Re: --((((((((-BREAKING BARRIERS PULLED-))))))))--

Postby shogun » April 26th, 2012, 7:45 pm

16 cycles wrote:
TRANSPORT Minister Devant Maharaj is also training his guns on PP supporter turned critic Inshan Ishmael. Ishmael, who uses his Islamic Broadcasting Network (IBN) as a vehicle for his political activism, has been severely critical of the PP administration, which he supported heavily for the May 2010 general election.

TnT Mirror has been informed by reliable sources that Maharaj has taken a note to Cabinet seeking to have the repair of police vehicles returned to the State-owned Vehicle Maintenance Company of TnT (VMCOTT) rather than Ishmael’s used car dealership, which was awarded the contract for minor repairs just one year ago.

“That means vehicles parking up for weeks to get brake pads changed and sometimes months for minor service,” one source told the Mirror.

Ishmael had admitted soliciting the contract for vehicle repairs from the state at the time, according to an Express report from May last year.

“Vehicles that were parked for years at VMCOTT, sometimes eight, nine months, they were repaired within one or two weeks and the records will show this. As you can clearly see, I don’t have 100 vehicles here, I have ten vehicles and seven of them have to be returned because we have finished the assessment.
“If people have concern with me making $10,000 I am shocked because there are people getting multi-billion-dollar contracts.”
That was last year, since then Ishmael has become a critic of the Government, including Maharaj, and the Minister who has responsibility for Transport is said to be making moves to have the contract cancelled.

Sources also tell Mirror that Maharaj has threatened to have advertisers pull their business from IBN.

Transport Minister Devant Maharaj refused to get drawn into claims involving any note to the Cabinet.

“As far as my position is concerned, Cabinet positions and deliberations are secret and confidential and I am not going to be party to breaching Cabinet confidentiality,” the Minister said.

He further explained that in 2009 under the previous PNM administration a Cabinet note was passed making VMCOTT the vehicle maintenance company of the State, adding that at no time was this decision ever rescinded by his government.

“I have never awarded Inshan any contract, so I don’t know what anybody could be talking about.”

Attempts to contact Ishmael on the matter proved futile.

http://www.tntmirror.com/2012/04/06/mah ... an-ishmael

this deal?

Wasn't this widely known though? What really going orn here?

Postby brams112 » April 26th, 2012, 7:47 pm

People does still read the tnt mirror?

Postby sMASH » April 26th, 2012, 9:28 pm

marlener wrote:Allyuh watch what allyuh saying next thing they want to take back Camdeen and ban all engines over 1300cc in private cars.

an wah u goh do, bump yuh gum on ah forum or two? den yuh goh comply or hide an take a chance and breaks when u geh cetch.

allyuh get camden as a temporary place because waterloo was not goin to be ready for sum time. now, that is the pride and apple of the drag community in trinidad.

gov't giving allyuh drag men vomit, and allyuh remaining divided and lapping it up.
allyuh doh have no shame fuh big men.

maybe the rally fraternity should take over drag management and then u might see drags get back some local glory

Postby Trini Hookah » April 26th, 2012, 11:05 pm

sMASH wrote:
marlener wrote:Allyuh watch what allyuh saying next thing they want to take back Camdeen and ban all engines over 1300cc in private cars.

an wah u goh do, bump yuh gum on ah forum or two? den yuh goh comply or hide an take a chance and breaks when u geh cetch.

Incase you didn't realise, that's what you're doing right now.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2012, 12:38 am

yeah, but i am a spectator, not a racer.
rite now i am actively spectating...

zanemo

Postby zanemo » April 27th, 2012, 8:52 am

Last edited by zanemo on September 24th, 2013, 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2012, 9:07 am

^^ hoss, that have to be posted on fb....

zanemo

Postby zanemo » April 27th, 2012, 9:16 am

Last edited by zanemo on September 24th, 2013, 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » April 27th, 2012, 9:20 am

Can you imagine if I get booted out of the Haus of Gaga, inb4coup.

Humes

Postby Humes » April 27th, 2012, 9:23 am

Once they doh interfere with Breaking Bad.

marlener

Postby marlener » April 27th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Allyuh shhh,they open an account on tuner,they reading allyuh post.Careful yuh house get raid. Speech is free,the consequence of free speech are costly.

Postby Stephon. » April 27th, 2012, 8:35 pm

marlener wrote:Allyuh shhh,they open an account on tuner,they reading allyuh post.Careful yuh house get raid. Speech is free,the consequence of free speech are costly.

Postby K74T » April 28th, 2012, 12:20 am

Talk show host warns of muzzling
Live format of 'Breaking Barriers' stopped

TELEVISION host Inshan Ishmael yesterday said he was forced to change the format of his Breaking Barriers programme from live to pre-recorded because of ministerial intervention. Ishmael, in a telephone interview yesterday, said this was just another attempt to muzzle the media and he was not prepared to "take this like this".

Ishmael's show originally aired live on the Islamic Broadcasting Network (IBN).

"All media houses are under threat," he said.

Ishmael said he received a letter from his service provider, Columbus Communications Trinidad Ltd (CCTL), on Wednesday demanding he initiate the format change.

