Bar Owners To Be Held Liable For Drunken Drivers!

Postby DVSTT » April 27th, 2012, 11:40 pm

Blame bar owners for drunk drivers
By Lara Pickford-Gordon Thursday, April 12 2012

The Transport Ministry is exploring “creative ways” to deal with the carnage on the nation’s roadways. One of these is holding bar owners liable for contributing to drunkenness among drivers.

Speaking to media at the Public Transport Service Corporation (PTSC) office, South Quay, Port-of-Spain yesterday Transport Minister Devant Maharaj said, “one of the components receiving consideration now include if you are in a bar and sell somebody alcohol to the extent that they drink and become inebriated and they get into an accident, we are examining to see if the bar owner could be held culpable for facilitating that.”

The ministry is also looking at liability of owners of businesses whose truck drivers “drive indiscriminately” and cause accidents.

“And other creative ways to affect the behaviour on the roads so drivers become more responsible,” Maharaj said. He said the current administration was working on the Transport Authority proposed by the former administration on which $110 million was spent. He said the legislation inherited from the People’s National Movement was very flawed and needed to be comprehensively overhauled.

“Having invested so heavily in it this administration felt we could not let taxpayers money go to waste,” Maharaj said.

Legislation to facilitate the Motor Vehicle Authority is currently before the Legislative Review Committee (LRC). It will deal with a range of transport matters—the introduction of new licence permits and points system, new licence plates, ownership transfer of maxi taxis, issues with transport board. The Transport Board Act of Trinidad dates back to the 1920s.

The National Road Safety Council, which comprises interest groups such as Arrive Alive, is providing input for the legislation. The need for updated legislation was underscored by Maharaj who referred to the law dealing with tints on vehicles. The “discretion” of the licensing officer is used to determine whether a tint is too dark and fog lamps were against the law but many cars had them.

“Before coming to the Parliament with legislation we have to make sure that legislation is good and it would be passed with the minimum amount of controversy and changes.”

He said the system was very “scattered and very onerous” and the People’s Partnership had the “political will” to bring all transport matters under one umbrella.

Commenting on the computerisation of the Licensing Division, Maharaj said a contract with the government of the Nova Scotia Province had lapsed and this would be renewed.

Do you guys think this will help clamp down on drunk driving on our nation's roads?

Re: Bar Owners To Be Held Liable For Drunken Drivers!

Postby Trini Hookah » April 27th, 2012, 11:53 pm

How will "bar hopping" factor into this?

Postby pioneer » April 27th, 2012, 11:58 pm

I say stop serving alcohol from a certain time...like 1am

Like it's done in developed countries.

Anyone found serving alcohol in public after those times....heavy stinkin fine.

Who's with me?

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 27th, 2012, 11:58 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:How will "bar hopping" factor into this?

By observing the state of the individual who walks into the bar, this is actually practiced by responsible bar tenders.

But in the caribbean :| telling a drunk person no more could be a bigger problem

Postby DVSTT » April 28th, 2012, 12:00 am

I say ban alcohol and legalise weed because honestly, weed is better for you than alcohol anyway. Plus when people high the calm and mellow in their own world, whereas with drunk people they hostile and aggressive.

200sx

Postby 200sx » April 28th, 2012, 12:57 am

pioneer wrote:I say stop serving alcohol from a certain time...like 1am

Who's with me?

This could be!!!!

I'm wit u! Stop selling at alcohol at 11:30!!!! For bars
But will have to come up with sumthing different for clubs!

Postby BrotherHood » April 28th, 2012, 12:59 am

DVSTT wrote:I say ban alcohol and legalise weed because honestly, weed is better for you than alcohol anyway. Plus when people high the calm and mellow in their own world, whereas with drunk people they hostile and aggressive.

This isn't always so wees smoker. Different people react differently to marijuana and alcohol.

pioneer wrote:I say stop serving alcohol from a certain time...like 1am

Who's with me?

No.

This will not put even a small dent into the road carnage and IMO, I find it stupid for the bar owner/tender to be held responsible. Everyone has a mind of their own.

