Official BlackBerry Thread

Ibis Electronics

Re: D Official 2010 BlackBerry THREAD

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 21st, 2012, 3:45 pm

If any of you are on the forum crack berry then you may know. The newest bold the 9930 has been having an epidemic with bricking. Some people when they put their phones to charge overnight they wake up in the morning with a red flashing light. This is the phone in an infinite reboot cycle. When you try to flash the OS since its in an infinte rebooT it won't take the flash. I've tried almost every phone store in central and no one has been able to fix it. Even tried sending it back up to the states but bb's don't have any warranty from RIM.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » March 21st, 2012, 4:20 pm

Waterholic's wrote:Even tried sending it back up to the states but bb's don't have any warranty from RIM.

Yuh mean YOUR BB, All devices 1yr manufacturer warranty on defects and workmanship. If you buy it from a telephone company contact them for warranty info
Me thinks somebody lying somewhere...

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 21st, 2012, 4:24 pm

bigga514 wrote:
Waterholic's wrote:Even tried sending it back up to the states but bb's don't have any warranty from RIM.

Yuh mean YOUR BB, All devices 1yr manufacturer warranty on defects and workmanship. If you buy it from a telephone company contact them for warranty info

Exactly. You don't get any warranty from RIM. You get warranty from the seller and unfortunately mines didn't give me any warranty.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » March 21st, 2012, 4:40 pm

Waterholic's wrote:
bigga514 wrote:

Exactly. You don't get any warranty from RIM. You get warranty from the seller and unfortunately mines didn't give me any warranty.

Yes you do,but if you don't buy direct from them= no warranty directly from them your phone company handles it. So no we not saying the same thing. What you said is very misleading and that is what I'm tryna show yuh...

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 21st, 2012, 4:48 pm

bigga514 wrote:
Waterholic's wrote:
bigga514 wrote:

Yes you do,but if you don't buy direct from them= no warranty directly from them your phone company handles it. So no we not saying the same thing. What you said is very misleading and that is what I'm tryna show yuh...

Ok let me explain exactly what happened to me, and if you don't believe this well I can't do much about it. I bought a phone DIRECTLY from Ewireless in Miami Fl when I went to the states. My Bold 9930 stopped working and I carried it back to them after 2 months. They said that they carry no warranty on the phone and told me to give RIM a call. Rim told me that the responsibility totally lies in the hand of the seller which was Ewireless. That's what happened. Idk how normal protocol works and not trying to start any trouble but that what happened to me. But I get what you're saying and I'm sorry if my post was misleading.

Postby tr1ad » March 21st, 2012, 5:13 pm

actually i not sure what you speaking about, i had a problem with a bold and i contacted RIM in Waterloo and they replaced it under the 1 year manufacturer warranty

but again, you bought a phone (supposedly new) and they gave you no warranty?
epic pwnage there.....

all RIM devices are covered by this warranty

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 21st, 2012, 5:19 pm

tr1ad wrote:actually i not sure what you speaking about, i had a problem with a bold and i contacted RIM in Waterloo and they replaced it under the 1 year manufacturer warranty

but again, you bought a phone (supposedly new) and they gave you no warranty?
epic pwnage there.....

all RIM devices are covered by this warranty

Yup I called them up and asked for a warranty and they said the only thing they could offer me was a free customer service call which did nothing because the rep was unable to help me with the phone.

Postby tr1ad » March 21st, 2012, 5:20 pm

i'll look through old emails and see if i can find the rep i dealt with

if i do find it i'll pass it onto you

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 21st, 2012, 5:34 pm

tr1ad wrote:i'll look through old emails and see if i can find the rep i dealt with

if i do find it i'll pass it onto you

Thanks a lot bro. That would be greatly appreciated.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » March 21st, 2012, 5:50 pm

I will give email contact info but basically triad right, no matter what the model is under 1year so no matter what they have to take it....
Try get help here
http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/ ... portForums
Or on twitter if you use it
@blackberryhelp
Or call (877) 644-8410. For issues relating to defective Accessories, please email help@shopblackberry.com or call (866) 957-0761.
Or Canadian customer service is nicer ppl in general imo 1(877) 644-8405
For warranty information relating to BlackBerry products, please go to http://store.shopblackberry.com/Show/LegalInformation

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » March 26th, 2012, 7:37 am

hey, can you guys help me???

