Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby Team Loco » January 4th, 2012, 6:21 pm

andyken wrote:hey guys..looking for a WL 2.5 turbo head new preferably but used (good) if possible for a 08 4 x 2 ranger. Mine got a crack just so . no overheating. crack/leak on the injector guide tingy....pressure....any ideas?

call 6579055. ask for larry. he had some engnes scrapping

Neo

Postby Neo » January 4th, 2012, 11:01 pm

Team Loco wrote:hello everybody............so i just pass by Mc Enearney.

2012 Ranger to be imported from SOUTH AFRICA, asembled in south africa.

anyone heard this? will be launched in july 2012.

the 2012 rangers suppose to be here by this month, i am not sure where is it coming from though :s but i am/was looking to get one of them :|

homeboy

Postby homeboy » January 7th, 2012, 10:03 pm

Guys i am seeing some oil leaking around my WL head gasket. Any one can recommend where to buy the gasket? Also noting was tampered with there, what can cause this to just give out?

stretch

Postby stretch » January 16th, 2012, 7:54 pm

fellas
looking to change my deck, you guys know of any where which sells the front face for it?

Preferably around san-fernando area.

JD......

Postby JD...... » January 19th, 2012, 8:19 pm

stretch wrote:fellas
looking to change my deck, you guys know of any where which sells the front face for it?

Preferably around san-fernando area.

DE audio in fens marabella

stretch

Postby stretch » January 20th, 2012, 12:10 am

thanks

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » January 25th, 2012, 12:19 pm

I've been scouring the tech thread for some time now, but I'd like to ask some advice.

I have a 2008 Ranger (2.5L Manual 4x4 XLT Hurricane) and I'm considering purchasing a 2010 Ranger (3.0L Automatic 4x4 XLT) with really low mileage. We talking just about 20,000km.

There's no way I'm forking out 345k for the all new 2012 Thunder, despite its awesomeness but I'm prioritizing, so I'll be more than content with the 2010 Auto 3L. What do you guys think?

Anyone have any issues with the 2010 3L Auto's? Also should I go this way, my 08 Hurricane XLT will be for sale.

I appreciate the suggestions.

Postby wagon r » January 25th, 2012, 3:59 pm

..well with nothing to do i decided to catch up in here with my reading.

I lol'ed at some, scratched my head at others esp. with the problems some seem to be having. worse when you read what i have been going thru....

I just changed my brake pads, not sure if they are the orig. but I never did since i bought my van, 4yrs ago from the orig. owner, best part, mileage then was 69k, it was changed at 147k...and it still had some months in them.

The coolant, was to be changed, but when tested was 96% effective, also never changed and still using my plastic radiator and not losing any water either..!

The brakes issue that one person ranted will kill us all, I have the non-ABS version, and I have to say, I prefer that to the ABS version. My dad has a Hi-Rider 2009 and I find it very "interesting" to brake, where as with my van, mash pedal, you stop. The road surface wet, you stop with excitement. You on gravel (Speedy will tell you), you stop with even more excitement... :lol:

A few crosses gone over the years, slight injector cleaning issue at the moment, but only on start up, van doesn't smoke, runs when I ask, climbs when I tell to, hauls with ease.

She may not be the fastest, nor the tallest, never got upset with a lil mud behind the ears, but she never let me down.

Very proud Ranger owner.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 25th, 2012, 7:35 pm

i can deff. vouch for the excitment on gravel! :D i hate ABS..!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » January 26th, 2012, 3:26 pm

ABS can be a pain on rough bumpy roads and in mud. However, I find it to work well on the road. Even in rain it work well (It would be a fail if it didn't work well in rain. That's the main reason for it)

babygirl

Postby babygirl » January 27th, 2012, 8:28 am

to those guys who want to know about the clunk noise or knock when pulling off or stopping, check your U joints,also known as cross. these link your drive shaft together and when worn, they get a 'play', hence your cluck. got a ranger myself. i investigated the problem and that was it. sometimes i use to hear it,then sometimes i dont, and sometimes its more violent than some.

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » January 27th, 2012, 7:32 pm

babygirl wrote:to those guys who want to know about the clunk noise or knock when pulling off or stopping, check your U joints,also known as cross. these link your drive shaft together and when worn, they get a 'play', hence your cluck. got a ranger myself. i investigated the problem and that was it. sometimes i use to hear it,then sometimes i dont, and sometimes its more violent than some.

Another sign of a bad cross/U joints is a slight vibration when driving. From my experience, at around 2000-2500rpm, mainly in 2nd or 3rd gear, there is a slight but easily noticeable vibration. That's most likely one of your cross (or more) is seizing and should be replaced.

stretch

Postby stretch » January 27th, 2012, 8:26 pm

I've got alot of black smoke coming out when pressing down on 1st and 2nd going up hill. Did an oil and all filter change less than 1000km ago, is that normal or what do you guys suggest?

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » January 28th, 2012, 1:38 am

That's not normal unless your engine is cold. There are many reasons I hear stuff like that could happen. Try cleaning your injectors. Try using Liqui Moly Pro-Line Diesel System Reiniger to give your injectors a good cleaning.

It is a bit expensive ($600) for a tin. I'm not sure exactly how it was done, but the person who introduced me to it (James Mosely - The guy who sells off-road parts (Ironman and others)) ran it directly into my engine bypassing the fuel tank, not having to mix it with the diesel. I regret I didn't pay attention to what he did, but right after he did it, I got a noticable increase in power. I could suggest you pour it into you tank when you have quarter or less of diesel. This way it runs through your system longer and still concentrated enough to give a good cleaning. After you can use normal diesel treatments once in a while to help keep the injectors clean.

Some people tell me when their air filter is dirty, it causes their van to smoke a bit too. Try changing your air filter (or if you want, do like me and shake it around in some water with breeze (the cleaner) and then put it to spin dry in your washing machine). Surprisingly, it doesn't destroy the filter at all.

Did you change your timing belt by chance? Bad timing can also cause the vehicle to smoke. But in your case where you only smoke under stress (climbing a hill), so it may not be this reason.

Try changing the location where you full up on diesel as well. I suggest a new or newish gas station where the fuel tanks are in good condition. Bad quality of diesel can be another cause.

stretch

Postby stretch » January 28th, 2012, 9:31 am

thnx for info DooMRR, noticed last night that it wasnt only up hill but also on the straights.

apark50

Postby apark50 » February 7th, 2012, 8:47 pm

DooMRR wrote:That's not normal unless your engine is cold. There are many reasons I hear stuff like that could happen. Try cleaning your injectors. Try using Liqui Moly Pro-Line Diesel System Reiniger to give your injectors a good cleaning.

It is a bit expensive ($600) for a tin. I'm not sure exactly how it was done, but the person who introduced me to it (James Mosely - The guy who sells off-road parts (Ironman and others)) ran it directly into my engine bypassing the fuel tank, not having to mix it with the diesel. I regret I didn't pay attention to what he did, but right after he did it, I got a noticable increase in power. I could suggest you pour it into you tank when you have quarter or less of diesel. This way it runs through your system longer and still concentrated enough to give a good cleaning. After you can use normal diesel treatments once in a while to help keep the injectors clean.

Some people tell me when their air filter is dirty, it causes their van to smoke a bit too. Try changing your air filter (or if you want, do like me and shake it around in some water with breeze (the cleaner) and then put it to spin dry in your washing machine). Surprisingly, it doesn't destroy the filter at all.

Did you change your timing belt by chance? Bad timing can also cause the vehicle to smoke. But in your case where you only smoke under stress (climbing a hill), so it may not be this reason.

Try changing the location where you full up on diesel as well. I suggest a new or newish gas station where the fuel tanks are in good condition. Bad quality of diesel can be another cause.

The Liqui Moly Pro-line Diesel System Reiniger is actually designed to be poured in the fuel tank, to clean the Fuel System.
But the product you refer to is the Diesel Purge from Liqui Moly, which you can run your diesel engine on for about 25 min to clean the Fuel System (Injectors, valves, piston heads..) This should be done by a mechanic preferably. For common rail diesel engines, you must use a machine to build up adequate pressure to feed the engine with the Diesel Purge. For diesel engines with out common rail, you may simply let the fuel pump suck in the Diesel Purge. In both cases, the return fuel must go back in to the feeding canister / machine to ensure continuous circulation.

