Flow Internet Thread

Lucian-2nr

Re: Flow Internet moving like mess.

Postby Lucian-2nr » March 22nd, 2012, 12:10 am

M_2NR wrote:Hmm... happens randomly... the speed shoots up.. way up to 730kB/s even and I'm on a 5mbit (I was downloading BF3 from Origin day before) then the night before that i was stuck at 231kB/s. Same thing happened with Amazon downloader as well.
Speedtests seem normal though.

Its been inconsistent for sometime, at times I feel like tossing the modem out the window.

Postby shogun » March 22nd, 2012, 12:12 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:and when u call and ask them, they ask u to do a speedtest, and it works and on their end they say:
"seems to be workings perfectly here so....hymc and udfr"

sigh....

haha! freal! ...problem is ALWAYS on the cutomers' side.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 22nd, 2012, 12:19 am

Strange, Ive been having some pretty consistant speeds the last few days. It always drops around 3pm and 8pm for 10mins or so.

last night was :shock:

Tonight I bearly crossing 5mb dls.

battlefield 3

Postby battlefield 3 » March 22nd, 2012, 12:34 am

blink working good for me
Untitled.png

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 22nd, 2012, 2:08 am

zando wrote:Are you guys using the wireless router that flow provides? if so, junk it and get the wired modem they offer and buy uh own wireless router from a third party...i.e.linksys, belkin, msi, this happened by my father and i realize it was not the connection but the shitty wireless router flow installs.

a girl friend of mines got flow installed but they just installed a modem for her.....

I am thinking bout purchasing a wireless router for her....

Its just to plug in to the modem and it should be good to go right?

looking for something not too expensive,,,,,,What should i look for and what price?

Thanks guys......

Postby ronsin1 » March 22nd, 2012, 6:09 am

I use a MSI RG60SE router never had issues I have two laptops connected a couple blackberries wireless and one desktop wired

Postby S_2NR » March 22nd, 2012, 6:13 am

no problems here

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 22nd, 2012, 8:15 am

No issues whatsoever since install. Consistent speeds. Using the modem with built in WiFi and i am yet to experience a drop.

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 22nd, 2012, 8:29 am

It's weird. Whenever I take a speedtest it says 5mb all the time. But when I'm browsing the speed just doesn't seem like 5mb pages take forever to load and sometimes they don't even load. I would be on Skype and skype moving normal so I know I have Internet or even FaceTime and yet when I try to open a we page it does real stick. Is just the web browsing. And no it's not my computer. I tried it on a Mac, iPad and windows and all moved the same.

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2012, 8:33 am

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 22nd, 2012, 8:52 am

zando wrote:Are you guys using the wireless router that flow provides? if so, junk it and get the wired modem they offer and buy uh own wireless router from a third party...i.e.linksys, belkin, msi, this happened by my father and i realize it was not the connection but the shitty wireless router flow installs.

Is there any way to get the modem alone if already have the wireless modem. I have a beastly router which I use instead of the shitty wifi that flow gives you. I just use for the modem. So if there a way I could get a flow modem alone that would be great.

Postby S_2NR » March 22nd, 2012, 8:54 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

a girl friend of mines got flow installed but they just installed a modem for her.....

looking for something not too expensive,,,,,,What should i look for and what price?

Thanks guys......

What is your budget in USD?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » March 22nd, 2012, 9:40 am

Waterholic's wrote:No dread. Is ever since I got it. From since like last year. Been moving really slow.

I have the SAME effing problem!
everyday my internet drops like 2-3 times. The only way I can get it back is to take the power cable out the flow box for about 10 secs, plug it back in, and then it works.

It really is annoying. I am waiting for them to come check it out.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » March 22nd, 2012, 10:08 am

Ive been using the service home for approx5-6 years and while it has been good in my case it is fair to say that it has never been consistent, recently I installed it in the office and have had two service outages in a matter of weeks and had to rely on my standby service and it keeps doing it at least once a week, waiting on them to check it.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » March 22nd, 2012, 11:22 am

salvation4U wrote:Yes since yesterday it was moving slow i was like what the hell :evil: I not paying for this nonsense..

Look how slow it is

ever thought that it may be youre seeding a million things at once?

who seeds files anyway?

Postby Bizzare » March 22nd, 2012, 12:33 pm

when my connection idle for to long, I have to either reboot or unplug the modem/plug it back.

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 22nd, 2012, 3:14 pm

Just call flow and they say they bringing my normal modem on Sunday. I go let allyuh know how it run.

Postby Stephon. » March 22nd, 2012, 3:23 pm

Are you part of the waterholics crew in Tobago?

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 22nd, 2012, 6:26 pm

Stephon. wrote:Are you part of the waterholics crew in Tobago?

Kinda. Alex is my bredrin.

