New to Offroad...Which club to go with?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
xriot

Postby xriot » March 6th, 2012, 8:55 pm

Hi guys,

My buddy told me about trinituner and this forum. He says there are alot offroading groups here and I would like to join you guys on a run but from what I'm seeing I don't think I'll make some of the trails that you guys do. I have a Pajero old model but I have never seen these offroad and I would really like to see if it is capable.

I see lots of pics in the offroad section from Side B, Mudaholics and TTORC. I have also seen mentioned Diesel Boys but not sseing any pics from them.

Are the Diesel Boys making any runs soon so I can see what kinda trails they do. Would really like to start small and work my way up....So where are the Diesel Boys?

lighthammer

Re: New to Offroad...Which club to go with?

Postby lighthammer » March 6th, 2012, 9:36 pm

Well.. Side b has a few runs coming up that might be newbie friendly.

BTW, ur not someone who's trolling us, are you?

xriot

Postby xriot » March 7th, 2012, 5:35 am

Trolling? I'm not sure what you mean Mr. Lighthammer. If you mean stalking you from a great distance well yes. I saw some of the pics that have on facebook. Very nice indeed. You guys seem to be a very neatly knitted unit.
However, I would still like to know if the Diesel Boys are still in operation. From what I'm seeing on this forum, they haven't made a run in a long time. Doing a search, I have seen that they have done runs with small sections of offroading that I prefer at this time as I do not know the capabilities of my Pajero. Can you answer for them? Is there a website or facebook page I can check for them?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 7th, 2012, 6:34 am

What are the specs on the pajaro? Do you have a/t tires? 4wd? The stock pajaro is a good offroader and more than capable o handling some of the side B runs.

bt50

Postby bt50 » March 7th, 2012, 7:20 am

Side B crew has some good runs....link up with them

Pajero supposed to handle well....more than likely you will need to have AT tires at the very minimum (see if you can get hold of some Sumitomo Serengti or Firestone ATX)...for more serious offroading MT's...

Word of Caution-dont rush in and look to get fully equipped re winch, lockers, this, that etc...try the van out and you will know its capabilites and then you adjust to suit...

As you're new I suggest you do some research on offroad driving techniques etc so you are aware of what to expect on a trail....

I can guarantee you that the frist time you drive offroad it will get into your blood.....lol

Feel free to PM if you need any advice etc

Enjoy

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 7th, 2012, 9:33 am

bt50 wrote:Side B crew has some good runs....link up with them

Pajero supposed to handle well....more than likely you will need to have AT tires at the very minimum (see if you can get hold of some Sumitomo Serengti or Firestone ATX)...for more serious offroading MT's...

Word of Caution-dont rush in and look to get fully equipped re winch, lockers, this, that etc...try the van out and you will know its capabilites and then you adjust to suit...

As you're new I suggest you do some research on offroad driving techniques etc so you are aware of what to expect on a trail....

I can guarantee you that the frist time you drive offroad it will get into your blood.....lol

Feel free to PM if you need any advice etc

Enjoy

^^ what he said.

First upgrade that's usually recommended is a set of good all-terrain tires. Doesn't have to be the most expensive, just try to get the best that your budget can allow for.
Tyres on the more budget friendly end include - Hercules Terra Tracs or RoadtStone AT II (approx $800-900 for one) , and the higher-end includes Kumho KL78 ($1125) and BF Goodrich AT K/O ($1600).

Like BT-50 said, don't worry yet about getting suspension kits, MUd Terrain tires, winches, snorkels, etc. etc.

**** LEARN TO DRIVE & HANDLE YOUR VEHICLE FIRST *****

Yes, a fully kitted out truck will get anyone in a trail and you'll be able to do lots more than a stock van - but for an inexperienced driver, this usually means you'll get stuck further into the trail, and usually get stuck a lot worse than everyone else (where you'll need much more expert help for recovery, plus you'd risk losing the truck depending on where you got it stuck and how unrecoverable it is).

Perfect example - there's a story of an inexperienced young driver who drove a frontier, got fully kitted out - lift kit/suspension, snorkel, bumper, winch, etc. etc. A dream truck for most of us offroaders. Same afternoon he picked it up from the shop, he went and got the truck DROWNED in the Las Cuevas river (even with a snorkel). ALmost unrecoverable, and the stupid driver panicked and tried recovering it, damaging it even more. Had to call in expert help, and even they said that the truck wasn't at fault - it was the inexperienced, impatient and also possibly quite stupid driver (who just got his license).

