Accident near Pasea 8-4-12

Re: Accident near Pasea 8-4-12

Postby S_2NR » April 8th, 2012, 8:51 pm

exactly the reason i dont like driving on a long weekend or the day before a holiday

Postby Stephon. » April 8th, 2012, 8:57 pm

There's going to be another accident tomorrow or sometime during the week, these things happen in groups so prepare your insurance!

natzimus

Postby natzimus » April 8th, 2012, 11:10 pm

Wah big up all the trini massive dem..
My girlfriends uncle and his wife died in this accident ..
Just was informed about it earlier and now saw it on here ..

Postby rfari » April 8th, 2012, 11:19 pm

RIP to the deceased.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » April 8th, 2012, 11:57 pm

Really Sad.

HORRIFIC: The two mangled vehicles involved in the collision that claimed the lives of Brian and Savitri Bovell yesterday. The Bovells were killed when the van, right, crossed the median of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway in St Augustine and ended up in the path of their car.
Tools

DEATH AFTER CHURCH
Couple die as van jumps median, crashes into car
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Apr 8, 2012 at 10:49 PM ECT
Story Updated: Apr 8, 2012 at 10:49 PM ECT

BRIAN Mario Bovell and his wife, Savitri, were on their way home from church yesterday, when a van crossed the median of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway in St Augustine and crashed head-on into their family car.

The collision left two dead and two others fighting for their lives.

Brian, 62, died on the spot.

Savitri, 55, died while undergoing emergency surgery at the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex (EWMSC) in Mt Hope.

Ian Corbin, the driver of the van which crossed the median, and Dominic Ali, the van's front seat passenger, were both listed in critical condition at the EWMSC up to press time last night.

It was a fatal end for a Sunday that started ordinarily enough for the Bovells. As they did on most Sundays, the Bovells went to church.

The couple went to fellowship at their home church—the Jehovah Witness Kingdom Hall in El Dorado.

After the service ended, the Bovells left El Dorado and were on their way to their family home at Belle Smythe Street in Curepe.

Brian was driving on the West-bound lane of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway, with Savitri in the front passenger seat.

Around 12.30 p.m., things took a fatal twist.

At the same time the Bovells were headed west, Corbin and Ali were headed east.

As the Bovells neared the Helping Hand Ground in St Augustine, Corbin lost control of the van he was driving.

The van veered right, crossed the median separating the East- and West-bound lanes of the highway, and ended up in the path of the Bovells' car. Brian had no chance of swerving to avoid the collision, investigators said.

The car and the van then began a deadly dance on the highway. When everything settled, the Bovells' car was left facing east, while the van faced west—both in the opposite direction to where they had been heading.

Officers from the Tunapuna Fire Station responded to the accident.

Bovell was the driver of a maroon Galant station wagon, registration PAD 4654, and Savitri was his lone passenger. Corbin was the driver of a white Toyota Caravan van, registration TCC 4250. Ali, the lone passenger in the van, sustained facial injuries.

Officials used the Jaws of Life to free the Bovells from the mangled wreck. Savitri, Corbin and Ali were all rushed to the EWMSC, where Savitri later succumbed to her injuries.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/DEATH_AFTER_CHURCH-146617405.html

Postby BrotherHood » April 9th, 2012, 1:12 am

:shock: :shock:
brb...driving on extreme left lane away from median.
Sad thing that can happen to an innocent driver....
RIP.

Postby pioneer » April 9th, 2012, 1:16 am

crash eh makin sense but arite :|

Postby Monk BANzai » April 9th, 2012, 1:43 am

^^^ makes sense..

If they was leaving Eldo and heading Curepe....why head east (based on the report)...

And im sure the report would have been based on eye witness accounts....

i aint no CSI eh like the rest ah allyuh...but if the van crossed and collided...it would have pitched the galant a bit more away from the van...looks like bot vehicles spun upon impact.

Accident inertia can do weird things to vehicles.

RIP to the deceased.

