TCL Strike - justified or not justified

Re: TCL Strike - justified or not justified

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 26th, 2012, 5:40 pm

read where TCL not discounting having talks with CEMEX for a take over of TCL....

Postby 1UZFE » March 26th, 2012, 5:44 pm

strike dieing down...Rhel workers scabbing..
Damien wey yuh dey???

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 26th, 2012, 6:02 pm

I glad if labourer get they 13k!!! that would auger well for my union's salary negotiations when referencing ELM survey!!!!

Postby Damien » March 26th, 2012, 8:34 pm

strike going on same way i hoping they settle this week some nice holidays coming up

Postby 1UZFE » March 26th, 2012, 8:39 pm

^^^ like it ketchin up to yuh..
Pal.. Believe me i sympathize with allyuh..

Postby brams112 » March 26th, 2012, 8:42 pm

but you say you could go for the 90,,,ur back pedalling now boi,,,,don't worry striking workers won't be a problem soon,,is begging back for ur work will be the kicks,,,them boats keeping the pace,roget leading everyone of his sheeps to slaughter,,,,who ur think he backing,,betcha if cemex take over he will say they new give them a chance while he collect his bribe ,,,,

Postby 1UZFE » March 26th, 2012, 8:50 pm

brams112 wrote:but you say you could go for the 90,,,ur back pedalling now boi,,,,don't worry striking workers won't be a problem soon,,is begging back for ur work will be the kicks,,,them boats keeping the pace,roget leading everyone of his sheeps to slaughter,,,,who ur think he backing,,betcha if cemex take over he will say they new give them a chance while he collect his bribe ,,,,

:evilbat:
here we go again....sheeps

Postby Damien » March 26th, 2012, 9:33 pm

saying i could make the 90 days and wanting them to settle is two different thing eh,obviously i dont want to make the 90 days but i could. every worker wants them to settle eh and fast

Postby pete » March 26th, 2012, 9:35 pm

I have a question.

What percentage of your salary is deducted for Union fees?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 26th, 2012, 9:38 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:I glad if labourer get they 13k!!! that would auger well for my union's salary negotiations when referencing ELM survey!!!!

When price of bread hits $40 it is the people working on minimum wage who will feel it. If someone feels they deserve better pay they should meet with their management or go to a better paying company.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 26th, 2012, 9:55 pm

^^^no..it's the middle class who would feel it.....the minimum wage earners and those deemed to be low income/poverty level, tend to receive so much from the different social programmes.

Anyway as per agreement with IMF my salary must be reviewed on a regular basis .....2008-2011 period has not even been agreed upon yet and when that is done new considerations/discussions must be held for 2011-2014....

Postby Dizzy28 » March 27th, 2012, 8:28 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:I glad if labourer get they 13k!!! that would auger well for my union's salary negotiations when referencing ELM survey!!!!

Vega..you be a teacher??

Postby Damien » March 27th, 2012, 8:59 am

pete wrote:I have a question.

What percentage of your salary is deducted for Union fees?

$20 per week

biggreen

Postby biggreen » March 27th, 2012, 10:29 am

When companies like cemex take over the first thing they do is restructure (most go home), the next step is to run the company to the ground, make no repairs the plant gets to such a state that in will not be profitable to any other company to buy over and run, the cost of repairs will be very high.
Then they will ship cement from wherever (prob haiti) and that is then the end of TCL.... no possible competition for them. Now think of it down stream, RML, TPL, TPM and many contractor going to have to close their doors to employees, thousands will be unemployed and this is just for Trinidad.

QuietRiot

Postby QuietRiot » March 27th, 2012, 10:33 am

And we will say a special Thank You to Mr. Roget and the OWTU when this happens.

Postby toyolink » March 27th, 2012, 2:23 pm

TCL the last time this happened took years to recover and bearly survived the aftermath.
The risk metrix TCL has to grapple with is so complex that as previous tuners have observed the wage demands being made can easily push the company over the edge.
A review of published corporate financials describe a company which is performing poorly.
Investor confidence can easily be described as very low and even investments made by employees,utc and nib are all taking a licking.
What remains amazing for me is that the trade union movement was very laid back when the economy was vibrant and allowed many agreements to lapse without much agitation but now things are on the downward side of the curve has decided to "kick butt".

Postby 1UZFE » March 27th, 2012, 2:34 pm

^^ This when the economy was "vibrant 5 yrs ago " companies settled for 15%. Now it has slowed down they are beckoning for the same 15%. Stange, but their is politics in Trade Unions.

Postby brams112 » March 27th, 2012, 8:57 pm

tcl dont want to see cemex,,, is just wild cards roget pulling,,he so stupid it not funny,,also like the moon change on duke unexpected,,,,

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 9:12 pm

I don't get why all these people see is a higher number on a cheque. Yeah ok you didn't get your 16% now what? 12%? Stop stamping on the ground like a bunch of babies begging daddy for money and start thinking!

