TCL Strike - justified or not justified

Re: TCL Strike - justified or not justified

Postby De Dragon » March 29th, 2012, 2:37 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^no..it's the middle class who would feel it.....the minimum wage earners and those deemed to be low income/poverty level, tend to receive so much from the different social programmes.

Anyway as per agreement with IMF my salary must be reviewed on a regular basis .....2008-2011 period has not even been agreed upon yet and when that is done new considerations/discussions must be held for 2011-2014....

As it shall seemingly be evermore. The rich have the means to nt be affected, the poor have all these concessions on housing,income taxes etc, while the middle class get salt!

Postby De Dragon » March 29th, 2012, 2:37 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^no..it's the middle class who would feel it.....the minimum wage earners and those deemed to be low income/poverty level, tend to receive so much from the different social programmes.

Anyway as per agreement with IMF my salary must be reviewed on a regular basis .....2008-2011 period has not even been agreed upon yet and when that is done new considerations/discussions must be held for 2011-2014....

As it shall seemingly be evermore. The rich have the means to nt be affected, the poor have all these concessions on housing,income taxes etc, while the middle class get salt!

Postby brams112 » March 29th, 2012, 8:21 pm

newsday, they glad for the help,even saw a guy in a picture giving something,they also said they were glad for the supermarkets around who helping out,not my words damien,well another week gone by.

rameshb

Postby rameshb » April 1st, 2012, 2:02 pm

A labourer in TCL don`t work a whole month,that is a projected figure with the added increases (p.s a labourer might work a couple days a week if he lucky cuz most of the work they giving it out to contractors) apart from that people working in TCL eating dust - not even gonna argue with anybody over this.Did you know that in certain areas on the plant if you place your hand in front of your face you can't see it and you have to work there,that you have to literally bade with baby oil or something everyday to try and restore your skin,most TCL employees suffer from some kind of respiratory problem(talking about floor people not office people).Put a price on that...

TCL Strike - justified or not justified

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 1st, 2012, 3:13 pm

rameshb wrote:A labourer in TCL don`t work a whole month,that is a projected figure with the added increases (p.s a labourer might work a couple days a week if he lucky cuz most of the work they giving it out to contractors) apart from that people working in TCL eating dust - not even gonna argue with anybody over this.Did you know that in certain areas on the plant if you place your hand in front of your face you can't see it and you have to work there,that you have to literally bade with baby oil or something everyday to try and restore your skin,most TCL employees suffer from some kind of respiratory problem(talking about floor people not office people).Put a price on that...

Most of tuner will say the price is worth either an increase in yuh pension for when you retire or $10. The smaller of d two.

Postby toyolink » April 1st, 2012, 3:18 pm

Hope I am wrong but everything looks as if this is going to be a long one.
Company financials are bad and workers requesting increases which shareholders/board will not easily approve equals pressure.
Cemex as a shareholder ain't going to be too willing to see their investment further threatened with more operating losses over the long term.
The game now will be who going to last the financial attrition.
LOANS TO PAID,FOOD TO BE PURCHASED,UTILITIES TO BE PAID,KIDS ON HOLIDAYS.
Really hope that this thing could be resolved quickly and all concerned could get back to the business of living and being productive.

Postby Damien » April 1st, 2012, 3:29 pm

rameshb wrote:A labourer in TCL don`t work a whole month,that is a projected figure with the added increases (p.s a labourer might work a couple days a week if he lucky cuz most of the work they giving it out to contractors) apart from that people working in TCL eating dust - not even gonna argue with anybody over this.Did you know that in certain areas on the plant if you place your hand in front of your face you can't see it and you have to work there,that you have to literally bade with baby oil or something everyday to try and restore your skin,most TCL employees suffer from some kind of respiratory problem(talking about floor people not office people).Put a price on that...

them fellas here cant understand that

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » April 1st, 2012, 4:43 pm

getting too personal
Last edited by bluestarz9 on October 1st, 2013, 10:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 1st, 2012, 4:53 pm

:shock: WOW!!!! that is truly horrific.....do these workers not have the proper body and respiration protection?

