The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

gurmuk

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby gurmuk » March 26th, 2012, 9:14 am

the gevey ultra s works great on the 4s...no change in battery life etc.

casper

Postby casper » March 26th, 2012, 9:15 am

bigga514 wrote:
casper wrote:Any new news on the new ipad??? Or any of ya'll in here bought it yet? I wanna know if to wait a while still or not and I need back a tablet asap :(

Users are reporting new problems with the new iPad: the Wi-Fi seems to be a lot weaker than the iPad 2, the iPhone or MacBooks, according to numerous reports on AppleCare support thread.

Check link...

u guys think apple will release a soft update to fix these problems or would they have to do a call back on all inew ipads and release a new batch???...or do we just have to wait and see if a newer batch is released???..i jes basically wanna know if this release / batch of the new ipads are what we'll be stuck with till 2013

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 26th, 2012, 9:27 am

Screw the "new" iPad.
I'm waiting on the new iMac :)

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 26th, 2012, 1:28 pm

It's always best to wait a little while with a new Apple product. I see the millions of people who buy out all the first manufacture run units in the first few days as "beta testers".

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 26th, 2012, 4:57 pm

DTAC wrote:It's always best to wait a little while with a new Apple product. I see the millions of people who buy out all the first manufacture run units in the first few days as "beta testers".

Lol their complaints will be our patience in waiting for a software update to fix the issues before we buy

Postby M_2NR » March 26th, 2012, 5:43 pm

ironically my padna bought one and he has no issues...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 26th, 2012, 6:05 pm

^ you saw it? how the screen looks?

kinda pointless waiting to get an apple product - they never do recalls and usually software fixes the issues. All you doing by waiting is depriving yourself for a period and then end up getting it closer to the time when they release a new one

Parvin

Postby Parvin » March 26th, 2012, 6:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ you saw it? how the screen looks?

kinda pointless waiting to get an apple product - they never do recalls and usually software fixes the issues. All you doing by waiting is depriving yourself for a period and then end up getting it closer to the time when they release a new one

So true ...

But unfortunately that's how $$$ flows :D :D :D

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 26th, 2012, 7:35 pm

mabe they should open up a official apple store in TnT..... seeing the amount of people own apple products, a few stores would bring a added profit to the apple company and also a convenience to us as in products being available here to us on the launch date like the US

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 26th, 2012, 7:35 pm

the display seems very close to that of a 4s to me.....took a browse thru the apple store in gardens mall yesterday

Postby M_2NR » March 26th, 2012, 7:41 pm

no boy :cry:
he's in the UK.
and exactly...
last replacement was this:
http://www.apple.com/support/ipodnano_replacement/

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 26th, 2012, 10:06 pm

Not sure if this was answered before, and going through close to 300 pages for the answer (if it was asked at all) isn't easy. Hopefully you guys can help.

Looking at getting an iPhone 4S, and I've read everywhere that factory unlocked is the best way to go. However, I'm with bmobile, and it's really not an option for me to move to another provider because I want to keep my number, so the question is: seeing I'll be with bmobile for the forseeable future (unless TATT enforces number portability across networks which isn't likely), does it make sense to put out the extra $$ for an unlocked phone, or should I just go with one of bmobile's packages? Is there any other real advantage for me to go unlocked?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 26th, 2012, 10:22 pm

^ depends on how much you use your phone

if your monthly bill is usually in the $800 - $1200 / month on post paid then get the factory unlocked

if your monthly bill is considerably less ($300-$400 / month) then the bmobile option may be the best option for you. You will also get a free MySpot device with no monthly fee.

the main issue is the iPhone plan from bmobile

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 26th, 2012, 10:49 pm

^^^ Thanks!!! My phone bill right now is considerably less than even $300/month :lol:

While bmobile's iPhone plan with the My Spot device is very attractive, I'm around wifi networks at least 75% of the day (at home and work). The iPhone plan is not a major issue for me (I figure I can get by with just a data plan for now, plus walking around with another device isn't that appealing).

