The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

firstchoicett

getting a degree is overated...

Postby firstchoicett » June 12th, 2012, 3:43 pm

melamite wrote:Most persons with degrees are educated beyond their intelligence.

very true .

Re: getting a degree is overated...

Postby stev » June 12th, 2012, 3:51 pm

Bizzare wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:hi guys I have nothing of importance to say

you must have a uwi masters degree, no?

OH GAAARRRRDDDD!!!!!!!! :lol:

Postby rfari » June 12th, 2012, 3:58 pm

Rell dodo-heads in the ched jed

Postby S_2NR » June 12th, 2012, 4:00 pm

OP definitely jellin'

Postby ronsin1 » June 13th, 2012, 5:32 am

Bizzare wrote:

:( :( :( :( :(

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 13th, 2012, 7:03 am

Stephon. wrote:
Bizzare wrote:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 13th, 2012, 9:11 am

If you do a degree in Electrical Engineering is a different story.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 13th, 2012, 10:04 am

^ I know ppl who do that and they catch arse to get wuk.

Humes

Postby Humes » June 14th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Stephon. wrote:This is true but in Trinidad it's way too easy to make money that you NEED to be dependent on a degree. There are people with masters currently paying me rent at the end of the month.

Stephon, did you purchase that income-generating property exclusively with money that you earned on your own? Without any help whatsoever from family or well-resourced benefactors?

If you did, please describe how you managed that at your age, because I feel I can learn a lot from you.

Otherwise, keep in mind that some people enter this world without any sort of capital with which to take entrepreneurial risks, and without any links to people like that. At that point, their only resource is their skills, or the skills they develop via education. And not all skills are conducive to self-employment.

Postby Stephon. » June 14th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Ok I see your point but even without help from others, you can still easily "make it" in Trinidad once you're friends with the right people. A degree still doesn't assure you security at the end of the day.

Postby nemisis » June 14th, 2012, 2:35 pm

Stephon. wrote:Ok I see your point but even without help from others, you can still easily "make it" in Trinidad once you're friends with the right people. A degree still doesn't assure you security at the end of the day.

Whom are the right people and how do you go about getting in their favor?

Postby zoom rader » June 14th, 2012, 3:06 pm

nemisis wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Ok I see your point but even without help from others, you can still easily "make it" in Trinidad once you're friends with the right people. A degree still doesn't assure you security at the end of the day.

Actions like these is why Trinidad is a mess, U always have to know the right people even when applying for a jobs. This is what breeds corruption.

Postby Stephon. » June 14th, 2012, 3:30 pm

Anywhere you go, once you're looking for a fair share of advancement you need to know someone somewhere higher up the org structure or you're gonna get snubbed like many people with degrees do.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » June 14th, 2012, 3:32 pm

nemisis wrote:

.......They're the people that you meet, when you're walking down the street, they're the people that you meet each daaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!

Postby UML » June 14th, 2012, 5:02 pm

$70m HANDYMAN
How a 'black man' from the 'ghetto' rose to riches at Hindu Credit Union
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jun 13, 2012 at 10:55 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jun 13, 2012 at 10:55 PM ECT

HE entered the world of work as a handyman making minimum wage.

Then he met Hindu Credit Union (HCU) president Harry Harnarine.

Now 35-years-old, Gordon James is a multimillionaire businessman.

James's company, Gordon James Construction and Home Repairs Company Ltd, was paid over $70.9 million to complete seven "major building projects" for the HCU.

In 2004, the year after that company was incorporated, James earned $27.9 million from the HCU.

Between 2001 and 2006 the HCU deposited over $17.8 million to James's personal account.

The HCU still owes him over $3.5 million, James claims.

The commission of enquiry into the collapse of CL Financial and the HCU was yesterday told of James's rags to riches tale.

James yesterday took the witness stand at the enquiry being held at Winsure Building, Richmond Street, Port of Spain, after being a no show on Tuesday.

He was represented by attorney Peter Taylor, the former legal affairs minister in the People's National Movement.

James yesterday apologised to Sir Anthony Colman, the lone commissioner to the enquiry, for his absence on Tuesday.

James said the first job he ever had was as a handyman at the National Union of Government and Federated Workers (NUGFW).

Harnarine was the NUGFW's Industrial Relations Officer in charge of the Southern Division at the time.

When Harnarine was named the HCU's president he recruited James as a "marketing officer" in order to help build the credit union's membership.

James was fired from that job.

In 2002, James formed a company named 2002 Janitorial Services Limited and was hired by the HCU to clean and do maintenance work to their branches and subsidiaries.

That company is no longer in existence.

In 2003, James formed a second company entitled Gordon James Construction and Home Repairs Company Ltd along with his brother Dexter Davis and Kalam Shah Karamath.