rameshb

Postby rameshb » April 2nd, 2012, 8:40 am

bluestarz9 wrote:people who making worker bashing comments in here probably are not operating in a unionized environment and working for forgein based companies recieving bonus and perks similar to TCL management soo, Anyways i was always thought that one must lead by example , so why doesnt TCL management and certain senior staffers start to save the company by cutting their hefty bonuses which range 150K-400K and give up some perks and accept a bonus on par with everyone else (which ranges 1K-7K) who actually produce the products and are exposed to the unhealthy risky environment. that surely will result in cost savings OR maybe be dynamic by offering each worker EQUAL profits for all like petro... in addition too...
TCL workers especially work exceptionally hard and feel very proud of the company to which they associate, and in exchange for their extreme contribution is their wage nothing else like hefty bonuses spoken of earlier .. it is unacceptable that tuners commenting on workers wages etc.. to each his own.. u earn yours and TCL workers know what they rightfully deserve as compared to the heirachy in the company and level of production responsibilty they are held responsible for. Each worker in TCL work beyond their classification and go beyond the call of duty for their beloved company.
dont turn this into anything political please folks , the facts are there to be seen and understood. please enough is enough examine both sides.
TCL is a Caribbean based and operated company so GO STRONG TCL WORKERS .. every single worker families are sacrificing during this period of struggle PLEASE STAY STRONG.

Amen..

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 2nd, 2012, 8:42 am

^^Well then if they have to work under those conditions...and they are that worried about future effects on them and their family...LEAVE instead of submitting themselves to that.

Are they insinuating that a pay increase will help quell their health concerns? Are they putting a "price" on that?

Cheap parlour arguments - the bottom line is that dey want dey money....and they're trying to play on the sympathy of the public to get it.

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » April 2nd, 2012, 9:22 am

A lot of mango tree economists in this thread boy :lol:
Some of you should google and learn before talking about stuff you dont have a clue about or heard some other tool saying :lol:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 2nd, 2012, 10:06 am

How can they play on the sympathy of the public when the public doesn't pay them or negotiate with them? Workers strike to force the hand of the company financially. Any sympathy seeking is a tuner looking for something that isn't there to justify his/her argument against the strike.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

What's the latest with this?
I have work being kept back because of cement prices.

Postby Damien » April 5th, 2012, 9:44 am

day 38 of the strike and no negotiations going on so it might run the full 90 days

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 5th, 2012, 1:10 pm

rameshb wrote:
bluestarz9 wrote:people who making worker bashing comments in here probably are not operating in a unionized environment and working for forgein based companies recieving bonus and perks similar to TCL management soo, Anyways i was always thought that one must lead by example , so why doesnt TCL management and certain senior staffers start to save the company by cutting their hefty bonuses which range 150K-400K and give up some perks and accept a bonus on par with everyone else (which ranges 1K-7K) who actually produce the products and are exposed to the unhealthy risky environment. that surely will result in cost savings OR maybe be dynamic by offering each worker EQUAL profits for all like petro... in addition too...
TCL workers especially work exceptionally hard and feel very proud of the company to which they associate, and in exchange for their extreme contribution is their wage nothing else like hefty bonuses spoken of earlier .. it is unacceptable that tuners commenting on workers wages etc.. to each his own.. u earn yours and TCL workers know what they rightfully deserve as compared to the heirachy in the company and level of production responsibilty they are held responsible for. Each worker in TCL work beyond their classification and go beyond the call of duty for their beloved company.
dont turn this into anything political please folks , the facts are there to be seen and understood. please enough is enough examine both sides.
TCL is a Caribbean based and operated company so GO STRONG TCL WORKERS .. every single worker families are sacrificing during this period of struggle PLEASE STAY STRONG.

Amen..

All valid points. But here is a question:

Where did their great sense of pride and their strong work ethic go while they are holding the country to ransom during this period of violent strike action?

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » April 5th, 2012, 3:49 pm

:drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:
Last edited by bluestarz9 on October 1st, 2013, 11:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 5th, 2012, 4:12 pm

Blue, surely you aren't suggesting that the info on their site isn't biased.....................

Also, regardless of who is hold who ransom, what has either party done to justify the level of violence meted out by some of the strike workers.