I was under the impression that a locked phone was problems and the factory unlocked was the answer to everything. I keep seeing things like needing to use a gevey sim, or run redsn0w, new basebands, etc etc (forgive mih eh - I real new to the Apple scene). I'm not too sure what those are needed for, but a lot of the posts in this thread seem to relate to people having lots of problems with them.

Apart from the iPhone plan and being able to use the phone on other networks (e.g. if I travel I can throw in an AT&T sim with no problems), aren't there any other advantages to going factory unlocked?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 26th, 2012, 11:20 pm

^ those unlocks and gevey sim etc are for phones that are bought for cheap on contract in the uS or Canada and locked to AT&T etc that they are trying to make work on bmobile

the only advantage a factory unlocked phone has over a bmobile phone is that you can put any SIM from any carrier on it.

a bmobile phone is locked to bmobile - but other than that it works exactly like a factory unlocked phone

Postby M_2NR » March 26th, 2012, 11:44 pm

and if you don't have plans to travel much and use the phone abroad.. you can live with a locked bmobile phone. and according to apple.com bmobile is /supposed/ to be offering unlocking to its iPhones...

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 27th, 2012, 7:04 am

Ah ok - understood. Thanks for clearing that up 8-)

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » March 27th, 2012, 7:59 am

Have any of you guys tried this to upgrade your IPHONE 4 ?

How To: Unlock iPhone 4 With Gevey SIM Card On iOS 5 Firmware

http://www.ijailbreak.com/iphone/unlock ... card-ios5/

Postby gastly369 » March 27th, 2012, 12:31 pm

cool ipad presentation

casper

Postby casper » March 27th, 2012, 1:24 pm

dredman i also heard b-mobile doesnt offer iphone plans for iphones u didnt buy from them....dunno how true this is

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 27th, 2012, 2:39 pm

Thanks. Yep so I've heard as well, from more than 1 person.

casper

Postby casper » March 27th, 2012, 3:08 pm

kk just ordered the new ipad shud get it next week...Duane's post made sense...most likely they'll fix whatever issues with a soft update and i reading tons and tons of reviews for the past week every single night and d 2 major issues are the overheating @ the bottom left corner that is a result of a larger battery that has same battery life of 10hours as the ipad 2...(bigger battery but same 10 hours mean that this new battery actually discharging faster cuz of the retina display and faster proc which in turn will generate more heat)...

and the other issue is the wifi but i have a wireless N router in my room where is where i mostly used my ipad 2 so iz nuh like i need to pull wifi from far...so small ting...even self...apple shud fix this with an update....or attempt to fix it...either way if they need to pull back the units they will do as they did with the ipod nano and offer free replacements

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » March 27th, 2012, 3:12 pm

Agreed, what ever issues the new iPad currently has will probably be fixed in 5.1.1 or 5.2

And you're right bmobile only offers iPhone plans for customers who bought their iPhone from them

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 27th, 2012, 8:27 pm

seems like bmobile changed their iPhone packages again, at least according to the website.

they are no longer offering the wimax device with the packages, the monthly fee decreased but the handset prices increased...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 27th, 2012, 8:43 pm

^ hmmm - a sign of 3G?

Postby M_2NR » March 27th, 2012, 9:22 pm

more a sign of lack of devices to sell... someone was saying how all the central branches had no stock of the hotspot devices lol

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 27th, 2012, 9:33 pm

but they still offering it with the Android packages :|

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 27th, 2012, 9:36 pm

Swisha wrote:seems like bmobile changed their iPhone packages again, at least according to the website.

they are no longer offering the wimax device with the packages, the monthly fee decreased but the handset prices increased...

:shock: Wow - I was looking at their packages just last night and they still had the My Spot devices in the plans.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 27th, 2012, 9:38 pm

Swisha wrote:but they still offering it with the Android packages :|

Same thing I was thinking. Or mabe their still coding the page for the android plans.... we'll kno in about 2 weeks time

Postby M_2NR » March 27th, 2012, 10:39 pm

somebody work out if its better to still get that plan! :lol:
only one of the plans has unlimited edge data... look at the price of outside of sms package rates. hmm.. best bet is still a CUG Digicel plan me thinks. If you have access to one... jump on ettt