Dangerous Dogs Act - Trinidad and Tobago

civic minded

Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes in force August 1

Postby civic minded » April 17th, 2012, 8:33 am

i dont like this at all - so people who have 4-5 Pits in their yard - they will realize that the cost of ownership of these animals, start to dump these dogs in waterloo or wherever. These poor animals will suffer and die on the roads....

I hope the government realize this and provide some additional funding to NGO animal welfare groups to help these poor animals that their owners will cast aside.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 17th, 2012, 8:52 am

Does this also apply to Guntas?

Postby pete » April 17th, 2012, 9:07 am

What insurance companies are really going to give out insurance for this?

I don't see any problem with the restrictions, if people have 4 or 5 dogs and can't afford this then if their dogs get out and attack someone then they definitely cannot afford to pay for their hospital bills for anyone attacked etc. which I would think this insurance is aimed at.

Hopefully they also encourage people with the dogs to bring them in to the TSPCA where others can come and adopt them instead of people just dumping them on the road.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 17th, 2012, 9:18 am

wireless

Postby wireless » April 17th, 2012, 9:19 am

Trini is so backward...

i remembered some years ago my father had a pot hound and it beat up his pure bread bull terrier bad bad bad..bull terrier went crazy after that and had to be put down..

so how would officials know if a pot hound dangerous by looking at it?? they'll do a psychological evaluation on it or wa.. :|

i thought vets and dog lovers were helping them with this bill..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 17th, 2012, 9:24 am

Dogs are perhaps the one animal that will love you more than you love yourself. Please think about that before you abandon them.

wireless

Postby wireless » April 17th, 2012, 9:24 am

civic minded wrote:Image

yuh understan..human beings doh accept blame padna is always d dogs fault...

Postby dougla_boy » April 17th, 2012, 9:28 am

i agree with civic minded.....dont abandon any dogs.....i does shed a tear anytime i see a dog splattered on the road......

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 17th, 2012, 9:35 am

Damn, more stray dogs........................... Not eating chinese food for a while!!!!!!

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2012, 9:37 am

But isn't this what ppl wanted?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 17th, 2012, 10:16 am

Sweet Torque wrote:Vagrants, rapists, murderers, politicians present a serious danger to the public too. Dogs deemed dangerous are the least of our societal problems... :?

I agree, there are much more important issues are there but this has been in the public for some time and it is needed to be passed.

What i do not like from this is the fallout from this bill. A little over 3 months before it becomes effect is too little time for preparation and thus there will be a mad scramble come closer to the date. And the ones that will pay the price is the dogs.

Legislation need to be made to give these animal NGO's more authority to save these animals. Currently the state pays 50 dollars to the TTSPCA to take in a stray that the council bring in.
If they increase this to say - $100.00 per dog and give the TTSPCA the right to pickup strays.

The Animal NGO's need to act more and prepare for this bill and the repercussions from it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 17th, 2012, 10:37 am

What a retarded law. Now ah man go cah defend he property and he family.

Bandits one step closer to controlling this country.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 17th, 2012, 10:59 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What a retarded law. Now ah man go cah defend he property and he family.

Bandits one step closer to controlling this country.

All it takes is one Pitbull attack and the public attention is drawn towards this again. Government will come under fire as to why after 12 years this law hasn't been enacted.

More discussions need to take place, There should be incentives for people who care for their pitbulls and ensure that they are keep safe and away from public. This will force people to put proper fencing in place and not allow their dogs to get loose in public that causes the problems to happen.

Instituting these measures, such as insurance and fees will cause people who own alot of these dogs to want to get rid of them.

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2012, 11:16 am

I love animals as much as the next guy, and yes ppl might abandon their dogs, but less little children and elderly ppl will be mauled by vicious dogs.

If you love you dogs pay the money and get the insurance, it would make men less likely to come to a park with no muzzle, unleashed and tell ppl don't worry he trained. I applaud the gov't for bring in this Act because when someone gets mauled we blame them.

