$5000.00 Fine for non-inspected cars !

Terran

Re: $5000.00 Fine for non-inspected cars !

Postby Terran » March 7th, 2012, 10:20 pm

Okay. I just thought you missed you what was NOT said in the release.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 7th, 2012, 10:38 pm

I find that statement very unusual to come from the Ministry

it's almost like saying

"The Ministry of National Security advises the General Public that there are mischievous rumours being circulated that there is an abundance of empty jail cells at Remand Yard and there is a movement by the Police Service to crack down on criminals and murderers.

The Ministry of National Security would like to advise the general public that while it is illegal to commit crime and murder, the Police service is not in the process of initiating or implementing any such drive against criminals.

Criminals and murderers are cautioned not to be panicked as a result of these rumours.

Any complaints or queries can be directed to the Police Service Head Office Corner St. Vincent and Sackville Streets Port of Spain at telephone number 623-9807.

END OF RELEASE"

Ministry of National Security"

that seem strange to anyone else?

Postby eliteauto » March 7th, 2012, 10:42 pm

^^not really the same, it's akin to a teacher not giving you homework, then coming the next day and asking for homework and beating you cause you did none, the MOW know they have shortcomings that can result in you breaking the law, as a result they have to rectify that before they can enforce the law

Postby wagonrunner » March 7th, 2012, 10:50 pm

Team Loco wrote:Logoc does not work here. For roro vehicles, its based on the local year of registration. So technically an already 5 year old car from japan, imported roro after 5 yrs from manufacture, has to wait another 5 yrs to do inspection locally. So when the car is 10 years old, its doing its first inspection.

you sure? because........
A33_VQ35 wrote:I also want to know how do they know the age of your vehicle? The certified copy doesn't have that info, so are they going by reg date?
yuh sure?
on our CC's have a line "description, make, and year of manufacture", with that info.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 7th, 2012, 11:08 pm

eliteauto wrote:^^not really the same, it's akin to a teacher not giving you homework, then coming the next day and asking for homework and beating you cause you did none, the MOW know they have shortcomings that can result in you breaking the law, as a result they have to rectify that before they can enforce the law
agreed to a certain point

I used an extreme example to force the point over, but why issue such a release instead of encouraging citizens to obey the law? They should put facilities in place to deal with the reaction, instead of telling people "we wish to advise that despite rumours we are not currently not doing our job"!

Postby gt4tified » March 7th, 2012, 11:15 pm

Waits on either Dana Seetahal, SC or Israel Khan, SC to jump in on the matter.

Postby eliteauto » March 7th, 2012, 11:16 pm

gt4tified wrote:Waits on either Dana Seetahal, SC or Israel Khan, SC to jump in on the matter.

dem too busy fighting each other in Law Assoc. elections

Postby gt4tified » March 7th, 2012, 11:30 pm

^^^ Daz mih point....I thought they would have used the matter to score some publicity in offering an “expert opinion” on the matter. Because yuh done know, if either of them say so, is SO!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 8th, 2012, 1:14 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Veh ... 40053.html

Vehicle inspection stickers run out
Story Created: Mar 7, 2012 at 9:38 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 7, 2012 at 9:38 PM ECT
The machine producing vehicle inspection stickers for the Licensing Division is “experiencing technical difficulties”, but this does not mean motorists can get away with not having their vehicles checked for roadworthiness.
In a release yesterday, the Transport Ministry advised the problem would be “rectified within the next few weeks. Until then, rumours that there is a nationwide crackdown checking for valid inspection stickers should be disregarded”.
The release stated: “The Ministry of Transport would like to advise the general public that while it is the law that vehicles must be inspected by the Licensing Division, in accordance with the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act 48:50, Part V, S 27, the Licensing Division is not in the process of initiating or implementing any such drive against motorists.”
Yesterday, BlackBerry Messenger broadcasts triggered concerns from citizens about whether they could be facing the hefty $5,000 fine for not having a valid inspection sticker displayed on the bottom left of their windscreens.
“I know we have our officers outside on the field. I have not seen the message, so I cannot really comment on it. We have officers outside in the field, which is a normal thing, conducting searches in various districts,” said ASP Joanne Archie during the daily police briefing at the Police Headquarters in Port of Spain.
Last month, Tobago drivers waited for hours outside the Licensing Office in Scarborough to get their vehicles inspected to avoid paying the hefty fine.
The Ministry has cautioned against panic. Upon arrival of the stickers, the Licensing Division will begin to enforce the requirement and advise the public accordingly.
In an e-mail to the Express yesterday, Transport Ministry representative Racheal Kawal said the licensing office usually makes a projection on the number of stickers required for the quarter. However, with the rumours circulated and the panic among motorists, the unforeseen barrage of requests led to the stickers running out. She said the licensing office has re-ordered stickers to meet the increasing demands. Stickers are expected to arrive within two weeks. They will also be distributed to the private motor vehicle inspection stations.
She added that the inspection process will not be affected and motorists will still receive their inspection certificates. The shortage applies to “P” (Private) stickers, while “T” (Transport) stickers are available at Licensing Offices.
Transport Commissioner Reuben Cato told the Express yesterday via phone motorists should not worry about not having a sticker, once they have a valid inspection/tester’s certificate.
“The sticker is really just a visual identification for officers to identify vehicles that have been inspected,” said Cato, adding that a lack of stickers should not be an excuse for motorists not to get the roadworthiness of their vehicles checked and validated.
He pointed out that the Licensing Office has no authority to tell the police what regulations to enforce.
Inspection certificates are granted by Licensing Offices and are mandatory for transport vehicles, rental vehicles and private vehicles more than 22,700 kilogrammes. Other vehicles may receive tester certificates from authorised mechanics/ service stations approved by the Ministry of Transport.
The fee is $165 for a vehicle tested at an authorised inspection station and $300 at a Transport Division office. “T” vehicles must be inspected annually, and only at the Port of Spain, San Fernando and Tobago branches of the Licensing Office.
Complaints or queries about the inspection process can be directed to the Licensing Division’s Head Office, Wrightson Road, Port of Spain; 623-4872.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 8th, 2012, 7:28 am

the Licensing Division is not in the process of initiating or implementing any such drive against motorists, however the police force never said that they were not starting such a crackdown.
people need to realise that the Poilce division and the licensing division are two separate bodies.