Why not protest for your employer to give an extra 5% toward your retirement plan? Or some other benefits that would still benefit the workers? The employer won't feel it and you benefit in the long run, everyone wins; but no all you people want to see is a bigger number on a cheque because apparently money now means everything to these workers. How many workers does TCL have? Do you really think it makes sense to inject that much money to the public at once? Ok cool, get your 12% - I guarantee the money you make now would value the same a few months down the line with the extra dollars people are spending, devaluating the TT dollar even more in the long run!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 27th, 2012, 9:48 pm

Stephon. wrote:I don't get why all these people see is a higher number on a cheque. Yeah ok you didn't get your 16% now what? 12%? Stop stamping on the ground like a bunch of babies begging daddy for money and start thinking!

Why not protest for your employer to give an extra 5% toward your retirement plan? Or some other benefits that would still benefit the workers? The employer won't feel it and you benefit in the long run, everyone wins; but no all you people want to see is a bigger number on a cheque because apparently money now means everything to these workers. How many workers does TCL have? Do you really think it makes sense to inject that much money to the public at once? Ok cool, get your 12% - I guarantee the money you make now would value the same a few months down the line with the extra dollars people are spending, devaluating the TT dollar even more in the long run!

Workers do not just clamour for more salary. The news media however only get certain bits of info from union and company alike. There are several other issues that are discussed and agreed to so you can't say they only studying the present as they may very well be negotiating things with respect to helping the workers in the long term. Also with money in hand now workers could very well use the extra how they see fit. For example putting an extra 5% towards their retirement plans themselves so to say they shouldn't ask for a salary increase is a bit short sighted.

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 11:53 pm

Did you completely miss my point about that much money just being released to the public? They're gonna be in the same position in another 6 months if that much money is being spent by them. Higher pay = More money = More spending = Higher prices. Trinidad's money value is already very low, wanna make it lower? All this is doing is taking the same value we have today and spreading it on more notes, what's the point in an extra thousand dollars if all it's gonna buy in 6 months is what could have been bought with 900 dollars yesterday?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 28th, 2012, 6:10 am

Stephon. wrote:Did you completely miss my point about that much money just being released to the public? They're gonna be in the same position in another 6 months if that much money is being spent by them. Higher pay = More money = More spending = Higher prices. Trinidad's money value is already very low, wanna make it lower? All this is doing is taking the same value we have today and spreading it on more notes, what's the point in an extra thousand dollars if all it's gonna buy in 6 months is what could have been bought with 900 dollars yesterday?

I didn't miss what you said. Inflation is a factor but it certainly isn't as drastic as you make it out to be in this scenario. Inflation is at a low at this point and honestly a small percentage increase to a fraction of the population isn't going to eat up the economy to the extent you speak of.

You want to heat up the economy? Look at bigger players. The government, for example, when it spends billions on projects causes more inflation than an approximate 10% salary increase to a small number of workers. I would have agreed with you if salaries were going up astronomically (more than 20% for example) but they are not.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 28th, 2012, 6:11 am

Sorry for people who are in the middle of putting up their house foundation.....

Cement strike sends up block price

Postby toyolink » March 28th, 2012, 4:57 pm

2012 is definitely a bad year to do home construction.
With the instability of core building supplies impacted by the availability of cement and weather which take me to 2004/2005 efficiences and economics are all threatened.
We are already into 2nd qrt and wet season is looming.
Incomes of individuals employed in the construction sector for 2012 are certainly going to be depressed.
People fighting over a shrinking pie!

200sx

Postby 200sx » March 28th, 2012, 5:02 pm

toyolink wrote:2012 is definitely a bad year to do home construction.
With the instability of core building supplies impacted by the availability of cement and weather which take me to 2004/2005 efficiences and economics are all threatened.
We are already into 2nd qrt and wet season is looming.
Incomes of individuals employed in the construction sector for 2012 are certainly going to be depressed.
People fighting over a shrinking pie!

Agreed!

Put off my house building plans till next year! But not fully due to the current situation! T&C has a big part! Lol!

geodude

Postby geodude » March 28th, 2012, 5:43 pm

yeah ppl in the construction sector real feeling it this year boi,

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 28th, 2012, 6:33 pm

I have work right now pending on when this strike will finish , real stress

Postby supercharged turbo » March 28th, 2012, 7:16 pm

shaneelal wrote:

When price of bread hits $40 it is the people working on minimum wage who will feel it. If someone feels they deserve better pay they should meet with their management or go to a better paying company.
~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^no..it's the middle class who would feel it.....the minimum wage earners and those deemed to be low income/poverty level, tend to receive so much from the different social programmes.
this is de most sense i read so far

Postby brams112 » March 28th, 2012, 9:01 pm

how come those who are poor wearing jordans?ever hear laffing from the ghetto,,,even if men were working for 8k's a month a few years ago where is their money?and how come them tcl strikers looking forward for handouts to get then through?let roget pay for food stuff to cook nah,,,

Postby Damien » March 28th, 2012, 11:06 pm

Who looking for handouts?