LOOKING FOR A JOB

mini_mart

LOOKING FOR A JOB

Postby mini_mart » April 16th, 2012, 11:48 am

hey tuners I'm in the process of sending out resumes so I'm just trying my luck maybe there's someone here that could assist me in getting a job doesn't necessarily have to pertain to the automotive field
Education: Attended San Fernando Government Secondary School (September 2005 – July 2010)
CXC Grade: Mathematics
: English A
: English B
: Chemistry
: Geography
: Principles of Business
After which I started “National Energy Skills Center” (NESC) and completed the 18 months of training in NESC as an Automotive Servicing Technician
Relevant Accomplishments:
: OSHA (10 -30) HOURS GENERAL STANDARD
: Computer Literacy Certificate
: Small Engine Repairs Certificate

only work experience i have is 6mths at lifestyle motors on OJT
thanks for taking the time to read..^_^

Re: LOOKING FOR A JOB

Postby foss » April 16th, 2012, 11:57 am

why don't you open a mini mart? :|

they do pretty good. (depending on location of course)

Postby Bizzare » April 16th, 2012, 11:58 am

OP why not further your education?

manager

Postby manager » April 16th, 2012, 12:14 pm

Janitorial opening in my company, u want it?

xtech

Postby xtech » April 16th, 2012, 12:19 pm

Let him get out there an work. Yes he is still young but plenty education an no work experience is a big no no in our job market....here is who you know an not what you know that gets you a good job.

So get out there work an educate yourself at the same time

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » April 16th, 2012, 12:21 pm

most supermarkets/minimarts hav vacancies inno...

Postby stev » April 16th, 2012, 12:24 pm

regencyrecruitment.com

caribbeanjobs.com - (not so much but yuh never know)

trrinidadvacancies.com

manager

Postby manager » April 16th, 2012, 12:28 pm

foss wrote:why don't you open a mini mart? :|

A well placed play whe both can make u almost 10k a month too

manager

Postby manager » April 16th, 2012, 12:29 pm

geometron can you post a high res pic of your avatar

Postby tr1ad » April 16th, 2012, 12:33 pm

better get it soon, somehow it might disappear

Postby rollingstock » April 16th, 2012, 12:44 pm

manager wrote:geometron can you post a high res pic of your avatar

http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_kzcnv ... o1_400.jpg

Anywayz op have you tried the public sector? You are actually over qualified for the protective services.......serious.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » April 16th, 2012, 1:12 pm

tr1ad wrote:better get it soon, somehow it might disappear

OMG! :shock: :shock: :shock: disappearss the sarcasm is strong hereeeee

Postby AllTrac » April 16th, 2012, 1:14 pm

hey thanks for pointing it out. Geometron, your avatar is not allowed. Please remove, doh give me extra work to do.

Postby foss » April 16th, 2012, 1:14 pm

geometron wrote:
tr1ad wrote:better get it soon, somehow it might disappear

OMG! :shock: :shock: :shock: disappearss the sarcasm is strong hereeeee

bye...

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » April 16th, 2012, 1:15 pm

AllTrac wrote:hey thanks for pointing it out. Geometron, your avatar is not allowed. Please remove, doh give me extra work to do.

buh it haz no nudity kind sir :( ....

Postby AllTrac » April 16th, 2012, 1:16 pm

dan i just doing meh wuk, make meh life easy nah.
de lady buttocks showing, if you post in other forums it would still show. Remove it nah.

Postby Bizzare » April 16th, 2012, 1:16 pm

she eh wearin ah panty bai.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » April 16th, 2012, 1:18 pm

orite oriteee... lemme edit she bamseeee.... gimme ah seccc. bussin a last fappp

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 16th, 2012, 3:49 pm

try FT Farfan........ it will be small engines / generators etc

mini_mart

Postby mini_mart » April 16th, 2012, 5:33 pm

not to be picky but janitorial work isn't what i had in mind neither working in a supermarket...but thanks never the less not sure if u were trying to be helpful or insultive and i don't have the resources to open my own business regardless it be a mini mart or a garage....i do have all intentions of furthering my education but at the same time i would like to be a little more independent..thank u all for your advice and positivity greatly appreciated

