The guitar string (thread)

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby gt4tified » June 11th, 2011, 4:34 am

Cjruckus wrote:I'll find something. I have some ideas floating around out there...

Wont invest in a PRS Sorry.
I don't mind their instruments, just they don't feel right in my hands.

They prolly better with the feminine touch, cuz my wife loves her Mira....I cyah even watch de damn thing hard (I rather the Strat anyway for versatility).

Postby meccalli » August 3rd, 2011, 8:26 pm

Hey guys, anyone has any experience bringing down a guitar on your person. I got my eye set on an Rg from guitar center, I'll be up there in october. Was wondering if there's anything I can do to avoid those grim duty/taxes.

Postby Cjruckus » August 3rd, 2011, 10:12 pm

if you bring it in on hand, prepare to pay US$75 to check it.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 5th, 2011, 11:30 pm

Hey guys, what would you recommend for a beginner acoustic guitar?

Postby meccalli » November 5th, 2011, 11:56 pm

I started with a palmer classical nylon guitar and sold it after 4 months to get a steel acoustic..that went well.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » November 6th, 2011, 2:48 am

i bring all my guitars in hand wen i go away which is every 6 months and they do not charge me, im not sure if they can charge me as its my carry on luggage, i dont think its illegal also, as the guitar is really mine for my own use....

for acoustic question, honestly if its a begginer guitar quality doesnt matter as yet, u learn the basics of care and music on it, so that guitar culd be cheap it wont affect u really

Postby Cjruckus » November 6th, 2011, 10:35 am

vrampersad14 wrote:Hey guys, what would you recommend for a beginner acoustic guitar?

most people buy acoustic because its cheaper. You can get a good nylon string for about a grand.

Postby Sky » December 11th, 2011, 12:26 pm

This is my new squeeze.
Never really planned on getting a PRS. As CJ said, they don't feel right. For comfort I go with the strat. The most comfortable guitar I ever played was a Squier Rogue I got for $80 usd. I still have it without electronics and plans to rebuild.

I went and check Shyam this week and saw this Tremonti SE. I don't like signature guitars because they're overpriced merchandise and I don't see myself playing something dedicated to someone like they're my idol (especially Tremonti). But picked up this guitar it jumped in my hand like it was screaming daddy. It was that comfortable and easy to play. The fretboard is smooth, the guitar is light, the neck has the right radius for me and it has just enough but not too much arch top. I don't really like archtops.

Tone wise it's okay. Not something Semours would dish out, but it's good. I use the neck pup with the volume low for cleans and the bridge with full volume for some gain. I prefer overdrive over a distortion pedal, and when I use the pedal, I put the gain low.

I run it through my ipad2 with an iRig for effects of amp modulation. I use GarageBand and amplitube. The GarageBand is nifty as an allround app to mess around with, but the tone sucks and the noisegate is useless. Either it cuts off my clean pup or it's noisy with my gain pup. Ampllitube does what I need. This then goes to computer speakers. I'm planning to run it to my pc line in for recording then back out to a good pair of 30-80W monitors if I can find them. If I get a guitar amp I can't really use more than 30 watts at home, and I've read too many complaints about those cheap state amps. And there's so much I can take of the Vox AC30 tone. It gets old. So I'm not thinking about an amp. I may move from the ipad to a Boss ME25 or ME70. Played through the 25 and it responded close enough to tubes for me.

I think I'll change out the tuners because PRS SE tuners are their main weakpoint. Their pickups are their other flaw. Been thinking about a Semour SH-4 JB in the bridge and the SH-2 Jazz in the neck. I think that's a nice combo. I'll also change out the pickup selector switch because he's gonna get some quick flicking with the location he's in, and I doubt this PRS switch could handle it. I wouldn't coil tap because I have a strat body waiting for a neck for that kind of tone. I still have the '85 Jap strat that I hadda carry back by InDeForest to fret over again. The fret wires coming out again :( .

Postby meccalli » December 11th, 2011, 1:56 pm

nice, i still use my squier strat, i have no idea why that cheap guitar feels so good to me, my friend's dxmg jackson was the only thing i think i like better, maybe cuz of my small hands. I run through amplitube as well also peavy revalver but that's rell settings to go through.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » December 11th, 2011, 2:22 pm

SE-......carries prs name but not quality, not to fond of them but too each his own

Postby Sky » December 11th, 2011, 8:39 pm

evokiller wrote:SE-......carries prs name but not quality, not to fond of them but too each his own

PRS makes really good guitars. The quality's great and they're for working musicians. Guys who gig every night. All the American ones (or most) Live n Loud had, I played. And they're not much better than the SE with any feature other than the fact that they last. If I change my pickups and tuners (btw, I haven't had any out of tune problems yet) I have an American PRS....until I decide to play 3 hours a night nonstop. Then it may fail when the bigger brother wouldn't.
Besides, the SE's quality matches Gibson's.
The only American I'd want is the 513, and I'd prefer to build my own using strat parts from Warmoth.