Postby M_2NR » March 22nd, 2012, 9:31 pm

right now youtube streaming sucks.

side note though... when electricity goes... does flow go down in your area too? in the past that never happened but now it has been happening ever time electricity goes...

mojosodope

Flow Internet moving like mess.

Postby mojosodope » March 22nd, 2012, 11:18 pm

^ same thing with YouTube today and I noticed when electricity went in my area today the Internet was also down, in the past the modem remained active.

zando

Postby zando » March 23rd, 2012, 6:04 am

Any decent brand that a pc store stocks will work fine, i like belkins, they seem to work best for me so far, also it's not always just plug and play, they do come with cd's but if that fails you would prob. need someone to do it for you, also the Flow connection isnt technically a router, it's a bridged device, it only hands out ONE i.p. address and that is too the device it's connected too which means it learns the mac address of the device so basically you will need to reset the flow ' router ' before you can hook it up to another device.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

Thanks guys......

zando

Postby zando » March 23rd, 2012, 6:14 am

It's not the connection, it's the websites, 5megs is nun these days anymore, just like 5 dollars used to be able to buy u two doubles and maybe a small coke if uh lucky, just like a 1.5 used to be da bomb back in the day when cars were smaller, now is all 1.8 and 2.0 and above that hadda make the cut, websites these days are a lot more content rich, more flash, graphics and what not, it taxes the connection a hell of a lot more, Firefox is not what it used to be, Google chrome has less issues when using flash with it than Firefox does, i not even going to bring IE into this cuz it just not worth it, i remem when 1meg used to be like..omgggzzzz what?? :shock: but now a 5 meg is nun,it's the new 512 and 1 meg is the new 56k.

Waterholic's wrote:It's weird. Whenever I take a speedtest it says 5mb all the time. But when I'm browsing the speed just doesn't seem like 5mb pages take forever to load and sometimes they don't even load. I would be on Skype and skype moving normal so I know I have Internet or even FaceTime and yet when I try to open a we page it does real stick. Is just the web browsing. And no it's not my computer. I tried it on a Mac, iPad and windows and all moved the same.

civic minded

Flow Internet moving like mess.

Postby civic minded » March 23rd, 2012, 6:20 am

Strange , maybe it's location cause I never had problems with my flow Internet . Yes there was a few hiccups in the beginning but after one month of the first service it stopped and never occurred again. I am on the 6th month of flow Internet service.

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 23rd, 2012, 7:12 am

zando wrote:It's not the connection, it's the websites, 5megs is nun these days anymore, just like 5 dollars used to be able to buy u two doubles and maybe a small coke if uh lucky, just like a 1.5 used to be da bomb back in the day when cars were smaller, now is all 1.8 and 2.0 and above that hadda make the cut, websites these days are a lot more content rich, more flash, graphics and what not, it taxes the connection a hell of a lot more, Firefox is not what it used to be, Google chrome has less issues when using flash with it than Firefox does, i not even going to bring IE into this cuz it just not worth it, i remem when 1meg used to be like..omgggzzzz what?? :shock: but now a 5 meg is nun,it's the new 512 and 1 meg is the new 56k.

Waterholic's wrote:It's weird. Whenever I take a speedtest it says 5mb all the time. But when I'm browsing the speed just doesn't seem like 5mb pages take forever to load and sometimes they don't even load. I would be on Skype and skype moving normal so I know I have Internet or even FaceTime and yet when I try to open a we page it does real stick. Is just the web browsing. And no it's not my computer. I tried it on a Mac, iPad and windows and all moved the same.

Yoo I definitely know its the Internet. On Blink's 1mb the pages loaded quicker, just videos took longer to load. Also when I hit a link it says loading and then when the Internet finally decides to load it would load out half the page timeout and then load the rest and no it's not my computer, it happens on all my devices and at my cousins house as well.

noobie

Postby noobie » March 23rd, 2012, 1:48 pm

You tried using a different DNS server? OpenDNS or Google Public DNS?

Postby K74T » March 23rd, 2012, 1:54 pm

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » March 23rd, 2012, 8:24 pm

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 23rd, 2012, 9:34 pm

zando wrote:Any decent brand that a pc store stocks will work fine, i like belkins, they seem to work best for me so far, also it's not always just plug and play, they do come with cd's but if that fails you would prob. need someone to do it for you, also the Flow connection isnt technically a router, it's a bridged device, it only hands out ONE i.p. address and that is too the device it's connected too which means it learns the mac address of the device so basically you will need to reset the flow ' router ' before you can hook it up to another device.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

Thanks guys......

thanks for the advice......it would be kool if i get a wireless router to use to see if will work first before i purchase one....

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » March 25th, 2012, 12:45 pm

I just got my new modem from Flow. It really is the wireless router. My internet is moving exceptional.