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 16th, 2012, 6:35 pm

foss wrote:why don't you open a mini mart? :|

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 16th, 2012, 6:45 pm

Why don't you try any of the following:

1) VMCOTT
2) PTSC
3) TrinTrac
4) Tracmac/CAT Rental Division
5) Neal and Massy Motors
6) Diamond Motors
7) Toyota Trinidad and Tobago Limited
8) Southern Sales & Service Company Limited
9) Construction Contractors (Kee Chanona, NH International, Super Industrial Services Limited, Seereeram Bros. Limited, Trinidad Contractors Limited, Lutchmeesingh Transport Contractors Limited

Basically, apply to businesses that either carry out maintenance of motorised equipment as part of their operations, or have motorised equipment that need maintenance.

Good luck with your job applications.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 16th, 2012, 8:00 pm

OP if you have intentions of furthering your education why not consider continuing with your OJT job for another 1.5 years perhaps? It would afford you a pretty decent stipend from someone your age now starting out, AND the workload shouldn't be that heavy so as to prevent you from studying simultaneously, part time maybe. 2 years experience would definitely boost your job prospects.
Just an idea.

However I was in a similar position recently, thinking since OJT pays about $3000/month with CAPE qualifications maybe the private sector would offer more. But surprisingly they all paid less!(accounting & auditing though, not mechanics)
Although with OJT there's also the risk of not getting paid on time which I know was an issue in the past (not sure if still is).

You also have to consider the fact that as xtech pointed out work experience is more valued in our local job market, so don't just jump for the highest paying job, but the one you think would add the most value to your CV. It would pay off later in your career.

Good luck to ya man. Hope this helps.

mini_mart

Postby mini_mart » April 17th, 2012, 4:12 pm

OJT sounds good but currently there's still a problem with getting your money on time because we use to get a stipend at NESC and it was never consistent sometimes u get then months would pass and nothing which could be very inconvenient at times...and in my field of work the trainees get most of the labourious task and everything that the technician doesn't want to do..

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 17th, 2012, 4:18 pm

mini_mart wrote:OJT sounds good but currently there's still a problem with getting your money on time because we use to get a stipend at NESC and it was never consistent sometimes u get then months would pass and nothing which could be very inconvenient at times...and in my field of work the trainees get most of the labourious task and everything that the technician doesn't want to do..

Welcome to the world of work

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 17th, 2012, 4:28 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
mini_mart wrote:OJT sounds good but currently there's still a problem with getting your money on time because we use to get a stipend at NESC and it was never consistent sometimes u get then months would pass and nothing which could be very inconvenient at times...and in my field of work the trainees get most of the labourious task and everything that the technician doesn't want to do..

lol that's called earning your stripes if you continue to work hard and not give attitude in this time you will earn respect and then you get to move up one day,
you prove to be a little sheit in that time they will destroy you and you will hop from job to job all the time wandering why you can't do well

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 17th, 2012, 4:51 pm

jm3 wrote:

lol that's called earning your stripes if you continue to work hard and not give attitude in this time you will earn respect and then you get to move up one day,
you prove to be a little sheit in that time they will destroy you and you will hop from job to job all the time wandering why you can't do well

Tell him, when I did ojt I was helpful to everyone, from labourer to professors, everybody was surprised when the institution didn't offer me a contract because even as an ojt I was able to effect major changes, but a couple of people who were jealous that I was close to the higher ranking staff sullied my name with HR because they have friends in high positions.

Remember some people in high ranking positions in world companies, started off small by doing what some would consider to be menial tasks

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 17th, 2012, 7:13 pm

jm3 wrote:

yup.. same thing in the auditing and accounts field.
gotta pay your dues man

Postby brams112 » April 17th, 2012, 8:14 pm

op subjects is not all,the reason the guys give you the work load is to see if you really want your job or want to be in that field.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2012, 4:04 am

police,fire,regiment,coast guard,prisons they all await you..
just go further your education nah bai...