Car Reviews Anyone?

SSwifter

Car Reviews Anyone?

Postby SSwifter » March 18th, 2012, 1:12 pm

I'm not too sure if I'm posting this in the right board OR if there is this info available elsewhere on the forums.
I'm looking to buy my first car, and have been checking features of a few lower-end vehicles, but all the car lingo confuses me. :oops: :?
Cars I'm interested in so far:
Suzuki SX4 (sedan)
Kia Rio
Ford Fiesta
Nissan Tida (Sedan)

Not sure if any of the fellas can help me in assessing which one is the better car..As a parent, I'm looking for safety, reliability, etc.

Re: Car Reviews Anyone?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 4:33 pm

you may get more responses if you post in the ole talk forum..but why u no choose toyota?

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » March 18th, 2012, 5:05 pm

I am also in the same position as you, I want to buy my first car too. I am looking at

1 reliability,
2 spacious and roomy,
3 nice looking,
4 good resale value,
5 availability of parts
6 nice interior
7 a good value for money

I am looking to spend up to $70,000, I am saving from now till christmas ..

The cars I am thinking of buying....

1) Nissan Tiida sedan
2) Toyota NZE
3) Nissan Almera LE
4) Nissan Sentra B14
5) Mazda 3 Alexa
6) Mitsubishi Galant

I thought about it and I would have to go for the Tiida because it is a relatively new car (2007), The back seat have alot of leg-room and inside is very roomy and I like the seats, and it is cheaper that the mazda 3 and nze, but the tiida looks ugly :oops:

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 18th, 2012, 6:26 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:you may get more responses if you post in the ole talk forum..but why u no choose toyota?

Hmm..Not familiar with the forums here..Thanks! will re-post in that forum.

IDK @ Totoya..I havent seen any that interests me and am in my price range (no more than $155k).
If you have any suggestions that'd be good! :)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 8:27 pm

salvation4U wrote:I am also in the same position as you, I want to buy my first car too. I am looking at

1 reliability,
2 spacious and roomy,
3 nice looking,
4 good resale value,
5 availability of parts
6 nice interior
7 a good value for money

I am looking to spend up to $70,000, I am saving from now till christmas ..

The cars I am thinking of buying....

1) Nissan Tiida sedan
2) Toyota NZE
3) Nissan Almera LE
4) Nissan Sentra B14
5) Mazda 3 Alexa
6) Mitsubishi Galant

I thought about it and I would have to go for the Tiida because it is a relatively new car (2007), The back seat have alot of leg-room and inside is very roomy and I like the seats, and it is cheaper that the mazda 3 and nze, but the tiida looks ugly :oops:

I would choose the NZE any day any time.
good resale value,great on gas.looks nice as is and if you decide to do a little customizing they look great

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » March 18th, 2012, 10:16 pm

2006 Nissan Tiida

Pros:
1) Legroom and headroom like wow! An added benefit if you are a tall person like myself.
2) HR16DE quiet, economical when well maintained, capable of 180km/hr.(K&N box filter available)
3) Front disc brakes hold quite well with EBD and ABS to boot.(Get some good tyres and yuh orn like socks...Proxes T1R 205/60/15 Traction AA Temperature A works for me).
4) Speed sensitive powersteering and an extra half lock when in reverse makes parallel parking easy like Sunday morning. (Drop springs, coilover kits and strut bars are available)
5) Light sensitive headlamps. (Projector lights are available)
6) Cupholders galore
7) Temperature controlled A/C

Cons:
1) OEM parts expensive like F*CK!!! In particular, A/C blower motor, clock spring assembly for horn, rotor discs and power window motor. (Yes I had to change all those things)
2) Servicing vehicle at N&M outside of warranty period = WOFT and Money.
3) Boot is a bit high so it would be wise to invest in reverse sensors....if you now get your license.
4) Not by any means "a fast car" so don't go boasting that you beat this and that with it...you'll end up looking like a chode.
5) Steering wheel trim will crack and flake eventually.
6) Could definitely use a dummy pedal next to the brake pedal.
7) Door hinges are weak and will evevtually lead to sagging. Hinges not cheap either.

