The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2012, 4:58 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I always thought they used it cause 9:42am is a time of the day when you're fresh and being productive. It's not after lunch fatigue and its not too close to quitting time, it's not at clock-in time either where you're grumpy before getting your first cup of coffee... ok nevermind.

LOL. also, check the little alarm logo in the status when an alarm is set... its 9 :) time of most Keynotes.

here is a lil write up on other things. read about this a while back
http://www.tuaw.com/2011/01/18/the-hidd ... ple-icons/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2012, 7:16 pm

Trinifieds wrote:Slide from app to app and slide up from bottom to show multitasking bar. Really, really cool. I cant say I use gridlockd, infinifolders or barrel.
sounds like the 4 finger swipe to switch between apps etc on the iPad 2 in iOS5

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » February 6th, 2012, 8:07 pm

M_2NR wrote:i waiting for that "1080p" model but i think with the iTV, if rumors are true, i dont see why apple would make another device :(

Duane, when u see zephyr in action you will bawl. i hardly use my home button again :P

iDynamic forget meh :(
iDynamic, what the addon for XBMC you using? :D

Lol sorry for the late reply , now get time to check the thread .

The zip files are my add ons which give me all the movies , cable / tv shows and stuff Icould possibly need , most of the zip files contain more than 1 video source !! :)

If you guys search the exact zip file name in google eg : filename.zip you will find the download of the exact add ons I have

Parvin

Postby Parvin » February 6th, 2012, 8:40 pm

@ iDynamic

Last title in that list crack me up ... will have to get me one of these devices soon :D

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » February 6th, 2012, 9:15 pm

Trinifieds wrote:Slide from app to app and slide up from bottom to show multitasking bar. Really, really cool. I cant say I use gridlockd, infinifolders or barrel.

It's exactly that, but for the iPhone with just one finger. Quite slick actually if you get used to it or accustomed doing the same on the iPad.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2012, 9:52 pm

^ cool!!! my (double tap) home button works fine too

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2012, 9:53 pm

yup was in iOS 4 for devs but was broken in iOS5. but the best is the slide away to exit. So seamless. If you ever used webos it leaves a grin on your face.

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » February 7th, 2012, 10:05 am

rookie wrote:One word for cases lifeproof I posted it earlier a couple pages back google it !

where did you get your lifeproof case? brought it down or is someone selling it here?
been checking it out a while now & you're the only the person i saw talking bout it

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » February 7th, 2012, 2:09 pm

Parvin wrote:@ iDynamic

Last title in that list crack me up ... will have to get me one of these devices soon :D

8-)

---------

Siri Accounts for 25% of Wolfram Alpha Searches
Posted 1 hour ago - 917 views - 0 comments
Apple's voice powered assistant, Siri, accounts for about 25% of Wolfram Alpha's search queries, reports the New York Times.

Siri accounts for about a quarter of the queries fielded by Wolfram Alpha, whose staff has grown to 200. Several large companies in health care, financial services and oil and gas recently hired Dr. Wolfram's private company, Wolfram Research, to do tailored corporate versions of Wolfram Alpha for them. Microsoft also licenses Wolfram Alpha technology.

Interestingly, Stephen Wolfram notes that Siri queries are actually easier to process than typed queries.

"Spoken queries [have] a different character from typed queries," he explained. "People are a lot less lazy in what they say than what they type." When users type, they put things into a natural shorthand. In spoken requests, they naturally fill in those missing pieces.

On Wednesday, Wolfram Alpha Pro, a premium version of the search engine, will launch for $4.99 a month, or $2.99 for students. The new version can handle data and images, and can for example, generate charts from a table of data.

Sauce : http://m.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=19800

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2012, 8:00 pm

Apple Forces iPhone Apps To Go Retina Display, iPhone 3GS On The Way Out?
Alex Heath

Apple sent out an interesting message to third-party developers today. iOS devs are now required to submit Retina display screenshots for their iPhone and iPod touch apps to the App Store. All updates to existing apps must also meet the 960×640 resolution requirement.

Not only does this new policy signal the death of 480×320 resolution apps, but it also indicates that the iPhone 3GS may not be around much longer.

