Australian Beasts......

triniboy

Australian Beasts......

Postby triniboy » March 29th, 2010, 2:33 am

now being sought after by VMCOTT

The Vehicle Maintenance Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago (VMCOTT) has quietly issued a tender for the supply of 50 new sedan vehicles for the Police Service.

Originally issued on March 10 with a deadline submission date just one week later on March 17, the tender has upset local auto dealers, who are complaining that it effectively excludes them from participating in the tender and ultimately being unable to supply the cars which will be used for highway patrols and high-speed chases between police and suspected criminals.

The tender was not publicly advertised as is normally the case but was forwarded to local and foreign automobile dealers, VMCOTT confirmed to the Express last week.

The tender was eventually extended and closed on March 25.

Local car dealers, who supplied luxury SUVs for two international business and government conferences last year, said the new tender package seemed more ’unusual’ in that vehicle specifications listed seem to identify only one car that meets the criteria to win the package to supply the Police Service.

FAVOURITE: Australian-made Holden Commodore.

After looking at the specifications last week, sources in the industry suggested that only the Holden car company in Australia has a vehicle - the Commodore sedan - which meets the tender specifications.

Contacted for comment, Philip Knaggs, president of the Automobile Dealers Association of Trinidad and Tobago (ADATT), said: ’From an ADATT perspective, I cannot understand how it is possible that a Government agency can write a tender document that, for no needed reason, excludes all the major automobile manufacturers. I personally have not seen the tender advertised to all via the media, and I also know that all local dealers were not contacted by VMCOTT. Why the exclusion? Why single out a particular brand and model that is not supported locally? Why single out a brand that is not even known to be a large-scale producer of highway patrol vehicles? From an ADATT perspective we would need multiple clarifications from VMCOTT. All of this seems highly unusual. ’

It makes it difficult for local dealers to effectively compete, he suggested.

But VMCOTT chief executive Joel Browne last week told the Express last Tuesday that the tender package was designed to find vehicles that were ’purpose-built’ for the demands of police work.

’One of the things with this tender is that the vehicles will have the power and speed to undertake high-speed chases, will have a high safety rating and will have the technology that gives the ability to stabilise the vehicle,’ he told the Express by phone.

He said VMCOTT did its research and looked at the vehicles British and American police officers used.

Although it was not advertised, Browne said the tender went to the major local auto dealers and overseas.

copyright Trinidad express.

URL=http://img248.imageshack.us/i/bolgerimgp1480mc.jpg/]Image[/URL]

Postby Mark! » March 29th, 2010, 2:44 am

awwwwwww thought this ched was abt

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 29th, 2010, 6:45 am

I saw Australian Breasts......

1disappoint

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 29th, 2010, 7:32 am

i expect the police to crash 1 within the 1st 3months testing out the top speed.

Postby AllTrac » March 29th, 2010, 7:39 am

I expect to find them parked up for repairs within weeks, the mech here might not even know their way around it, they would try to work up ah sr20 alternator

Postby crazybalhead » March 29th, 2010, 7:44 am

1writeoff.

Postby janfar » March 29th, 2010, 7:45 am

1streetdex

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » March 29th, 2010, 7:49 am

En't....they cyah even handle a lil Ranger....they want fast muscle car
now....anyhow when they auctioning off dem in the next 3 years or
so i buying 2 yes... :D ...i loves muscle cars....them Holden is the
closest thing to the Pontiac GTO's...

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » March 29th, 2010, 7:56 am

1Driftmachine

Postby buzz » March 29th, 2010, 8:03 am

[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » March 29th, 2010, 8:15 am

Wayyyyys.....thats Australian too.....they bringing that down here

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 29th, 2010, 8:26 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:I saw Australian Breasts......

1disappoint

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 29th, 2010, 8:28 am

the police cyah even drive manual them wha fas car :|

i'll bet anything its the dotish ones ..yuh know the ones who look at yuh intercooler and ask WHAT THAT FOR? THAT CAR COME WITH THAT? will be rushing to drive those cars....they jus jealous after all :arrow:

we all know for sure if those cars last 2 weeks on the road it last long :mrgreen:

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 29th, 2010, 8:39 am

eets true.
They're gonna be trained by this guy:

Postby 16 cycles » March 29th, 2010, 8:47 am

remembered seeing an evo 7 police car many yrs ago in centre of excellence car show....what ever happened to it?

they could prob take less money and restore the red gtA parked for yrs now as well as the rx*/evo3/celicas and run as police cars

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » March 29th, 2010, 9:57 am

Yeah...dem evo's and gtr's just wasting away in sealots..... :cry:
and that celica gts...god damn...teasing me for years now...only saw one
of those here a yellow one..like this

was my neigbours man car....the facker had a sweet r34 gtr v spec too
in black.....

when i used to see that park up in front my house i was like :mrgreen:
but she migrate to Canada now...so no more GTR and Celica gts

netsket

Postby netsket » March 29th, 2010, 10:02 am

i wonder if Austal had any part in this unscrupulous deal-making?

Postby rollingstock » March 29th, 2010, 1:30 pm

That's the $HIT right there!

Re: Australian Beasts......

Postby rfari » February 26th, 2012, 10:14 pm

Bump. Saw one heading east this evening. No pics tho

Postby nervewrecker » February 26th, 2012, 10:20 pm

police car?

Postby gastly369 » February 26th, 2012, 10:27 pm

RS gonna be ballin :|

Postby rfari » February 26th, 2012, 10:29 pm

nervewrecker wrote:police car?

Yup. PCU plates. Cruising taking dey time. RS might be able to confirm how long the vehicles have been here

Postby nervewrecker » February 26th, 2012, 10:31 pm

look how I gonna look to get arrested. I want a ride.

EXODUS

Re:

Postby EXODUS » February 26th, 2012, 10:36 pm

Zeriam wrote:i expect the police to crash 1 within the 1st 3months testing out the top speed.

jus like pcu 313 ent

Postby rfari » February 26th, 2012, 10:39 pm

I off tmmrw. Might pass la horquetta station and see if I get some photos

Postby SUPAstarr » February 26th, 2012, 10:42 pm

from the car park, posted by Kurmaman 10.02.12

Postby Trini Hookah » February 26th, 2012, 10:51 pm

rfari wrote:Bump. Saw one heading east this evening. No pics tho

It's a beaut, always see it around Mt. Hope.

And Police doh make joke driving with that nuh.

Postby rfari » February 26th, 2012, 10:52 pm

Not bad. I need to get out more

Postby Habit7 » February 26th, 2012, 11:00 pm

They look like they have a lot of muscle. Also saw the interior of one some weeks ago, very cushy.

They really need more purpose built police cars, these VIP Summit vehicles with sirens cant take a good beating.