Rishi Kanick now fastest T&T drag-racer

Official T&T Drag Racing Forum

zaxxon1

Rishi Kanick now fastest T&T drag-racer

Postby zaxxon1 » April 23rd, 2012, 1:43 pm

Checking through the Guardian on-line, I came across this article. Have a read....

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2012-04 ... drag-racer

This is only the link can someone embed

Re: Rishi Kanick now fastest T&T drag-racer

Postby 16 cycles » April 23rd, 2012, 1:54 pm

Kanick now fastest T&T drag racer
Published:
Sunday, April 22, 2012

Rishi Kanick, left, and Brazilian racer Sidney Frigo

Central Drag Racer Rishi Kanick is officially the fastest T&T national on the drag racing strip.

Kanick clocked a time of 5.54 seconds travelling at 293 miles per hour (mph) doing the quarter of a mile drag on April 16 at the Zmax Dragway at North Carolina in the United States. Kanick, who started drag-racing in 2006 with his Llumar sponsored racer, was at the time qualifying for his drag racing license that would allow him to race Top Alcohol dragsters that run on nitro-methane.

On Friday, Kanick, who returned to T&T recently, stated that he beat the record time of Sheldon Bissessar’s 5.68 seconds for the quarter mile race. Bissessar holds the record for Top Dragster. However, the cars that Kanick now race are in a totally different league from Bissessar since Top Alcohol cars run much faster than the Top Dragster.

Kanick, of Boodram Street, Enterprise, started racing in a rail-type dragster that he brought from Michael Luke. Since then he competed at a number of regional events. Last year, he shifted his focus to South America and formed an alliance with Sidney Frigo, Brazil’s Top Drag racer.

Frigo invited Kanick to join his Brazilian racing team to compete at events in the US and South America. Kanick shared that Frigo allowed him to use a $2 million race car for the event, citing that he was most impressed when he visited Frigo’s privately owned Sao Paulo International Dragway and suggested private-public sector partnership to build a similar racecourse in T&T to attract international events. Kanick said that he felt proud to license in the presence of drag racing greats like John Force, Robert Hight, Larry Dixon, Antron Brown and Melanie Troxel who were all testing on the day.

Kanick, who is the first T&T racer to get the NHRA Top Alcohol license said that he ran a time of 5.60 seconds at 224 mph in his first pass. He went on to break Bissessar’s mph record of 243 mph when on his next quarter mile pass he ran a time 5.54 second at a phenomenal 262 mph.

Kanick had to do four passes to complete the license which he started at Gainesville Florida. To get a Top Alcohol Dragster license Kanick had to do a minimum of two passes 5.9 seconds or lower. Kanick said, “What was absolutely amazing is that after the first pass of 5.60 seconds. I went on to do three more five-second passes with the best time of 5.54 seconds.”

He eliminated Bissessar’s one-eighth of a mile time of 3.75 seconds at 197 mph with 3.70 seconds at 217 mph. Both Frigo and Kanick got licensed together, the latter for TAD and the other for Top Fuel. Kanick indicated that his next step would be to get experience racing Top Alcohol cars before going for his license to race Top Fuel cars that cross the 300 mph line and are able to do the quarter of a mile drag in just over four seconds.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2012-04 ... drag-racer

wraith

Postby wraith » April 23rd, 2012, 2:21 pm

WOW,

congrats man!

Postby wagonrunner » April 23rd, 2012, 4:12 pm

I feel the Guardian get the racetrack name wrong (hadda be). Or they just haven't updates their site yet.

http://www.charlottemotorspeedway.com/dragway/media/results/

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » April 23rd, 2012, 4:28 pm

:shock: woah

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » April 23rd, 2012, 6:21 pm

wagonrunner wrote:I feel the Guardian get the racetrack name wrong (hadda be). Or they just haven't updates their site yet.

http://www.charlottemotorspeedway.com/dragway/media/results/

If I read it correct, this was when he was doing his qualifying runs for his NHRA TAD license. For IHRA and NHRA you have to make a series of legal, official passes and you have to get a couple of licensed races in your group or higher to witness then sign off on the passes (I think. It has been awhile since I've been involved).

Kanick clocked a time of 5.54 seconds travelling at 293 miles per hour (mph) doing the quarter of a mile drag on April 16 at the Zmax Dragway at North Carolina in the United States. Kanick, who started drag-racing in 2006 with his Llumar sponsored racer, was at the time qualifying for his drag racing license that would allow him to race Top Alcohol dragsters that run on nitro-methane.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 23rd, 2012, 7:04 pm

Reason you not seeing his name in on the NHRA/Zmax results page was because he wasn't part of the actual NHRA competition. They don't put up times for licensing or test & tune runs. BTW, that 293 mph seems like a typo because the other cars in the TAD class that weekend were somewhere in the 260's - 270's

frustr8ed

Postby frustr8ed » April 23rd, 2012, 7:25 pm

It is very irresponsible of the Guardian newspaper to publish that in the manner they stated it.
This would not make news anywhere else.

