Kony 2012 (30 min video)

Postby Stephon. » March 6th, 2012, 9:28 pm

:cry:

This video made me sad, angry and smile at the same time, I urge everyone to watch it if you got 30 mins to spare. You can even press play and just listen and go on about your business. I think it's very important to raise awareness about this individual and what is going on in the world that we are living in that we aren't even hearing about. This has been going on for 20 years and this is the first time a lot of people are hearing about it.

Thank you.

Re: Kony 2012 (30 min video)

Postby A172 » March 6th, 2012, 9:36 pm

good watch....especially after that garbage, Machine Gun Preacher.

Postby X2 » March 6th, 2012, 10:21 pm

Damn... Jacob speaks English better than some UWI grads...

Postby pioneer » March 6th, 2012, 10:29 pm

Guess which one africa and most third world countries is?

And this happening right here in trinidad

Just a thought.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 6th, 2012, 10:57 pm

great post!

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » March 6th, 2012, 11:16 pm

Nice watch. 8-)

Postby shogun » March 6th, 2012, 11:20 pm

Good watch.

Postby cinco » March 7th, 2012, 7:48 am

good vid man

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » March 7th, 2012, 8:03 am

So Duane, sticky the post nah.

Postby ismithx » March 7th, 2012, 10:46 am

^^ seconded

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 7th, 2012, 11:12 am

Kony should be stopped, but i am not for all this white savior foolishness whose end is increased US military acitivies in Uganda.

Read some sense: http://ericswanderings.wordpress.com/20 ... seph-kony/

With his history of being racist, by the time Stephon post anything, tuners should be cautious.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 7th, 2012, 11:29 am

so many people had problems with the US being "world police".. and they just watch a video an its ok now?

he should be stopped regardless who does it..

Postby Bizzare » March 7th, 2012, 11:36 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:With his history of being racist, by the time Stephon post anything, tuners should be cautious.

Dude yuh rel outta timin. Seriously GTFO!!

Anyway, typical human beings are moved by emotions and it's only natural to become emotional by this vid. It's always good to see stuff from a logical point of view without emotions clouding your thinking. Think like a man is suppose to.

By the way, Am I the only one who thinks Kony should appreciate the attention this will bring to him. They advertise "Kony" as though he is some hero. I think the way they're going about their business is based on pure emotions without thinking logically.

Does the US government really have to wait on the interest of the people to make the right move. That's the main thing that hit me when I was watching the vid. Not what Kony is doing cuz this is nothing new. Everyone knows what goes on in Sudan etc, child soldiers, poverty, nothing new. The only thing highlighted here is just one of the criminals - "Kony".... who has now only gained international attention.

How many kids glorify Hitler / associate themselves with Nazi symbols as well as other notorious individuals from the past. Well.... the sad truth is, this dude's intentions may be pure, (although I sense he's rallying for some kinda video award, lets be honest), but if the Government knows of "Kony" and the hundreds of other criminals that existed, why do you think they'd care now? I hate how the video paints "Kony" as some unknown guy. LMAO.... The US FBI, believe it or not, knows who you are and they know who I am. They know everything. I'm sure if their were natural resources involved Kony would be a dead man.

I'm only being logical without the natural emotional response everyone else would have towards the vid.

Postby ismithx » March 7th, 2012, 11:40 am

yea, but it makes a difference if PEOPLE know about him. citizen pressure always forces the government to act.

Postby Bizzare » March 7th, 2012, 11:51 am

This vid is a shame to the US btw. For those not caught up in emotions, they'll see how the vid makes the US seem selfish. Yea, here is what the theme of the vid is:

"PEOPLE, THE US GOVERNMENT DOES NOT GIVE A FORK WHAT HAPPENS OVER THERE. THEY HAVE NO OIL?!?!?! HOWEVER TO GET THEM TO CARE, WE AMERICAN CITIZENS MUST BECOME A PEST TO THEM CUZ THEN THEY WILL VERY LIKELY HAVE TO MOVE ON IT BECAUSE OF PRESSURE"

So you guys here really didn't know that this took place in those parts of the world?? Since I'm in primary school I saw vids on BBC, CNN etc of young kidnapped kids being forced to commit murder, mutilate people, become hallucinated from gun powder etc. I always remembered my parents making me aware of such and why I should be thankful.
Why does the video make it seem like this is the unknown when this is reported in news EVERYDAY.

You think homeboy with a camera will receive info that the US government doesn't already have. Pffftttt... nicca plz. Guys think LOGICALLY. Go to the video's page and read the tops comments. Those make sense!! Ha only 100 individuals sent by the US government. They have no interest there, it doesn't benefit them. They don't care. Later this year you won't hear nothing of this after homeboy has won his awards for vid of the year, and his name all over the media for his heroic acts. Nice play on emotions, but this ain't nothing new. So of course there's something to it.

Postby Chimera » March 7th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Of the $8.9 million in donations they spent in 2011, this is the breakdown: $1.7 million in US employee salaries $357,000 in Film costs $850,000 in Production costs $751,000 in Computer equipment $244,000 in "professional services" (DC lobbyists) $1.07 million in travel expenses $400,000 in yearly office rent in downtown San Diego $16,000 in Entertainment etc... Only 2.8 million (31%) made it to their charity program (which is further whittled down by local Ugandan government official

all that money they getting for donations(and using most of it themselves), why not just pay someone to kill Kony.

Postby AllTrac » March 7th, 2012, 12:25 pm

good video, but experience has taught me to be skeptical when someone tries to pull at your heart strings. An emotional person is a very vulnerable person. I need to research this more.

Postby black start » March 7th, 2012, 12:49 pm

Bizarre, not everybody in it for the fame. Some people are actually true humans. I commend the guy for his effort and all that he has fought for especially since it is a cause that in no way could have benefited him.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 7th, 2012, 1:15 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Of the $8.9 million in donations they spent in 2011, this is the breakdown: $1.7 million in US employee salaries $357,000 in Film costs $850,000 in Production costs $751,000 in Computer equipment $244,000 in "professional services" (DC lobbyists) $1.07 million in travel expenses $400,000 in yearly office rent in downtown San Diego $16,000 in Entertainment etc... Only 2.8 million (31%) made it to their charity program (which is further whittled down by local Ugandan government official

all that money they getting for donations(and using most of it themselves), why not just pay someone to kill Kony.

What your source?

Postby AllTrac » March 7th, 2012, 1:17 pm

so who donate already?

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » March 7th, 2012, 1:38 pm

It makes sense the US government has no affilation with Uganda so they would not risk the life of their service men, that is why a country is suppose to have army of its own who can defend their own country.

Postby Bizzare » March 7th, 2012, 1:48 pm

The US had no affiliation with numerous other countries, yet they intervened and play "world police". Hmm...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » March 7th, 2012, 1:53 pm

^ big stick policy and manifest destiny

Postby teems1 » March 7th, 2012, 1:56 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Of the $8.9 million in donations they spent in 2011, this is the breakdown: $1.7 million in US employee salaries $357,000 in Film costs $850,000 in Production costs $751,000 in Computer equipment $244,000 in "professional services" (DC lobbyists) $1.07 million in travel expenses $400,000 in yearly office rent in downtown San Diego $16,000 in Entertainment etc... Only 2.8 million (31%) made it to their charity program (which is further whittled down by local Ugandan government official

What your source?

http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=12429

Postby Chimera » March 7th, 2012, 2:07 pm

i guess it makes sense they spending all that money to get their message across and to get people to know what they about eh

but still, much cheaper and easier to pay someone to kill Kony

Postby Bizzare » March 7th, 2012, 2:10 pm

OP where can a local donate?

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » March 7th, 2012, 3:13 pm

Pay me the 8.9 million. I'll spend 2 million to hire a world class sniper to take Kony out.

Postby Bizzare » March 7th, 2012, 3:17 pm

That's pretty senseless when it costs only half that to make him famous.

toyota_lover

Postby toyota_lover » March 7th, 2012, 3:24 pm

Thanks for the info... I myself wasn't aware of what was going on in Sudan, until I watched "Machine Gun Preacher"...

I just don't understand how the whole world, with all its finest technology, still cannot capture this evil "god"

Postby Bizzare » March 7th, 2012, 3:28 pm

toyota_lover wrote:I just don't understand how the whole world, with all its finest technology, still cannot capture this evil "god"

For that to happen he must first become famous. Well... that's what I gained from the vid