Granite kitchen countertops help

dgobo

Granite kitchen countertops help

Postby dgobo » September 11th, 2011, 10:03 pm

I’m in the process of renovating my home and i would like to install granite counters in the new kitchen, im sure theirs lots of you that did it before and could hopefully give me some advice on where and whom to buy/install from ????

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thabks dudes

homeboy

Re: Granite kitchen countertops help

Postby homeboy » September 12th, 2011, 12:40 am

I am looking for the same.

I went to CP's plumbing in Duncan village, they sell the Granite and also have someone who installs for their costumers. I got the number for the the guy, if you want i will PM you it but i never met the guy as i still in the "make up mind" process.

ABS in POS also has a large selection to choose from and they also have an installer, the guy their showed me some work that the installer does and it really is good work. Price i don't know.

Postby eliteauto » September 12th, 2011, 12:52 am

Watts Plumbing 663-7095, located in Tunapuna, just did a kitchen for me with granite countertop, mosaic tile backsplash, Delta faucet etc

Postby Monk BANzai » September 12th, 2011, 1:47 am

...also Elegant Bathrooms (yes they also stock Kitchen Counter tops)....currently doing work on one of my apartments.....

Tel: 646-0136, 642-2093/7136; fax 642-9134

Ask for Roger....

Postby 16 cycles » September 12th, 2011, 6:55 am

in the same boat...

was looking around for an installer but haven't gotten around to it as yet...

came across..

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Bisapp-Gr ... 571?v=info

^details in link

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 12th, 2011, 7:27 am

roopnarine hardware also sells, i'm sure they will have a list of contractors or even a preferred contractor.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » September 12th, 2011, 7:31 am

Precast concrete services in Santa Cruz,

they were one of the first in the business and to be honest they are the BEST, they sell, custom work and install their work, and its the BEST in the industry.

Postby Greypatch » September 12th, 2011, 8:12 am

there is a place in marabella next to the supermarket...
good prices..installer...really nice ppl

homeboy

Postby homeboy » September 12th, 2011, 8:21 am

Greypatch wrote:there is a place in marabella next to the supermarket...
good prices..installer...really nice ppl

A little more details they Patch, which supermarket?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 12th, 2011, 10:38 am

abc distributors in san juan have , 1 of d cheapest sellers i have seen so far

however d price of some locally is rather cheap compared to what u see ppl paying for it on shows on HGTV , i suspect some of it is not natural slabs but pieces caste together to form sheets aka "man-made granite\engineered stone" ...

Postby Greypatch » September 12th, 2011, 10:53 am

was 8+ years ago...just by JTA me thinks..

nick009

Postby nick009 » September 12th, 2011, 8:31 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:abc distributors in san juan have , 1 of d cheapest sellers i have seen so far

however d price of some locally is rather cheap compared to what u see ppl paying for it on shows on HGTV , i suspect some of it is not natural slabs but pieces caste together to form sheets aka "man-made granite\engineered stone" ...

i believe there are different grades of granite, this is probably the lower grade, think it goes from a to d or something so a granite guy told me

Postby brams112 » September 12th, 2011, 8:57 pm

most of what i am seeing is man made stuff,,,granite is very heavy,solid and unique,,,,and come in slabs as some one stated,,,,,

assassin

Postby assassin » September 12th, 2011, 10:36 pm

i'm in the market for granite countertops too
don't really like the look of the engineered ones... doh want no "magenite" and sheit lol

the cost difference for the granite is largely due to slab thickness. some use a thinner slab with a ply backing. I think the thicker slab can span the cupboard tops without the ply beneath it.

couls some of u guys post pics of the ones you have please???

dgobo

Postby dgobo » September 15th, 2011, 6:26 am

thanks guys.

Postby pioneer » February 27th, 2012, 6:30 pm

eliteauto wrote:Watts Plumbing 663-7095, located in Tunapuna, just did a kitchen for me with granite countertop, mosaic tile backsplash, Delta faucet etc

More info on this?...was it tiles or a single slab of granite?