Postby tr1ad » April 28th, 2012, 1:38 am

agree with this move
as pioneer said developed countries do this as well as stop selling liquor at 2am

ask yourself
would you sell or rather give someone who is clearly drunk another drink

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 28th, 2012, 1:53 am

I heard a religious guy givin a sermon about alcohol the other day and he was saying that Bar owners would have to answer to the almighty because they are selling alcohol to men who would become intoxicated and perform acts which they are not supposed to....

Pioneer has an idea.......Do u all remember when the curfew was in effect?....Less / no drunkards at all...!!!

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » April 28th, 2012, 4:03 am

what about those free drinks parties or all inclusive .. u gonna tell a guy no more' .. hhhmm

Humes

Postby Humes » April 28th, 2012, 4:45 am

Seriously? Where in the article says that?

And alyuh does complain about media sensationalism.

Important question, though: How exactly is a bartender to know who is a driver?

Postby Stephon. » April 28th, 2012, 5:34 am

Humes wrote:Important question, though: How exactly is a bartender to know who is a driver?

Very good point there!

Postby SR » April 28th, 2012, 5:58 am

if ah man buying i selling..................

do you tell a supermarket they are limited on how much alco they sell a customer???
arrive alive talking more sheit again as usual
they clearly live in a world of thier own

i agree with pioneer put time restrictions on the sale of alco at bars and clubs
enforce restriction of sale of alcohol to minors
and put more police officers outside of bars and clubs in pos at night instead

the only person responsible for getting themselves intoxicated is the person choosing to drink and no one else

Postby Trini Hookah » April 28th, 2012, 7:52 am

Peanut Punch wrote:what about those free drinks parties or all inclusive .. u gonna tell a guy no more' .. hhhmm

To be fair in that aspect, most of those party patrons go by shuttle/groups of friends - and the smart ones have a designated driver.

Postby nemisis » April 28th, 2012, 8:20 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
Peanut Punch wrote:what about those free drinks parties or all inclusive .. u gonna tell a guy no more' .. hhhmm

To be fair in that aspect, most of those party patrons go by shuttle/groups of friends - and the smart ones have a designated driver.

smart ones are in the minority so your point is moot.

Postby Rainman » April 28th, 2012, 8:27 am

SR wrote:if ah man buying i selling..................

do you tell a supermarket they are limited on how much alco they sell a customer???

Wow just wow......

Apples and bowling balls.

Postby Sky » April 28th, 2012, 8:31 am

How about we blame the police for not doing enough field sobriety tests?
Every new law they treat like fireworks. Come out with a big bang then fizzle out and fade.
Just like the seatbelt law.
Just like the Mobile phone law.

Stopping the selling of drinks may work a bit at parties, but what about those quick shops willing to sell 24/7?

SR wrote:the only person responsible for getting themselves intoxicated is the person choosing to drink and no one else

So that's the only people we can blame on this matter. You're an adult, act responsibly or face the hammer.

What about cutlass attacks? Baghwansingh's should be blamed?
What about shootings? The Syrians should.. *banned*

Postby Bizzare » April 28th, 2012, 8:35 am

Y'all listening to ollour self. How the HELL is a someone suppose to take responsibility for another person's action????? That's just idiotic. Stupid logic !!!
Oh, are you bartenders really gonna make right judgement all night long??? :?
How exactly does serving no alcohol after a certain time suppose to help???

If I want to get drunk THAT'S MY FORKING CHOICE. I could very well have a designated driver with me. Ent daz was the majority doz go to a bar for? Makes absolutely no sense.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 28th, 2012, 8:49 am

nemisis wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

smart ones are in the minority so your point is moot.

Even though it's a minority (in your mind), doesn't mean it doesn't exist :wink:

And y'all really comparing Alco sales to Tyres sales etc? Really? Tyres have the capability to affect judgement calls? :roll:

kevcam

Postby kevcam » April 28th, 2012, 8:51 am

Some good points raised.

How will "bar hopping" factor into this?

(Person gets really drunk by 1 bar but goes to 2 more bars after. They refuse to sell him at the other 2 but he leaves the last bar and gets in an accident.) How are they going to prove that the alcohol came from a certain establishment?

Important question, though: How exactly is a bartender to know who is a driver?

What if the bar owner refuses to sell the drunk person but someone else buys a 'rounds' for him?