The police will STILL charge you up to a max of 5000 based on their judgement.

its up to you if you choose to go brave or do the legal requirement quickly.

achillies

Postby achillies » March 8th, 2012, 8:01 am

Terran wrote:Okay. I just thought you missed you what was NOT said in the release.

No scene meng

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » March 8th, 2012, 8:09 am

Road block this morning at 6am at Arouca lights heading Arima. 6AM? come nah man...

Terran

Postby Terran » March 8th, 2012, 8:16 am

That explains the empty offices this morning.

Ash Wednesday sees more people at work at this time.

Postby AllTrac » March 8th, 2012, 8:18 am

Terran wrote:
achillies wrote:Are you insinuating that the ministry will deliberately issue a false statement with the end result being they would catch a lot of people with their pants down later :shocked!:

If they do charge people, that doesn't falsify the statement. Read it again. All they are saying is that there is no massive exercise in progress, and that before they execute such, the public will be duly informed.

That doesn't mean that you can't be charged right now if your vehicle is in violation of the law.

Actually terran, no. After speaking to a police officer and a LO yesterday to see if the letter was legit, frm what they told me was that they cannot charge you even if they want to, because they do not have the equipment to produce the sticker and the sticker on the windscreen is what is required by law to be on your vehicle at all times, not the particulars that come with it (reciept, paper work etc) so for now they are not looking for that or charging people without it as they cannot produce the sticker.

Postby cinco » March 8th, 2012, 8:21 am

i has eeet!

Postby Dizzy28 » March 8th, 2012, 8:22 am

Level line up of cars by J Auto masters in San Juan. Trinis real like to panic

Postby cinco » March 8th, 2012, 8:23 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Level line up of cars by J Auto masters in San Juan. Trinis real like to panic

GOOD
now lookin to obey the law

Terran

Postby Terran » March 8th, 2012, 8:31 am

AllTrac wrote:Actually terran, no. After speaking to a police officer and a LO yesterday to see if the letter was legit, frm what they told me was that they cannot charge you even if they want to, because they do not have the equipment to produce the sticker and the sticker on the windscreen is what is required by law to be on your vehicle at all times, not the particulars that come with it (reciept, paper work etc) so for now they are not looking for that or charging people without it as they cannot produce the sticker.

Technicality, boy!

I guess it still boils down to whether there are people who have actually been charged despite this release.

Postby Dave » March 8th, 2012, 8:37 am

I am sure the rush will boil down but would be a good time to go get the paperwork and test done so that when stickers become available, you just need to collect it cause then would be when the real rush may begin.

Postby Hook » March 8th, 2012, 8:42 am

anybody kno ppl who were charged? buss a lil' scan or pic of the ticket fuh we nuh

zorced

Postby zorced » March 8th, 2012, 8:45 am

Glad i have my sticker because I found myself in two road blocks in two days!
yesterday morning @ orange grove lights
this morning heading down caroni savannah rd just after munroe flyover.

if u didnt get ur sticker yet its only a matter of time!

Postby AllTrac » March 8th, 2012, 8:46 am

The catch is, what they are doing in the road blocks is a quick version of what they would do for inspection, like lights, horn, wiperblades etc. There is where they could buss de ticket

Postby Hook » March 8th, 2012, 9:01 am

AllTrac wrote:The catch is, what they are doing in the road blocks is a quick version of what they would do for inspection, like lights, horn, wiperblades etc. There is where they could buss de ticket

in which case, you'll get one of those "defective fixture" tickets?

Postby TRAE » March 8th, 2012, 9:02 am

blacklight wrote:Its false folks

notice.jpg

ah next effing bbm chupidness... i get in the roadblock and is normal thing them doing---- routine checks

Postby cinco » March 8th, 2012, 9:05 am

Hook wrote:
AllTrac wrote:The catch is, what they are doing in the road blocks is a quick version of what they would do for inspection, like lights, horn, wiperblades etc. There is where they could buss de ticket

buh ent that smallest ticket is still 1500-2000?

Postby Hook » March 8th, 2012, 9:09 am

true, but I not paying a $2000 ticket for a blown $5 stop light bulb tho

Postby cinco » March 8th, 2012, 9:11 am

yeh dat is pressha i have a spare bulb kept in my car yes if they let me i go swap it right there

Postby AllTrac » March 8th, 2012, 9:46 am

Hook wrote:

im guessing so

cinco wrote:
Hook wrote:

buh ent that smallest ticket is still 1500-2000?

yup, hence the reason i called in late to work this morning so i could stock up on some bulbs as those lil culprits does like to troll you and just not work when in a road block :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » March 8th, 2012, 9:57 am

Problem???
toyota-hilux-surf-silver-used-car-349.jpg

Postby Habit7 » March 8th, 2012, 10:50 am

Can someone help me understand this:

The Licensing Office says there machine to print stickers not working. But there are long lines outside private inspection bays for what? Are they giving stickers too or are they just giving a document.