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » February 8th, 2012, 10:19 pm

apark50 wrote:The Liqui Moly Pro-line Diesel System Reiniger is actually designed to be poured in the fuel tank, to clean the Fuel System.
But the product you refer to is the Diesel Purge from Liqui Moly, which you can run your diesel engine on for about 25 min to clean the Fuel System (Injectors, valves, piston heads..) This should be done by a mechanic preferably. For common rail diesel engines, you must use a machine to build up adequate pressure to feed the engine with the Diesel Purge. For diesel engines with out common rail, you may simply let the fuel pump suck in the Diesel Purge. In both cases, the return fuel must go back in to the feeding canister / machine to ensure continuous circulation.

Yes. That's correct what you said. I remembered him running the return fuel line back into the canister.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 9th, 2012, 12:10 pm

spydafrog wrote:I've been scouring the tech thread for some time now, but I'd like to ask some advice.

I have a 2008 Ranger (2.5L Manual 4x4 XLT Hurricane) and I'm considering purchasing a 2010 Ranger (3.0L Automatic 4x4 XLT) with really low mileage. We talking just about 20,000km.

There's no way I'm forking out 345k for the all new 2012 Thunder, despite its awesomeness but I'm prioritizing, so I'll be more than content with the 2010 Auto 3L. What do you guys think?

Anyone have any issues with the 2010 3L Auto's? Also should I go this way, my 08 Hurricane XLT will be for sale.

I appreciate the suggestions.

What's the price you paying for that?

I have the same model - no regrets..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 10th, 2012, 7:59 am

There's no way I'm forking out 345k for the all new 2012 Thunder, despite its awesomeness but I'm prioritizing,

$345 now? Back in 2010 it was $265 for a thunder!!

BWDMC is dis sheit?

Bai, go ahead and buy de damned bare-bones 3.0L auto 4x4 ranger man... save yourself the money ($20K or so more just for two stickers, leather seats, a mostly useless inclinometer on the dash and a set of chrome sidebars & rollbar that you won't use anyway)

you can use the money u save and outfit you ranger properly.... like this:

I'd take this over a lame-@ss thunder anyday

Or you could do watever yuh like wit de $$.

Don't be a fool for the system and let dem MEM bandits rob you.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 14th, 2012, 7:48 am

LMAO..... just heard that they brought down a set of LHD rangers and had to send it back - hahahahahahahahahaha. Delivery of the new rangers will be pushed back to a month again....lol

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » February 14th, 2012, 3:27 pm

Yeah guys, i went ahead with purchasing the 2010 3.0L Auto 4x4 and I've been smiling ever since. Damn thing moves!!! and just wants to keep going!

Will need to outfit alarm, multilock etc. lighthammer that ranger looking real sic.

medalist

Postby medalist » February 29th, 2012, 8:49 pm

how come the 2008 model ranger(thunder series) dont have the aux port for the deck and its the same deck as the 2010 models?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 1st, 2012, 1:41 am

that means... its not the same deck.. it may look similar.. but its not..

medalist

Postby medalist » March 1st, 2012, 1:28 pm

hmmm thats strange cause i literally compared it and all that is missing is the port. I even have the media button to press, very strange

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 3rd, 2012, 9:45 pm

^^^^ I asked about that option back when I was purchasing my truck. The salesperson said they are basically the same deck, but the newer ones with the aux port has a slightly different mainboard that facilitates the use of the aux port and enables the additional features of the deck.

medalist

Postby medalist » March 8th, 2012, 8:58 pm

ah ok...but they should have made the aux for the 2008 model also. I see the 2012 has aux and usb...hopefully i mite afford that in a few yrs timing.

medalist

Postby medalist » March 9th, 2012, 9:48 am

anyone know what this button is for?
a.jpg
a.jpg (9.99 KiB) Viewed 3587 times

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 10th, 2012, 12:50 am

^^ that's the fyahs button... press it and more fyahs will come out.

medalist

Postby medalist » March 10th, 2012, 3:12 pm

eh heh...well the button eh working then :(

Smurfy1

Postby Smurfy1 » March 23rd, 2012, 9:07 am

Sigh, So i was waiting till this weekend to post my excitement of buying a ranger and officially join the ranger thread.

However, i am here to find out what the hell happening with my van i have an oil leak on a van that is not 2 weeks old as yet. I am praying its just something that needs tightening. a service rep is coming to look at it at home for me today will keep yall posted

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”