The next possible gov't cover-up

Postby Habit7 » February 23rd, 2012, 10:42 am

Police probe: Minister drives over woman's foot
By Akile Simon
Story Created: Feb 23, 2012 at 1:52 AM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 23, 2012 at 1:52 AM ECT
A Government Minister is at the centre of a police investigation after a vehicle he was driving struck and injured a San Juan woman in Port of Spain on Carnival Monday.
Marlene Williams, who celebrated her 36th birthday yesterday, told the Express that after the vehicle rolled over her foot, the minister reportedly refused to stop to render assistance.
In fact, Williams is claiming that the minister appeared to be intoxicated and was reportedly chased by a police officer on a motorcycle.
Williams said she had completed working with a Jouvert band and was making her way south along Maraval Road when the vehicle struck her foot.
"After it hit me I fell over on another van and it had a lot of people who saw what happened and they attended to me. It also had a policeman coming up on a (motorcycle) bike and he saw what happened and he attempted to stop the man."
"The man (minister) slowed down, and just continue driving and the officer chased behind him and then he stopped," Williams said.
She added it was not until her husband ran towards the vehicle where it was eventually pulled over that they realised a Government Minister was the driver of the vehicle.
Williams added that on the night when she was interviewed, the officer investigating the case told her that the Minister reported to him that he believed the mirror of his vehicle had struck a pedestrian.
She said she was concerned that the Minister was not administered the breathalyser test by police and the fact that he did not see it fit to stop and assist her.
"He drove off and never stopped because it seemed like he don't care and that is not fair. I hear they trying to cover it up but that won't happen. I won't sit by and allow it to happen because I must get justice for this," Williams said.
A report lodged at the St Clair Police Station by the investigating officer states that around 10.05 a.m. on Monday, the Minister was proceeding south along Maraval Road, near Rust Street, when his vehicle came into contact with Williams.
Williams, of 51 Quarry Road, San Juan, was subsequently taken for medical treatment at the Port of Spain General Hospital and later discharged. The report does not state Williams' or the Minister's account of the accident.
The mother of a 15-year-old schoolboy said she sustained a fractured foot, which is painful and is unable to walk properly or return to her job since the incident.
Several calls to the Minister's cell phone for a response to the allegation went unanswered yesterday.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Pol ... 03043.html

uncle sam

Re: The next possible gov't cover-up

Postby uncle sam » February 23rd, 2012, 10:52 am

2 grand and she never existed...

Postby sliderz1 » February 23rd, 2012, 10:52 am

why no names?

Postby Bizzare » February 23rd, 2012, 10:55 am

<insert obvious question here>

Postby K74T » February 23rd, 2012, 10:58 am

Woman: Vasant drove over my feet

Thursday, February 23 2012

ST CLAIR Police are probing a report made by a 34-year-old San Juan woman that she suffered

injuries to her feet after being run over by a vehicle driven by Minister of Food Production, Land and Marine Affairs Vasant Bharath on Carnival Monday.

The woman told police that at about midday on Monday she was walking along Maraval Road

when the Minister reportedly ran over her feet. She said she sought medical attention at the Port-of-Spain General Hospital and then reported the matter to the police. Newsday understands that Bharath also lodged a report at the Woodbrook Police Station later that day.

Sargeant Walker of the St Clair Police Station is continuing enquiries.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/crime_and_court/0,155768.html

Postby sliderz1 » February 23rd, 2012, 11:01 am

oogoooarrrr ent daiz allyuh goodey two shoes ministah dawdi?

tork nah

1cyak

Postby teems1 » February 23rd, 2012, 11:02 am

K74T wrote:
Woman: Vasant drove over my feet

Thursday, February 23 2012

ST CLAIR Police are probing a report made by a 34-year-old San Juan woman that she suffered

injuries to her feet after being run over by a vehicle driven by Minister of Food Production, Land and Marine Affairs Vasant Bharath on Carnival Monday.

The woman told police that at about midday on Monday she was walking along Maraval Road

when the Minister reportedly ran over her feet. She said she sought medical attention at the Port-of-Spain General Hospital and then reported the matter to the police. Newsday understands that Bharath also lodged a report at the Woodbrook Police Station later that day.

