Re: getting a degree is overated...

Postby Redman » June 11th, 2012, 6:48 pm

Education is important if you apply it.

Work ethic gives you the best opportunity to be successful-success is hard work

I would advise anybody -get qualified AND work your ass off.
Its easier with both-harder with 1.
But at no point is it easy.

And if allyuh think it hard now-wait a couple years.

I dont have a degree

I regret it every day.

Later

Postby UML » June 11th, 2012, 7:01 pm

its all about who know u.....cause if u have a degree and no experience...dey wah experience....if u have experience and no degree...dey wah degree

allyuh doh do no damn degree...degree is shiit...waste of time and money!!!

:)

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 11th, 2012, 7:03 pm

Getting a "degree" and getting an internationally accredited degree are two completely different things.

Some people do not even find out if the degree programme they are pursuing is internationally accredited.

Postby brams112 » June 11th, 2012, 7:08 pm

Oh gosh how much times this topic get beat out in diffrent forms?education is just the first step in getting into your field, for experience you have to start at the bottom and work your way up,not stand on top with a piece of paper and say you reach.

Postby Bizzare » June 11th, 2012, 7:35 pm

conclusion: a degree may not be needed, but get one!

[/thread]

Daran

Postby Daran » June 11th, 2012, 8:36 pm

Actually, after more consideration of this topic, a degree in any field is worthless unless you have a passion for that field.

Too many people doing degrees for status and not actually absorbing any relevant information for that said degree.

This results in doctors who dont give a sh*t, engineers who don't put thought into their designs (guilty of that at times).

Not to seem sexist, but it's mostly women are guilty of this. Most lack the passion for their chosen career and pretty much look for easiest type of job after graduating. Yet, they keep doing MSc, CAPM, and all kinda abbreviations just to look good.

Imagine how hard it is for me to promote some of these 20 something engineers. That is why I hate to hire females. I have one guy, lower second class honors in Civil Eng......guy loves his work and puts 110% effort into his work. Hired a female with upper second class, Msc, CAPM etc.....but the b*tch can't do anything on her own. You can just see the lack of thought she portrays in this field. However, she is a whiz at Graphic Design.....natural photoshop/illustrator talent.

In T&T too much people degrees for status and not choosing something that actually interests them.

Wish UWI had a screening process where they accessed a persons interest before admitting them.

Half of MedSci would never get in......and the places would go to some of much more deserved Nat Sci students who actually have an interest in that field, but couldn't cram as good.

Postby Sky » June 11th, 2012, 9:08 pm

Daran wrote:Actually, after more consideration of this topic, a degree in any field is worthless unless you have a passion for that field.

Too many people doing degrees for status and not actually absorbing any relevant information for that said degree.

This results in doctors who dont give a sh*t, engineers who don't put thought into their designs (guilty of that at times).

Not to seem sexist, but it's mostly women are guilty of this. Most lack the passion for their chosen career and pretty much look for easiest type of job after graduating. Yet, they keep doing MSc, CAPM, and all kinda abbreviations just to look good.

Imagine how hard it is for me to promote some of these 20 something engineers. That is why I hate to hire females. I have one guy, lower second class honors in Civil Eng......guy loves his work and puts 110% effort into his work. Hired a female with upper second class, Msc, CAPM etc.....but the b*tch can't do anything on her own. You can just see the lack of thought she portrays in this field. However, she is a whiz at Graphic Design.....natural photoshop/illustrator talent.

In T&T too much people degrees for status and not choosing something that actually interests them.

Wish UWI had a screening process where they accessed a persons interest before admitting them.

Half of MedSci would never get in......and the places would go to some of much more deserved Nat Sci students who actually have an interest in that field, but couldn't cram as good.

You just proved that despite not having a passion for your job, a degree is useful.

Postby MG Man » June 11th, 2012, 11:02 pm

when I was small I tell mih mudda I want tuh get ah degree..............she hand me ah thermometer and say 'heh, yuh want yuh degree in Celsius or Fahrenheit?'

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 11th, 2012, 11:56 pm

Bizzare wrote:
Stephon. wrote:I only in school to make my parents happy lol.

this. i've probably said this multiple times on here.

but is either you stay in school or you get the @#@# out
my house

firstchoicett

getting a degree is overated...

Postby firstchoicett » June 12th, 2012, 7:12 am

Ride out d house ...... We ent want no lazy ppl.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » June 12th, 2012, 7:42 am

The thing people have to recognize is that there is no formula. I have many friends who did not have the school smarts to go further than O'Levels and now they are either successful employees in senior positions, successful businessmen or simply employees working without a difinitive direction.

Others have gone the route of post-secondary education, a degree or otherwise, and the results are mixed; some are successful employees, successful businessmen or employess working.

At the end of it all, it comes down to the individual! Having a degree or not having a degree does not determine the drive and tenacity of the individual. Opportunities may or may not come for various reasons, name, degree, who you know, etc...... It is how the individual deals with the opportunities, regardless of its magnitude, is what determines the success of the individual.

