WTG: good wood

ado15mk3

WTG: good wood

Postby ado15mk3 » February 21st, 2012, 9:29 pm

looking to get some good (square and straight), finished wood to make a bookshelf.
need 1"x12" board.
last time i buy from a big hardware wood was wet and warped.
i know i could rip ply but that takes a while. ply is my last resort.
want to just cut to size and then nail/screw :wink:

what do you diy ppl use and where do you get it?
PS: all perverts/drunks need not respond :?

jus kidding, but at least leave some advice :lol:

thunder7554

Re: WTG: good wood

Postby thunder7554 » February 21st, 2012, 9:32 pm

M.D.F. Yo...easy to work with and finishes good...
even the two sided.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2012, 9:32 pm

I see most people using MDF to make bookshelves these days...relatively cheap.

Postby gastly369 » February 21st, 2012, 9:33 pm

awaits RS comments

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » February 21st, 2012, 9:34 pm

mdf good but dont give quality finish like teak

Postby rfari » February 21st, 2012, 9:36 pm

^^ yup. OP gonna geh raped. Sorry

Postby Ted_v2 » February 21st, 2012, 9:37 pm

gastly369 wrote:awaits RS comments

seconded

Postby supercharged turbo » February 21st, 2012, 9:41 pm

gastly369 wrote:awaits RS comments

x3

Postby MG Man » February 21st, 2012, 9:43 pm

ado15mk3 wrote:looking to get some good (square and straight), finished wood to make a bookshelf.
need 1"x12" board.
last time i buy from a big hardware wood was wet and warped.
i know i could rip ply but that takes a while. ply is my last resort.
want to just cut to size and then nail/screw :wink:

what do you diy ppl use and where do you get it?
PS: all perverts/drunks need not respond :?

jus kidding, but at least leave some advice :lol:

just check around, and have a look at a hardware's stock before you buy

Postby rollingstock » February 21st, 2012, 9:44 pm

I shall comment then :roll:

op the mdf is your most cos efficient choice, very easy to work with also, can be stained to replicate hard wood or painted to suit your style.

BUT: It cannot get wet, it will swell, also it warps if a lot of weight is put on it without sufficient bracing.

Hope that helps.

PS if you want a hands on demonstration on the working of good wood i would gladly facilitate you.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 21st, 2012, 9:59 pm

thanks for the advice so far.
but I looking for a shortcut.
I think it takes a lot of time to rip 4x8 properly.

mg: that's what I need 2 do. where has d best stock.
rs: I can work my own wood well enough, thanks

Postby MG Man » February 21st, 2012, 10:07 pm

try the usual suspects: bhagwansingh's

fabulous1

Postby fabulous1 » February 21st, 2012, 10:16 pm

check house of marketing they will have what you want

Postby nervewrecker » February 21st, 2012, 10:21 pm

mdf + fiberglass resin = pretty brittle mdf & is more or less water tolerant.

I have read of using a 50:50 wood glue & water mixture to seal the surfaces & get one that can be sanded & painted easily (water tolerant too).
Last edited by nervewrecker on February 21st, 2012, 10:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » February 21st, 2012, 10:33 pm

lol 'ah swizzle stick?' comes to mind... :)

Goolie

Postby Goolie » February 21st, 2012, 10:54 pm

i got some good 1" x 10" to make my bookshelf.. just the regular hardware down the road :|

looked pretty good for me after i sanded and sprayed it with dark oak ;)

Postby nervewrecker » February 21st, 2012, 11:04 pm

you have a one inch bookshelf hoss? what you keep on that, e books?

Postby rollingstock » February 21st, 2012, 11:07 pm

^ he cud store yuh penis and still have 1/2 inch to spare :roll:

Postby nervewrecker » February 21st, 2012, 11:11 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ he cud store yuh e-penis and still have 1/2 inch to spare :roll:

from what I have been told, it picks up quite a few gigs....

Goolie

Postby Goolie » February 21st, 2012, 11:23 pm

nervewrecker wrote:you have a one inch bookshelf hoss? what you keep on that, e books?

u only see the 1 inch?

u forget the 10 inch part?

Postby X_Factor » February 21st, 2012, 11:35 pm

8 pieces of 1x12x10 vs 2 sheets 5/8 melamine or mdf

a 10ft bookshelf is quite big so you will probably have to cut them shorter (wastage)

all you need is a circular saw with a good blade and you ripping up in no time!

TK!

Postby TK! » February 22nd, 2012, 12:05 am

stick with wood. mdf is as good as it is cheap and wont do a good bookcase justice.

a partner has a sawmill. call him (neil) 640-4357

Postby redmanjp » February 22nd, 2012, 12:30 am

if you want a hands on demonstration on the working of good wood i would gladly facilitate you.

:shock: OP be careful eh!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 22nd, 2012, 10:55 am

Op u cant be lazy & want good ting

i wouldn't recommend mdf , not as stiff & durable as plywood , if u really lazy bhags have d mdf boards ready cut & finished u cud buy & assemble it according to how u want it , will cost some $ for each board but if u lazy u have to pay

buy cupboard grade plywood & rip them into exactly d dimensions u need - shud take less than a hr

if painting or vanishing u will have to fill in d nail\screw holes & use sanding sealer - its quite alot of work

or simple cover d plywood with wood grain pattern contact paper - a roll is cheap & it looks decent enough too ...

Postby crazybalhead » February 22nd, 2012, 11:00 am

The man asked for 1x12. Not ply and not MDF. Yes OP, the wood at that "big" hardware is often wet and warped. Very annoying.

Check smaller hardwares in your area, they will usually have a better, older stock that is stored in dry conditions.

I understand why you want the 1x12, it is a lot easier to work with and looks a lot better than ply and that sheit Rovin recommending with contact paper. :/

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2012, 11:01 am

you can get melamine with a woodgrain finish

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 22nd, 2012, 11:20 am

CBH doh beat up - :lol:

d shortcut way with d contact paper is easy work , i have done some wardrobes with ply & contact paper neatly & if dont go up near & feel it with ur hand u swear is natural wood

lumber will always be bent\warped & d only how u gonna get that straight like a needle is to run it thru a plane & \or joiner thats why some ppl use plywood so u dont have that problem to even begin with ...

Postby crazybalhead » February 22nd, 2012, 11:37 am

(...Rovin...) wrote:CBH doh beat up - :lol:

d shortcut way with d contact paper is easy work , i have done some wardrobes with ply & contact paper neatly & if dont go up near & feel it with ur hand u swear is natural wood

lumber will always be bent\warped & d only how u gonna get that straight like a needle is to run it thru a plane & \or joiner thats why some ppl use plywood so u dont have that problem to even begin with ...

That's what you tell the ladies Rovin?? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » February 22nd, 2012, 11:39 am

at a glance, a properly laid contact paper sheet with a simulated wood pattern can be convincing.......as rovin said, it's how neatly you lay it down and cut the corners

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 22nd, 2012, 11:39 am

u ha too much vice yes ... :lol: