Re: Microsoft unveils "Windows 8"

Postby r3iXmann » March 1st, 2012, 11:18 am

Strauss wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:meh..not impressed

i think the attempt to simplify the UI makes it more complicated/annoying than anything else for advanced users

Yea but you can turn that UI off and be back in what you're familiar with, not so?

no..some of the basic functions are in that UI..e.g shutdown & explorer etc :?

Postby cinco » March 1st, 2012, 11:23 am

windowskey + r
shutdown -s -t 00
or explorer

no need fuh ui

Postby r3iXmann » March 1st, 2012, 11:35 am

cinco wrote:windowskey + r
shutdown -s -t 00
or explorer

no need fuh ui

yup

definitely easier than clicking start -> shutdown

or dbl clicking my computer

windows 8 reminds me of a more restrictive mce..they should make it an add on pack,not tout it as a new OS

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 1st, 2012, 11:56 am

And at the end of the day EVERY one of you will install it.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » March 1st, 2012, 11:58 am

Wait ya'll got it to work on VBox? Mine was giving trouble to boot iin there so I run it off an old hard drive... IMO it looks and behaves too much like Phone 7. Its confusing IMO.

Postby r3iXmann » March 1st, 2012, 12:03 pm

Strauss wrote:And at the end of the day EVERY one of you will install it.

no. why would you make such an assumption?

Scoobert Bauce wrote:Wait ya'll got it to work on VBox? Mine was giving trouble to boot iin there so I run it off an old hard drive... IMO it looks and behaves too much like Phone 7. Its confusing IMO.

i'm using vmware workstation 8

i've stopped using vbox for windows vms since i realise they can be hit and miss sometimes

Postby cinco » March 1st, 2012, 12:16 pm

workstation ftw
8 sounds like another vista mistake

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 1st, 2012, 1:04 pm

im downloading it as we speak im gonna use it with vmware. Is it an upgrade to 7 would you say?

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 2nd, 2012, 1:14 am

doesn't work with workstation version 7 :( better go find 8 to errrrr buy :S

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » March 2nd, 2012, 1:31 am

jm3 wrote:doesn't work with workstation version 7 :( better go find 8 to errrrr buy :S

yeah... buy...

but ent is the same team that worked on 8 are the ones that worked on Vista? just sayin, dont get your hopes too high jut yet fellas

Postby M_2NR » March 2nd, 2012, 7:10 pm

scoob...
http://lifehacker.com/5889899/test-driv ... virtualbox

saw you wrote about vbox and your post rang a bell when i saw that. have fun!

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » March 5th, 2012, 3:16 pm

M_2NR wrote:scoob...
http://lifehacker.com/5889899/test-driv ... virtualbox

saw you wrote about vbox and your post rang a bell when i saw that. have fun!

thanks

Postby M_2NR » March 5th, 2012, 10:02 pm

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 5th, 2012, 10:11 pm

forced to abandon trying,
no time to try to iron out problems,
i'm getting a msg on install that it needs drivers for my disk drive :S its a mounted iso :S people seem to think online that it happens from a bad download. i will leave this until an rc or the full version comes out.

Postby S_2NR » March 5th, 2012, 10:12 pm

all that. is bess we stick to windows 7 :lol:

Postby st7 » March 6th, 2012, 12:56 am

with microsoft, a good OS skips a generation

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 6th, 2012, 7:34 am

Right..

Windows 8 and Mountain Lion just done download.
Should be fun today.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 6th, 2012, 9:47 am

^
had fun?

i've not had too much time to play around fully...

not sure if its cause im running it in vmware...

but im really not enjoying the experience thus far

Postby stev » March 7th, 2012, 3:28 pm

not sure if mentioned here already

Bringing Hyper-V to “Windows 8”

Whether you are a software developer, an IT administrator, or simply an enthusiast, many of you need to run multiple operating systems, usually on many different machines. Not all of us have access to a full suite of labs to house all these machines, and so virtualization can be a space and time saver.

In building Windows 8 we worked to enable Hyper-V, the machine virtualization technology that has been part of the last 2 releases of Windows Server, to function on the client OS as well. In brief, Hyper-V lets you run more than one 32-bit or 64-bit x86 operating system at the same time on the same computer. Instead of working directly with the computer’s hardware, the operating systems run inside of a virtual machine (VM).

Hyper-V enables developers to easily maintain multiple test environments and provides a simple mechanism to quickly switch between these environments without incurring additional hardware costs. For example, we release pre-configured virtual machines containing old versions of Internet Explorer to support web developers. The IT administrator gets the additional benefit of virtual machine parity and a common management experience across Hyper-V in Windows Server and Windows Client. We also know that many of you use virtualization to try out new things without risking changes to the PC you are actively using.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/b8/archive/2011 ... ows-8.aspx

Postby cinco » March 7th, 2012, 3:32 pm

hyper V is real toots sorry
its a server role!

Postby Bizzare » March 7th, 2012, 3:36 pm

Wouldn't that significantly slow the OS down? It's running on top a virtual machine...

Postby stev » March 7th, 2012, 3:39 pm

cinco wrote:hyper V is real toots sorry
its a server role!

VMware is better but at least windows wud be able to run a virtual operating systems natively. eg, linux users.

Postby cinco » March 7th, 2012, 3:43 pm

stev wrote:
cinco wrote:hyper V is real toots sorry
its a server role!

VMware is better but at least windows wud be able to run a virtual operating systems natively. eg, linux users.

natively?
but it doesnt support 32bit os makes no sense

Postby stev » March 7th, 2012, 3:47 pm

32 or 64 bit Virtual OS is supported.

http://www.extremetech.com/computing/95 ... ualization

In an interesting twist, Microsoft has confirmed that Windows 8 will feature the first-rate, enterprise-echelon Hyper-V machine virtualization hypervisor. This will mean that Windows 8 users will be able to run almost every other operating system inside a window, including Windows 7 and XP, SUSE and Red Hat Linux, and more (including Ubuntu) with a little hacking. Prior to Windows 8, Hyper-V was only available in Windows Server 2008 or as a standalone OS.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 18th, 2012, 7:27 pm

no more Aero Glass...

Microsoft reveals Windows 8 desktop UI changes, drops Aero Glass

Microsoft has revealed that it has made some big changes to its desktop UI for Windows 8, which includes moving away from Aero Glass — the UI first introduced with Vista. According to the company, this means visual changes that include "flattening surfaces, removing reflections, and scaling back distracting gradients."

Despite all of these changes with the interface, the company doesn't appear to be worried about the issue of "learnability." Instead, Microsoft believes that with a little help it won't take long for users to adapt to the new operating system. "We will help people get off on the right foot," the company explained in a blog post, "and we have confidence that people will quickly find the new paradigms to be second-nature."

While Microsoft admits that there have been some usability issues with certain gestures in the Consumer Preview, the company says that this is not an issue with people coming to grips with the concept, but instead a problem with the early state of the OS — internal builds are already "significantly improved," according to Microsoft, so we should see an easier-to-use Windows 8 when the Release Preview launches next month. The post also packs a great dose of nostalgia, as the team looks back at interface issues dating all the way to Windows 1 in 1985. Be sure to check out the source link below for a trip down memory lane.

Building Windows 8

The Verge

Swisha

Re: Windows 8: Release Preview

Postby Swisha » May 31st, 2012, 5:49 pm

Release Preview now available for download:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/iso

Centric

Windows 8

Postby Centric » July 19th, 2012, 2:18 pm

Anyone knows where I can get a genuine copy of Windows 8?
I tried downloading it but I keep getting Windows 7. Can anyone help me?
Last edited by Centric on July 19th, 2012, 2:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Windows 8

Postby dougla_boy » July 19th, 2012, 2:28 pm

there is a .:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

ask in that thread.......

Postby S_2NR » July 19th, 2012, 2:31 pm

it eh come out yet chupidee

Postby stev » July 19th, 2012, 2:32 pm

u can only get the preview. i think it will be released in October but some microsoft customers can get it as early as end of august.

IBTL