Sargeant Walker of the St Clair Police Station is continuing enquiries.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/crime_and_court/0,155768.html

it appears he did everything he was supposed it

smh @ op's misleading topic.

Postby S_2NR » February 23rd, 2012, 11:04 am

hmmm..d porsche wukkin!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 23rd, 2012, 11:09 am

she shud feel nice dat a Porsche mash she hoof .... :lol:

j\k eh ....

Postby Team Loco » February 23rd, 2012, 11:09 am

i say BS. she put she foot in de way

Postby 1UZFE » February 23rd, 2012, 11:14 am

(...Rovin...) wrote:she shud feel nice dat a Porsche mash she hoof .... :lol:

^^^ :lol:
No Breathylser = No Charge.
Maraval Road has pavement!!! Wat d fak u doing on the road while cyar passing u is a crapaud....

j\k eh ....

Xplode

Postby Xplode » February 23rd, 2012, 11:18 am

what she doing walking in the road and not the pavement,no claim.

Postby Habit7 » February 23rd, 2012, 11:19 am

teems1 wrote:it appears he did everything he was supposed it

I thought the Express article was bite size enough for you to read and understand the obvious cover up in that he tried to escape from the incident had it not been for the police on patrol and that possibly a breathalyser test was not administered. However in this internet age, coupled with the lack of English comprehension in schools it does not surprize me that this would allude you. I however choose to believe that it is just your political affiliation that is blinding you.

P.S. the only difference between the 2 articles is that one named the minister, possibly they now have the cojones to start attacking the gov't having themselves been attacked by them.

Postby Bizzare » February 23rd, 2012, 11:19 am

Sounds like a bacchanalist who deliberately put her foot in the way to get a lil "tush" to make ah scene and make ah morney. :roll:

Postby crazybalhead » February 23rd, 2012, 11:23 am

Habit7 wrote:

I thought the Express article was bite size enough for you to read and understand the obvious cover up in that he tried to escape from the incident had it not been for the police on patrol and that possibly a breathalyser test was not administered. However in this internet age, coupled with the lack of English comprehension in schools it does not surprize me that this would allude you. I however choose to believe that it is just your political affiliation that is blinding you.

P.S. the only difference between the 2 articles is that one named the minister, possibly they now have the cojones to start attacking the gov't having themselves been attacked by them.

What???

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » February 23rd, 2012, 11:23 am

her nanny was wet after jouvert
she wanted ah man driving a Porsche to take her home

Postby S_2NR » February 23rd, 2012, 11:24 am

unless he was driving on the pavement. firetruck she.
stupid trinis with their "bounce meh nah" attitude

Postby RBphoto » February 23rd, 2012, 11:25 am

Am I the only one who smiled when I read Sargeant Walker investigating?

Anyway...even if they charge the minister... they should charge her for not being on the pavement. Too much people want to walk like they own the road.

Postby 1UZFE » February 23rd, 2012, 11:28 am

Sure the Minister didn't feel anything when he ran over the feet...

RICHFOREVER

Postby RICHFOREVER » February 23rd, 2012, 11:29 am

crazybalhead wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

I thought the Express article was bite size enough for you to read and understand the obvious cover up in that he tried to escape from the incident had it not been for the police on patrol and that possibly a breathalyser test was not administered. However in this internet age, coupled with the lack of English comprehension in schools it does not SURPRISE me that this would ELUDE you. I however choose to believe that it is just your political affiliation that is blinding you.

What???

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 23rd, 2012, 11:37 am

Habit7 wrote:

I must ask, have you ever driven a vehicle through the streets of POS during carnival?

Postby Habit7 » February 23rd, 2012, 11:39 am

SiR8081

Re: Habit7 is a kyat

Postby SiR8081 » February 23rd, 2012, 11:44 am

sliderz1 wrote:why no names?

The newspaper is not supposed to print any name(s) unless the accused is formally charged with the crime in court.

crazybalhead wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

What???

Please do not dispute Habit7's neutrality. Where were you anyway Habit7? You accompanied Manning on his trip overseas or what?

