Official BlackBerry Thread

Re: D Official 2010 BlackBerry THREAD

Postby Chimera » April 26th, 2012, 7:35 pm

i guess buying from amazon 3rd party sellers is akin to buying from ebay except that amazon allow easy acceptance of payment

bought some used books for a buddy of mine today, total cost $40 us for 3 books in "like new" condition that were $150 to $200 us EACH brand new

Postby S_2NR » April 26th, 2012, 7:37 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:lol tr1ad..

someone brought her "new" torch 9800 to fix by me yesterday

she paid $ 300 US for it on amazon= $2000
paid $850 to clear it

when it reach...phone was refurbed and the screen wasnt coming on when they slide it up

they had to pay $500 to change the flex strip

total cost - $3350 for a working refurbished torch 9800
and i sell brand new 9800s for $2500

they ordered from a amazon 3rd party seller, i always see stories like this
the thing is that amazon itself honours warranty no questions asked, 3rd party sellers dont

:faint:

if that was me, i woulda sell that for parts so fast :lol:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 26th, 2012, 7:39 pm

S_2NR wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:lol tr1ad..

someone brought her "new" torch 9800 to fix by me yesterday

she paid $ 300 US for it on amazon= $2000
paid $850 to clear it

when it reach...phone was refurbed and the screen wasnt coming on when they slide it up

they had to pay $500 to change the flex strip

total cost - $3350 for a working refurbished torch 9800
and i sell brand new 9800s for $2500

they ordered from a amazon 3rd party seller, i always see stories like this
the thing is that amazon itself honours warranty no questions asked, 3rd party sellers dont

:faint:

if that was me, i woulda sell that for parts so fast :lol:

really :lol:

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » May 1st, 2012, 11:06 am

just a lil heads up guys, for some reason tmobile blackberry 9900 doesn't pickup digicel 3g/4g network, u'll get EDGE etc etc but wont change over, i was selected to try the 4g trial n after days of it not working and they thought it was something on their end i checked reviews online n realized that the tmobile 9900 doesnt get 3g & 4g from certain networks, has something to do with the bands or sum like that. when i put my sim in other phones the 3g/4g comes up n works normel normel but salt in the 9900, jus normal EDGE

for example http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry ... 4g-640032/

Postby S_2NR » May 1st, 2012, 11:51 am

Dion76 wrote:just a lil heads up guys, for some reason tmobile blackberry 9900 doesn't pickup digicel 3g/4g network, u'll get EDGE etc etc but wont change over, i was selected to try the 4g trial n after days of it not working and they thought it was something on their end i checked reviews online n realized that the tmobile 9900 doesnt get 3g & 4g from certain networks, has something to do with the bands or sum like that. when i put my sim in other phones the 3g/4g comes up n works normel normel but salt in the 9900, jus normal EDGE

for example http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry ... 4g-640032/

ur right,tmobile uses different 3g bands to digicel.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » May 1st, 2012, 2:37 pm

question, would an atnt blackberry 9900 use the same 3g band as digicel?

Postby S_2NR » May 1st, 2012, 6:19 pm

Dion76 wrote:question, would an atnt blackberry 9900 use the same 3g band as digicel?

yes.

tmobile is the only provider in the US who uses bands typically used in europe.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » May 1st, 2012, 6:46 pm

thanks man

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » May 6th, 2012, 11:17 pm

My blackberry gets really hot even when i'm not using it and then then overheats and the the power just drains randomly. The power only drains when it gets really hot though........this phone is starting to be a pain.......

Postby Rooki3 » May 6th, 2012, 11:36 pm

getting a 9900 june monthend, hadda wait that long cause thats when moms comin back

Postby Trini Hookah » May 6th, 2012, 11:43 pm

Rooki3 wrote:getting a 9900 june monthend, hadda wait that long cause thats when moms comin back

Yuh adding meh back this time oar? :angel:

Postby Rooki3 » May 6th, 2012, 11:44 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:getting a 9900 june monthend, hadda wait that long cause thats when moms comin back

Yuh adding meh back this time oar? :angel:

foh sho

casper

Postby casper » May 7th, 2012, 8:02 am

jeevdude199 wrote:My blackberry gets really hot even when i'm not using it and then then overheats and the the power just drains randomly. The power only drains when it gets really hot though........this phone is starting to be a pain.......

do a reboot using the "alt", right shift button and delete...press and hold in that order to get it quick...dont try pressing all the three buttons at the same time cuz u wont get it...it will fix that overheating and battery draining problem u getting...a regular battery pull sometimes dont work for this so do this method i telling u...it works all the time

sometimes that used to happen to my berry too..apparently something like it crashes in the device making it discharge quick and cuz of the fast battery drain the phone heats up...

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » May 7th, 2012, 8:55 am

casper wrote:
jeevdude199 wrote:My blackberry gets really hot even when i'm not using it and then then overheats and the the power just drains randomly. The power only drains when it gets really hot though........this phone is starting to be a pain.......

do a reboot using the "alt", right shift button and delete...press and hold in that order to get it quick...dont try pressing all the three buttons at the same time cuz u wont get it...it will fix that overheating and battery draining problem u getting...a regular battery pull sometimes dont work for this so do this method i telling u...it works all the time

sometimes that used to happen to my berry too..apparently something like it crashes in the device making it discharge quick and cuz of the fast battery drain the phone heats up...

:shock: it worked phone back to normal thanks!!

casper

Postby casper » May 7th, 2012, 9:25 am

jeevdude199 wrote:
casper wrote:

:shock: it worked phone back to normal thanks!!

^^^no scn pal

Postby foss » May 10th, 2012, 9:22 am

got my 9790....love it!

only thing the battery life is horrible....only get a day of charge.
and you cant just pick up the phone and dial. You have have to go into dialed calls to dial. :S

other than that, its quick! and sleek...

casper

Postby casper » May 10th, 2012, 11:00 am

for all who loookin for bold 9930 to buy...west mall in the bmobile chaos by francis fashions downstairs have it for $2900 brand new...will post pics of it just now for proof

casper

Postby casper » May 10th, 2012, 11:07 am

here it is

Postby Trini Hookah » May 10th, 2012, 1:17 pm

Everybody knows they're the cheapest for phones tho cas

1pat

casper

Postby casper » May 10th, 2012, 1:56 pm

yea but daz a real bess price for a handset that usually costs $3800 + in other places

Postby S_2NR » May 10th, 2012, 2:03 pm

bess prices, give those other businesses a run for their money. :)

Postby Trini Hookah » May 10th, 2012, 2:17 pm

They actually had me considering buying one of the new Xperias from them price was amazing :shock:

But my droid doh get use once my BB on me :lol: the novelty of it wore off :(

Postby S_2NR » May 10th, 2012, 2:25 pm

one thing i dont get it...

why is the 9790 more than the 9930?

Anybody have a no for that store?

casper

Postby casper » May 10th, 2012, 3:27 pm

^^^i was studyin the same thing WRT the prices of the 2...

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » May 10th, 2012, 9:29 pm

hadda be careful also about purchasing bb's at ridiculously low prices, alot of factory refurbished and certified open boxes blackberries are flooding the local market, know a young lady who purchased a "new" torch 2 9810 for $2900, phone had plastic on it but when she put it on etc the phone had US dialled calls, emails active and pictures on the phone, sometimes u hadda watch the plastics etc and the boxes the phones coming with to know if its new or if its factory refurbished or certified open box

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 17th, 2012, 10:19 am

Blackberry Playbook being demoed, running Windows!!!

http://www.bgr.com/2012/05/17/blackberr ... one-video/

Postby tr1ad » May 17th, 2012, 5:10 pm

too bad the verizon 9930 3G/4G network is a different frequency

a lot of folks run to buy the cheaper version, when in fact it isn't specifically suited for our networks

napster16

Postby napster16 » May 19th, 2012, 12:20 pm

What's the real difference between 9900 and 9930 :S

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » May 19th, 2012, 12:41 pm

napster16 wrote:What's the real difference between 9900 and 9930 :S

http://bit.ly/KugKFx

Postby tr1ad » May 19th, 2012, 12:47 pm

9900 has Quadband GSM.
9930 has triband GSM but has a dual Band 1x2000 CDMA radio as well
which isn't much a difference here but the 9900 is Tri-BandHSPA+,Quad-BandGSM/EDGE and the 9930 is Dual-BandCDMA/EV-DORev.A,Dual-BandHSPA+,Quad-Band GSM/EDGE