Faulty Brainbox?

Tarantula

Faulty Brainbox?

Postby Tarantula » July 3rd, 2012, 9:46 am

Need some advice. Car keeps blowing a spark plug every month since December to now. I've changed all coil packs back to original but problem still persists. Could it be a faulty brainbox? Vehicle is a Tiida so u know how much fun it is to get to the plugs.

Re: Faulty Brainbox?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 3rd, 2012, 1:29 pm

under what conditions does the plug blow

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » July 3rd, 2012, 3:37 pm

^^ nutting special really. It keeps happening every month since December. The thing is I don't get any check light coming on though. The car would start bucking, when I do the diagnostic i would get "Cylinder 2 misfire" (P0302) and P0011 Valve Timing Cont. When I change the plug for whichever cylinder misfire occured, car would work good for about a month, then the whole process starts again.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » July 3rd, 2012, 3:40 pm

another thing worth mentioning is that all other sensors are perfect when we do a thorough scan. Everything works as it's supposed to...........

Postby wagonrunner » July 3rd, 2012, 3:47 pm

any pics of the old "blown" plugs?
and i'm guessing it's not always the same cylinder?

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » July 3rd, 2012, 4:43 pm

No pics but the plug is clean - no sign of combustion at all. Cylinder misfires thus far have been 2; 2; 2; 3; 4; 1&2; 3.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 4th, 2012, 10:02 am

this is a tickler.
inconsistency with blown plugs may not indicate a channel output problem.

You better get it checked by a pro

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » July 4th, 2012, 11:26 am

^^ may very well hafta do that.
BTW: the electrician in Montrose on the Main Road, is he good? He said it cannot be the brain at fault and would instead check all the ground wires etc.

Postby Dave » July 4th, 2012, 1:34 pm

neville is supposed to be good

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 4th, 2012, 5:20 pm

First off, what kinda car are we talking about?

Secondly, what kinda plugs we talking about (copper? Plats?)

Third, as Wrunner said, got any pics of these "blown" plugs? If your plug is blown, I'm assuming the ground strap is either disintegrated, or the electrode is fubar-ed beyond repair.

If that occurs, it's more likely you have a major engine boo-boo, rather than an electrical issue.

If the plug has not blown up/burnt up/disintegrated into a paper weight, then something else is up....most likely with your coil packs. If the plug has a functioning ground strap and electrode tip, chances are it should work (unless you have some short or something which is killing your plug internals - hard to believe IMHO).

So the plug shouldn't be "dead" IMHO.

I'd start with getting at least ONE new coil pack, and putting it in at cyl 2, and see if the "blown plug" phenomenon moves around...but does NOT return to cyl 2.

Also, if it does re-occur, switch around the plugs (no new ones), and see what occurs.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 4th, 2012, 5:49 pm

DSM_05 wrote:First off, what kinda car are we talking about?

Tarantula wrote:Vehicle is a Tiida so u know how much fun it is to get to the plugs.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » July 4th, 2012, 10:01 pm

poor grounding

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 5th, 2012, 7:42 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:First off, what kinda car are we talking about?

Tarantula wrote:Vehicle is a Tiida so u know how much fun it is to get to the plugs.

What......couldn't find fault with anything else in the rest of my post?

Yes, I see missed where he mentioned that.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 5th, 2012, 3:38 pm

DSM_05 wrote:What......couldn't find fault with anything else in the rest of my post?

Yes, I see missed where he mentioned that.

:? Well thank you too for answering your question. Get your thong out of your ass please! Where did you see me finding "fault" with your post? You asked a question, I gave you the answer. You all people are so juvenile when you are ready.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » July 5th, 2012, 4:00 pm

allyuh doh hijack my ched plz!!! LOL!!!!

to answer DSM_05, I used to change both coil pack and plug whenever this issue happened however, I was using generic coil packs. Plugs I used though were the original (iridium). Plugs 1&2 went afterwards. I changed both plugs and car worked fine. Then Plug 3 went. I changed that and car works fine again. I am sure it's not the coilpacks now. The plugs aren't burned or anything. In fact, the plug from the misfired cylinder is clean and shows no sign of combustion. And as much as I would like to try to swap plugs/ coilpacks etc, it's no fun having to always remove and reinstall the fkn intake manifold.

Anyway I dropped the car by the electrician today, but I started getting a bad "Knocking" sound which turned out to be the a/c compressor seizing up. I had changed the compressor bearing on Saturday but now the pulley is not even moving. So I hafta get a compressor installed and then they can start the electrical.

I swear this mudderfukken car is the antichrist!!!!

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » July 5th, 2012, 4:04 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:poor grounding

Electrician believes its the same thing. He's going to clean up all the grounds.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » July 11th, 2012, 3:53 pm

I dont believe its the brain box.

If it's not a grounding issue...
Try replacing the crank sensor with a known good one. Had similar issue in the past and had me stumped for about a year. Especially since the crank sensor was only 2 months old when it started happening. Crank sensor would intermittently "fail" during operation and the PCM would trip a misfire code since the crank sensor was outputting an incorrect signal.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » August 3rd, 2012, 8:06 am

Well I did get the grounds cleaned up, they were not bad however like clockwork, problem resurfaced again yesterday. May try jnqaz's suggestion and change the crankshaft sensor.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » August 3rd, 2012, 5:04 pm

Cylinder 3 misfire. Changed plug but apparently the coil pack gone also.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 3rd, 2012, 6:42 pm

worst fkn car ever!!!!!! every month this goes on is no joke....

If that sensor change does not work I say leave it somewhere and hope to come back and not see it....

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 4th, 2012, 8:39 am

wait i now reading over your problem is that you need oem packs or they will keep blowing.... or fu will do the trick too

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 4th, 2012, 9:39 am

i had a kinda similar problem once, thought plugs were bad till an ignition coil melted...was my emanage, wasnt compatible with my coil system...possibly brain if not grounds.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 5th, 2012, 8:13 am

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:wait i now reading over your problem is that you need oem packs or they will keep blowing.... or fu will do the trick too

he is currently using foreign used coil packs....this latest fault is AGAIN cylinder 2 misfire again=blown plug....

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » August 6th, 2012, 10:49 am

anybody want a tiida to thief??

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 6th, 2012, 5:50 pm

you tried replacing the ecu? be very accurate, dont try a sdm ecu in a jdm car.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » August 7th, 2012, 9:29 am

Anil_Sooknanan I was wrong, the coil pack was good, only the plug had to be changed. Again it's cylinder 2.

Postby cinco » August 7th, 2012, 3:25 pm

try grounding your valve cover to the body of the car

Postby wagonrunner » August 7th, 2012, 5:05 pm

cinco wrote:try grounding your valve cover to the body of the car
that's metal or plastic?

Postby cinco » August 8th, 2012, 7:29 am

the tiida has a plastic valve cover???

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » August 8th, 2012, 2:26 pm

Anyway I went back to the electrician in Montrose, he is stumped as to why I'm blowing plugs and not coil packs and can offer no further assistance. He says my problem will be mechanical and not electrical. Any ideas??