Re: German Sheppard VS Rottweiler

Postby pioneer » May 1st, 2012, 10:01 pm

Loyal dog is Loyal.

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » May 2nd, 2012, 12:46 am

ChristianRD wrote:
pimptacular wrote:sheps hands down.. much more intelligent, rotts can be stubborn

Pretty much sums it up. :lol:

That so thru eh it ain't funny.
But both types are very loyal and extremely loving to owners.
However be prepared to spend money, cause proper pure bred dogs may have lots of disorders inherent to the specific bloodlines. Skin diseases,cancer,arthritis, eye problems, etc.

Mixed breed dogs are usually stronger and can be just as effective, plus before when I had pothounds I never went to a vet....literally never. Off the shelf medication worked well, and that was a rare thing too.

Postby pioneer » May 2nd, 2012, 5:36 am

If you broke and cheap, neither of these dogs will survive in your hands.

So bess grab yourself a hound.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » May 2nd, 2012, 2:14 pm

Breds out of three rotts i've had they hardly ever in the vet unless its for regular shots.
One particular rott went in the vet 3 times:
1) collect a bite by her eye from the doberman when young (she tore open the dobermans lip the next night)
2) had pups
3) was diagnosed with cancer and then put down
Anyway thats just my very small humble experience, i'm not into breeding or training dogs.

Also too, I keep only females of any breed as I agree that the males can be more stubborn, and difficult for weaker members of the household to handle physically. I also personally think they're more keen from a protective standpoint.

Had two shepherds at different times that were given to us at a couple years old, nice dog just like any other, but that was a NEVER AGAIN experience maintenance-wise.
The last friend of mine to have a GS recently just had it put down, the dog literally ate his own muffler bearing out

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » May 2nd, 2012, 9:45 pm

Garrett Inside wrote:
ChristianRD wrote:
pimptacular wrote:sheps hands down.. much more intelligent, rotts can be stubborn

That so thru eh it ain't funny.
But both types are very loyal and extremely loving to owners.
However be prepared to spend money, cause proper pure bred dogs may have lots of disorders inherent to the specific bloodlines. Skin diseases,cancer,arthritis, eye problems, etc.

These are the problems I have seen with my dogs:

1. With my male Sheps, hip dysplasia starts kicking in earlier than the females.

2. My rotts (both from the same litter) had food allergies and as they got older started losing hair.

3. With my cocker spaniels - cataracts, skin conditions and drooping of the "third eyelid".

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 3rd, 2012, 7:26 am

chippy

Postby chippy » May 3rd, 2012, 11:48 am

The BOSS....

Postby Sky » May 3rd, 2012, 12:05 pm

How much for shep these days? Registered and unregistered?
Wanna get one before pitbulls get banned and they get expensive.

chippy

Postby chippy » May 3rd, 2012, 2:53 pm

chippy wrote:The BOSS....

Got him for $1200...

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » March 14th, 2013, 10:34 pm

ChristianRD wrote:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 14th, 2013, 11:53 pm

InDeForest wrote:Go with the rottweiler if you don't feel like being in the vet every 2 weeks with climate related skin issues. Of course every GS owner will insist that THEIR bloodline is of higher quality and doesn't give any trouble.

+1 for the rot....

then again I own a hybrid pot hound.... 12 mths old 95 - 100 lbs gotta love owning a man stopper.

RedTiger

Postby RedTiger » March 15th, 2013, 12:09 am

Own both. Rotts great for security, have 3 males. Rotts very loyal. GSD too many medical problems and not that smart. TT GSD owners have a facebook page so you can get info there. There is also a GSD Club that is run by a guy in Curepe who owns a bar (rum shop), so that is also the Club's office, I think. Two gay guys Christo and Vito went for some world competition, both get zero points shame Trinidad and now using their GSD for breeding. So in short Rotts Rule !

link

Postby link » March 15th, 2013, 6:19 am

New_SPECIES wrote:If u had to choose one outta d 2......which one better...(not talkin bout pits for d while... :( )

Ah sure real men out dey cud say someting (good/bad) bout one a dem...

