geodude

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby geodude » May 31st, 2012, 6:55 am

yep JD Macae is an interesting place
true definition of an oil town, never know who you gonna meet when your there,
i enjoyed my trips to Macae, i like it there, well i like Cavilerios not really the rest of macae, :)
i need to redo my medical in July when i return to Brasil so if your guys around then we can link up for a skol,

Postby pete » May 31st, 2012, 8:06 am

Mudboy wrote:I am asking about operators and them kinda peoples........those who remain clean. Just curious on what they really do.............

From what I've seen.. supervise contractors who do maintenance on the platforms. Perform isolations, gas tests, make sure people follow procedures.

Postby De Dragon » May 31st, 2012, 8:55 am

nemesis wrote:
nemesis wrote:No one is always clean.

De Dragon ; OIM's vary greatly by rig. But either way, it's a lot.
Geodude ; you in Macae now? I in Vitorria. Coming Macae next week though I believe. And yeah the writer also from the rig crew, not a service company I'd bet.

I'd be happy with even a ballpark figure/range. Thanks

Well then be more specific of rig type/country etc.

BG running an ad for an OIM now. Doesn't give specifics but I was wondering what the salary'd be like.

Postby De Dragon » May 31st, 2012, 8:57 am

nemesis wrote:

Geodude ; you in Macae now? I in Vitorria. Coming Macae next week though I believe. And yeah the writer also from the rig crew, not a service company I'd bet.

BG running an ad for an OIM now. Doesn't give specifics but I was wondering what the salary'd be like.

Postby De Dragon » May 31st, 2012, 8:57 am

nemesis wrote:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 31st, 2012, 9:36 am

Macae is ok in some places. Cavaleiros real expensive to lime though. Ever been to any of the dance clubs in Brazil?
I doh know where allyuh getting this "real women" ting from though. Many other places in Brazil much better off than there. That being said Macae real kinda mixed up since the population basically consists of people that went there to work.

DeDragon, that'll probably be for a production platform. You'll have to find someone in that field to know. Or apply and ask them if you get the interview.

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » May 31st, 2012, 12:04 pm

JD...... wrote:
Mudboy wrote:
nemesis wrote:You writing these yourself or wha?
I like how there are separate descriptions of everyone on the drilling rig, but one desc covers the whole production platform. Hah.

What odda positions it have on the production platform?.......serious question.

Wham to d service company people??

Well testers
Completions
CT
WL, SL
Snubbing

Blitz, you try Tenaris, Hydril, VAM and the other thread manufactures. will not be cheap

Geo you in Macae, BRZ?

^^^ nah i havent tried those brands,,,but do they sell locally?? if so, who may have them?

JD......

Postby JD...... » May 31st, 2012, 12:51 pm

thats the thing man, on my first hitch i was in cava all the time, but when you know some of the locals, you go to the better parties, there is a new club that opened (Opera), first good club here, apart from that quansas hall by hotel dubai, has never let me down party starts at 130am until 4 or 5 then work at 630. and we not going for no stones lime.
if any of you around i here on a 6x3 out of macae, most weekend head to buzios

nemesis

Postby nemesis » May 31st, 2012, 1:58 pm

Yeah buzios not bad.
A bit of distance though.

JD......

Postby JD...... » May 31st, 2012, 5:25 pm

blitz, im not too sure, if you have an inside contact with IAL, they will be the best people to ask. they make xovers and parts for locations all over the world. every where i go i see their equipment

Postby janfar » May 31st, 2012, 7:46 pm

Buzios is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been too... when i was there 6 years ago Cava wasnt that bad. The restaurants were reasonable. Durval was my favourite or if im really hungry Gallopes... but you really need to know ppl to find the holes that have the really good parties. Almost every weekend there is a rave somehwere about town... if you look hard enough or know the right ppl... mostly on the slow side... i mean down by blue tree hotel.

DeDragon, i have a friend working as an OIM with BG. 2 on 2 off, he takes home bout 20k after tax plus he gets housing and a vehicle.

