Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

napster16

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby napster16 » May 27th, 2012, 10:27 pm

Hey, I was wondering if it's a good idea that everyone uploads pic/s of their aquascape setups etc...

Postby UML » June 2nd, 2012, 3:30 pm

page kinda quiet :(
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 10:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby sharkman121 » June 2nd, 2012, 3:57 pm

nice tang... need to get back into my tank. I neglecting my husbandry issues.

Postby UML » June 2nd, 2012, 7:52 pm

have to thank you guys for giving me great advice here.

I found out that the algae problem i was having was as a result of "new tank syndrome".
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 10:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 3rd, 2012, 8:44 am

discus locally ?
Last edited by mojosodope on July 2nd, 2012, 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » June 3rd, 2012, 9:28 am

Discus men

this guy is local

http://juliandiscus.com/index.html

lickshot

Postby lickshot » June 8th, 2012, 11:57 am

ok wel i was headin tru st james with my dad and we saw sum fishes in the st james river and we caught 6 good size black talapias 4-7 inches and also sum babies .now home i have 5 kois 5-6 inches 2 sharks 4 inches and some gold fish 3 inches my tank i like 4 ft x2.5 ft x 3 ft i think buh its big nun d less jus wanted to know if it wud be safe to put dem in there after purgiin them out in isolation for a bit

Postby sharkman121 » June 8th, 2012, 12:06 pm

im more a salt water specialist than fresh, but there all plenty fresh water guys in here who would be able to give you a good answer.

napster16

Postby napster16 » June 8th, 2012, 1:32 pm

Tilapia are territorial.... I would say NOT ... I have them by themselves, away from my koi.... I wouldn't take the risk since tilapia will also begin gnawing away the fins of your koi as well, and the situation would resemble this:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150846300950700&set=a.10150149043965700.338349.98117655699&type=3&theater

lickshot

Postby lickshot » June 8th, 2012, 2:32 pm

OK WEL I PLACED THE TALAPIAS WTH MY KOIS AND SHARKS AND DEY GETTIN ALONG SO FAR LOLZZZ

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=443756

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » June 8th, 2012, 3:20 pm

red_dragon wrote:Discus men

this guy is local

http://juliandiscus.com/index.html

Anyone ever bought discus from him?

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » June 8th, 2012, 3:44 pm

yep....

- he sells his reject locally... at a high price.

- operates like he is the busiest man in Trinidad.

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » June 10th, 2012, 12:16 am

Anybody knows where I can get Seachem Flourish and Flourish Excel? Prices? Also what other locally available aquarium plant fertilizers allyuh recommend? Plants are amazon sword and anubias. (so far) Good results (increased growth and richer, greener leaves) with Tetra Flora Pride so far but would like to try d Seachem.
Last edited by heavy rollers on July 15th, 2012, 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

link

Postby link » June 18th, 2012, 8:36 pm

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 19th, 2012, 2:05 am

Looking to set up my first large tank, 125g freshwater. Needed some advice

Mainly I was looking at an eheim 2078 with a uv inline steriliser but I see the 2078 has been out close to 5 years and I didn't want to invest so much money if there may be a newer model soon so I'm probably going to go with a Fluval Fx5, Just wanted to know if that setup would be adequate for filtration.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated also I'm using this as my substrate if that makes any difference:

Substrate:
http://www.petco.com/product/112366/Car ... vel-112366
UV Sterillizer:
http://www.amazon.com/Coralife-15602-Tu ... urbo+twist
Fluval:
http://www.amazon.com/Fluval-FX5-Extern ... fluval+fx5

Postby UML » June 20th, 2012, 6:31 am

works wonders on fish fungus 8-)

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » June 22nd, 2012, 5:02 pm

mojosodope wrote:Looking to set up my first large tank, 125g freshwater. Needed some advice

Mainly I was looking at an eheim 2078 with a uv inline steriliser but I see the 2078 has been out close to 5 years and I didn't want to invest so much money if there may be a newer model soon so I'm probably going to go with a Fluval Fx5, Just wanted to know if that setup would be adequate for filtration.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated also I'm using this as my substrate if that makes any difference:

Substrate:
UV Sterillizer:
Fluval:

You already know where you putting the tank? Will it be exposed to direct sunlight? If not, then you don't really need the UV Sterilizer ( my opinion). Substrate should not affect type of filter. Just make sure the intake not to close to the substrate so it would not suck in any sand. Also sand should be better than gravel as uneaten food and other waste would settle on top of the sand as opposed to it getting under the gravel. This would make 'vacuuming' up waste easier as you would not have to disturb the substrate. I think the FX5 would be good enough filtration, but that would be mostly for the mid and lower-bottom levels of the tank. For the top level and surface of the tank I think you should get the tank drilled and do a DIY overflow using PVC (if you could get black PVC that would be good). This overflow would then go to a DIY Wet/Dry trickle filter/sump which would then be pumped back up into your tank with a mag drive pump. Even with all this you would have to do some maintenance such as water changes ( every two weeks), cleaning filter media ( inspect and clean accordingly; siphon out some aquarium water and use that to wash it, NOT pipe water) , cleaning your tank walls ( when it feeling slimy and looking cloudy) and vacuuming waste your substrate (whenever you see any).

