fiveforward wrote:Need an answer here or am i just going mad;
Was going through the list of recognised NSo in Trinidad & Tobago
http://msya.gov.tt/home/images/stories/ ... sports.pdf
and realized that Motorsport is nowhere to been seen although they do have pigeon racing
quite prominent.
My question is how can Motorsport not be recognised as an official sport considering that there is a "functioning" association representing the better interest of Motorsport on the whole in Trinidad. If anybody from TTASA can answer this for me I would be VERY appreciative.
And if I choose to financially "sponsor" something/ somebody would I get a write off of some kind or is that dead money.
Anybody please.
TTASA rep wrote:i suggest you ask your affiliate club
kual wrote:sponsor me a couple pigeons nuh so they could race. racing pigeons cost a great deal of money too!
dread_2002 wrote:insurance covering racing..hahahhaha
i work in insurance..
and most companies agreements will never cover any racing!
its an exclusion on the policy
fiveforward wrote:Need an answer here or am i just going mad;
Was going through the list of recognised NSo in Trinidad & Tobago
http://msya.gov.tt/home/images/stories/ ... sports.pdf
and realized that Motorsport is nowhere to been seen although they do have pigeon racing
quite prominent.
My question is how can Motorsport not be recognised as an official sport considering that there is a "functioning" association representing the better interest of Motorsport on the whole in Trinidad. If anybody from TTASA can answer this for me I would be VERY appreciative.
And if I choose to financially "sponsor" something/ somebody would I get a write off of some kind or is that dead money.
Anybody please.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:but it's there on the first page under the section "Automobile".fiveforward wrote:And if I choose to financially "sponsor" something/ somebody would I get a write off of some kind or is that dead money.
Anybody please.
fiveforward wrote:
Anybody please.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:but it's there on the first page, 4th item is the section "AUTOMOBILE". TTASA is there, TTRC is there and TTKA is there
I could have sworn you saidfiveforward wrote:I know it's there
anyway...fiveforward wrote:Motorsport is nowhere to been seen
TTASA is the National Governing Body for Motorsport in T&T.
TTRC and TTKA were stripped of their NSO status when TTASA urged the Ministry of Sport that there can only be one NSO/NGB for a sport.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:TTASA has not hosted a circuit event since 2005-2006
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:TTASA has been having Drag Racing events at Camden again since November 2011.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:TTUNDRA and Horizon Motorsport. While these clubs should be the ones hosting the drag racing events, TTASA has the lease for Camden and so they have been having the events.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:TTASA has the lease for Camden and so they have been having the events. According to TTASA, ALL proceeds from these events go towards a fund that TTASA keeps for the development of a motorsport facility that will support every discipline of motorsport.
link wrote:FIA
there is no NGB for circuit. The Ministry changed the term NSO to NGB. Link had said there can only be one NGB for all of Motorsport.fiveforward wrote:hmmmmmmmmmmmDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:TTASA has not hosted a circuit event since 2005-2006
wow well if that is the case then circuit doesn't have a functioning association as well, just like drag racing. Or is it that TTASA still is the defacto NGB for circuit, as well as being the NSO for motorsport, as well as the ASN for FIA, as well as host for drags despite there being "clubs" to do that.
A TTASA rep will have to answer that. however the latter is how I understand it to be. Though I think the General Council should be the NGB and TTASA can remain the ASN, but I was told this cannot work for various reasons.fiveforward wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:TTASA has been having Drag Racing events at Camden again since November 2011.
But isn't TTASA the one's who formed the motorsport council; so in essence you're saying that once TTRC, CARS, ARA and TTKA and the like join the council then TTASA is responsible for their events or do the clubs maintain a level of autonomy in running their own affairs with TTASA overseeing total motorsport development.
wha? There is only one NGB for ALL of motorsport. TTASA is the NGB for ALL of motorsport in T&T. TTUNDRA and Horizon REPRESENT Drag Racing on the T&T Motorsport General Council. TTUNDRA and Horizon are not NGBs! Nothing is wrong with having numerous Drag Racing clubs, however they all need to vote among themselves to decide which members among them will represent their sport at the MSGC.fiveforward wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:TTUNDRA and Horizon Motorsport. While these clubs should be the ones hosting the drag racing events, TTASA has the lease for Camden and so they have been having the events.