Required iPhone & iPod touch Screenshot Upgrade for Retina Display

When you create or update your apps in iTunes Connect, you must upload screenshots that are high-resolution. We require your screenshots as high-resolution images so that your app is optimized for the Retina display.

The requirements for high-resolution images are 960 x 640, 960 x 600, 640 x 960, or 640 x 920 pixels. Images must be at least 72 dpi, in the RGB color space, and the file must be .jpeg, .jpg, .tif, .tiff, or .png. You can update your screenshot files at any time in iTunes Connect.

Since the introduction of the Retina display-equipped iPhone 4 and iPod touch in 2010, lower-resolution apps have simply scaled up on Apple’s fourth and fifth (iPhone 4S) generation devices. The result has been a semi-fragmented experience in the App Store. We all know how much Steve Jobs hated fragmentation, and there was nothing worse than downloading an app on your iPhone 4 that hadn’t been updated for the Retina Display. The screen looked pixelated and the whole experience was very un-Apple like.

Most of the apps that people actually use in the App Store have been updated for the Retina display over the last couple years, and then there’s the thousands upon thousands of worthless titles that haven’t hopped on the bandwagon. Now Apple is saying that it’s Retina display or the highway.

The iPhone 3GS came out in June of 2009. During the iPhone 4S announcement last October, Apple announced that it would begin offering the 3GS for free with a two-year carrier contract. That was a brilliant move that has helped Apple saturate itself into the low-end smartphone market. But it’s time to move on.

After nearly 3 years, Apple could finally be ready to put the 3GS to bed. There’s no reason to keep selling an outdated phone that can’t even display App Store apps in their full resolution.

Here’s what I see happening in 2012: The 3GS gets the boot. The iPhone 5 (technically the sixth-generation version) takes the 4S’s place as Apple’s flagship smartphone. The iPhone 4S gets put in the sub-$100 price range and the iPhone 4 takes the place of the 3GS. Considering that the iPhone 4 is still one of the best handsets on the market, and the fact that Apple is leading the pack in market share growth and profits, I see no reason why the iPhone 4 couldn’t be offered for free with a carrier contract this year. Apple would have its most impressive lineup ever: the upcoming iPhone 5, iPhone 4S, and iPhone 4.

Adios, 3GS. Don’t let the door hit you on your way out.

http://www.cultofmac.com/144981/apple-f ... e-way-out/

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » February 8th, 2012, 6:47 pm

Cydia problems, "Unable to Load"?
It says that the certificate for the server is invalid and that I might be connecting to a server that is pretending to be cydia.saurik.com

I set the date and time and still nothing , any solution?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 8th, 2012, 11:16 pm

Profiles are in the process of being pushed through to numerous mobile carriers selling Apple’s iPhone appear to suggest the rather delayed release for iOS 5.1 could finally be happening on 9th March.

Those running the iPhone 4S should finally see any lingering battery issues eradicated, but after the 5.0.1 release failed to amend the problem, we’ll wait for the hands-on before drawing any solid conclusions. Moreover, our main point of focus lies with the introduction of a bunch of new improvements for Siri. One of the more recent dev-only beta releases of iOS 5.1 appears to reveal iPad support is on the horizon, although it is fairly hard to gauge how much support there will be, and more importantly, for which iPad devices

Of course, since the Absinthe jailbreak a couple of weeks back, there have been an abundance of tweaks allowing those wielding the fruit company’s fledgling smartphone to increase the capabilities of the lauded voice-recognition software, as well as those using other iOS devices. Nonetheless, native content is always welcome (and indeed, invariably stable than the Cydia alternatives), so there will be a fair amount of interest in what Tim Cook and Co. have brought back to the table.

In addition to the update to iOS, rumor has it that Apple will announce the third installment to its tablet series, which we’ll call, for argument’s sake, iPad 3. Whilst nothing has been mentioned directly by the tight-lipped Cupertino company, March will mark an entire year since the iPad 2 dropped, and production is rumored to have been in progress for some time now. As for the features, we expect a Retina display to capitalize not only on new and improved front-and-back cameras, but also to credibly do justice to iBooks 2/ iTunes U / Newsstand, three of Apple’s most recent e-reading/learning initiatives.

If the aforementioned Siri hints were intended solely for the iPad 3, it would make sense from a marketing point of view. It’s more than likely Apple will only offer limited – if any – amounts of Siri loving to iPad 2 users, edging them closer towards the new release with all its purported bells and whistles.