Postby pioneer » April 9th, 2012, 2:34 am

jehovah's again

crysys

Postby crysys » April 9th, 2012, 10:42 am

RIP yoo ..... Innocent lives gorn due to jackass drivin again

Postby r3iXmann » April 9th, 2012, 10:47 am

crysys wrote:RIP yoo ..... Innocent lives gorn due to jackass drivin again

How do you know the van driver was driving like a jackass, sir?

Postby Hook » April 9th, 2012, 10:54 am

^^^ They're the same half-wits who post asinine comments on "wha chubble is dis?" photos - they know everything. We are not worthy. Good thing I not on le book of faces oui.

Postby pioneer » April 9th, 2012, 11:46 am

buh wha chubble is this

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » April 9th, 2012, 2:43 pm

RIP :(
Last edited by TRD12 on April 9th, 2012, 2:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » April 9th, 2012, 2:46 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

Accident inertia can do weird things to vehicles.

This says it all!

Btw, when i passed, the driver of the van seem pinned but not in critical condition.

Postby Morpheus » April 9th, 2012, 2:49 pm

BrotherHood wrote::shock: :shock:
brb...driving on extreme left lane away from median.
Sad thing that can happen to an innocent driver....
RIP.

I have been wondering for years why ppl still hog the extreme right lane :roll:

EDIT: Also I have realised that if folks genuinely adhere to the simple rule "Slower traffic left lane" or "Keep left except when overtaking", there won't be as much need for lane changes(some of which are dangerously done).

I feel Trinidad will have the record for the most total lane changes for any given 1 mile stretch of highway. The potential for "bad drives", "vehicle pull on meh", "pick up a skid", and the famous "lose control", would be greatly diminished if the simple rule was practiced.

But then again............... :roll:

*sigh+

Postby Morpheus » April 9th, 2012, 2:59 pm

^^Sadly though for most of our highways, the extreme left lane can be the worst to drive on.........

Postby pioneer » April 9th, 2012, 3:10 pm

U jus replied to yourself?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 9th, 2012, 3:14 pm

When I passed yesterday heading east , the driver of the station wagon was still in his vehicle . Very sad .

The vehicles are outside of the Tunapuna Police station and last night there was a crowd there and many vehicles were stopping on the EMR to have a look .

The simple unscientific explanation was that the panel van may have lost control and crossed. The road was wet and in that area of the highway puddles ofter form in the sunken tire rolling areas of the given lanes .

Historically however crossing "tend" to happen from the higher lane /west bound to the lower lane/east bound .

R.I.P. to the drivers and passengers

Postby Morpheus » April 9th, 2012, 3:16 pm

pioneer wrote:U jus replied to yourself?

Yeah you noticed? Cool eh

I just added to my previous post JA

If I quoted it, then I would be replying to myself.

Waz yuh badge number eh tuner polize?

Postby Stephon. » April 9th, 2012, 3:19 pm

LMFAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO WTF?

Postby Bizzare » April 9th, 2012, 5:09 pm

Bizzare wrote:Yea, kinda obvious from the pic d galant cross.

Unless how the impact happen, the vehicles spin around. Jus trying to make sense from TV6 reporting here :|

pioneer wrote:yepp and de almeara an yaris tunrong wid de impact an all

brb driving on left side of the road

Yea, this officer definitely knows it all. no need to show badge number.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 10th, 2012, 4:55 am

Morpheus wrote:
pioneer wrote:U jus replied to yourself?

Yteah you noticed? Cool eh

I just added to my previous post JA

If I quoted it, then I would be replying to myself.

Waz yuh badge number eh tuner polize?

RIP

Postby Hook » April 10th, 2012, 7:21 am

Bizzare wrote:
Bizzare wrote:Yea, kinda obvious from the pic d galant cross.

Unless how the impact happen, the vehicles spin around. Jus trying to make sense from TV6 reporting here :|

pioneer wrote:yepp and de almeara an yaris tunrong wid de impact an all

brb driving on left side of the road

Yea, this officer definitely knows it all. no need to show badge number.

Ironically, he's the same one who cry down the tuner commission of enquiry in the Mt.D'or thread, but he playing CSI Montegue here. See why he's not to be taken seriously?