No record was set. It was not done in competition. In fact the passes Rishi made in that car were so slow that he would not even qualify for NHRA races in that category!

If we are just going to check who is the fastest person in T&T then we might as well give awards to Trinis who flew on the Concorde because they went 1,350 mph.

It is just misleading information. If you are driving a faster car, obviously you would go faster! Sheldon did test runs in a TAD car if I remember correctly but obviously he would not publish the times because it was not done in competition and so does not count for anything.

The article has Sheldon's name almost as much as Rishi's. Seems there is an ulterior motive here...

TonyM

Postby TonyM » April 23rd, 2012, 11:07 pm

I usually only read stuff on here but I just have to comment on this.

I live in Hollywood FL and build track cars. Though I haven't been back to Trinidad in decades I've been following Sheldon Bissessar's career. Sheldon may remember me from Wallerfield or maybe not. I don't know how you guys operate these days in Trinidad, but when I see these wanna-be's who have no claim to fame, making false claims, its sad.

This guy went to get his license and they write an article saying he's the fastest?

The article claims that this guy Rishi Kanick broke a drag racing record - (False)
The article claims that his speed was 293MPH - (False)
Sheldon has the Top Dragster World Record : 5.68 E.T. @ 243MPH.
To break this record, you've got to compete with a Top Dragster at a National Event in the US.
If he only just got his first license then he never won a drag racing event in the US.

Mr. Kanick or the guy who wrote the article, you need to understand drag racing more . Top Fuel dragsters do not make 1/4 mile passes. They make 1000' passes.

I'm sorry if I offend anyone but this has to be the dumbest article I've ever seen anyone write about themself.
As some guy said above Rishi's runs were licensing passes not competition passes.
He only has a licence. He is not a competitor.
Did Rishi ever win in Top Alcohol Dragster (TAD) racing ? (No)
Did Rishi ever qualify in TAD racing? (No)
Did Rishi compete in TAD racing ?(No)
Does Rishi have the TAD speed world record? (No)
Does Rishi have the TAD E.T. world record? (No)
Does Rishi have a TAD track record at any track? (No)
Has Rishi ever competed in the US? (No)

This is the information on the official websites:
Top Dragster Specifications : Roots Blower on Alcohol,no clutch ,no nitromethane allowed
Top Dragster World Record : 5.68 E.T. @ 243MPH - Sheldon Bissessar

Top Alcohol Dragster Specifications: Screw blower allowed with alcohol and clutch. Injected Nitromethane also allowed
Top Alcohol Dragster World Record: 5.10 E.T. @ 284MPH - Bill Reichert

Bill would laugh at that 5.54 E.T. bro

My advice to Rishi is to calm down and eat some humble pie. It's a long road through regionals to get to Nationals buddy. You can do it, but not with that attitude.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » April 24th, 2012, 12:03 am

bey doh i beat sheldon time i am the fastest bey doh

dotishness.

Postby X2 » April 24th, 2012, 8:53 am

I've been on the Concorde.... and to top it off, I ran up the aisle in-flight... I think that would make me the fastest Trini now right ?

Who wanna write the article ?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 24th, 2012, 9:08 am

Great first post TonyM. You shouldn't be hiding with all that (practical)knowledge
I don't think Rishi is resposnible for authoring the article, maybe providing misleading facts.
Without sounding pro-sheldon though, maybe we can forward your comments to the guardian for a retaction or correction. Sheldon deserves this since he has the actual record and once in print stories circulate.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » April 24th, 2012, 11:34 am

where Sheldon lead, all will try to follow.

puncheon & carib

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » April 24th, 2012, 1:24 pm

It seems Rishi has some sort of grudge against Sheldon.

Postby X2 » April 24th, 2012, 1:32 pm

This Kanick fella is not the one that claims to be building a drag track ?

Publicity BS... it's a shame the article brings up Bissessar as 'competition' as it's clearly false info... I even read the 'license' references and did not make the connections that it's a marketing ploy.

Postby MG Man » April 24th, 2012, 1:34 pm

X2 wrote:I've been on the Concorde.... and to top it off, I ran up the aisle in-flight... I think that would make me the fastest Trini now right ?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 24th, 2012, 1:43 pm

X2 wrote:This Kanick fella is not the one that claims to be building a drag track ?