------

Phones before & after the launch of the iPhone.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » February 9th, 2012, 9:09 am

SRASC wrote:Image

Dunno why, but that pic reminds me of this :shock:

rookie

Postby rookie » February 9th, 2012, 6:22 pm

Hey tuners need the setting for DIGICEL internet on my iPhone 4

xtech

Postby xtech » February 9th, 2012, 8:55 pm

Trinifieds wrote:
SRASC wrote:Image

Dunno why, but that pic reminds me of this :shock:

it reminds me of that popular Sesame Street song "One Of These Things Does Not Belong Here....."

@Blackberry

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » February 9th, 2012, 9:20 pm

Amazon seems to be getting a bit aggressive with their marketing of Kindle -

rookie

Postby rookie » February 9th, 2012, 9:41 pm

Still garbage never beat an iPad

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 9th, 2012, 10:28 pm

I've used a Kindle Fire recently, and I could see why it is priced as it is to the iPad. It certainly is no iPad, not even an iPad 2 & sure as hell wouldn't be an iPad 3.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » February 9th, 2012, 10:41 pm

shaneelal wrote:Amazon seems to be getting a bit aggressive with their marketing of Kindle -

Heck I'd still buy an iPad over three Kindles.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » February 9th, 2012, 11:44 pm

If someone offer to give me a kindle for free ill tell them keep it , that thing just sad

src1983

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby src1983 » February 11th, 2012, 10:17 am

Got me a apple tv, should I jailbreak or not...

And if so where can I find a beginners step by step process?

Thanks

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 11th, 2012, 4:26 pm

SRASC wrote:I've used a Kindle Fire recently, and I could see why it is priced as it is to the iPad. It certainly is no iPad, not even an iPad 2 & sure as hell wouldn't be an iPad 3.
Agreed. Have both at home, and compared to the iPad2, the kindle fire is slower, the touch screen is much less responsive, and the ability to I install apps is very limited (unless you root it and use a VPN (like us video.org). At least with the iPad you could still install some apps without jail breaking or using VPN.

Battery life of the fire is also very very poor - iPad battery lasts about 3 times as long :?

However, what the fire is good for is accessing Amazon media (once you have prime and a VPN of course). Lots of movies and tv shows available with just a click.

iPad is the winner for me, but the Amazon streaming is cool with the fire. Wifey also prefers it for reading her kindle books. Even though the iPad has the kindle app installed, the form factor of the fire is much better for heavy reading, as it's much easier for her to hold.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 11th, 2012, 5:38 pm

Apple iPad 3 event first week of March tip insiders

Apple is readying an iPad 3 launch event in the first week of March, according to new leaks, with the third-gen iOS tablet being shown for the first time at a high-profile San Francisco event. The new iPad is likely to debut at traditional Apple launch venue the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, AllThingsD‘s sources whisper to them, though commercial availability is unknown.

Still, based on past timescales, a retail release around a week after the iPad is unveiled seems most likely. Rumors had previously suggested that the third-gen iPad would be shown off publicly sometime this month, but sources later changed their story and suggested March would be the most likely launch window so as to allow sales close to the big reveal.

As for specifications, it’s unclear if the tablet will be the iPad 3 or the iPad 2S, but a “Retina Display” running at 2048 x 1536 is expected. Persistent rumors had indicated a quadcore processor, too, though more recent leaks have questioned whether the Apple A6 chipset believed to be at the heart of the new iPad could, in fact, be a faster dualcore.

A bigger battery and slightly redesigned casing are also in the pipeline, we’re led to believe, along with LTE connectivity. Apple declined to comment on the launch date suggestions, though if they turn out to be true we’re likely to see official invites fired out in the week prior, just in time for the company to distract from Mobile World Congress.

http://www.slashgear.com/apple-ipad-3-e ... -09212808/

casper

Postby casper » February 11th, 2012, 7:54 pm

shaneelal wrote:Amazon seems to be getting a bit aggressive with their marketing of Kindle -

She relllll besssss boi wawwwwww :o

Postby M_2NR » February 11th, 2012, 11:57 pm

dredman1 wrote:
SRASC wrote:I've used a Kindle Fire recently, and I could see why it is priced as it is to the iPad. It certainly is no iPad, not even an iPad 2 & sure as hell wouldn't be an iPad 3.
Agreed. Have both at home, and compared to the iPad2, the kindle fire is slower, the touch screen is much less responsive, and the ability to I install apps is very limited (unless you root it and use a VPN (like us video.org). At least with the iPad you could still install some apps without jail breaking or using VPN.