Are you also saying that the Newsday was right to publish the name of the minor in the case where his head was flushed down the toilet without his father's permission as the child's legal guardian. The reporter and the editor should have been held accountable by the DPP, TTPS and Ministry of Gender, Youth Affairs and Child Development. The same should happen here for publishing the Minister's name without him being formally charged in court.

Are you saying that Andre Bagoo was right to publish the whole issue with the Integrity Commission in contravention of the Integrity in Public Life Act when he knowingly did so?

Are you saying different strokes for different folks where the TTPS should not have acted where a crime was allegedly committed b/c it is against the media or is it b/c it is against the gov't?

Go eat yuh curried balisier with dasheen and hush yuh kyat.

Postby Habit7 » February 23rd, 2012, 11:53 am

I understand the “bounce me nah” attitude of certain pedestrians in this country. But even if I bounce a dog in a residential neighbourhood I would stop and look out for a potential owner far less if it was a human being. I have had to hit pedestrians with my side view mirror on several occasions, even once while someone was one the pavement but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t stop and show some concern about their wellbeing. So even if one the highest public servants was to hit or even knock me down while I am errantly walking in the road, I think it is an obligation for him to stop and render assistance. Especially since it is a vehicle either sponsored or subsidized by me a taxpayer.

Secondly, it is inherently obvious that any driver involved in any vehicle collision on Carnival Monday or Tuesday should be given a breathalyzer test. But, all of us are equal, just some more than others.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » February 23rd, 2012, 12:05 pm

While I can't condone absent minded driving, I'm yet to see what the rant is about.

Habit7, did the minister do anything illegal? Or has he followed protocol in reporting the incident and leaving it to Police for investigation?

If he has not reported it....then UDFR with he (i.e. the minister) - he should be penalised/charged /whatever.

If he HAS reported it to the appropriate Police station....then, may I suggest some ENOS...or even Nexium for you?

Habit7 wrote:I think it is an obligation for him to stop and render assistance. Especially since it is a vehicle either sponsored or subsidized by me a taxpayer.

Well yes agreed! It's good practice...and common sense.

sliderz wrote:oogoooarrrr ent daiz allyuh goodey two shoes ministah dawdi?

Only for the blind. The only bigger waste of time than Vasant is Rambachan (both are in the anti-Warner crew...ent?)

As for Vasant....jeez I can't stand the faux "Bas" accent.

Postby RBphoto » February 23rd, 2012, 12:21 pm

So... who say the oman was looking for ah morney?

Postby Greypatch » February 23rd, 2012, 12:21 pm

will follow this story

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 23rd, 2012, 12:23 pm

S_2NR wrote:unless he was driving on the pavement. firetruck she.
stupid trinis with their "bounce meh nah" attitude

:stupid:

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 23rd, 2012, 12:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:I understand the “bounce me nah” attitude of certain pedestrians in this country. But even if I bounce a dog in a residential neighbourhood I would stop and look out for a potential owner far less if it was a human being. I have had to hit pedestrians with my side view mirror on several occasions, even once while someone was one the pavement but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t stop and show some concern about their wellbeing. So even if one the highest public servants was to hit or even knock me down while I am errantly walking in the road, I think it is an obligation for him to stop and render assistance. Especially since it is a vehicle either sponsored or subsidized by me a taxpayer.

Secondly, it is inherently obvious that any driver involved in any vehicle collision on Carnival Monday or Tuesday should be given a breathalyzer test. But, all of us are equal, just some more than others.

I must ask, have you ever driven a vehicle through the streets of POS during carnival?

Postby eliteauto » February 23rd, 2012, 1:06 pm

given where and when the incident occurred I could believe Minister Bharat did not know he ran over her foot, however panic and arrogance sometimes lead to stupidity and again I can forgive him that, what he should have done when he was informed of it was to render aid and take her/ have her taken to the hospital, visited her and spoken to her husband, even offer some financial aid if necessary. That way there would be no issue, he would have accepted responsibility and used the media spin in his favor whilst highlighting it was an accident for which she really has no claim. This incident required tact and common sense, these guys need to learn from Faud Khan and Moonilal, even Devant and Errol Mc Leod have been doing good PR work of late