Official BlackBerry Thread

casper

Re: D Official 2010 BlackBerry THREAD

Postby casper » March 4th, 2012, 12:35 pm

Btw....any device can do this not only 8520 it's just 8520 does need it the most cuz of the little RAM it has...u'd need to do run the memory cleaner and "alt" LGLG more on 8520's than other devices specially if ur a heavy bbm user

Postby pioneer » March 4th, 2012, 4:10 pm

casper wha is yuh sister pin?

Postby tr1ad » March 4th, 2012, 5:59 pm

casper
cleaning those event logs, the LGLG method.... only clears about 10kb

casper

Postby casper » March 4th, 2012, 6:18 pm

Well triad if u do the 2 together it makes ur phone run a lot smoother...I didn't know how much it clears up but the performance is significantly better when u do these 2 things tho

Postby S_2NR » March 4th, 2012, 6:20 pm

the best thing to make a blackberry run smoother is a battery pull.

talk done.

casper

Postby casper » March 4th, 2012, 6:27 pm

S_2NR wrote:the best thing to make a blackberry run smoother is a battery pull.

talk done.

Nah...nuh really...do dem ting I posted...it's same exact performance as battery pull but without the inconvenience of having to take of ur phone case and take off d lid and de d battery etc etc...try it u'd see

Postby Trini Hookah » March 4th, 2012, 6:29 pm

I rather take out the battery than type all that. Srs.

Postby tr1ad » March 4th, 2012, 6:30 pm

the auto memory cleaner is good enough, the LGLG really would work on the older models, the ones with trackball

casper

Postby casper » March 4th, 2012, 6:34 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:I rather take out the battery than type all that. Srs.

U don't have to type all that vramps u just doing it once and afterwards the memory cleaner app will be I ur applications folder from the on...so all u need to do is go in ur application folder and click on memory cleaner and it cleans d ram...

casper

Postby casper » March 4th, 2012, 6:35 pm

Keep pulling off ur battery lid wears down ur grooves in d phone itself that hold the battery lid in place and eventually ur lid will end up being loose and u won't be able to do anything bout it unless u change ur entire housing Lolz...so if u rather keep having to do battery pulls then be my guests...I just thought I Wudda help u guys out with a better solution but forget it

Postby S_2NR » March 4th, 2012, 8:15 pm

so this bricking while charging thing is a real problem.
im thinking about going back Blackberry cuz i missing the physical keyboard.

i feel ill just get a 9780. at least i wont have the stress of it bricking.

casper

Postby casper » March 4th, 2012, 8:54 pm

^^^ 9780 is really the safest bet freal...never heard of any bad reviews on those

Postby S_2NR » March 4th, 2012, 10:00 pm

casper...
what made u switch from iphone back to BB?
im thinking about switching back to BB. Even though android is gr8, Blackberry is just better as a communication device with the physical keyboard,BBM,etc. The iphone and android touchscreen phones seem more geared towards multimedia and gaming.

Blackberries are just better as a phone if u know what i mean.
(Referring to Bolds and Torches here, not the sh1tty laggy curve.)

Postby S_2NR » March 4th, 2012, 10:04 pm

casper wrote:Keep pulling off ur battery lid wears down ur grooves in d phone itself that hold the battery lid in place and eventually ur lid will end up being loose and u won't be able to do anything bout it unless u change ur entire housing Lolz...so if u rather keep having to do battery pulls then be my guests...I just thought I Wudda help u guys out with a better solution but forget it

there is a battery pull app.-- simulates a battery pull without physically removing the battery
i had it on my 9780 when i had one.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 4th, 2012, 10:16 pm

For a cold start (battery pull), just press the following keys in succession twice: ALT > CAPS LOCK > DELETE. You cell will reboot.

NO need to ever pull your battery out again.

Postby tr1ad » March 4th, 2012, 11:03 pm

You could also aim for the torch, its still a great device.....

That's the thing about the blackberry, I've had all the other brands, droid, apple etc and would go back to droid, if only the gz one was gsm as it's the gshock of the android phones as I like the droid ui
My first bb was the 7100 t ... 6/7 years ago

But the bb as a communication device, communicator and mobile office on the go works well for me

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 4th, 2012, 11:05 pm

tr1ad wrote:You could also aim for the torch, its still a great device.....

That's the thing about the blackberry, I've had all the other brands, droid, apple etc and would go back to droid, if only the gz one was gsm as it's the gshock of the android phones as I like the droid ui
My first bb was the 7100 t ... 6/7 years ago

But the bb as a communication device, communicator and mobile office on the go works well for me

Which torch tr1ad? 9810 or 9860?

Postby tr1ad » March 4th, 2012, 11:08 pm

Those two as well as the 9800
The 9800 was what I used for a whole year without problems and a good few in the office upgraded to the 9810 & 9860 a few months now without problems
IMO the downsize is a smaller keyboard but you have a much larger screen

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 4th, 2012, 11:37 pm

NorStar2K wrote:For a cold start (battery pull), just press the following keys in succession twice: ALT > CAPS LOCK > DELETE. You cell will reboot.

it nah wok!!

Postby S_2NR » March 4th, 2012, 11:46 pm

speedaholic wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:For a cold start (battery pull), just press the following keys in succession twice: ALT > CAPS LOCK > DELETE. You cell will reboot.

it nah wok!!

Doesn't work on pearl. Only BBs with full keyboard

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 5th, 2012, 12:08 am

tr1ad wrote:Those two as well as the 9800
The 9800 was what I used for a whole year without problems and a good few in the office upgraded to the 9810 & 9860 a few months now without problems

The new OS7 doesn't work well on the 9800 or 9810. You need a QuadCore processor for OS7. I read OS7 slows down even the 9810.

That's why my choice is limited to the 9860 or 9900.

casper

Postby casper » March 5th, 2012, 9:07 am

S_2NR wrote:casper...
what made u switch from iphone back to BB?
im thinking about switching back to BB. Even though android is gr8, Blackberry is just better as a communication device with the physical keyboard,BBM,etc. The iphone and android touchscreen phones seem more geared towards multimedia and gaming.

^^^this is the reason why....iphone is a great multimedia device but if i really want to play a game i'd prefer to use my ps3....if u already have an ipad and use an iphone then everything just feels really redundant...they both basically the same exact thing except for real estate of screen, camera and the fact that one is a phone and the other, a tablet...

ipad2 + any high end BB wins over iphone 4 + ipad2 IMHO...why would u wanna have 2 devices that does the exact same thing rtather than utilizing the best of both worlds??i rarely used my iphone4 for anything else other than making calls and $hitty whatsapp and aso the calculator cuz i dont have time to spend hours playin a game on my phone @ work and when i'm at home i wont play games on it neither cuz i already have d ps3

Postby tr1ad » March 5th, 2012, 11:20 am

norstar

go with the 9900, you wouldn't regret it
if you want the os7, if not the os6 works well on the 9800 9810

Postby foss » March 5th, 2012, 11:25 am

ah want ah 9900... but eh jumping out so much right now.

may just go with a 9780 for now :(

Postby pioneer » March 6th, 2012, 10:28 pm

casper wrote:Hey don't know if y'all know out this but I usually do this for all my friends with 8520's and other BB that Rees a lot and stuff and one of them told me I should post it in here...

To clear up some RAM on ur device to decrease chances of freezing hold "alt" and type L,G,L,G and a setta stuff comes up...it's the log, press menu button and select clear log and clear it....

A next thing to do that's harder is this...OPTIONS>>>SECURITY>>>ADVANCED SECURITY SETTINGS>>>MEMORY CLEANING.....make sure "enabled" is ticked..."clean on idle" at 5 mins and tick "place memory cleaner shortcut on home screen"...after u do this the phone will ask u to reboot...reboot and the loading screen comes up...after it loads up go on ur "applications" folder and u'd see memory cleaner in there...anytime ur phone running sluggish do the "alt" L,G,L,G and run the memory cleaner and ur phone will run as fast as if you've done a battery pull GUARANTEED :)

Good advice here...works great

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » March 8th, 2012, 3:57 pm

From the game developers conference this week.
What is the best gaming peripheral we have seen at GDC? Would you believe it if we said a Blackberry phone?

Yes, SemiAccurate spent yesterday crawling both massive show floors at GDC, and we found one, yes one, innovative peripheral. (Note: The little rubber ducky was cute but not ‘innovative’) It was a Blackberry smartphone running a little app that seems blindingly obvious in hindsight. The app was written by a RIM engineer, coincidentally the same one who owns the hands on the device in the picture below.
D-Pad app, simple but brilliant
The innovation here is made possible by the Blackberry’s tight synchronization with their Playbook tablet. This allows you to open apps and media on the phone, and have it display on the Playbook. You can then use the Blackberry as a remote control for presentations and whatnot. So far, so corporate.

With this little app, instead of a remote mouse pointer, the author turned it in to a D-Pad. Yup, a fully functional touch screen D-Pad as a remote controller for the game running on the Playbook. In the picture above, the big screen is being driven by the Playbook’s HDMI port, but the same concept works for say kids in a car on a road trip.

It is simple, brilliant, and thinking outside the box. Once someone does it, it seems so obvious, but we can’t find anyone that actually did it before now, so hats off to Blackberry engineers for pushing the gaming frontiers. All they need to do now is allow you to customize your controller, and it could make the phone + Playbook combo a nifty gaming platform. Who would have thought anyone would say that about RIM?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 8th, 2012, 9:38 pm

tr1ad wrote:norstar

go with the 9900, you wouldn't regret it
if you want the os7, if not the os6 works well on the 9800 9810

Thanks much

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » March 9th, 2012, 12:05 am

NorStar2K wrote:
tr1ad wrote:Those two as well as the 9800

The new OS7 doesn't work on the 9800 (os6 devices). You need a QuadCore (DUAL CORE)processor for OS7. I read OS7 works great on the 9810.

That's why my choice is limited to the 9860 or 9900.
*fixed

Dont base too much on what you hear/read unless if its from a crackberry/blackberry forum. Not doubting issues but these days ppl talk alotta without fact checking (again not on you, just sayin nuh) btw my personal phone is a 9800 and it wukkin great and its been almost 2yrs heavy abuse... but i see you done make your choice.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » March 9th, 2012, 10:50 am

For sale :
Unlocked Blackberry Bold 2 9700 ...still in Plastic !!!

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=426330

OFFER A REASONABLE PRICE AND ITS YOURS

Postby Gem_in_i » March 12th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Anyone know where in South I can get the full housing for BB9300? And have them do the install.