GPS in T n T

Postby ..77. » February 10th, 2012, 7:41 pm

I havent been in Trinidad for about 4 yrs up till just last month . I have always understood or been told gps didnt work in Tn T . This time down we had a garmin to use an it worked great . I,m at the point of getting a new gps an if garmin will work there we,ll get one of those .
Is any one here using a garmin an what model is it . I sent an email to garmin from here in Canada but have not gotten a reply yet . Our previous one was a magellan and they have no maps for T n T . Thanks ..77.

Re: GPS in T n T

Postby foss » February 10th, 2012, 7:44 pm

did u do a search?

there are a couple threads on GPS systems...

Postby ..77. » February 10th, 2012, 7:48 pm

Tried that now an just got my post an your reply . I,ll try again

Postby gastly369 » February 10th, 2012, 9:08 pm

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » February 10th, 2012, 11:14 pm

^ditto

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » February 11th, 2012, 12:10 am

mora systems also has local gps software (ubinav) for blackberries and android

http://www.facebook.com/pages/UbiNav-Trinidad-Tobago/107439586007053

Invisible

Postby Invisible » February 11th, 2012, 8:15 am

Not dedicated GPS but i have an iPhone app for Trinidad & Tobago. Navfone. Works really well. Maps are very accurate using street addresses. Outloud directions etc. Just need to have one of those 'mobile hotspots' as it needs that to function well.

Postby brams112 » February 11th, 2012, 8:11 pm

google maps on blackberry might work,,,most roads are there and most streets also,,,,,it gives a basic idea of streets and so on,,,plus you get an idea of where you are at most times,,,,,

src1983

GPS in T n T

Postby src1983 » February 11th, 2012, 8:35 pm

Invisible wrote:Not dedicated GPS but i have an iPhone app for Trinidad & Tobago. Navfone. Works really well. Maps are very accurate using street addresses. Outloud directions etc. Just need to have one of those 'mobile hotspots' as it needs that to function well.

This app needs updating, it sent me up a one way in baritaria the other day.....

Postby brams112 » February 11th, 2012, 8:52 pm

you did not see the one way sign src?or there was not any,,,

Invisible

Postby Invisible » February 12th, 2012, 7:43 am

src1983 wrote:
Invisible wrote:Not dedicated GPS but i have an iPhone app for Trinidad & Tobago. Navfone. Works really well. Maps are very accurate using street addresses. Outloud directions etc. Just need to have one of those 'mobile hotspots' as it needs that to function well.

This app needs updating, it sent me up a one way in baritaria the other day.....

lol...never had that experience. That probably sucked. Could imagine the explanation you would of have to give...

"Yuh see officer....dis GPS meh go up dis street...I thought it de know it was ah one way"

"GPS??? Dais some kinda dongs-sindrom ting yuh have?"