In general a good daily driver, never shut down for any mechanical problems, runs on premium gasoline and very comfortable on the inside.

Regards
Back2Studio

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 19th, 2012, 5:51 am

Back2Studio wrote:2006 Nissan Tiida

Pros:
1) Legroom and headroom like wow! An added benefit if you are a tall person like myself.
2) HR16DE quiet, economical when well maintained, capable of 180km/hr.(K&N box filter available)
3) Front disc brakes hold quite well with EBD and ABS to boot.(Get some good tyres and yuh orn like socks...Proxes T1R 205/60/15 Traction AA Temperature A works for me).
4) Speed sensitive powersteering and an extra half lock when in reverse makes parallel parking easy like Sunday morning. (Drop springs, coilover kits and strut bars are available)
5) Light sensitive headlamps. (Projector lights are available)
6) Cupholders galore
7) Temperature controlled A/C

Cons:
1) OEM parts expensive like F*CK!!! In particular, A/C blower motor, clock spring assembly for horn, rotor discs and power window motor. (Yes I had to change all those things)
2) Servicing vehicle at N&M outside of warranty period = WOFT and Money.
3) Boot is a bit high so it would be wise to invest in reverse sensors....if you now get your license.
4) Not by any means "a fast car" so don't go boasting that you beat this and that with it...you'll end up looking like a chode.
5) Steering wheel trim will crack and flake eventually.
6) Could definitely use a dummy pedal next to the brake pedal.
7) Door hinges are weak and will evevtually lead to sagging. Hinges not cheap either.

In general a good daily driver, never shut down for any mechanical problems, runs on premium gasoline and very comfortable on the inside.

Regards
Back2Studio

Thanks! That was very helpful. Since this was a review on the '06 Tiida, what is the latest one being sold in trini now?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 19th, 2012, 7:39 am

Never had half of those problems with my Tiida....going on.....5 + years with the car now.

Only major problem was that I had to replace the gas pedal assembly, and that was it.

No problems with clockspring, power windows, machined rotors ONCE only due a shim under braking (never returned after), never had cracking of the upholstery (always maintained with a protectant, so that helps).

Car is a dull and un-exciting drive. But it's reliable.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » March 19th, 2012, 4:49 pm

How much kms? Mine is 150K still going strong. People could say what they want about how it ugly etc etc..the fact remains it is comfortable, roomy, economical, capable of speeds inxs and a damn good daily driver.

Next car review please...

Postby crazybalhead » March 19th, 2012, 5:32 pm

DSM_05 wrote:Never had half of those problems with my Tiida....going on.....5 + years with the car now.

Only major problem was that I had to replace the gas pedal assembly, and that was it.

No problems with clockspring, power windows, machined rotors ONCE only due a shim under braking (never returned after), never had cracking of the upholstery (always maintained with a protectant, so that helps).

This is why a evo makes a great family car. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Serious, ask Duane. :|

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 19th, 2012, 8:46 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:Never had half of those problems with my Tiida....going on.....5 + years with the car now.

This is why a evo makes a great family car. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Serious, ask Duane. :|

"family car"? errr Why that sounding like some putt-putt?
Although I want a reliable, spacious, safe car, i aint want any slow vehicle lol

SSwifter

Postby SSwifter » March 19th, 2012, 8:47 pm

Back2Studio wrote:How much kms? Mine is 150K still going strong. People could say what they want about how it ugly etc etc..the fact remains it is comfortable, roomy, economical, capable of speeds inxs and a damn good daily driver.

Next car review please...

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=427968&start=0

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 19th, 2012, 9:23 pm

Although I want a reliable, spacious, safe car, i aint want any slow vehicle lol

Some people may find that they are fast, but I don't. If you're coming from say a B14/B15/older corolla, then yeah sure, the Tiida performs great! But again....the cars in your option listing all fall in the same performance (read: slow) category as the Tiida in my book.

Well, maybe not the Galant...but Almera's, B14's.....yeah...same thing.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » March 20th, 2012, 11:09 am

Ok so the op say he want spacious, reliable, safe ...and not slow...what next? Rocket launchers, ejector seats and smoke screen?