How can there be more than one NGB for the same sport. I know Motorsport is Motorsport but there are different branches under the same tree. So there are effectively 2 NGB's representing the National interest of 1 sport and the head of the NGB hosting it. How come I don't see that in other sporting organisational structures with NSO status, there is always 1 which everybody has to go through, so for drags is either the corporate people go thru TTASA or should they go thru TTUNDRA and HORIZON which are merely clubs.
You are not the only one who shares that sentiment. Infact I remember FIA informing TTASA that the ASN should not be hosting events - hosting/promoting/organising should be done by the clubs/promotion companies etc and TTASA would sanction said events if needed.fiveforward wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:TTASA has the lease for Camden and so they have been having the events. According to TTASA, ALL proceeds from these events go towards a fund that TTASA keeps for the development of a motorsport facility that will support every discipline of motorsport.
TTASA is the National Governing Body for Motorsport in T&T so I can understand them getting the lease, but how come TTUNDRA or Horizon as clubs are NOT able to host their OWN drag racing events, arn't they the one representing drag racing. TTASA is just the holder of the compound unless of course they were given the charge by the leaser to host events as well. In which case why ONLY drag racing, why not a V8 something as well. An if the leaser is the government then there is something not right in the mix.
that is a directive of the current TTASA administration, you would have to contact them directly to find out. Link is the Vice President so maybe you can PM him.fiveforward wrote:And why MUST all the revenue derived from drag racing go towards the development of MOTORSPORT.
Cricket has an NGB and basketball has an NGB. Windball cricket falls under the cricket NGB. The same way Track and Field has an NGB, Motorsport has an NGB. You dont see an NGB for 100m, another NGB for pole vault and another NGB for relay, that would be chaos for the ministry to have to deal with 200 NGBs!; similarly there is no NGB for Rally, another Circuit and another for Drags, instead there is one NGB for all Motorsport.fiveforward wrote:I don't see revenue derived in cricket go towards basketball/ the money that the rally club gets is used to develop rally and throw rally events (e.g. Rally Trinidad).
that is a TTASA decision to have Drag Racing events at Camden . Considering Camden is a strip and not a rally stage I think that had alot to do with which sport they would have there. Also I am sure the fact that drag racing has proven to be a lucrative sport in T&T is also another reason.fiveforward wrote:If you tell me a dedicated drag strip for 24/7 drag racing then I will say cool. But why are the drag racers footing a large chunk of a bill for a motorsport facility that will not really benefit them.
you would have to contact TTASA on that one - please let us know what you find out!fiveforward wrote:How are the other association contributing to this facility to be built. Is there publicly available documents to see the value of this fund cause i think associations representing the government and national interests supposed to have open books.
I prefer to call you fiveforwardfiveforward wrote:Call me selfish
corporate? I dont think TTASA has gotten any funding from the government so far because the Ministry of Sport is withholding funds until all of motorsport is unified.fiveforward wrote: by why should monies that corporate issues for the development of drag racing be used to fund a Motorsport facility. Of what benefit is that to them and please don't tell me goodwill.
this is the way motorsport is structured in T&T right now (I may have missed out a few clubs, but you get the idea)fiveforward wrote:Could someone draw me an organisational chart so I can follow how Motorsport is structured cause right now i lost and this isn't looking to good.
Link or someone from TTASA would have to answer thatfiveforward wrote:link wrote:FIA
Link correct me if I am wrong but does FIA put on F1 events because I just went through almost all of http://www.fia.com and nowhere does it say host/ promote event or any ONE discipline
It does say that FIA (a sanctioning body) is dedicated to representing the rights of motoring organisations and motor car users throughout the world via campaigns and activities that defend their interests. On issues such as safety, mobility, the environment and consumer law. The FIA is also the governing body for motor sport worldwide and administers the rules and regulations for all international four-wheel motor sport.
FIA makes money through member dues, sanctioning fees, licencing fees and the kind donations of billionaires. I have yet to see them ACTIVELY make money from BTCC, WRC and F1, then take that money, bank it and use it to build a facility. I can be wrong eh.