Now, note this - I AM NOT calling you stupid or anything like that, but what I am recommending is that you learn to handle your rig first then start upgrading from what you feel needs to be upgraded. I myself took my brand new (3week old) Navara with highway tyres and open diff, got it badly stuck on a mountainside with a 40-foot-drop to the ocean right next to me. From that day on, I promised myself I would learn every single thing I could about handling my truck, learning how to recover myself and others SAFELY and how to read a trail and find the best path. After that, we've gone on many, many runs and I have only gotten stuck once or twice after, cuz I had to tow someone out and dug myself in.

However, I would still like to know if the Diesel Boys are still in operation. From what I'm seeing on this forum, they haven't made a run in a long time. Doing a search, I have seen that they have done runs with small sections of offroading that I prefer at this time as I do not know the capabilities of my Pajero. Can you answer for them? Is there a website or facebook page I can check for them?

No, I can't answer for them. I'm the president of Side B and we are a completely different organization from the Diesel Boys and have no affiliations.. They haven't made a run in a while and I honestly cannot say if they are in operation. I've been in contact with a couple of their members a few times, but as for their organization, I don't honestly know, wish I could help you.

If you are interested in a run with them, you can send a PM to a couple of their executive members:
- biggy82
- Venum
- Sweeks (CEO)
They will have more information for you.

As for Side B now, yes, we have a few runs planned this year. Not all of them will be hardcore, some will be easy and Grade 1-2 and thus friendly for beginners. You are quite welcome to come to any of our runs. Some WILL be hardcore (as much as road-going pickups can allow) and you are welcome to these as well. Oh, and we'll be having an off-road rally later on this year that's open to all categories of vehicles, however it's catered for those with minimal off-roading experience (but with higher-grade offroading options for the more seasoned vets - i just hope their vehicles are caiman proof!) so anyone can join in (even an AWD CRV or Rav 4 could be able to run it). It'll be more about fun rather than hardcore offroad, so stay tuned for that!

We always try to teach those who are looking to get into off-roading how to do it safely and how to handle their vehicles. In fact we've had a "Training Day" session last year which was very well attended (25 trucks!) where we taught recovery techniques in one of the hardest trails - Las Cuevas. Everyone made it out safely and we got a couple new mud-addicts out of it. As a side, we also taught First Aid on the beach after the mud-stage.

So, if you're interested in joining Side B on a run, feel free to put your name down on the next Roll Call list and send any of us a PM:
- lighthammer
- Droppa
- 3stagevtec
- Jeremy Mohd

Or come join our Facebook group - Side B - Keep On Truckin'

Hope that helps man, and hope to see you soon.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 7th, 2012, 2:42 pm

^ X2.

Bring out the mitsu and have some fun!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 7th, 2012, 7:25 pm

Keep checking the forums and just fall in whenever Side B is having a run. We tend to keep our runs geared towards stock vehicles with All Terrain tyres. Occasionally we do venture onto the more difficult trails, but even those can be considered 'softcore' compared to where other clubs go. When do you come, we will pair you up with an experienced driver who will assist / walk you through the terrain, giving the relevant advice along the way..

Your vehicle is highly capable as is, all it really needs is a decent set of tyres and you can go very far! What you really need to do is work on your off road driving skill. It's not a difficult thing to get a hang of, just careful / smart driving on your part is all that is required.

Imagine we even had guys who came on runs with us with 2WD vehicles and got pretty far! Some even went all the way! Some even sold out their ride to buy 4x4s! :lol: Anyway, we'd look forward to having you on a run with us..

Rene

venum

Postby venum » March 7th, 2012, 11:37 pm

Very good advice from all the tuners

lighthammer wrote:

They haven't made a run in a while and I honestly cannot say if they are in operation.

If you are interested in a run with them, you can send a PM to a couple of their executive members:
- biggy82
- Venum
- Sweeks (CEO)
They will have more information for you.

no need to PM

we are still around, but less active than we used to be

we are planning some runs for 2012, but our group is more of a touring group than an off-road club

stay tuned to the forum for these

there are other groups like Side B that have more off-road events that you can have some fun with

there is also Trailblazers and TTORC who are more hardcore

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 8th, 2012, 1:47 am

Whatever club you wanna go with, just make sure to never go alone (always bring a buddy) and always bring some recovery equipment (ropes, snatch strap, chains, shovel, flashlight, etc).

claries

Postby claries » March 8th, 2012, 2:23 pm

Mann! Bring out D van. I never knew wat my lil B2500 cud do tilll i joined

droppa

Postby droppa » March 8th, 2012, 6:35 pm

welcome xriot!

first rule of offroading,

never go alone....

always have an accompanying 4X4 with you....

even when our guys go scouting, we link up with more than one....

but to answer your questions u can check the off road runs section and u will see posts from Side B, mudaholics, and ttorc, on some of the trails and runs we made for the year, aslo on fb trailblazers has their page there and have posted pics of their runs.....

it depends on what u looking for, and what u wanna do with the bushi!!

as venum said,
for more road and touring, look out for diesel boys run

for some road and off road that any daily or stock 4X4 with all terrains can handle look for the Side B runs

for more hardcore, experienced and difficult terrain, look for runs from TTORC, mudaholics and trailblazers........