Publicity BS... it's a shame the article brings up Bissessar as 'competition' as it's clearly false info... I even read the 'license' references and did not make the connections that it's a marketing ploy.

haters gonna hate man.....i always look at sheldon as being one of the most humble persons in motorsport.....set his targets, attain his record and just sit in the background.....not like some of the other local racers who make videos and beat their own chest.....

so question...did rishi back up his time??

nigie

Postby nigie » April 24th, 2012, 2:21 pm

thread caption is fastest trini....which of the 2 trinis did the fastest time...?

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » April 24th, 2012, 2:28 pm

TonyM wrote:I usually only read stuff on here but I just have to comment on this.

I live in Hollywood FL and build track cars. Though I haven't been back to Trinidad in decades I've been following Sheldon Bissessar's career. Sheldon may remember me from Wallerfield or maybe not. I don't know how you guys operate these days in Trinidad, but when I see these wanna-be's who have no claim to fame, making false claims, its sad.

This guy went to get his license and they write an article saying he's the fastest?

The article claims that this guy Rishi Kanick broke a drag racing record - (False)
The article claims that his speed was 293MPH - (False)
Sheldon has the Top Dragster World Record : 5.68 E.T. @ 243MPH.
To break this record, you've got to compete with a Top Dragster at a National Event in the US.
If he only just got his first license then he never won a drag racing event in the US.

Mr. Kanick or the guy who wrote the article, you need to understand drag racing more . Top Fuel dragsters do not make 1/4 mile passes. They make 1000' passes.

I'm sorry if I offend anyone but this has to be the dumbest article I've ever seen anyone write about themself.
As some guy said above Rishi's runs were licensing passes not competition passes.
He only has a licence. He is not a competitor.
Did Rishi ever win in Top Alcohol Dragster (TAD) racing ? (No)
Did Rishi ever qualify in TAD racing? (No)
Did Rishi compete in TAD racing ?(No)
Does Rishi have the TAD speed world record? (No)
Does Rishi have the TAD E.T. world record? (No)
Does Rishi have a TAD track record at any track? (No)
Has Rishi ever competed in the US? (No)

This is the information on the official websites:
Top Dragster Specifications : Roots Blower on Alcohol,no clutch ,no nitromethane allowed
Top Dragster World Record : 5.68 E.T. @ 243MPH - Sheldon Bissessar

Top Alcohol Dragster Specifications: Screw blower allowed with alcohol and clutch. Injected Nitromethane also allowed
Top Alcohol Dragster World Record: 5.10 E.T. @ 284MPH - Bill Reichert

Bill would laugh at that 5.54 E.T. bro

My advice to Rishi is to calm down and eat some humble pie. It's a long road through regionals to get to Nationals buddy. You can do it, but not with that attitude.

^^^ This......

Well said Sir!!

:D

Postby turbosingh » April 25th, 2012, 8:19 am

Kanick clocked a time of 5.54 seconds travelling at 293 miles per hour (mph) doing the quarter of a mile drag
Now that's speed :angel:

Crawlerz92

Postby Crawlerz92 » April 26th, 2012, 11:16 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:
X2 wrote:This Kanick fella is not the one that claims to be building a drag track ?

haters gonna hate man.....i always look at sheldon as being one of the most humble persons in motorsport.....set his targets, attain his record and just sit in the background.....not like some of the other local racers who make videos and beat their own chest.....

Got these off of kanick's facebook page and i gotta say pretty impressive for 1st time in the US...as far as i remember it took sheldon 5 years to run 5.68 @ 238mph in the US.
2.jpg
1.jpg

Postby pugboy » April 26th, 2012, 3:34 pm

everytime they write an article they quote their "competition"
what's the saying about imitation is the best form of flattery ?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 26th, 2012, 3:55 pm

Crawlerz92 wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

Got these off of kanick's facebook page and i gotta say pretty impressive for 1st time in the US...as far as i remember it took sheldon 5 years to run 5.68 @ 238mph in the US.

so in order to make a point you need to compare it to another??? just say you accomplished X dont have to justify it to sound big....are they in the same class or vehicles??

it shows youre a little boy

btw like i cant read or something where is the 293 mph???

Postby X2 » April 26th, 2012, 5:55 pm

All this BS hype for a man who hadda BORROW a racecar to make a pass on the track ?

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » April 27th, 2012, 7:26 pm

X2 wrote:I've been on the Concorde.... and to top it off, I ran up the aisle in-flight... I think that would make me the fastest Trini now right ?

Lol indeed

TonyM

Postby TonyM » May 1st, 2012, 11:51 pm

Guys I saw Sheldon race at Bradenton a few years ago. There was a short guy with a big belly there. Is that Rishi Kanick?