Battery life of the fire is also very very poor - iPad battery lasts about 3 times as long :?

However, what the fire is good for is accessing Amazon media (once you have prime and a VPN of course). Lots of movies and tv shows available with just a click.

iPad is the winner for me, but the Amazon streaming is cool with the fire. Wifey also prefers it for reading her kindle books. Even though the iPad has the kindle app installed, the form factor of the fire is much better for heavy reading, as it's much easier for her to hold.

at the end of the day... you get what you pay for right?

honestly tho... i wish these thing would just get lighter :( hey even the iPhone 4... the SGS II "Feels" so much lighter :(

Postby S_2NR » February 12th, 2012, 12:02 am

casper wrote:

She relllll besssss boi wawwwwww :o

rellllllllllllllllllllllllllll bess :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 12th, 2012, 12:05 am

M_2NR wrote:honestly tho... i wish these thing would just get lighter :( hey even the iPhone 4... the SGS II "Feels" so much lighter :(

i'm sure it would have been lighter had they used plastic for the rear instead of glass.

but then it wouldn't have been as sexy :lol:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 12th, 2012, 12:23 am

^^^ As you mention that, the kindle is half the size of the iPad, but it feels heavier :shock: The weight gives it a nice solid feel though.

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » February 12th, 2012, 6:08 am

Edge is so much faster this early in the morning , actually seems usable.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 12th, 2012, 1:09 pm

dredman1 wrote:^^^ As you mention that, the kindle is half the size of the iPad, but it feels heavier :shock: The weight gives it a nice solid feel though.

Actually I find it makes it feel unnecessarily heavy. I think Amazon was going for an iPad lite/mini with the Kindle Fire. Smaller, lighter, cheaper. Well, at least they got 2 out of 3. I was disappointed in all the round around I had to do just to download a free app or 2 for it. Without a US credit card attached to it it is essentially a pretty brick outside of the US.

M_2NR wrote:honestly tho... i wish these thing would just get lighter :( hey even the iPhone 4... the SGS II "Feels" so much lighter :(

Many reviews say that sometimes the lightness of a phone makes it have a cheap feel. I like the weight of the iPhone. A little heft, but not too much so it feels solid.

------

Last year, we learned that the new iPad is codenamed ‘J2′ in the iOS 5.1Beta software and last week, we learned that it will likely be announced at the beginning of next month. But we also learned of another Apple Jxx product, the next AppleTV, codenamed J33 in the 5.1B software. Perhaps besides both showing up in iOS 5.1 software, the Jxx devices are also A6 devices? We can’t tell for certain if this new device will be a 1080P/A6 upgrade from the current or something bigger.

Best Buy sources just pinged us, alerting us that Apple TV isn’t just out of stock at his store, but no more are actually shipping out to stores at all.

A customer was inquiring tonight about Apple TV. However right now we are out of stock (Which hasn’t happened since I started). Not only were we out of stock, but I was also unable to order one from our product ordering system (OMS). Product was listed as “currently unavailable”. From prior experience, this usually is associated with a product that is being “discontinued”.

Sure enough, a visit to Best Buy.com shows that they are out of stock online. Only some stores have them in stock and if they are like our tipsters’, above, they can’t order any more. A quick check around the web shows an eerily similar pattern: Amazon is out for “2-5 weeks”, below, which fits into Apple’s iPad announcement window, and has returned to calling it the “2010 model”. Some of Amazon’s third party retailers do have them in stock, however.

Some online resellers do have them in stock. MacMall and MacConnection, for instance, have them. But it seems more than a little curious that the biggest retailers in the US all seem to be running dry on AppleTVs just ahead of an Apple event.

------

Side question. Say I wanted to temporarily remove an app to free up space but don't want to loose the data from it so when I put it back it is still there. Any options for that preferably without a jailbreak involvement?