Beefing up a stock alternator, yay or nay?

Postby nervewrecker » March 27th, 2012, 8:56 pm

What is your take on doing such?

Reasons for & against.

Re: Beefing up a stock alternator, yay or nay?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 27th, 2012, 9:11 pm

do u mean

modding ur existing 1

putting in a bigger oem 1

a aftermarket alt

or any of d above ?

if u mean d 1st 1 somehow i dont trust that , 1 rather go with a aftermarket h\o alt ....

Postby nervewrecker » March 27th, 2012, 9:15 pm

I stumbled across Singer Alternators just now & was wondering if it was possible to get a bolt on upgrade to what I have in my car. Possibly an alt from another nissan that is upgraded to put out a bit more juice & will be a direct bolt on.

I not sure if it even makes sense to mod a 90A like mine to put out more juice. Or will that option make sense too?

Most of the aftermarket HO's sort of costly & for the guy with a system a little above average we dont really have much options but 200A & up. There isnt really anything much in the 150A zone.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 27th, 2012, 9:34 pm

yep i too saw singer & others when u reading forums like ssa & smd etc

in my old system with d orion , d stock 80A alt & 3 yellowtops used to hold out but for short periods like 15 mins at highish to full blast level but then voltage wud drop to in d low 12s so i had to shut off d music & let d alt charge back

depend on ur listening habits d only how u going to know for sure is when u finish do ur install & monitor d voltage to see if d stock 90A managing to charge fast enough ...

Postby nervewrecker » March 27th, 2012, 9:44 pm

I read great reviews so far. I also just hit him an email & waiting for some feedback. lets see where it goes.

Normally I dont crank it out but I prefer to have the power at hand rather than strain the teeny 90A if I do decide to. With the current draw I racking up in there i'm afraid that 90A might give up :lol:

Im wondering how much can a 90A really be upgraded by though.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 27th, 2012, 9:51 pm

had a time my ho alt conk out & so i put back d stock 1 brisk brisk & head down to samar , still did a 152.4dbs with d stock 80A & battery power so what u worried about ... :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » March 27th, 2012, 9:56 pm

*falls off chair* :lol:

you have a big battery bank, just remember that :lol:

lets see how much this will cost & what advise the dude has to offer. I will check my emails tomorrow & see.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 27th, 2012, 10:06 pm

it was always just 3 batts so no real big bank , then too is only 3 seconds long i needed it for ... :mrgreen:

yea it cant hurt to get a estimate , expect d price to be around us$250-350 + s\h

make sure to find out what amperage it puts out at what d "idle rpm" is & at what rpm does it put out its max amperage , certain companies their alts only put out its max at all kinda 5000-6000rpm madness ...

Postby nervewrecker » March 27th, 2012, 10:10 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:yea it cant hurt to get a estimate , expect d price to be around us$250-350 + s\h

make sure to find out what amperage it puts out at what d "idle rpm" is & at what rpm does it put out its max amperage , certain companies their alts only put out its max at all kinda 5000-6000rpm madness ...

Thats not around the same price for a new HO? I'd estimate approx less for the rebuilding of a stock 90A or maybe another Nissan that can fit up in my car with out much modifications.

I have heard about such exaggerated quotations lol but seems this guy looks to give you the quoted amps at idle rpm or close to it. Saw some talk about it on I think was caraudio.com but thread quickly went off topic.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 27th, 2012, 10:20 pm

thats d price i saying is for a new ho\a

like i say doh hot ur head yet until u install & monitor ur voltage

*** i gone dey , time to watch ah lil tv & sleep ... :)

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 28th, 2012, 7:07 am

In a conversation with Eric from mechman on Sunday, I was told he could turn out 320A from my 80A stock Toyota unit.

He assured me, it would take a day to do in the shop, and would cost about 500.00.

Same alternator chassis. smaller pulley etc

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2012, 7:21 am

Was that quote in TT or US $$$ Nigel?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 28th, 2012, 8:15 am

a 320a upgrade... one day turn around.. 500 tt? really man.

roger

Postby roger » March 28th, 2012, 9:51 am

^^u eh easy nah...lol

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2012, 7:14 pm

He made me wonder if the dudes at mechman on drugs lol. Still a good price if you ask me though.

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2012, 10:24 pm

230A upgraded alt, direct bolt on, plug & play for my car = $409.00.

Yup, just got the reply to his email.

What you guys think?

Even if I pay close to $1k in shipping & taxes to get this in here it still coming up less than another leading brand & I dont need any add-on's to work with it or fabrication expenses involved with installation. Note, I not bashing anyone's product ok

dj kev

Postby dj kev » March 29th, 2012, 3:12 am

morning guys, how can ppl get in touch with Eric? thanks.

