Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Samo

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby Samo » March 31st, 2012, 10:12 am

well the day is here... who coming inbox me.
we live too
www.niosoundz.com from 1-6pm

Samo

Postby Samo » April 1st, 2012, 8:25 am

thing was bess... allyuh miss out..
big up to DJ Q!!! wicked dj.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 1st, 2012, 11:48 am

Thanks man... lime was bess

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » April 1st, 2012, 3:40 pm

Post some pics

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » April 10th, 2012, 2:14 pm

Im sorry i cudnt make it fellaz got a last minute wedding job! im sure you guys know how it is!

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 22nd, 2012, 9:39 pm

http://www.djpromotv.com/watchlive.php

tuner dj challenge going hard dey

Postby pioneer » April 22nd, 2012, 11:01 pm

is this real life?

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 27th, 2012, 8:38 pm

Fellers..i looking for an NS-6...link me nah...

rafman

Postby rafman » April 27th, 2012, 9:51 pm

Guys...anyone here using the JBL PRX635? Want to get a pair, but some of the online reviews have me a little wary.

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 27th, 2012, 10:00 pm

ent masterlinxxx was selling one?

rafman

Postby rafman » May 17th, 2012, 4:41 am

......mackie thump.....behringer b215d......gemini rs415.....???
Which is the most reliable, powerful and value for money?? Already know about the eons and ev's, but what about the above?

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 17th, 2012, 7:33 am

if you're going mackie I suggest the srm series, not the thump.
to me the behringer gives the most bang for the buck, and they can get pretty loud.
the gemini should be the cheapest.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 17th, 2012, 8:41 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:if you're going mackie I suggest the srm series, not the thump.
to me the behringer gives the most bang for the buck, and they can get pretty loud.

Would these self powered 15" tops paired with say... 18" subs.
Do you think they will be ok enough for small outside events?

Like the Gemini GVX series?

rafman

Postby rafman » May 17th, 2012, 8:55 am

^^ Also was thinking a pair of the behringers with an 18" sub....
While cost was a big factor, I still want clean and powerful.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 17th, 2012, 1:15 pm

In my humble experience, never owned a Behringer POWERED BOX, BUT i USED THE POWERED 15", AND IT BLEW THE gEMINI, and Thump out the water. The thump is the worst box Mackie ever built. Got a pardner that blew the two on his first job. Go SRM if u goin Mackie.

Anyway, be careful what Behringer product you buy, as the products are sometimes iffy, but the powered boxes work well in most cases than any other in their price range.

Their mixers suck big tim tho..............

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 17th, 2012, 1:38 pm

Kasey wrote:In my humble experience, never owned a Behringer POWERED BOX, BUT i USED THE POWERED 15", AND IT BLEW THE gEMINI, and Thump out the water. The thump is the worst box Mackie ever built. Got a pardner that blew the two on his first job. Go SRM if u goin Mackie.

Anyway, be careful what Behringer product you buy, as the products are sometimes iffy, but the powered boxes work well in most cases than any other in their price range.

So which model of the Behringer would you recommend?
I'll google it...

Average local price?

clone101

Postby clone101 » May 17th, 2012, 1:51 pm

Any 1 look for some amp's to by check this out
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=439979&start=0

rafman

Postby rafman » May 17th, 2012, 2:34 pm

Thanks Kasey, that's the kind of feedback I'm looking for.
The behringers I'm considering are the B215D's.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 17th, 2012, 10:43 pm

rafman wrote:Thanks Kasey, that's the kind of feedback I'm looking for.
The behringers I'm considering are the B215D's.

Yes, this was the model i used. We used 4 of these (my pardner's) with two 18" EV powered subs (mines) indoors, and didnt have to even open up all on the boxes. The system sounded loud and clear.

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 18th, 2012, 2:44 pm

DJ Q wrote:
SmokeyGTi wrote:if you're going mackie I suggest the srm series, not the thump.

Would these self powered 15" tops paired with say... 18" subs.
Do you think they will be ok enough for small outside events?

Like the Gemini GVX series?

never used the gvx subs, heard one once at low volumes. however, generally they will work well with powered 18's. they are normally used in that configuration.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 18th, 2012, 3:03 pm

^For small outside events too?

Centric

Help with a DJ Sound System

Postby Centric » May 18th, 2012, 3:52 pm

I want to purchase a small DJ system to use for events etc. Nothing big. Any recommendations of what equipment to purchase?

I'm not familiar with sound equipment so I'm not sure where to start. Preferrably something I can use along with a PC with VirtualDJ..

rafman

Postby rafman » May 22nd, 2012, 11:27 am

Any recommendations for a powered 18" sub? Considering the EV, but any suggestions are welcome.
If you can include a cost and where to source locally, I'll appreciate it. Thanks.

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 22nd, 2012, 7:05 pm

DJQ yeah boy it will work for small outside events.
rafman if you could afford the EV by all means go right ahead.

anyone here using serato ITCH?
i recently started using it...trying HARD to like it....so far not too impressed....what are your views?

Black_Primera

Postby Black_Primera » May 22nd, 2012, 7:23 pm

I using it smokey.....have to agree, vdj much better in many respects. Itch only performs better for scratching, everything else i prefer vdj. BTW what controller you using?

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 22nd, 2012, 9:35 pm

ns6....and you're right, the scratching works tons better in itch...

the stock effects in itch are CRAP..
and who de hell designs software that can't index your music files on the hard drive?
the only thing the search seems to work on are the crates...that sucks..man even tracktor pro does that.

I even hate the fact that files can only be analyzed properly in offline mode..

the bpm engine also works like crap when compared to vdj - not that big an issue as i can beatmatch. the killer for me is that you can't just search all files on harddrive unless you crate ALL your files..

like i saying i trying HARD to like it but...Rane want some serious licks man [/rant]

Postby gt4tified » May 27th, 2012, 11:47 pm

Kasey wrote:In my humble experience, never owned a Behringer POWERED BOX, BUT i USED THE POWERED 15", AND IT BLEW THE gEMINI, and Thump out the water. The thump is the worst box Mackie ever built. Got a pardner that blew the two on his first job. Go SRM if u goin Mackie.

Interesting comment re blowing the Gemini out the water, cuz I really like the performance of the RS series of powered tops from them. Is it this model that you're comparing it to Kasey?

My main issue with the Behringers is that they don't carry the drive of Mackies, JBL, EV etc, but then again, those brands cost twice as much.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 16th, 2012, 1:33 pm

Guys,
Does anyone here rent their PA systems?

I have an outdoor gig coming up on August 26th (sports day) and I may need to rent a PA: two tops, two subs (remember its outdoors so eaw type or equivalent) and the relevant power and processing.

I have mics and mixer - using xlr or 1/4" out.

depending on the venue (still to be confirmed) we may or may not have access to the eletrical panel so a generator may have to be used.

btw, i need just the system, not a DJ.

please feel free to pm ballpark figures.
need this asap!

southside connections

Postby southside connections » August 2nd, 2012, 10:11 am

check out this build

http://www.mktrinievents.com/forum/phpB ... =14&t=7486

comments would be appreciated

Kasey

Postby Kasey » August 2nd, 2012, 11:23 am

southside connections wrote:check out this build

http://www.mktrinievents.com/forum/phpB ... =14&t=7486

comments would be appreciated

yea, bess build.