So if I think that drag racing is being victimized to the highest, who do I report to? TTASA (NSO), TTASA (ASN), TTASA (Circuit NGB), TTASA (Leasee), TTASA (FIA rep), TTASA ( Drag NGB), TTASA (drag event promoter)
Just askin.
the minister of sport said he will not sign off on any lands to build a motorsport facility until there is unity in motorsport (meaning all clubs under on umbrella/NGB). However the Minister of Tourism announced this month that he would look into lands in Valencia / Sangre Grande to develop a facility, though no confirmation on which piece of land or the size has been give as yet.ek4ever wrote:How far are we from getting this facility?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Regarding TTASA financials, Link would have to answer that too
As far as I know only TTASA members are privy to TTASA financial reports.the minister of sport said he will not sign off on any lands to build a motorsport facility until there is unity in motorsport (meaning all clubs under on umbrella/NGB). However the Minister of Tourism announced this month that he would look into lands in Valencia / Sangre Grande to develop a facility, though no confirmation on which piece of land or the size has been give as yet.ek4ever wrote:How far are we from getting this facility?
I think we are years away from this facility.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Speaking to TTASA officials they say that they will get corporate support and substantial financial support from FIA, but only if they get land from the gov't.
The govt would probably be more amenable to assist if they see some move to meet them part way.
link wrote:The govt would probably be more amenable to assist if they see some move to meet them part way.
TTASA is on record telling Govt that all the ASN needs is a lease on adequate lands & funding/technical assistance will be made available (to the ASN...NOT GOVT).
I guess 'some' ppl have to 'pull een' their pardners somehow....(ipo...popio...rfp...cepep...)
rgds
link wrote:DON'T MISS THIS OPPORTUNITY TO WITNESS FIRST-HAND WHICH RACE TEAMS TRY TO QUALIFY FOR SELECTION TO BE ON THE T&T NATIONAL TEAM TO CHALLENGE ST. LUCIA
link wrote:Duane...above statement is CORRECTLY represented below :
'TTRC and TTKA were stripped of their NSO status when the Ministry of Sport resolved their error in creating multiple NSOs, understanding (through the FIA definition below) that there can only be one NSO for motor sport. MSYA further renamed these bodies 'NGB' to further cement & reinforce the authority of the NATIONAL GOVERNING BODY.'
Taken from the FIA statutes :
ARTICLE 4 – Sporting Power
The General Assembly of the FIA shall be the sole
international body governing motor sport, that is to say it
shall hold the exclusive right to take all decisions
concerning the organisation, direction and management
of International Motor Sport.
The FIA shall recognize in each country and for all
branches of motoring only one Sporting Power which
under all circumstances shall remain responsible to the
FIA; the holder of this power is the direct motor sport
representative of its country within the FIA and is
entrusted with having the international regulations laid
down by the International Sporting Code of the FIA
enforced in its country.
Great, so we can establish that all FIA funding goes to TTASA directly! Who is TTASA accountable to for that $$?!link wrote:The govt would probably be more amenable to assist if they see some move to meet them part way.
TTASA is on record telling Govt that all the ASN needs is a lease on adequate lands & funding/technical assistance will be made available (to the ASN...NOT GOVT).
But nowhere in there does FIA say they have to be the same body. TTASA is just connecting dots that do not exist to continue to fool the weak minded!
7. SAFETY/RISK MANAGEMENT
The issue of physical safety in sport be it in relation to equipment, sport facilities or the conduct of sporting activity itself must form an integral component of the thrust to develop sport. In this regard the following is proposed
7.1 All public and private sporting facilities must be covered by public liability insurance.
7.2 Coaches, trainers and Health & Physical Education teachers must be trained in safety measures and First Aid/CPR.
7.3 Facilities and equipment must conform to international safety requirements.
7.4 The public must be sensitized to the importance of safety at sports competitions.
A Code of Ethics for coaches, medical personnel, trainers and administrators shall be established, and checks and balances put in place in order to avoid the abuse and /or harassment of athletes. This code shall be consistent with the requirements of the relevant International Sporting Federations.
Porn Star wrote:TTASA really needs to know their place.
The FIA shall recognize in each country and for all
branches of motoring only one Sporting Power which
under all circumstances shall remain responsible to the
FIA; the holder of this power is the direct motor sport
representative of its country within the FIA and is
entrusted with having the international regulations laid
down by the International Sporting Code of the FIA
enforced in its country.