Postby nervewrecker » March 29th, 2012, 8:34 am

dj kev wrote:morning guys, how can ppl get in touch with Eric? thanks.

http://www.mechman.com/

http://www.mechman.com/index.php/contact-us.html

There is a guy on the forum here that sells Mechman Alternators, a 200A is in excess of $3000.00.

Postby nervewrecker » March 29th, 2012, 8:49 am

Anyhow, spoke to mike again via email, the 302A is the only upgrade he can offer for my car because of the bolt on that is available in the US.
Anyone knows what other alts are direct bolt on's for the Nissan N16 / 2003 almera? Are the Tiida & Xtrail alts direct bolt on's for my car?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » March 29th, 2012, 11:06 pm

dj kev wrote:morning guys, how can ppl get in touch with Eric? thanks.

http://www.mechman.com/

http://www.mechman.com/index.php/contact-us.html

There is a guy on the forum here that sells Mechman Alternators, a 200A is in excess of $3000.00.

that guy is me, im an authorised dealer
the price includes a warranty,

you ever had a ho alternator in your car that went bad? it causes your head to hurt in such a way when you realise you cant get parts or service here and you have to pack down your car, and pull out alternator, send it away? headache
ive sold many many alts here. some of the customers will come with the old powermasters and stingers and other ho brands dead in their hand and unable to repair because they dont know who to turn to and where to start and have become fed up of repair becasue of poor durability

my take on the upgrade of the stock alt

409 US to upgrade? thats 2600 right there
what about sending your alt there? ?100-150 US or is that a new stock from the US?

and what u gonna do if 4 months after having it something goes wrong with it and you have no support for it? can you exact a value to this?

a 200a mechman from me will run you 3500 installed with 3mth full relpacment warranty and lifetime with the company and all parts in stock by me, and parts are cost price.

subtract the difference then sit and think bout all the points i mentioned, decide if its really worth it.

Postby nervewrecker » March 30th, 2012, 12:24 am

I have nothing against Mechman alts pal, its a great product IMO. A lot of champs use Mechman alts.

If you look closely you will realize that I am looking for something that puts out approx 150A at idle rpm. You do not offer that.
No, I do not have to ship my alt abroad for him to mod, what he is offering is a mod to a stock bolt on alt that he is providing. I quoted the price on the forum in case anyone might be interested & when I get time I will / may post screenshots of the emails.
I may be mistaken but I think I read somewhere that he repairs alternators too. So for dudes who have > / = $5k alts & stuff that have been damaged & travel regularly, he may be an option for them.

What will I do if something goes wrong:

I - I am appropriately sizing an alt for my system so excess strain on it wont lead to premature failure.

II - any chimp with a monkey wrench can un-install & re-install a stock alternator in my car. Its bolt on, plug & play, should something go wrong & I have to ship it back abroad my ride wont be down for 4 months, I simply slap back in the stock alt. Even if that fails I can practically find an alternator at just about every parts place for my ride.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » March 30th, 2012, 6:24 am

ok no scenes dude,

but i do offer that,
i have alternators that give up to 170a as idle rating, clamped papers from mechman

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 30th, 2012, 9:52 am

Hey, noyztoyz, how long have you been the mechman dealer?

Postby nervewrecker » March 30th, 2012, 12:50 pm

Not to start any drama or anything, mechman offers a 2 year warranty....you offer 3 months...will you like to shed some light on this?
Depending on the price of your 170A piece I may consider it as well. Thank you.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 30th, 2012, 7:18 pm

Keep in mind that more current means more heat, and there are parts in the alternator such as the internal regulator which is built with a heat sink designed to dissipate a certain level of heat, and may not bode well with more current output. So it depends on the level/completeness of modification done as well.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » April 3rd, 2012, 10:41 am

orry for late replies,

i have been mechman dealer for about 9 months,
most alternators brought in do not make it to trinituner for sale becasue they go fast

i offer 3 mth warranty that is full replacement or repair or money back - a complete warranty
after 3 months i offer all parts at cost price and a shop with which you will get timely serivce for pull down and repair. Prices on replacement parts for your high output alternaotr will be cheaper than the replacement parts for the stock alternator that your vehicle has in it.. use that as an example

plus the 2 year warranty that mechman offers still stands
Mechman will fix your alternator if u send it to them. I discussed this with the boss there already.

What more warranty can you want than this?

But im offering more..

Arrangements are also being made for us to offer this 2 year warranty locally, still being finalised

but as far as i see, i offer the best in warranty that any dealer for any ho brand has to offer locally..

and i also agree lots with this statement v. If there is no mods done for heat dissipation, the souped up stock alternator will clamp impressively on the alternator tester but fail miserably in a car when jam start

silent_riot wrote:Keep in mind that more current means more heat, and there are parts in the alternator such as the internal regulator which is built with a heat sink designed to dissipate a certain level of heat, and may not bode well with more current output. So it depends on the level/completeness of modification done as well.