Official BlackBerry Thread

bigga514

Re: D Official 2010 BlackBerry THREAD

Postby bigga514 » February 21st, 2012, 1:42 pm

BlackBerry bridge now let's you use ya bb keyboard as a mouse and keyboard on anything but apple products apparently...

Typing this using it on my playbook...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » February 21st, 2012, 6:30 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
pioneer wrote:Can whatsapp run without a data plan?

If so...how to config it?

Right now it only works if i connect via wifi

No, it needs full data/wifi.

nope, it only needs data to register

after that, you can use it with either data or wifi

found that out the hard way once :|

Postby S_2NR » February 21st, 2012, 6:41 pm

gf has whatsapp and it only works on wifi , she does not have a data plan, she used wifi to register also.
i have data and wifi and whatsapp works on both independently.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 21st, 2012, 6:42 pm

@biggy Isn't that what I said? Full data (not to be mistaken with Social plans) and/or wifi?

Because I know BB users on the "Social" plan that don't receive my messages until they're in range of their router.

I registered mine on wifi as well before I had my edge.

Postby S_2NR » February 21st, 2012, 6:46 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:@biggy Isn't that what I said? Full data (not to be mistaken with Social plans) and/or wifi?

Because I know BB users on the "Social" plan that don't receive my messages until they're in range of their router.

I registered mine on wifi as well before I had my edge.

correct.
however i have a social plan on my nexus s and everything works, even whatsapp without wifi.

for a BB, i think it depends on your service books.
those are sent by TSTT when u sign up and dictate which services work and which do not.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » February 23rd, 2012, 4:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:gf has whatsapp and it only works on wifi , she does not have a data plan, she used wifi to register also.
i have data and wifi and whatsapp works on both independently.

dunno how that happened. when i was in Africa and updated Whatsapp, it didnt want to register the phone (GSM system). as soon as i got to Germany i tried to register it again in the lounge with WiFi; same result. only after i turned the antenna on then it registered. i was then able to turn off the antenna and use Whatsapp with the WiFi only

@vramp: sorry boss; didnt realize the slash meant either-or

Postby tr1ad » February 23rd, 2012, 4:32 pm

all that to say yuh does travel hoss?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 23rd, 2012, 7:23 pm

^^^ rotfl

casper

Postby casper » February 24th, 2012, 10:38 am

tr1ad wrote:all that to say yuh does travel hoss?

win!!!!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » February 24th, 2012, 5:54 pm

tr1ad wrote:all that to say yuh does travel hoss?

since yuh deport mih from Guyana, i had to go somewhere :oops:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 24th, 2012, 6:35 pm

biggy82 wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:
pioneer wrote:Can whatsapp run without a data plan?

If so...how to config it?

Right now it only works if i connect via wifi

No, it needs full data/wifi.

nope, it only needs data to register

after that, you can use it with either data or wifi

found that out the hard way once :|

Doesn't need it.
Registered mines with wifi alone.

Postby pioneer » February 24th, 2012, 10:55 pm

But when i switch off wifi...it doesn't work...messages don't go tru

Postby Trini Hookah » February 24th, 2012, 11:07 pm

That's what we said pioneer, you need either wifi or full EDGE access for it to work.

A social plan doesn't work.

Postby pioneer » February 24th, 2012, 11:12 pm

oar chinee tie up meh head dey

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » February 27th, 2012, 10:03 pm

PlayBook Appworld just get flooded... thousands of new apps...

Postby Trini Hookah » March 1st, 2012, 6:23 pm

BB OS 7's bbm runs over wifi too right guys? Took my data/mobile service off and realised I was still receiving and sending bbm's.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 1st, 2012, 7:31 pm

where could i get a 9300 back plate to buy?

casper

Postby casper » March 1st, 2012, 8:37 pm

Must come in here and comment on this...

I previously owned a white 9780 BB which I then "upgraded" to an iphone 4 last year september only to sell that and truely upgrade to a BB 9810 and I must say I don't regret the day I did it :D

I know a lot ah ppl gonna think I crazy for saying this but 9810 > iphone4 anyday :shock: ...good going RIM...wifi on 9810 is even faster than d iphone 4 too...(My personal experience)

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » March 1st, 2012, 8:39 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:BB OS 7's bbm runs over wifi too right guys? Took my data/mobile service off and realised I was still receiving and sending bbm's.

Yep was reading bout that on crackberry btw wats ur battery life wit the os7??

Postby Trini Hookah » March 1st, 2012, 8:39 pm

I'm not enjoying Angry Pigs one bit.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 1st, 2012, 8:42 pm

jeevdude199 wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:BB OS 7's bbm runs over wifi too right guys? Took my data/mobile service off and realised I was still receiving and sending bbm's.

Only got it a couple days now honestly, and I disabled auto-dim and left the brightness at 40-50%, constant BBM and other background apps I'm getting about 30 hrs.

Will experiment more and comment what's my max. You on OS7 as well?

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » March 1st, 2012, 8:47 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
jeevdude199 wrote:

Only got it a couple days now honestly, and I disabled auto-dim and left the brightness at 40-50%, constant BBM and other background apps I'm getting about 30 hrs.

Will experiment more and comment what's my max. You on OS7 as well?

I'm going to buy a 9860 in a few weeks time reading reviews and the only cause for concern is the battery life

Postby Trini Hookah » March 1st, 2012, 8:49 pm

It lasts a full day out though, you won't have to worry about charging until you get home.

And little to no glitches so far.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » March 1st, 2012, 8:54 pm

arite cool well no cause for concern then thanks :)

Postby tr1ad » March 1st, 2012, 9:06 pm

Once data was used to activate bbm it will work over data, you should check crack berry for a hybrid, better battery life on the os7 devices with that hybrid

casper

Postby casper » March 1st, 2012, 9:13 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:It lasts a full day out though, you won't have to worry about charging until you get home.

And little to no glitches so far.

Vramps...OS7 devices won't really glitch cuz they have beefed up hardware compared to the other devices...if I'm not mistaken only the devices that are with OS7 are the ones running the OS...u can't do a software upgrade with the other handsets to OS7...only goes up to OS6 cuz of hardware requirements...

My battery life on the torch 2 lasts much longer than my iPhone 4 did and I on bbm right through ...for such a physically small battery compared to the bold battery it really last long

Postby tr1ad » March 1st, 2012, 9:18 pm

Actually there are cases of glitches with os7 devices, even bricking of devices overnight
Nothing is perfect especially when mass produced

On leaked 7.1 os I experienced horrible battery life, by noon I'd have to charge, so I switched back to a older hybrid I was using with older 7.1 cods, radio etc

I have a full 16 hrs of battery life on my 9900
Been on this 9900 a few months well and so far so good

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » March 1st, 2012, 9:24 pm

could u charge a bb overnight? Reading that it bricks some phones when left to charge overnight

Postby Trini Hookah » March 1st, 2012, 9:29 pm

My android charges every night while I sleep, but the BB I ensure it's charged and put down before bed.

And casper I didn't mean OS glitches, usual torch glitches with the accelerometer on the Torch. Any way to turn off the homescreen rotation?

Postby tr1ad » March 1st, 2012, 9:29 pm

I always leave mine plugged in at night... No probes thus far....
It's a hit and a miss

Also I have my backlight set to 10%