Side B having a "fleck work" run tomoro, a day with some mud, food, drinks, and we must touch water, jus in the name of boycotting work................
we supposed to have 2 new guys with us, a hilux on ATs and a frontier on MTs, maybe we can see a pajero in the mix......

xriot

Postby xriot » March 10th, 2012, 6:25 am

Thanks for the responses. I will definitley make a run with Side B some time. You guys seem to be doing all the offroading of late anyway. Looks like some awesome fun and you all seem to be an awesome group of people.

Venum, a touring club? Meaning you drive around the country visiting places? Oh Ok......I guess you guys don't do any mudding. But why less active though. From what my friend has told me you guys were once alone on this forum and now it seems that you all have hung up the boots....I would still like to make a run with you all sometime. I can maybe take my family for a nice relaxing drive..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 10th, 2012, 8:50 am

^^ the annual Icacos run is one of the major ones for the year with DB's. Stay tuned to the off-roading forum to hear when it's done, usually april-may, I believe.

Postby Team Loco » March 10th, 2012, 9:54 pm

so nobody mention the initiation he has to go through?

droppa

Postby droppa » March 10th, 2012, 10:19 pm

well there is no initiation or probation or registration in Side-B, jus come on a run, if yuh like the vibes, feelfree to join us on future runs.....

you guys will have to breif him on the guidlines of the diesel boys, i never knew there was an initiation!!!!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 10th, 2012, 11:27 pm

^ yup.

All are invited, not many return, but those who do, become real off-road addicts.
We like to do it safely, and with lots of fun.

Remember, with us, upgrades (suspension, tyres, winch, snorkel) aren't mandatory - but you'll probably end up doing it anyway.

No initiation in side b - it just seems that those who get stuck on their first run, tend to become regular attendees.

^xcalibur^

Postby ^xcalibur^ » May 9th, 2012, 9:38 am

I'm new here as well. and side b seems to be just the kind of club i would want to get acquainted with.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 9th, 2012, 11:21 am

^xcalibur^ wrote:I'm new here as well. and side b seems to be just the kind of club i would want to get acquainted with.

Do you have a Land Rover by chance?

droppa

Postby droppa » May 9th, 2012, 8:52 pm

^^^how u come to dat???

Postby 3stagevtec » May 9th, 2012, 9:16 pm

droppa wrote:^^^how u come to dat???

I spoke to a guy recently who liked off roading but wasn't in any clubs. I told him to check out this off road section on tuner.. so when he asked, it had me wondering..

^xcalibur^

Postby ^xcalibur^ » May 9th, 2012, 11:42 pm

nah. not a land rover but a Navara. some really useful info from you guys thus far and i'm really taking these into some serious thought.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 10th, 2012, 9:49 am

Ahh, look a next nissan man here, and better yet a Navara driver!

Heheh... come on a run with us (one of the easier ones if you like) and we can sit and discuss how to handle a Navara on a trail. It's a bigger truck than the rest (midsize pickup compared to the others, which are compacts - except for the new ranger) so it handles a bit differently. Also that manual transmission is tricky to learn, esp when climbing over stuff and doing hill-starts... i still have some trouble occasionally with it. I know a couple other guys who tried going offroad with their navara's and burnt their clutches trying to climb over stuff.... so you NEED to learn that high-bite clutch (I'm sure you must have stalled it a couple times when you first bought it, ent??!!)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 10th, 2012, 9:54 am

Also.. my first recommendation to you is get rid of those piece of sheit Dunlop tyres that come with the Navara.. and invest in some proper all-terrains.

I use BFG AT KO 265/70R16's... to me they are the BEST all terrain you can buy... but they are expensive! They are worth the money though, so I highly recommend them.

If you're on a budget though, there are other excellent options:
- Herculese Terra Tracs - $900 per tyre
- Kumho Roadventure AT KL78 - $1145 per tyre

From what I've seen from the other Side B guys, these tyres perform well off-road and no complaints from their owners. I've used the kumho all-terrain on my family's frontier, lasted 70,000km and 3-years of highway driving.

^xcalibur^

Postby ^xcalibur^ » May 10th, 2012, 10:24 am

I'm looking forward to making it to one of your runs. (really one of the easier ones) and i'll appreciate the tips on handling etc. First weekend i had it i took it into a river just to at least see how it handles.the manual is really tricky, i still do cut off - just not too often. I'm still getting accustomed to the clutch for real. I joined the Facebook page 2 days ago. so, looking forward to some tips and advice from the experienced guys.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”