Several people have started down the path of a degree in a particular field only to find their passion in another field. Others have found greater passion in their field because of their degree. Others have found their passion else where.

Take for example the oil worker, most of whom did not pursue a degree, who continues to be an employee versus the oil worker who has taken their speciality into a consulting career or even gone out on their own to establish their own company. In each case the drive of the individual determined what direction the person went and their success.

In each case, each person may deem themselves successful in their own right. I don't think that a degree makes you happy or successful, I think it is what you do for yourself that makes you happy and successful. More importantly, to judge an individual for what they have or haven't done is wrong. What someone is doing or has done may be the result of circumstance, their own desire, or maybe they haven't figured it out yet - which applies to more people than we realize.

So is a degree overated, only if you are doing it for the wrong reasons. If you're doing it for fame and fortune then that is the wrong reason!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 12th, 2012, 7:47 am

Somehow if you own a Red Band maxi you make close to $1000 a day which is more than what a degree can pay.

Hell even illiterate people working security does sleep whole night and make over $4k a month. I know people with degree making $4500 a month so....

Postby 1UZFE » June 12th, 2012, 8:03 am

^^^this taxi drivers from POS to Sando does make a good raise as well.. Even ppl who sell fish makin ah killing....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 12th, 2012, 8:30 am

^ Yeah true every tom dick and harry now pulling bull. They realize taxi has money you can make $500 a day with a 4 seater. Thats why everyone buying 7 seater now.

Lot more than what a degree pays you.

Postby cinco » June 12th, 2012, 9:47 am

MG Man wrote:when I was small I tell mih mudda I want tuh get ah degree..............she hand me ah thermometer and say 'heh, yuh want yuh degree in Celsius or Fahrenheit?'

den he name yuh Ke(l)vin?

melamite

Postby melamite » June 12th, 2012, 11:31 am

Most persons with degrees are educated beyond their intelligence.

Postby Stephon. » June 12th, 2012, 11:39 am

Most peopl with degrees forget everything they did for a semester an hr after the exam is done lol.
Ask me what I learned last year in school :lol:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 12th, 2012, 11:45 am

Look at those individuals who have trade certification in welding and electrical etc...and employed with energy companies also in T&TEC. They make minimum 10k a month up to 30k a month. As was mentioned before, there are degreed people not even making 6k a month. A lot of people employed in the energy sector who are not degreed individuals, make more than those with the degree working in pos wearing shirt and tie. What gives?

New stigma is, those in PPE with hard harts make more money than those with ironed shirts!

Postby 1UZFE » June 12th, 2012, 11:45 am

^^ Ask me wat i learned last night.... Most of the stuff learned in class for most subjects might not be applied to your work at all... Except for electrians and mechs and more hands on type of jobs... things like ACCA is just for the school, the working environment has its own accounts and accounting systems that are a far cry from ACCA...

Postby zoom rader » June 12th, 2012, 12:05 pm

acesinghit wrote:Look at those individuals who have trade certification in welding and electrical etc...and employed with energy companies also in T&TEC. They make minimum 10k a month up to 30k a month. As was mentioned before, there are degreed people not even making 6k a month. A lot of people employed in the energy sector who are not degreed individuals, make more than those with the degree working in pos wearing shirt and tie. What gives?

New stigma is, those in PPE with hard harts make more money than those with ironed shirts!

Dude dont spill the beans out, last thing we want is shirt n tie clowns looking for work in Pt Lisas.
Dude when u walk into a bank with ur greased stained overalls they smirk at you, but when they see your bank balance and salary comming in its a different ball game.

Postby Stephon. » June 12th, 2012, 12:07 pm

So when youre in a bank and doing a transaction and they pull up your account, their face expression changes? :?

Postby zoom rader » June 12th, 2012, 12:11 pm

Stephon. wrote:So when youre in a bank and doing a transaction and they pull up your account, their face expression changes? :?

Yes it does, had this happend to me and others like my selfs a few times. Even had some tellers looking for small talk.

silver

Postby silver » June 12th, 2012, 12:41 pm

Getting a degree is useful depending on how it is intended to be used.

Postby Stephon. » June 12th, 2012, 12:56 pm

Stephon. wrote:So when youre in a bank and doing a transaction and they pull up your account, their face expression changes? :?

Yes it does, had this happend to me and others like my selfs a few times. Even had some tellers looking for small talk.

Small talk is normal, but you know it's against the rules for them to show any sort of "interest" / "disinterest" in your accounts right?

You tried though

Postby zoom rader » June 12th, 2012, 1:06 pm

Stephon. wrote:

Small talk is normal, but you know it's against the rules for them to show any sort of "interest" / "disinterest" in your accounts right?

You tried though

Yes but this is trini, and in trini money and power talks

Postby Stephon. » June 12th, 2012, 1:08 pm

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz bored of you already

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 12th, 2012, 2:05 pm

people does still go in the bank???