The letter to Ishmael, which was signed by managing director Brian Collins, said CCTL received a letter from attorney Jagdeo Singh, acting on behalf of his client, Transport Minister Devant Maharaj, and cited two dates where Ishmael spoke of Maharaj in "a most vitriolic and scurrilous" manner.

"Further to receipt of that letter, we received and complied with a request from the Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago for copies of the tape of the Breaking Barriers programmes aired on those dates," the letter said.

"In fact, CCTL has consistently been required by TATT to provide copy of recordings of the Breaking Barriers programme," the letter noted.

The cable company said in light of the possible ramifications to its licence, it called on Ishmael to immediately comply and desist with live shows.

Ishmael said he held no grudges against CCTL, but put the responsibility squarely at the door of Maharaj.

He said he could not believe TATT would take the 19 complaints against him over the last two-and-half-years and suddenly insist he change his show.

"It is obvious that TATT is being pressured by the minister and they in turn pressuring CCTL," he said.

Cindy Ann Gatt, vice president of sales and marketing at CCTL, yesterday responded by e-mail on the issue.

"The Islamic Broadcast Network (IBN) does not have a licence to provide broadcasting services. Its programming content is distributed under Columbus Communications Trinidad Ltd (CCTL's) concession.

"The industry regulator, Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT) wrote to us cautioning that it is a breach of the conditions of our concession to broadcast material which is defamatory. TATT also provided CCTL with a listing of 19 complaints it has received, dating back to January 2010, and noted that all the complaints were in relation to claims of defamation made by the host of the Breaking Barriers programme aired on IBN."

She said: "Consistent with our agreement with IBN which does not include live programming and in light of complaints brought to us by TATT, we are attempting to move the programming back to that original agreed format."

Up to press time, several attempts to contact Maharaj were unsuccessful.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Tal ... 29985.html

zanemo

Postby zanemo » April 28th, 2012, 8:20 am

Last edited by zanemo on September 24th, 2013, 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2012, 8:34 am

i don't follow consistently, but if the defamatory statements were against the office, then the ministry could tek their actions. if the offense was against the person of devant, then the lawsuit could be more appropriate. but, again, trinis are what they do, and use every resource, justified or not, to get at others.

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2012, 8:37 am

bad thing for inshan is that his personal lawyer pool has diminished somewhat since he firebun prakash

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 28th, 2012, 9:31 am

Fact is Inshan sour because Devant take away TTPS vehicle repair away from him and even more sour he can't be in the Transport Board and they not using his "plan to clean up licensing" which he has been touting since donkey years now, but has never brought the actual plan to the forefront

Postby shogun » April 28th, 2012, 10:22 am

Actually that TTPS contract was taken away weeks after he became critical of the gov't.

Devant, is a vindictive plick. I agree though about Inshan wanting a position on the Transport Board. I think that's where this whole thing began....looks like the next move is Inshan's.

zanemo

Postby zanemo » April 29th, 2012, 11:01 am

Last edited by zanemo on September 24th, 2013, 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: .................BREAKING BARRIERS PULLED...............

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2012, 3:50 pm

first Ian Alleyne now Inshan Ismael- whose next?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 29th, 2012, 4:24 pm

redmanjp wrote:first Ian Alleyne now Inshan Ismael- whose next?

whichever kant who uses the airwaves to grand charge/ pappyshow 8-)

zanemo

Postby zanemo » April 30th, 2012, 8:25 am

Last edited by zanemo on September 24th, 2013, 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 30th, 2012, 3:37 pm

16 cycles wrote:
TRANSPORT Minister Devant Maharaj is also training his guns on PP supporter turned critic Inshan Ishmael. Ishmael, who uses his Islamic Broadcasting Network (IBN) as a vehicle for his political activism, has been severely critical of the PP administration, which he supported heavily for the May 2010 general election.

TnT Mirror blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah

lost me at TnT mirror

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 30th, 2012, 3:41 pm

zanemo wrote:with all that is happening in this country right now, freedom of expression must be a major concern.... everyone should have the right to express their views .... and as an educated citizenry we must AGREE TO DISAGREE ....................

I like how ppl complain about "THEYRE TRAMPLING ON OUR FREE SPEECH!!!!!!" "MUZZLING OF THE MEDIA!!!!" yet nothing happens when you claim that theyre trampling on your free speech :lol: and every other day is some story about some minister family member in d papers :lol:

Postby eliteauto » April 30th, 2012, 6:20 pm

Inshan just called, he just came out of meetings with TATT re the 19 complaints made against him, none were substantiated, so he will be back on the air live from tomorrow

Postby Habit7 » April 30th, 2012, 6:30 pm

^^^from Wednesday

Postby shogun » April 30th, 2012, 6:42 pm

My goodness, watch trouble.

The tirades on Wednesday, shall be a thing to behold.

zanemo

Postby zanemo » April 30th, 2012, 8:41 pm

Last edited by zanemo on September 24th, 2013, 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » May 1st, 2012, 2:25 pm

Jack Warner may be a god one day

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » May 1st, 2012, 2:28 pm

Devant maharaj is already a demigod