He has a certificate in landscaping from the University of the West Indies.

By August 2003, they landed a contract valued at more than $18 million from the HCU.

James described the company as a "consortium" and said its accounts were a "clearing house" for the other businesses in group.

Between the period June 1, 2003 and May 9, 2005 Gordon James Construction was paid: $5.6 million for work at HCU's Jovi Water Park; $5.8 million for work at Shakti Foods; $18.69 million for work at the Food Corporation; $17.79 million for work at the Printing Press; $17.5 million for work at the Freeport Multipurpose Centre and $5.8 million at Orange Field.

James said HCU's Jovi Water Park was his idea and said he intended it to become a local Disneyland.

He told of his visits to Disneyland, Six Flags Great Adventure and Atlantic City so that he could make his dream of the park come to fruition.

Questioned by Stuart Young, the legal representative for Ernst and Young, James said he did not pay Corporation Taxes because he is a "small contractor".

Senior Counsel Deborah Peake told James, her client HCU liquidator Ramdath D Rampersad, was having problems renting the buildings because they were substandard.

Farid Scoon, the attorney for Harnarine, yesterday said the difficulties James faced were because he was a "black man" from the "ghetto" who had succeeded.

"You were like the head black man and people were surprised that you were a black man controlling all that money. $70 million a black man? A black man eat ah food," Scoon said.

James said he faced difficulties at the HCU because people were wondering if Harnarine was trying to "douglarise" the credit union.

Scoon read a document, taken from the Commissioner of Co-operative Development bundle, called "Indian time come" which stated "the unspoken policy in the HCU is to make money off of stupid n***ers".

Peake objected to Scoon's statement and called it both "irrelevant and offensive" and said it was "very unfortunate" that the "racial references were being made at the enquiry".

Scoon said the issue of race caused the financial run on the HCU and its eventual collapse.

Scoon described James as a "master builder who earned the food that he ate".

The enquiry continues today.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_70 ... 92525.html

/thread

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 14th, 2012, 5:59 pm

You feel out of all that money he getting all ? The boss man have to get he cut .

Postby ronsin1 » June 15th, 2012, 5:55 am

Stephon. wrote:Anywhere you go, once you're looking for a fair share of advancement you need to know someone somewhere higher up the org structure or you're gonna get snubbed like many people with degrees do.

that does not need to happen Hard work does pay off

Postby Stephon. » June 15th, 2012, 7:04 am

Well hard work does pay off but that's not the case half the time in Trindad

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 15th, 2012, 7:30 am

Stephon. wrote:Well hard work does pay off but that's not the case half the time in Trindad

someone who have CCNA/CCNP in the States will earn 4500-7000 USD per month in Trinidad most is about 20000

Postby Trini Hookah » June 15th, 2012, 7:36 am

M_2NR wrote:Sky, also, you don't do much like those in Eng yet they expect to have a 4 year program in 3 years and also expect students to have such skills. :| Mind you every decade the program is "restructured" in some faculties eh.

They're looking at making it four years yunno M.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 15th, 2012, 7:38 am

Stephon. wrote:necesserally

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 15th, 2012, 7:48 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Sky, also, you don't do much like those in Eng yet they expect to have a 4 year program in 3 years and also expect students to have such skills. :| Mind you every decade the program is "restructured" in some faculties eh.

They're looking at making it four years yunno M.

4 years will be better but they will have to pay the last year out of there pocket I think GATE only fund the first three years .

Postby Stephon. » June 15th, 2012, 6:55 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

I ain't reach that part in my degree yet!

Postby rfari » June 15th, 2012, 7:03 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

I ain't reach that part in my degree yet!

see kids, stay in school & don't do drugs

Postby Stephon. » June 15th, 2012, 7:14 pm

rfari wrote:don't do drugs

You should practice what you preach though

Postby rfari » June 15th, 2012, 7:17 pm

Stephon. wrote:
rfari wrote:don't do drugs

You should practice what you preach though

meh. let children's parents be the examples that they follow

Logan Easton

NEDCO Experiences

Postby Logan Easton » July 4th, 2012, 7:04 pm

was wondering if anyone on tuner had any success stories other than those posted on their site.
or took any loans with them when starting their business .

Michael Knight...

Re: NEDCO Experiences

Postby Michael Knight... » July 4th, 2012, 9:38 pm

From what I understand they literally hold your hand right through for the entire process. Give them a call and find out more.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » July 4th, 2012, 9:46 pm

Michael Knight... wrote:From what I understand they literally hold your hand right through for the entire process. Give them a call and find out more.

:lol: the person who told you that should file for sexual harassment.. :P

kual

Postby kual » July 5th, 2012, 8:42 am

call them and let us know what you find. I wonder if they would hold anything else for me