Postby Sky » December 23rd, 2011, 8:51 pm

So I have this Tremonti SE and the Stratocoustic. I also had the affinity Squier buzz had for sale to use when I feel (I really like that guitar actually, as much as my '85 Jap).
I use my ipad for effects and it leads to a 2.1 computer speaker system. I also have the Vox AC30 amplug.
I need gear jed!!!!!!!!
I have the speakers in my room and when a friend come over to jam I lug the 3 pieces out.
He started commenting on all those wires and he's right.
Now I was looking at the Boss Me-70 pedal. Despite Boss making this pedal and some legendary stompboxes, the ME series does not sound like the stompboxes they make.
I don't want much. The blues driver, the EH big muff and the Tube screamer. That should cover distortion/overdrive. I's also like a Delay pedal to mess around. DD7 ftw. Lastly i want a looper. Why? It's good solo training. I know how to do it, it's just that I never reallytrained on it. A looper would be good in this case. Something else I want is the ability to record to pc. Stompboxes can't do that, but the amplug can.
Money is tight. Live n loud sells a good bit of pedals now and they sell for 600-1300. I can make that 600 every month.
What would you guys recommend? Save and get the processor to use with the speakers, then get a small 30-40W amp? I can't rock too much in this house. Disturbs others.
Or should I just get a blues driver now and use it with the amplug, then build and build until I have everything? I'm looking at the loopstation for like $200 usd, when the ME70 has that and more at $300 usd.
I don't mind getting a pedalboard, and what attracted me to the ME70 was the pedalboard resemblance. And at this point I really dunno what to do.
This thread is kinda dead so I came here to hear your opinions.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » December 24th, 2011, 4:34 am

line 6 hd series? reviews seemed pretty good

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 3rd, 2012, 12:31 pm

started off with that cheap acoustic out of curiousity, paid like 600 i think in radioshak (a rollins) couldnt find a decent lefty guitar in trinidad so brought down an epiphone les paul. never had the oppertunity to play any other electric guitar due scarceity of LH but im very satisfied with the epiphone. its not the cheap basic one anyways. any other lefty in here?
03072012100.jpg

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » July 3rd, 2012, 12:51 pm

Yeah me, its real pressure. Back when I started out in the mid 90's almost every guitar I ever dreamed of owning did not exist in left hand versions, and the few left handed models are rare and expensive, of course nowadays there are so many cheap brands around with many options, I'm sure its easier for a lefthander to get closer to what they really want. This is most likely what drove me to start building guitars, but ironically I have only built two lefthanders over the last ten years.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 3rd, 2012, 4:01 pm

sometimes i wish i had forced myself to play right handed. some of the best guitarist are LH anyways :)

zorced

Postby zorced » July 3rd, 2012, 7:14 pm

i tried forcing myself to play right but it didnt seem worth the effort, the advantages at that time would have been to play my friends' guitars and having much more buying options.

first time i'm seeing this thread anyway so as for guitar strings i use dunlop nickel wounds medium and i think they're great for the price. I'd like to give elixirs a try also.

Postby Les Bain » July 3rd, 2012, 7:21 pm

ibanez wrote:^^ to Sky

Korn guitarists can't play sheit much less use a 7-string, anyone can play barre chords!

check out Jeff Loomis from Nevermore, Pat O'Brien from Cannibal Corpse and the guitarists from Portal to hear how versatile a 7 string is and how much more you can do on one.

Or innovator and "father of the seven string", George Van Eps who used a custom built Epiphone until Gretsch started building his signature model in 1968.

Postby Les Bain » July 3rd, 2012, 7:22 pm

Ulyuh posting thing to make my eyes water, yes.

Postby Cjruckus » July 4th, 2012, 12:10 am

evokiller wrote:line 6 hd series? reviews seemed pretty good

Got one of these a few months ago.
not bad.

Postby shogun » July 4th, 2012, 8:42 am

Les Bain wrote:
ibanez wrote:^^ to Sky

8-)

Nice les paul, BTW speedmelter.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 4th, 2012, 10:45 am

thanks :) hopefully one day i would become good enough and then id buy the gibson :)

Postby MG Man » July 12th, 2012, 3:49 pm

stop whinin you lefties :P

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 12th, 2012, 4:55 pm

we have kurt kobain too :) , hendrix and that guy from the beatles

Postby MG Man » July 12th, 2012, 4:59 pm

yup.........and Sir Paul kicks aas on bass AND guitar
Ever notice how even on some of The Beatles seemingly simple songs, the basslines are wonderfully complex? (well for me anyways) 'Something' is a pretty good example

Postby shogun » July 12th, 2012, 5:07 pm

speedmelter wrote:we have kurt kobain too :) , hendrix and that guy from the beatles

Blasphemy!!

Man refer to Paul as "that guy" oui!

Was born left handed, but parents put a stop to that. Can still write a bit with my left hand though.

Postby Les Bain » July 12th, 2012, 6:08 pm

I guessing MG Man is a bassist. Look something for you. Have fun with the currency converter that's on some of the models' pages.
http://www.ritter-instruments.com/item_info.php?i=295

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 12th, 2012, 7:03 pm

yes MG man its sir paul mc cartney. yea he does the bass as well. im reading here he played almost all the intruments. a true musician indeed

Postby MG Man » July 12th, 2012, 9:34 pm

speedmelter wrote:yes MG man its sir paul mc cartney. yea he does the bass as well. im reading here he played almost all the intruments. a true musician indeed

his chosen instrument was the guitar, but stepped in as guitarist in The Beatles when they fired original bassist Stu Sutcliffe..........Sutcliffe joined the band when they went from The Quarrymen to The Silver Beatles
Both Sir Paul and His Reverence Father John played the piano as well
Richard Starkey aka Ringo Starr is also left-handed

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 12th, 2012, 11:46 pm

speedmelter wrote:yes MG man its sir paul mc cartney. yea he does the bass as well. im reading here he played almost all the intruments. a true musician indeed

his chosen instrument was the guitar, but stepped in as guitarist in The Beatles when they fired original bassist Stu Sutcliffe..........Sutcliffe joined the band when they went from The Quarrymen to The Silver Beatles
Both Sir Paul and His Reverence Father John played the piano as well
Richard Starkey aka Ringo Starr is also left-handed

u grew up in the 60s huh?