a pure bred rhodesian ridgeback....
http://rrcus.org/
do that or yr days are numbered 5-7 years downline with vet fees, degenerative spinal, etc, etc problems....
get a survivor....a fighter.....a pardner... :wink: :idea:

droppa

Postby droppa » March 15th, 2013, 9:31 am

never had a rott, but had and loved GSds from a very early age, grandparents had a black one, very very aggressive, but he got dealt with on the PBR by a regiment truck in the 80s,

on my second GS now, first was mixxed and present one is pure bred...

the mixxed one was a darling, very well mannered and a beast just waiting for a piper , stray dog, chicken or cat to make the wrong move, she was a killer from early......

the pure bred is also a great fella, he is strong and took some home training well, very serial killer quiet kind, just sits there between the trucks at night and stands guard, however he has a bit too much energy for me, he like he dont get tired, even after prowling all night long, and at 1.5yrs, he is still very playful and loves to chew and bite up stuff.........i does loww him.....

i would get another GS with out a doubt.....

Postby Hook » March 15th, 2013, 9:39 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:
InDeForest wrote:Go with the rottweiler if you don't feel like being in the vet every 2 weeks with climate related skin issues. Of course every GS owner will insist that THEIR bloodline is of higher quality and doesn't give any trouble.

+1 for the rot....

then again I own a hybrid pot hound.... 12 mths old 95 - 100 lbs gotta love owning a man stopper.

:lol: @ "hybrid pot hound"

Same here - rott, pit, lab and dalmatian all in one package. Loyal, alert, obedient and lots of energy.

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » March 15th, 2013, 9:43 am

Rottweiler!!!!!
FTW

:D :D

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 15th, 2013, 9:44 am

it doh matter just adopt the first dog u see in the shelter

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 15th, 2013, 10:59 am

Hook wrote:
DrunkenMaster16 wrote:

+1 for the rot....

:lol: @ "hybrid pot hound"

Same here - rott, pit, lab and dalmatian all in one package. Loyal, alert, obedient and lots of energy.

Camelot, Mustaffa, Bully, local red nose and a touch of mastiff...

Loyal, Protective, not allergic to most things, great with children... just young and playful. he's only 1 year old now but as I said before roughly 95 - 100 lbs and now starting to barrel out.

Planning to breed him with a friends mastiff and another friends blue bully. (fyah bun alyuh pure bread! Hybrid pot hounds are the way to go. Prove my dog is a pit nuh!)

This was back in december...Image

Breddz

Postby Breddz » March 15th, 2013, 5:19 pm

Pit bull FTW!

But seriously German Shepard over rots

star scream

Postby star scream » March 18th, 2013, 2:03 am

german sheppard are better guard dogs, rotts tend to be quite lazy.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » March 18th, 2013, 12:53 pm

I have a rotthong...........rott and sheppard. Dog is real nice a bit playfull, best of both worlds.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 19th, 2013, 9:28 am

german shepherd all the way,my preference really.nothing against rotts though.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 19th, 2013, 9:44 am

Most Rottweilers are inclined toward dominance and will test for position in the family pecking order, but they will respect an assertive owner who knows how to lead a strong-minded dog.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » March 19th, 2013, 12:04 pm

Red tiger where you get the GS are not very smart dogs thing from? Medically proven to be one if he smartest breeds of dogs of all time eh.. I think the only border collies are smarter if I'm not mistaken.
Rots not bad but lazy and medium intelligence, pitbull generally dumb As a brick, yes pit owners I know go ahead and hate while I teach my German shepherd these 200 words here..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 19th, 2013, 4:03 pm

matthewmazda wrote:Who could remember this guy

always enjoyed his

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 19th, 2013, 6:02 pm

Dirty Face wrote:Red tiger where you get the GS are not very smart dogs thing from? Medically proven to be one if he smartest breeds of dogs of all time eh.. I think the only border collies are smarter if I'm not mistaken.
Rots not bad but lazy and medium intelligence, pitbull generally dumb As a brick, yes pit owners I know go ahead and hate while I teach my German shepherd these 200 words here..

pits aren't stupid, they just tend to have stupid owners...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 19th, 2013, 6:19 pm

Agree'd. there are many pits that work as drug + bomb dogs. Lots are personal helpers for disabled people.. all about training and how you treat your dog.