thermaltake wrote:megadoc1 wrote:stickman, Dr. naik does not have to prove God exist because his religion ls based on faith....if you have proof you won't have faith ...just sayinstickman wrote:Anyway on the topic of Dr. Naik specifically the "Does God Exist?" video, he didn't prove God's existence, he just made an assumption that God made the earth and the Quran is essentially the user manual. Why? Because supposedly the Quran has all the answers to everything.
If God (assuming he exists) wanted believers, all he had to do was use a direct medium for communication. Not a middle man to distort the message.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BgNKA-_S ... re=related hope this help you...
thermaltake wrote:It was normal for people of ALL religions to get married pretty early at puberty not even that long ago. That was in the times when people didn't sleep around with anyone, and understood the importance of marriage and keeping their virginity until they're married. How pathetic are you people who spend everyday of your life finding something to insult a person's religion. Do you have no life? I care about my beliefs, and my life revolves around things important to me, not insulting and hurting the feelings of others. Grow up.
stickman wrote:thermaltake wrote:megadoc1 wrote:stickman, Dr. naik does not have to prove God exist because his religion ls based on faith....if you have proof you won't have faith ...just sayinstickman wrote:Anyway on the topic of Dr. Naik specifically the "Does God Exist?" video, he didn't prove God's existence, he just made an assumption that God made the earth and the Quran is essentially the user manual. Why? Because supposedly the Quran has all the answers to everything.
If God (assuming he exists) wanted believers, all he had to do was use a direct medium for communication. Not a middle man to distort the message.
I watched half of this video then closed it. Again I respect Dr. Naik's ability to remember all those verses. What I deduced from him saying Islam being a test means that god failed and was biased. He did not give everyone equal benefit to participate, he was biased to a particular location and then he failed in communicating his message.
This is of course assuming god exists.
Humes wrote:thermaltake, I asked you a question that you STILL haven't answered in its entirety. How does that make me selfish? I'm still waiting for your answer.
When you answer my question fully and honestly, I will answer yours. That's how a discussion works.
bluefete wrote:stickman wrote:thermaltake wrote:megadoc1 wrote:stickman, Dr. naik does not have to prove God exist because his religion ls based on faith....if you have proof you won't have faith ...just sayinstickman wrote:Anyway on the topic of Dr. Naik specifically the "Does God Exist?" video, he didn't prove God's existence, he just made an assumption that God made the earth and the Quran is essentially the user manual. Why? Because supposedly the Quran has all the answers to everything.
I watched half of this video then closed it. Again I respect Dr. Naik's ability to remember all those verses. What I deduced from him saying Islam being a test means that god failed and was biased. He did not give everyone equal benefit to participate, he was biased to a particular location and then he failed in communicating his message.
This is of course assuming god exists.
Was God biased when he made the Israelites his chosen people?
thermaltake wrote:It was normal for people of ALL religions to get married pretty early at puberty not even that long ago. That was in the times when people didn't sleep around with anyone, and understood the importance of marriage and keeping their virginity until they're married. How pathetic are you people who spend everyday of your life finding something to insult a person's religion. Do you have no life? I care about my beliefs, and my life revolves around things important to me, not insulting and hurting the feelings of others. Grow up.
stickman wrote:
What about all those countries/people that don't have any influence from the Abrahamic religons? Do they automatically go to hell for not having the knowledge of the Quran/Torah/Bible?
Humes wrote:I doh even have a problem with marriage by nine, yuh know. In those days, at least. These were usually formalities and marriages of convenience for political and commercial reasons. There were European monarchs who married children (girls AND boys) who couldn't even walk.
They did it to secure titles, unite families, inherit wealth or political control...and they would just send the child away or let the child be raised by nannies.
My real contention is with this sexual thigh massaging thing, and this sex at nine years old thing.
And with the suggestion that it was okay then...but not okay now.
Because that suggestion (now made twice by Muslims in this thread) supports moral relativism. It supports the argument that holy texts were written for a specific time and place, and are no longer literally or entirely applicable. That holy texts, and the religions that spring from them, are far from perfect.
I doh want to put words in thermaltake's mouth, but that's what his argument suggests.
thermaltake wrote:Humes wrote:thermaltake, I asked you a question that you STILL haven't answered in its entirety. How does that make me selfish? I'm still waiting for your answer.
When you answer my question fully and honestly, I will answer yours. That's how a discussion works.
I think your mummy should tuck you in your bed kid.... you dont expect to ask me soo much question and then cant even answer one of mine... why are you soo afraid to answer... you soo afraid of the truth?