Pics?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 27th, 2012, 7:20 pm

Carribbean Granite....

Postby pioneer » February 27th, 2012, 7:22 pm

wey dem is

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 27th, 2012, 7:34 pm

Ill get a number

Postby brams112 » February 27th, 2012, 7:45 pm

is the real stuff caribbean granite selling ???skid?

Postby nervewrecker » February 27th, 2012, 7:50 pm

ummm...what to cut these slabs with? diamond tip blade on an angle grinder will work?

I just saw the thread & thought I will ask, have some work to do but not right now.

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 27th, 2012, 10:27 pm

OP, check the front page of the Express classifieds. When we remodeled our kitchen 2 years ago there were a lot of granite ads! If you're looking at granite tiles, most reputable stores would have now. Tazmool Hosein and Sons in Marabella had some really nice ones at reasonable prices. You could get the slab countertop look for a lot less by using the tiles. Just don't use spacers, place them right up to each other. I did this with porcelain tiles and up to today people ask if it's granite whenever they see it. :D

nervewrecker, on HGTV I saw them using both angle grinders and circular saws. They advise putting masking or painter's tape above the line you cutting so the edges of slab don't get chipped, and also let water trickle from a hose on the blade. Of course you could just use a wetsaw, but you might not get much maneuverability with a big slab. Not sure what type of blade though but most hardwares would be able to advise you. I used a regular tile cutting blade on an angle grinder for the porcelain.

Postby RBphoto » February 28th, 2012, 7:00 am

Grinite kinda hard to maintain eh. I looking into getting Quartz if i have to do this again. Worth looking into.

Postby r3iXmann » February 28th, 2012, 8:13 am

crossdrilled wrote:Grinite kinda hard to maintain eh. I looking into getting Quartz if i have to do this again. Worth looking into.

Hard to maintain how? In what sense exactly, i e

Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 28th, 2012, 8:15 am

Yeah it does require some maintenance, but it's not that bad imho. I wonder if the granite tiles require resealing like the slabs do?

Postby 16 cycles » February 28th, 2012, 8:16 am

cover everything with plastic / tape up including inside the cupboards - the dust from cutting is alot -

diamond blades are typically used and you get a better finish with a wet-type cutting process - especially where slabs need to be joined - a very small chip at a joint shows up on lighter slabs...

in addition, there are stones of different grades, attached to angle grinders, that installers use to 'finish' the edges with + polish...

make sure your cupboards / surface is level before install to make levelling the slab easier..

as for caring for it....there are sealants that you can apply once or twice a year
e.g. miracle sealant (home depot)

installation and cutting is expensive

Postby RBphoto » February 28th, 2012, 12:37 pm

Granite is porus. No matter how well you think it is sealed, it can be water stained. Granite may be hard, but it can chip and pit with wear. A pit on a well sealed surface shows up very badly. Thing is, if you look to put some super golssy permanent seal, it makes the surface look fake, then what is the point of the Granite "look"? I just think it will not work out in a kitchen where you cook evry day and the surface is privy to pots, iron spoon and other things knocking it all the time, as is the case with me. We used Granite tiles by the way... much cheaper. Our tile man cut them at his home then brought them so I not too sure how he prepared them or if he used a special tool.

Postby r3iXmann » February 28th, 2012, 12:45 pm

hmm..interesting

function over form

Postby nervewrecker » February 28th, 2012, 12:46 pm

I think they cut the tiles with the wet saw.

I will try angle grinder & plenty water.
Will a low viscoty oil (higher viscoty than water) work as a lubricant & cool the blade properly?

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 28th, 2012, 5:19 pm

I believe the factories and professionals who prepare the slabs use high pressure water jets to cut them, so water shouldn't be an issue imo. Never heard of anyone using oil, but as crossdrilled pointed out, the oil may cause staining.
I feel the more important factor here is the type of blade that should be used...