Owners secure your animals and take good care of them because they are not humans and human well-being comes first.

Postby rollingstock » April 17th, 2012, 11:40 am

Great move, honestly too many reckless owners have gravitated towards pits as a status symbol without providing proper care, training and security of their pets.

On the whole trini's are reckless owners of any dog, hence this law. Even one life lost is too much, should the public be held in fear by idiots with their dogs?

Postby SR » April 17th, 2012, 11:43 am

so whats gonna happen to all them guntas who have pitpulls as a "bling" to show status when they walk them around bareback or in thier wifebeaters

they cant afford to secure thier own yards properly but yet have more than one pitbull boasting of its brloodline

these are the people who have caused most of this action to be required

the law should state if you own a dog you must have a secure yard to kep it in or be fined
forget the breed once the yard is secure people outside are safe

too many people with dogs that just keep them chained in an unsecured yard

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 17th, 2012, 12:20 pm

the idea is not bad. you want a bad dog. you must have a licence for it. gunta walking a dog and police roll up and ask to see licence. no licence, fine in yuh mc and seize dog with animal patrol working in tandem.
you want bad dog? have dinero! at the end of the day your dog is bad and vicious. so when it attack and bite main maul kill somebody grandson grandfather wife child anybody, be prepared to pay through your anus all medical bills counselling fees etc.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » April 17th, 2012, 1:29 pm

Seems like they generally used the the UK Act http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1991/65/contents

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 17th, 2012, 1:36 pm

i have re-read this today but i remembered this is Trinidad it will not be enforced it will cause panic for a month and then it will fizzle away.

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 17th, 2012, 1:41 pm

yes your right it is the same as the uk version that is good for me as my dogs are legal under that legislation i feel bad for the pit bull owners though especially if they cannot afford the insurance and registration fees it will break my heart to see pits abandoned or dead on the road this is going to be sad times for the responsible dog owners wonder if we could pool together and make a dog shelter.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 17th, 2012, 1:49 pm

^^you dont need to - just support the exisiting animal NGO's - they need help badly and this will put more strain on them

Postby pete » April 17th, 2012, 1:52 pm

jm3 wrote:i have re-read this today but i remembered this is Trinidad it will not be enforced it will cause panic for a month and then it will fizzle away.

Might fizzle away but if someone's unregistered / uninsured dog gets out and kills someone they gonna have a lot of charges to face and possibly a lot of jail time.

Postby crazybalhead » April 17th, 2012, 1:56 pm

Watches peanut sadly. Yuh was a good dog. But I cannot afford yuh 19lbs of pure badness. :(

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 17th, 2012, 2:31 pm

for those so inclined we are having a meeting at midcenter mall carpark for 7pm tonight,
all responsible dog owners this is your chance to air your concerns on this matter with the aim to formalise ourselves into a group to petition against the bill in its current form

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 17th, 2012, 2:46 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:for those so inclined we are having a meeting at midcenter mall carpark for 7pm tonight,
all responsible dog owners this is your chance to air your concerns on this matter with the aim to formalise ourselves into a group to petition against the bill in its current form

i actually feel strongly enough about this to come along and try to make a difference

Postby Sky » April 17th, 2012, 2:56 pm

August 1st - Free pitbull day. I makin a pass up Caura for mine.

Where will you get yours?

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2012, 3:01 pm

Postby MG Man » April 17th, 2012, 3:09 pm

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 17th, 2012, 3:09 pm

where abouts in midcentre mall? is it open to all people that support this cause i have lots of ppl that would come and support this

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 17th, 2012, 3:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

explain why a pitbull is seen as more dangerous to people than breeds that were bread to be attack dogs like german shephards and belgian malinois?

breed specific legislation makes no sense,
it should be all owners covered by this,
all homes of prospective owners should be inspected before pet ownership and a license to own a dog attained similar to firearm ownership. this is a better law this will promote responsible ownership and also allow a legal framework for prosecution in the event of an accident