Humes wrote:I doh even have a problem with marriage by nine, yuh know. In those days, at least. These were usually formalities and marriages of convenience for political and commercial reasons. There were European monarchs who married children (girls AND boys) who couldn't even walk.
They did it to secure titles, unite families, inherit wealth or political control...and they would just send the child away or let the child be raised by nannies.
My real contention is with this sexual thigh massaging thing, and this sex at nine years old thing.
And with the suggestion that it was okay then...but not okay now.
Because that suggestion (now made twice by Muslims in this thread) supports moral relativism. It supports the argument that holy texts were written for a specific time and place, and are no longer literally or entirely applicable. That holy texts, and the religions that spring from them, are far from perfect.
I doh want to put words in thermaltake's mouth, but that's what his argument suggests.
thermaltake wrote:first time i ever speak to somone and they so afraid to answer my questions? Humes you are very pathetic... how you feel to know that you cant answer any of my questions and also dont even have the courage to talk about your religion... how will i learn about your religion?
stickman wrote:thermaltake wrote:first time i ever speak to somone and they so afraid to answer my questions? Humes you are very pathetic... how you feel to know that you cant answer any of my questions and also dont even have the courage to talk about your religion... how will i learn about your religion?
Humes, AdamB and others in this thread have been more courteous than you. Remember, you represent your religion.
thermaltake wrote:stickman wrote:thermaltake wrote:first time i ever speak to somone and they so afraid to answer my questions? Humes you are very pathetic... how you feel to know that you cant answer any of my questions and also dont even have the courage to talk about your religion... how will i learn about your religion?
Humes, AdamB and others in this thread have been more courteous than you. Remember, you represent your religion.
for your information sir.. i am a muslim.. i am not islam.....
stickman wrote:thermaltake wrote:stickman wrote:thermaltake wrote:first time i ever speak to somone and they so afraid to answer my questions? Humes you are very pathetic... how you feel to know that you cant answer any of my questions and also dont even have the courage to talk about your religion... how will i learn about your religion?
And? Both are faulty anyways.
But seriously, don't call other members pathetic and tell them to go and sleep, etc
stickman wrote:thermaltake wrote:stickman wrote:thermaltake wrote:first time i ever speak to somone and they so afraid to answer my questions? Humes you are very pathetic... how you feel to know that you cant answer any of my questions and also dont even have the courage to talk about your religion... how will i learn about your religion?
But seriously, don't call other members pathetic and tell them to go and sleep, etc
thermaltake wrote:stickman wrote:thermaltake wrote:stickman wrote:thermaltake wrote:first time i ever speak to somone and they so afraid to answer my questions? Humes you are very pathetic... how you feel to know that you cant answer any of my questions and also dont even have the courage to talk about your religion... how will i learn about your religion?
how about you stop being biased? You dont know how a discussion works? well i'll tell you.. pushing your mouth when people having a discussion is very rude..
TonyM wrote:It is amazing that thermaltake picks and chooses what to follow in Sunnah and what not to follow.
Muslim men follow the ways and actions of the Prophet very closely. He wore a jubba (long flowing garment), had a beard, no mustache and they follow these little details. Some even say there was a particular way the Prophet placed his hands when he prayed and they try to follow this exactly.
yet TODAY they conveniently do not follow the Prophet in his practices of marrying pre-teens, having slaves and slave girls.
They do however follow him in having many wives.
so apparently only the things they are comfortable with they follow. The rest they claim "well that is how it was 1400 years ago, not today"
so why then today you have women dressing like they are in the middle of the desert fending off dust covered from head to toe? Why today in this day and age they are sacrificing animals, not because they NEED food, but because Abraham did it 6,000 years ago. So they each get an animal to kill. Most of them don't even know what to do with the amount of meat they end up with after sacrificing the animal. But they are following Abraham.
Humes wrote:Islam and Christianity are the same in that regard. I once heard a Christian co-worker declare that Christianity is only different from Islam because the religion "grew up and modernised".
I chuckled to myself. It's the world that grew up and modernised, and rejected many details and philosophies in the Bible. It's the followers who started picking and choosing what they wanted to adhere to. Christianity is still the same as it ever was, as detailed by its holy text.
Like stickman pointed out, I think atheism and other forms of disbelief have been growing because people are getting more and more sickened by how out of place many aspects of these religions are.
thermaltake wrote:how about you stop being biased? You dont know how a discussion works? well i'll tell you.. pushing your mouth when people having a discussion is very rude..