Ole SChool Challenge....

nismoid

Re: ANYONE REMEMBER THESE FROM PRIMARY SCHOOL DAYS

Postby nismoid » October 20th, 2011, 7:06 pm

Dragist wrote:West Indian Reader .

I had most of those cards haven't a clue where they are now thank you for the trip down memory lane .

my last son is using this book lol
back in the days the "western cards" was the thing, if yuh didnt have a John Wayne and a Lorne Green in yuh stack yuh had nuttin

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » October 20th, 2011, 7:53 pm

dont have these pictures. The ones I have and still have ( from the chewing wrappers ) are six million dollar man , the bionic woman and battlestar galatacia.
I wanted the animal but wastoo expensive ...so I got the buddL 4x4 battery powdered trucks.
The stomper I have is the one with the gear selector hi/lo below the chassie and the 3rd wheel.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 20th, 2011, 9:11 pm

this is what i remember

it have a thread in here somewhere....

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » October 20th, 2011, 11:42 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:
Dragist wrote:West Indian Reader .

i used this as well..................good times
1reminisce :D

I dont think there's a kid in this country that HASNT used it, even now. My 3 year old niece is using it in school

fuh real allyuh remember this one....
415QYHN2FWL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
415QYHN2FWL._SL500_AA300_.jpg (14.99 KiB) Viewed 2414 times

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 21st, 2011, 3:27 am

^^I think I still have that book....but looking at the cover now is a bit disturbing to me...

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » October 21st, 2011, 3:53 am

hahaaaaaaaaaaaaaa looooooooooooooooooool :D

zanemo

Postby zanemo » February 23rd, 2012, 12:28 pm

trip down memory lane

Postby zoom rader » February 23rd, 2012, 12:44 pm

I collected a set of Playboys but mom burned it .

Postby crazybalhead » February 23rd, 2012, 12:51 pm

geometron wrote:Image

Ohgoooodz! Meh lil brother had one of these, and I monkeyed with it and put a wire going to four D cells in a toilet paper tube for more POWAH. HEAR NAH!!!

Postby gt4tified » February 23rd, 2012, 3:48 pm

zoom rader wrote:I collected a set of Playboys but mom burned it .

You should have collected Playgirls.....I sure she woulda never gee dat fyahs.

Postby X_Factor » February 23rd, 2012, 7:34 pm

had a stomper, animal, simon and a super soaker, 50!...fun days!

xtech

Postby xtech » February 26th, 2012, 1:46 pm

have Magnum PI and Knight Rider cards from 1982

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 26th, 2012, 3:07 pm

no one remebers rev em ups!!!!!!!! i loved those....we still got an animal its like brand new......
anyone still have stompers?? those were i thin kthe best toys i ever had.....

Postby RBphoto » February 26th, 2012, 3:51 pm

Anyone remember the game you could play with them? You would put your card in your hand face up and so too would your oponent. you would high five each other, and the one whose card fell face up was the winner. If both were down or up it was a draw. Men used to stick two of the same together with chewing gum to cheat :lol:

Anyone have the bollywood series? I remember there was also popular shows like knight rider, magnum PI, and fall guy where you could get a whole episode in pictures with captions. Then there was sports, like NFL, nascar and such.

Postby gt4tified » February 26th, 2012, 9:39 pm

Anybody have the old transformer watches that the face used to convert into a robot?

=VTEC=

Postby =VTEC= » February 26th, 2012, 10:48 pm

Yup , I got one of those watches , 1 buck at a garage sale !!

Chase Charlie Away!!

Postby Morpheus » May 17th, 2012, 9:11 am

Anyone has an image of Charlie from the "cleanliness" campaign from the 80's?

I called a young boy in work Charlie the other day and a few of them have no idea what I talking about. So the "phack up" wasn't as effective.....for them.LoL

His posters/drawings used to be on walls, close to dumpsters, etc. Kinda stick looking figure.

I expect most of the "older" dudes to know exactly what I'm talking about. I just need a photo. Google hasn't been a friend this instance :|
Last edited by Morpheus on November 3rd, 2013, 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Chase Charlie Away!!

Postby Sky » May 17th, 2012, 9:18 am

You real ole hoss!

I affiliate that with kids jamboree for some reason.

Postby Hook » May 17th, 2012, 9:19 am

^^^ nope, had nothing to do with Kids Jamboree

oh lawwwwd! look what you askin for! I cyar even get a good copy of the David Rudder "The Future Belongs To Me" song from the NADAPP campaign in the 90's, you guh arx about CHARLIE?!

IIRC looks something like this
make charlie mad.jpg

Postby rollingstock » May 17th, 2012, 9:24 am

Good luck finding that, only place i can think of is POSCC yard in mucurapo road, they have all kind of old stuff just laying there.

Postby cinco » May 17th, 2012, 9:28 am

charlie had more of a troll look tho bumpy skin n ting

Postby Hook » May 17th, 2012, 9:29 am

There used to be a story in the Republic Reader yuh know. Can't remember which one, might've been Book 5. The one with the story about cocaine in the LPG tank on the Tobago Ferry and the Roger Gibbon story. I'm not sure if students still use that book, but I'm certain it's there.

Postby Sky » May 17th, 2012, 9:29 am

Hook wrote:^^^ nope, had nothing to do with Kids Jamboree

I know, but it was the same era for me. I was like 3 lol.
All I remember is that, kid's jamboree and and cartoon about a frog biting off a man's finger. This caused a weird fear of frogs for me. Discovered many years later that it was the lord of the rings cartoon my pops got me on beta max. [/rant]

Postby Habit7 » May 17th, 2012, 9:35 am

WAY!! most men's girlfriend know nothing about this

Postby RBphoto » May 17th, 2012, 9:37 am

No, we chased him away in 82 and have not seen him since :|

Seriously that poster should be put in a museum or something. I trying to remember, was he brought to life for the NAR's clean up camapign when they won the elections or was he in full swing during Chambers time? He brings back images of Riki Tiki to me... and cooking with Sylvia Hunt.

Postby zoom rader » May 17th, 2012, 9:56 am

Morpheus wrote:Anyone has a image of Charlie from the "cleanliness" campaign from the 80's?

I called a young boy in work Charlie the other day and a few of them have no idea what I talking about. So the "phack up" wasn't as effective.....for them.LoL

His posters/drawings used to be on walls, close to dumpsters, etc. Kinda stick looking figure.

I expect most of the "older" dudes to know exactly what I'm talking about. I just need a photo. Google hasn't been a friend this instance :|

Charlie was last seen working as a mod on tuner

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » May 17th, 2012, 9:58 am

i have no idea what u guys tlkin bout . :?

Postby zoom rader » May 17th, 2012, 10:02 am

jmccomie wrote:i have no idea what u guys tlkin bout . :?

If u cant remember when "real" Police men wore short pants then you would not know of charlie.

Postby rollingstock » May 17th, 2012, 10:14 am

jmccomie wrote:i have no idea what u guys tlkin bout . :?

If u cant remember when "real" Police men wore short pants then you would not know of charlie.

Oh goudddd, short pants and putty days wheyyyyyyyyyy

Postby Morpheus » May 17th, 2012, 10:29 am

LoL. Yeah Hook @the drawing. You know the character.