotation of the 40 per cent failure rate for nurses sitting the Council licence exam.
"Unlike if I am at a factory and a tin goes bad I could dump it, we cannot afford to make mistakes and in order to ensure that we do not make mistakes, we must have some method of assessing the individuals competency and aptitude to be a nurse," Salcedo said.
"Any mistake that a nurse makes is either harm to a client or death and that is a critical factor," he added.
Salcedo said the Minister's quotation of the failure rate was also incorrect and instead said they have documents that show a fail-out rate of three to four per cent.
A fail-out rate is the nurses failure of all three chances to pass the Council's licensing exam within a five-year period.
"The Minister made reference to the percentages and some figures were quoted. In 2008, we had a pass rate of 66 per cent, in 2009 we had a pass rate of 89 per cent, in 2010 we had 62 per cent and in 2011 we had 64 per cent," he said.
He said while there were many institutions preparing nurses, they taught a different curriculum.
"The fail-out rate is three to four per cent and when we look at the number of nurses, there's quite a large number passing the system," he said.
"Nurses are being successful, but not being employed," he said.

He asked Khan to explain why there was a shortage, when nurses have passed the licensing exam a year ago and still remain unplaced in public hospitals.
He said that while locally trained and licensed nurses remain unplaced, nurses under a "Government to Government" exchange programme, like Cuba, St Kitts and Nevis, were placed immediately.
In response to those statements though, Khan said in a telephone interview he in fact did meet with the Council when he first assumed office.
Khan said the Council's licensing exam was done to ensure reciprocity of the nurses throughout the Commonwealth.
"For nurses to migrate, they have to have that licence," Khan said, adding that it was that reciprocity that added to the large amount of vacancies in the local health care system.
Khan though said he was not giving up the fight to have the five amendments passed as the "archaic" Council systems needed to change and "adapt to new technology".
He said in the absence of the licence, student nurses would still have to attend schools accredited by the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago.
"I am ready for the fight," Khan said.
—Renuka Singh

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Nur ... 94985.html

Postby Sky » July 6th, 2012, 4:01 pm

nivek wrote:if "nurses" failing exams time after time it can be two reasons-1.teaching standard poor 2.individuals don't want to learn....putting that aside if they continuously failing the exam then it means you're not ready.....giving them the go ahead to attend to ppl will cause real chaos here.....if this is done for nursing exams well ppl who failing engineering(all fields),med school,etc should be given a walk in the park because they literally removed all standards!!!!

There is another reason that some fail becuase they are not allowed to pass or not wanted by the council. The council exam appears tobe fixed.

kual wrote:we wont know the difference. the current nurses in the public system are so not helpful and never knows anything.

That is beacuse the exams are fixed to allow certain person in and certain person out.

zoom rader wrote:When will the propaganda end

Postby dougla_boy » July 6th, 2012, 5:08 pm

i honestly beginning to think that zoom rader is a troll......

he cya be talking dat sheit and be real about it

Postby S_2NR » July 6th, 2012, 5:20 pm

typical PP sheit of the day.
everyday is something..

Postby wagonrunner » July 6th, 2012, 5:26 pm

when the exchange rate doing what it does, you need all the other BS you could muster to hide what your citizens are losing

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 6th, 2012, 6:25 pm

Exotic nurses ftw.

But seriously, standards should be raised not lowered.
I'm not seeing the sense behind the Minister's plan.

Postby nemisis » July 6th, 2012, 6:42 pm

This was voted for not soo??

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2012, 8:57 pm

1 reason why them nurses failing is because a lot of the class projects / coursework involves group work. None of them know the meaning of teamwork, that alone sets them back quite a bit.
On top of that there is the nasty attitude. If they like that in real / outside of the job imagine them on the job.

Postby Country_Bookie » July 6th, 2012, 9:37 pm

This licensing exam was something that was set up in 1961. 51 years later, most of the ppl who want to be nurses are doing their degree at tertiary institutions supervised by the Accreditation Council.
Why do we still need this archaic body to tell nursing graduates that they can't be nurses? And all for not being able to pass some biased, subjective and non-independent exams. The real reason they fighting this is becos without this exam, local nurses wont be able to migrate to other countries to work as nurses. Can't see why we should continue to facilitate the brian drain.