Postby De Dragon » May 31st, 2012, 10:41 pm

janfar wrote:Buzios is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been too... when i was there 6 years ago Cava wasnt that bad. The restaurants were reasonable. Durval was my favourite or if im really hungry Gallopes... but you really need to know ppl to find the holes that have the really good parties. Almost every weekend there is a rave somehwere about town... if you look hard enough or know the right ppl... mostly on the slow side... i mean down by blue tree hotel.

DeDragon, i have a friend working as an OIM with BG. 2 on 2 off, he takes home bout 20k after tax plus he gets housing and a vehicle.

Thanks janfar, but 20 K :shock:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 1st, 2012, 9:17 am

Eh? would have thought it higher. But I guess it's a trini production platform he's on?
No idea what those salary ranges are really. Either way, sounds kind of low for an OIM.

JD......

Postby JD...... » June 1st, 2012, 11:59 am

20k USD????, not TT.

geodude

Postby geodude » June 1st, 2012, 2:11 pm

dude its a production platform
see job description for production ppl :)

Postby janfar » June 1st, 2012, 2:56 pm

lol... 20k ttd after taxes plus at least 5k per month in perks not to mention end of year bonus and u work only 2 on 2 off...

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 1st, 2012, 3:46 pm

Yeah but you could get that easily in the oilfield doing something with much less responsibility. And how on earth do housing and vehicle come up to 5k ttd/mth ?
End of year bonus would have to be quite good.

Postby pete » June 1st, 2012, 8:18 pm

If yuh pardner getting 20ktt/month after tax he's not a BG OIM.

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » June 2nd, 2012, 9:50 am

Where can i get an offshore job? BA Manangement Mba pursuing

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » June 2nd, 2012, 10:24 am

Norton12005 wrote:Where can i get an offshore job? BA Manangement Mba pursuing

:shock: :shock: :shock:

geodude

Postby geodude » June 2nd, 2012, 11:34 am

Norton12005 wrote:Where can i get an offshore job? BA Manangement Mba pursuing

in de sea as in not on land

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 2nd, 2012, 3:04 pm

With business stuff you're more likely to end up on land if you apply to any of the oil companies.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » June 2nd, 2012, 6:52 pm

Any leads yet tuners still trying here...... last place i applied was to a company named RCCL any 1 ever heard bout them...or knows wat dey do exactly.....

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » June 2nd, 2012, 10:41 pm

As much as I am studying business, I would like to be part of offshore maintenance more so chemical solutions for general cleaning and maintenance, I use to supervise cleaning in pipe yards and offshore before with a service company, but they close down. Any word, drop a line for me.........

nemesis wrote:With business stuff you're more likely to end up on land if you apply to any of the oil companies.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » June 3rd, 2012, 8:15 pm

pete wrote:If yuh pardner getting 20ktt/month after tax he's not a BG OIM.

I would hope so, that salary range would be almost double that. End of year bonus does not count.

geodude

Postby geodude » June 9th, 2012, 2:23 pm

and the stresses of offshore life continues .........sigh.........

Rig_ting.JPG

8-)

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » June 15th, 2012, 7:03 am

by chance is there any drilling courses that are offered locally?

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » June 15th, 2012, 7:46 am

BlitzMekenzie wrote:by chance is there any drilling courses that are offered locally?

Blitz I don't think so. The Petroleum engineering programs at UWI and UTT may cover Drilling as part of a course, but I don't believe there are drilling courses offered locally. UTT from time to time facilitates a one week Petroskills course called Basic Drilling Technology but it's US$4000 for it, and it won't necessarily qualify one for a job in the drilling industry.

The BG OIM position advertised would be for a platform OIM and not a drilling rig OIM. Two completely different experience sets.

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » June 15th, 2012, 10:19 pm

yeah i did some research into that...too bad most of the training you can get is when you actually work for a company..but thanks non the less...

Postby De Dragon » June 16th, 2012, 1:47 am

geodude wrote:and the stresses of offshore life continues .........sigh.........

Rig_ting.JPG

8-)

She is much to close to that top rail without being tied off eh............ :lol: