network inventory software

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2012, 5:05 pm

Anyone knows of inventory software that can gather info from a network which includes Serial numbers of monitors? I've been looking around but haven't found any that pulls that specific information

right now i have to go around to all the monitors, unplug them and write down the serial #- and it's not just head office- I have to do the same for our 12 remote stores :( across the country but they are networked to head office

any help would be appreciated :|

tool-band

Re: network inventory software

Postby tool-band » March 2nd, 2012, 5:10 pm

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2012, 5:26 pm

was hoping it was free- anyway i'll see what i could do with the free version

Postby wagonrunner » March 2nd, 2012, 5:28 pm

*my free advice has no value*
Last edited by wagonrunner on March 2nd, 2012, 8:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » March 2nd, 2012, 6:04 pm

You can try Spiceworks desktop, I,ve been using it for a while and it works for my needs.

Rocker123

Postby Rocker123 » March 2nd, 2012, 6:18 pm

I know a little about this stuff too.

NEWT is free for up to 25 computers and the cost is pretty decent. It doesn't show more than one monitor per system but I heard they're working to detect multiple monitors.

Belarc pulls monitor serial numbers, but it's really expensive unless you're just needing the serial number from one computer, then it's free.

Spiceworks is free (with ads) but has pitiful monitor info. This is what it gives me, no serial number and doesn't even show the model #, just "Default Monitor". Sad.

Plug and Play Monitor Plug and Play Monitor 1200 1920
Default Monitor Default Monitor 480 800

Postby cinco » March 3rd, 2012, 11:49 am

u care about monitors??
spice is awesome free and it links your warranty info with hp and dell
alerts on printer toner levels
and a great forum support

Virus

Postby Virus » March 3rd, 2012, 12:17 pm

Spiceworks

The end..

TK!

Postby TK! » March 3rd, 2012, 1:12 pm

redmanjp wrote:Anyone knows of inventory software that can gather info from a network which includes Serial numbers of monitors? I've been looking around but haven't found any that pulls that specific information

right now i have to go around to all the monitors, unplug them and write down the serial #- and it's not just head office- I have to do the same for our 12 remote stores :( across the country but they are networked to head office

any help would be appreciated :|

keep walking ... lazy IT causes prob like this.

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2012, 1:22 pm

^^ IT eh supposed to make ting easier? :?

I use spiceworks and get a lot of info inc. warranty & toner levels- but no monitor serial #

tried the Newt- im getting serial # but it looks like it's skipping out some digits but I go do wit dat oui- I'm using a trial key to be able to scan 150 computers

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » March 3rd, 2012, 3:45 pm

Lmao he probably installing windows on one pc at a time. Lazy is one thing practical is another.

pseudorandom

Postby pseudorandom » March 4th, 2012, 2:19 am

TK! wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Anyone knows of inventory software that can gather info from a network which includes Serial numbers of monitors? ....:|

IT gets continuously asked to do more and more with less resources. More people get computers, more applications, more complex network, more servers, more things to manage, but no upgrade in IT staff and no budget for management and automation tools. I'm sure while he's running around wasting time taking serial numbers, it have some user who's not getting IT support and complaining about IT lazyness. IT has to keep finding new ways to do things to keep up.

Postby r3iXmann » March 4th, 2012, 7:21 am

pseudorandom wrote:
TK! wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Anyone knows of inventory software that can gather info from a network which includes Serial numbers of monitors? ....:|

IT gets continuously asked to do more and more with less resources. More people get computers, more applications, more complex network, more servers, more things to manage, but no upgrade in IT staff and no budget for management and automation tools. I'm sure while he's running around wasting time taking serial numbers, it have some user who's not getting IT support and complaining about IT lazyness. IT has to keep finding new ways to do things to keep up.

then on the flip side you have some "IT men" who are lazy as ferk and spend their entire workday playing the ass online or gaming or whatever. tek wuk iymc