Re: TCL Strike - justified or not justified

Postby Damien » April 12th, 2012, 7:55 am

if that happened it would surely be on the news

Postby Team Loco » April 12th, 2012, 8:24 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:
rameshb wrote:A labourer in TCL don`t work a whole month,that is a projected figure with the added increases (p.s a labourer might work a couple days a week if he lucky cuz most of the work they giving it out to contractors) apart from that people working in TCL eating dust - not even gonna argue with anybody over this.Did you know that in certain areas on the plant if you place your hand in front of your face you can't see it and you have to work there,that you have to literally bade with baby oil or something everyday to try and restore your skin,most TCL employees suffer from some kind of respiratory problem(talking about floor people not office people).Put a price on that...

:shock: WOW!!!! that is truly horrific.....do these workers not have the proper body and respiration protection?

yes they do, but they take it for granted

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » April 12th, 2012, 8:28 am

Last edited by bluestarz9 on May 10th, 2016, 1:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » April 12th, 2012, 8:36 am

Team Loco wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:
rameshb wrote:A labourer in TCL don`t work a whole month,that is a projected figure with the added increases (p.s a labourer might work a couple days a week if he lucky cuz most of the work they giving it out to contractors) apart from that people working in TCL eating dust - not even gonna argue with anybody over this.Did you know that in certain areas on the plant if you place your hand in front of your face you can't see it and you have to work there,that you have to literally bade with baby oil or something everyday to try and restore your skin,most TCL employees suffer from some kind of respiratory problem(talking about floor people not office people).Put a price on that...

:shock: WOW!!!! that is truly horrific.....do these workers not have the proper body and respiration protection?

yes they do, but they take it for granted

A proper HSE officer needs to make sure all equipment are worn and if this is not conformed to the employee should face a deduction in pay or sum! Man doh like ppl play with there money so they will make sure and wear it.

This strike thing going on wayyy too long jed! I think the workers need to realize that dey need there job and clearly TCL not giving a fack abt them because they can get cement from other countries! I telling yuh if yuh doh like the day look for a next job because pretty soon if this strike thing goes on longer and TCL has to keep importing cement you will be jobless!

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » April 12th, 2012, 8:53 am

Last edited by bluestarz9 on May 10th, 2016, 1:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » April 12th, 2012, 8:58 am

bluestarz9 wrote:whats the price of this imported cement?
have you any construction ongoing at this time?
what is it doing to the citizens of T&T?
how has the jobs been affected economy wise?

this has become alot more than just TCL workers my learned friend, when u shut down your most/only productive member of the group which services debt for other group members , what type of management is this ?
its just a case now of destroy destroy destroy and self destruct!!!

point taken!

Postby Team Loco » April 12th, 2012, 9:40 am

I don't sugar coat my comments so I get flamed on other threads. Many saying I against the working class blah blah blah. All I have to say is we need to go back to the drawing board and find the fine line between boss and worker. It has become opaque due to HSE, STOW, OSH etc. Now we have given a certain degree of pwer to the workers. That's all fine! Don't get me wrong. But it doesn't seem to fit in to our culture and the attitude of the worker. For example, give a worker a respirator, instead he thanking his employer, his attitude is, well now they have to supply this to me and if I fack it up, well they have to give me another. There is no respect from the workers go up to the employer. Am I wrong? Mr Ian Atherly was right when he said that we need to stop the gimme gimme attitude of employees and those in need. We have become a society of " lewwe see what we could get free from them". It funnels straight down into the attitude of the workers towards their employers.

So the day customer service, positive attitude, manners are shown from some of the labour working class, allyuh workers-suck salt

TL

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » April 12th, 2012, 10:10 am

the minister has a meeting scheduled today between both parties, so we'll see

Postby Team Loco » April 12th, 2012, 11:44 am

The union not interested in sorting this out.

Postby ronsin1 » April 12th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Team Loco wrote:For example, give a worker a respirator, instead he thanking his employer, his attitude is, well now they have to supply this to me and if I fack it up, well they have to give me another. There is no respect from the workers go up to the employer.

This here is true in both Private and public sector workers have no respect for the employers.

Postby Team Loco » April 12th, 2012, 3:30 pm

Yup, correct

syntax

Postby syntax » April 12th, 2012, 7:45 pm

silent_riot wrote:What's the latest with this?
I have work being kept back because of cement prices.

updates

Postby joker » September 27th, 2013, 11:40 pm

Team Loco wrote:The union not interested in sorting this out.

I DOES LAUGH AT ALLYUH YUNNO
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/TCL ... 52672.html
TCL fined in strike dispute
Victory for workers

Story Created: Sep 27, 2013 at 12:00 AM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 27, 2013 at 9:19 PM ECT

Workers at Trinidad Cement Ltd (TCL) scored a victory over management yesterday when the Industrial Court fined the company $10,000 after it was found “guilty of an industrial relation offence”.

The judgment was related to the 90-day strike action workers had taken beginning February 27 last year.

Lawrence Reynold, branch president for the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU), which represents TCL workers, told the Express that during the strike, several strong union members working at TCL, including branch officers, had been locked out and even suspended or dismissed.

He said the judgment said all workers should have been allowed to return to work, because it was a legal strike. Workers should not have been locked out or relieved of their positions, but allowed to return to work after the strike and have their matters determined through internal industrial relations channels.

Several of those who had been suspended have matters against the company currently before the Industrial Court.

TCL general manager Satnarine Bachew confirmed the judgment.

In a brief telephone interview with the Express, Bachew said this was purely in the context of an industrial relations aspect. He said no court date had yet been set to hear individual claims.

any breach of the INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS ACT ... by employers who despise unions / feel unions are a hindrance ... will be "Landmark" employers .... and think of all the free money the dismissed employees will get ....

BWAHAAHAHHAHA :mrgreen:

Postby Damien » September 28th, 2013, 6:02 pm

Managers done bust the tape already, the shiet hitta the fan

Postby joker » September 28th, 2013, 6:07 pm

Unions will not do against the law!!!!..!!""""!!!!!!!!!!!!!!