My blackberry 8520 won't boot...

The battery was dying and I ended up taking out the sim card.

Now when i tried charging it up for it to boot, the screen only reaching the orange logo.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » March 26th, 2012, 12:53 pm

bump...

Postby tr1ad » March 26th, 2012, 1:07 pm

does dm recognize the device?
if it does do a backup
wipe device with jm cmdr and reinstall the latest os

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » March 26th, 2012, 3:50 pm

tr1ad wrote:does dm recognize the device?
if it does do a backup
wipe device with jm cmdr and reinstall the latest os

nah, unfortunately it does not recognize it.

If so, I woulda do that already. I starting to feel I'm f***ed :evil:

Postby tr1ad » March 26th, 2012, 5:18 pm

well hopefully you among those that always do a back up ever so often

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » April 6th, 2012, 9:19 am

Something weird is going on with my 9700 (it's running OS6), when I hold down the menu key to see my open apps there is an app running called "tweeting". I don't have twitter installed on the phone and when I select this app it just takes me to the home screen so I can't seem to find a way to close it. I have tried hard an soft reboots of the phone and the app is still running as the phone starts up.

any ideas of what this could be? I tried google but couldn't find anything :S

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » April 7th, 2012, 12:05 am

mitsu4life wrote:Something weird is going on with my 9700 (it's running OS6), when I hold down the menu key to see my open apps there is an app running called "tweeting". I don't have twitter installed on the phone and when I select this app it just takes me to the home screen so I can't seem to find a way to close it. I have tried hard an soft reboots of the phone and the app is still running as the phone starts up.

any ideas of what this could be? I tried google but couldn't find anything :S

check third part app settings tab, look in installed list in appworld or offending app (delete from there), or just wipe d whole phone and reload d O.S

Postby Ted_v2 » April 11th, 2012, 12:58 pm

i have this problem with my 8520

i updated my facebook app
rebooted phone when i went to see if the app works

It isnt there, so i went to app world and removed the app and now i cant re download it to the phone

next best bet is ??

blacklight

Postby blacklight » April 13th, 2012, 6:26 am

Anyone can help me with this.

A BLACKBERRY BOLD 9700 fairly new, crashed on me. Worked fine until one morning it just went blank on its own. Tried re installing the OS. OS reinstalled then when i put in the sim, it crashed again, now im getting this stupid error as you can see below.

Capture.PNG

Should i just fling this phone?

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » April 18th, 2012, 7:11 pm

so got my 9360 today still getting accustomed to keypads but i gots myself a problem..i dont have my puk code and i need it for the data plan....any alternatives??

Postby Trini Hookah » April 18th, 2012, 7:21 pm

Buy another sim and fix up :|

Postby S_2NR » April 18th, 2012, 7:24 pm

jeevdude199 wrote:so got my 9360 today still getting accustomed to keypads but i gots myself a problem..i dont have my puk code and i need it for the data plan....any alternatives??

Go into bmobile with ID. Once its ur sim, shouldn't have a problem.

Postby tr1ad » April 18th, 2012, 7:55 pm

since when you need PUK code for data services

Postby S_2NR » April 18th, 2012, 7:56 pm

tr1ad wrote:since when you need PUK code for data services

That's for prepaid ppl who crawling on dey belly :lol:

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 18th, 2012, 8:00 pm

you have to enter a puk code for that?? hmmmmmm

Postby tr1ad » April 18th, 2012, 8:00 pm

S_2NR wrote:
tr1ad wrote:since when you need PUK code for data services

That's for prepaid ppl who crawling on dey belly :lol:

i didnt wa be the one to say eet

Postby Trini Hookah » April 18th, 2012, 8:08 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:you have to enter a puk code for that?? hmmmmmm

It's for when you call in to activate the data service.

Yes, i once crawled on my belly.

Postby S_2NR » April 18th, 2012, 8:14 pm

Those prepaid data packages are major rip off though. I don't know what possess trinis to fork out $30/week for BBM.

Postby tr1ad » April 18th, 2012, 8:16 pm

30 a week....

120 a month
plus phone card

roughly what... on average 220?

post paid and data could add up to what about 175 monthly?

Postby S_2NR » April 18th, 2012, 8:38 pm

For people that crawling on dey belly, them have rel money to bun