BTW where you getting the tahitian moon sand? Locally?

Postby timelapse » June 22nd, 2012, 7:22 pm

^Where can I get black PVC locally?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 22nd, 2012, 9:40 pm

heavy rollers wrote:
mojosodope wrote:Looking to set up my first large tank, 125g freshwater. Needed some advice

Substrate:
UV Sterillizer:
Fluval:

You already know where you putting the tank? Will it be exposed to direct sunlight? If not, then you don't really need the UV Sterilizer ( my opinion). Substrate should not affect type of filter. Just make sure the intake not to close to the substrate so it would not suck in any sand. Also sand should be better than gravel as uneaten food and other waste would settle on top of the sand as opposed to it getting under the gravel. This would make 'vacuuming' up waste easier as you would not have to disturb the substrate. I think the FX5 would be good enough filtration, but that would be mostly for the mid and lower-bottom levels of the tank. For the top level and surface of the tank I think you should get the tank drilled and do a DIY overflow using PVC (if you could get black PVC that would be good). This overflow would then go to a DIY Wet/Dry trickle filter/sump which would then be pumped back up into your tank with a mag drive pump. Even with all this you would have to do some maintenance such as water changes ( every two weeks), cleaning filter media ( inspect and clean accordingly; siphon out some aquarium water and use that to wash it, NOT pipe water) , cleaning your tank walls ( when it feeling slimy and looking cloudy) and vacuuming waste your substrate (whenever you see any).

BTW where you getting the tahitian moon sand? Locally?

Thanks for your advice man I'll take the overflow and sump into consideration. I looked everywhere locally for black sand but no luck. I know someone who has a container packing I'll see if I could stick some bags in, if anything I'll ask around and bring down a good bit for anyone who wants.

Postby sharkman121 » June 23rd, 2012, 4:29 am

r.i.p.

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » June 23rd, 2012, 5:29 am

timelapse, Not sure where you can get the black PVC. I will check around this week and report back.

mojosodope, cool.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » June 24th, 2012, 7:14 pm

timelapse wrote:^Where can I get black PVC locally?

black swimming pool paint, and white PVC. I did it, let dry in the sun 4 2 weeks, soaked it for another two, and now it with my fish, no problems a month now.

Postby UML » June 24th, 2012, 7:49 pm

Kasey wrote:
timelapse wrote:^Where can I get black PVC locally?

black swimming pool paint, and white PVC. I did it, let dry in the sun 4 2 weeks, soaked it for another two, and now it with my fish, no problems a month now.

or black laquer paint.....i use it to paint my aquarium covers....once it non-toxic paint u safe. i was advised they use this on baby cribs.

soak it in the water just in case.

Postby timelapse » June 25th, 2012, 6:26 am

Thanks UML and Kasey. You saved Century Eslon another call from me finding out why they don't have black pvc. I called a company about black acrylic tubing and I realised that I would have had to sell my teeth to purchase the amount i need :roll:

Hard luck there sharkman. All fishies go to heaven.

BTW. I have a set of little Blue Rammies but my camera to crappy too take them out good. Bleh
Last edited by timelapse on June 28th, 2012, 6:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » June 25th, 2012, 10:12 pm

My rams when they were younger

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » June 30th, 2012, 5:07 pm

I ent find any black PVC. Paint in he tail.

kl122

Postby kl122 » June 30th, 2012, 8:03 pm

anyone know who has clowns n hi fin (banded sharks) loach??......reasonable!!

Postby timelapse » June 30th, 2012, 8:52 pm

kl122 wrote:anyone know who has clowns n hi fin (banded sharks) loach??......reasonable!!

Pet City over the road by Medford gas station.

lowz91

Postby lowz91 » June 30th, 2012, 10:31 pm

heavy rollers wrote:I ent find any black PVC. Paint in he tail.

I think that black PVC is sch80 pipe. You wouldn't find that in a regular hardware. You might get it at bhagwansinghs also you could check petroquip or those industrial supplies places.

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » July 2nd, 2012, 10:12 pm

lowz91 wrote:
heavy rollers wrote:I ent find any black PVC. Paint in he tail.

I think that black PVC is sch80 pipe. You wouldn't find that in a regular hardware. You might get it at bhagwansinghs also you could check petroquip or those industrial supplies places.

Thanks lowz91, but sch80 pipe too expensive to use in an aquarium. sch40 and paint.