Postby X2 » April 28th, 2012, 9:11 am

Is like we are governed by retarded mice.

Show the statistics of how many accidents and resulting fatalities are actually attributed to drunk driving versus kant driving !

A drunk driver at 3am is less dangerous than a drunk driver on the road at 3pm.... so how about we just stop serving alcohol on the whole? There are people drinking in bars from first thing in the morning so the logic already fail.

So with the retards in charge.. can I now blame/ sue the government if my business fails due to irresponsible governing and corrupted political agendas ?

Humes

Postby Humes » April 28th, 2012, 10:01 am

SR wrote:enforce

This.

It's the solution to basically every crime problem in Trinidad & Tobago. The laws are there, and most of them are good.

Humes

Postby Humes » April 28th, 2012, 10:03 am

Another question: How exactly will the Police know which bar the intoxicated driver came from?

Will they depend on the word of the drunk? Other patrons who've been drinking?

I could understand if they probably wait right outside bars to see who leaves and drives off, but they could do that right now with breathalysers with the same results.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 28th, 2012, 10:08 am

blaming bar owners makes no sense.it all depends on the driver and his level of ignorance.if you know you are going behind the wheel,why consumer alcohol?a bar owner is only carrying on his trade,he cannot be held responsible for the stupidity of others.

so they say blame bar owners for drunk driving and carnage on the road.so next thing they would say blame all the KFCs,Japs,etc etc and hold them responsible for and increase in overweight people and higher cholesterol? what would they do then,charge them?
same issue with the tobacco industry,there is an increase in cancer patients throughout the country,why don't they hold west indian tobacco responsible?

Postby black start » April 28th, 2012, 10:11 am

SR wrote:if ah man buying i selling..................

arrive alive talking more sheit again as usual
they clearly live in a world of thier own

i agree with pioneer put time restrictions on the sale of alco at bars and clubs
enforce restriction of sale of alcohol to minors
and put more police officers outside of bars and clubs in pos at night instead

the only person responsible for getting themselves intoxicated is the person choosing to drink and no one else

boom!

Imagine you selling in a bar and a totally drunk gunta/injun say he want another drink and you refuse. He pulls out a gun/cutlass and shoots you because you refused to sell him another.

This is just another patch for the hole because the police don't know or possible just not proficient to do their jobs properly. Even self people can't BUY alcohol after 2am (just saying), why they can't buy two bottles at 1.59 and dress back? As sr said the only person responsible for getting themselves intoxicated is the person choosing to drink and no one else and therefore they alone should be held responsible for committing the crime.

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2012, 10:19 am

I VOTED FOR THIS BULL CRAPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i real sorry,

hmmn, should have become a lawyer, i would have made a lot of money suing the state.

how, is the bartender going to be able to quantify/qualify the level or state of inebriation?

another method of using the massa/slave mentality we have; frighten the bartenders into loosing business.

i am against the consumption of alcohol, but i am against unfairness even more. that would put unreasonable responsibility on bartenders. and that is just one source of alcohol. imagine if bartenders rotated.

boy, if a man who cause an accident say that he bought so much and so many drinks from a certain bartender, all the bartender has to say is that he can't remember that guy being a patron, and ask that he produce a receipt of purchase.

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 11:13 am

If ya'll want trinidad to be developed then we need to adopt first world policies.

Humes

Postby Humes » April 28th, 2012, 11:22 am

pioneer, how exactly will a bar curfew change anything? A man cyar load up by 1 AM? or by 12 AM? Or 11 PM?

Yuh adopt good policies, not first world ones. Developed countries always reviewing and revising policies that they thought were a good idea, but ended up being crap.

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 11:32 am

Part of those policies is that police show up in the parking lots of major parties/clubs/bars/events and scope out potential drunk drivers and limit them even before they get behind the wheel.

In trinidad police set up road blocks miles away from the scene to "catch" these drivers...with the deed already committed. What are they really preventing?

Point is a drunk driver is already behind the wheel, so when/if an accident occurs police show up to direct traffic.

Why not prevent the damn act before it even happens thus saving the lives of the innocent?

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 11:34 am

What do laws seek to do?

Not protect the innocent?

Who is the TTPS protecting here?...themselves?