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » April 5th, 2012, 4:54 pm

>>>>>>>>>> :lol:
Last edited by bluestarz9 on October 1st, 2013, 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

link

Postby link » April 5th, 2012, 9:17 pm

djaggs wrote:A labourer in TCL getting 13,000.00 per month, what de hell them striking for ?

The public has to suffer because of their greed

just to remind ppl who jumpin' & dancin' outside TCL FOR MORE MONEY... :fist:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 5th, 2012, 10:22 pm

If 13k is on the low end what is the high end ? This in my view is pure greed , what percentage of the production bill will now be attributed to wage costs ? Unless the company have some seemingly dynamic innovation is its production of cement that can increase its production efficiency (which is not happening with a wage increase ) , I am unsure what viability the company will have.

If Cemex were to step in the local unions won't have a foot to stand on , they sensibly stood side by side with management, when they attempted a take over 2001, such an alliance is quite unlikely now and thus opens the door for a take over from a capital giant with any serious decrease in share price. The longer this goes the more likely this is to happen and a cash strapped company with now slow business in a low construction period may need capital injection to stay healthy in the short term . In this plausible scenario the union would not be a winner nor its workers , nor for that matter any worker at TCL.

I understand that there are a fair amount of factory overheads , this cannot remain in place with any adjustment to the existing wage bill and expect the company to be efficient.

Postby toyolink » April 7th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Things on this front has gotten to an uneasy quiet.
Does anyone have an indication of any positive movement between the parties.
The report about a striking worker (jumping in front and) coming in contact with a vehicle
suggest that we may be getting to another level of emotionalism which is worrying.

200sx

Postby 200sx » April 8th, 2012, 6:17 am

As we know school is on Easter holidays! I'm thinking that because of the on going strike the kids of the moms and dads are going to loose out on going to places like the malls, beaches and other recreational activities they normally do look forward to while on vacation! Either their parents are at the strike or as some of them saying we don't have money! or they have to fractionally use their money!

This was about the kids! I find it's unfair that sum of them have to loose out! In this day an age we all know that family time is PRICELESS!

I know that sum parents are still taking the time out for their young ones but again life isn't the same!

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 8th, 2012, 7:02 am

This man knows what he's talkin about

My dad was a welder in TCL for almost 30 years and he told me stories about the labourers who had to work in those areas, and shortly after retiring they dropped like flies from respiratory illnesses. He said they couldnt pay him enough money to work in there.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 8th, 2012, 7:08 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:

:shock: WOW!!!! that is truly horrific.....do these workers not have the proper body and respiration protection?

they have like a flimsy air filter mask Thats where they stack the bags of cement I think. There's more cement than aiir in there

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 8th, 2012, 7:10 am

Paragraphs man, Paragraphs!

and youre saying that you want to be paid like management/

Postby Damien » April 8th, 2012, 8:48 am

Scoobert Bauce wrote:

This man knows what he's talkin about

My dad was a welder in TCL for almost 30 years and he told me stories about the labourers who had to work in those areas, and shortly after retiring they dropped like flies from respiratory illnesses. He said they couldnt pay him enough money to work in there.

wacka?

Postby toyolink » April 10th, 2012, 10:52 am

During the week-end I learn't from a very reliable source that in some ways TCL is enjoying some unplanned benefits at this time.
What is happening is that product is (as we know) being imported and sold almost directly to hardwares resulting in immediate margins whilst operating costs at the plant is down.
The bottom line is that cash flow condition over the last few weeks has been positive for finance execs.

Postby 1UZFE » April 10th, 2012, 10:57 am

doh mean to spam... But I heard TTEC getiing 9%.. Please validate...

biggreen

Postby biggreen » April 12th, 2012, 7:29 am

bluestarz9 wrote:2 sides to every story and violence from each , i heard a striker got bounced down today soo sad, especially when it is alledged early in the strike that a senior official was heard making comments to bounce them down, frightening

3 sides to the story,

1 He threw himself infront the shuttle (which happens all the time in situations like this)
2 He really got bounce
3 He got a seizure (he is epileptic petit mal)

But i am curious how come no one mentioned that the same shuttle was shot (yes a bullet flew)at in the evening? (but i gots no court clothes)