I saw Rishi saying on facebook that Sheldon held him back. What does he mean by that? I was told that Sheldon built and tuned all of Rishi's race cars. I was also told that Sheldon never charged him a cent. All of Sheldon's time and effort was for the love and passion of the sport. Another thing Rishi said on facebook was that he went after Sheldon's international record. Seriously?

Here is the post from facebook
kanick facebook.jpg
kanick facebook.jpg (142.13 KiB) Viewed 5948 times

I did some research and found Sheldon's accomplishments. I never knew that one racer in one lifetime could accomplish so much and to know its a trini makes me proud. People keep asking me how one guy from T&T can come to the US and win so many races and set so many records. Sheldon Bissessar's name is very well known in the US racing community.

Which one of these records did the Rishi guy break?

Here's what I found so far Sheldon Bissessar received the ' Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) Americas Award' for outstanding performance in Drag Racing (2012)
1st Motorsport FCB Sportsman of the year Nominee to make it in the top ten - 2008, 2009 and 2011
2011 TV6 Sport Personality of the Year
Over 50 Internation Drag Racing Round Wins in the US
Over 10 International Drag Racing Event Wins in the US
IHRA Top Dragster E.T. World Record
IHRA Top Dragster Speed World Record
IHRA Top Dragster 1/8mile E.T. World Record
Pro Extreme Dragster Record
Pro Top Outlaw Dragster Record
Open Outlaw Record
Ultimate Dragster Record
Mt Park Dragway Track Record
London Dragway Track Record
Sunshine Dragstrip Track Record
Wallerfield Track Record
Camden Track Record

I also heard that Sheldon ran the first 9,8,7,6 and 5 sec. passes and that he's preparing for a 3 second class.
I have never seen Sheldon stating in his accomplishments that he was the 'fastest trini'.

Postby wagonrunner » May 2nd, 2012, 12:01 am

TonyM, welcome to the local (Trini) automotive debacle.

There are those who are proud of sheldon, and there are those who will twist facts in an effort to strip away his accomplishments.

The latter are backed by TTASA who employs the same stupid tactics when speaking about other motorsport bodies here. Apparently it's the only way they know to "improve".

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » May 2nd, 2012, 12:55 am

TonyM wrote:Guys I saw Sheldon race at Bradenton a few years ago. There was a short guy with a big belly there. Is that Rishi Kanick?

I saw Rishi saying on facebook that Sheldon held him back. What does he mean by that? I was told that Sheldon built and tuned all of Rishi's race cars. I was also told that Sheldon never charged him a cent. All of Sheldon's time and effort was for the love and passion of the sport. Another thing Rishi said on facebook was that he went after Sheldon's international record. Seriously?

Here is the post from facebook
kanick facebook.jpg

I did some research and found Sheldon's accomplishments. I never knew that one racer in one lifetime could accomplish so much and to know its a trini makes me proud. People keep asking me how one guy from T&T can come to the US and win so many races and set so many records. Sheldon Bissessar's name is very well known in the US racing community.

Which one of these records did the Rishi guy break?

Here's what I found so far Sheldon Bissessar received the ' Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) Americas Award' for outstanding performance in Drag Racing (2012)
1st Motorsport FCB Sportsman of the year Nominee to make it in the top ten - 2008, 2009 and 2011
2011 TV6 Sport Personality of the Year
Over 50 Internation Drag Racing Round Wins in the US
Over 10 International Drag Racing Event Wins in the US
IHRA Top Dragster E.T. World Record
IHRA Top Dragster Speed World Record
IHRA Top Dragster 1/8mile E.T. World Record
Pro Extreme Dragster Record
Pro Top Outlaw Dragster Record
Open Outlaw Record
Ultimate Dragster Record
Mt Park Dragway Track Record
London Dragway Track Record
Sunshine Dragstrip Track Record
Wallerfield Track Record
Camden Track Record

I also heard that Sheldon ran the first 9,8,7,6 and 5 sec. passes and that he's preparing for a 3 second class.
I have never seen Sheldon stating in his accomplishments that he was the 'fastest trini'.

What d hell is a 3 second pass?
They does shoot yuh out of a cannon?

Postby X2 » May 2nd, 2012, 1:04 am

Garrett Inside... watch some NHRA action on Speed... the power is other-worldly.

That Kanick man need a clout.

*Running in the Concorde... still the fastest Trini*

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 2nd, 2012, 1:25 am

X2 wrote:Garrett Inside... watch some NHRA action on Speed... the power is other-worldly.

That Kanick man need a clout.

*Running in the Concorde... still the fastest Trini*

i 2 d motion

making trini look like crybaby.

sheldon ,thumbs up.

kanick , d boot

Return to “Drag Racing”