Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2012, 11:29 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I have one, make an offer
I bought it but then I got an apple TV, which is like the HDMI adapter but wireless!

I'm thinking of getting Apple TV, how does it work in trinidad?
it works excellent if you you have an IP mask such as www.usavideo.org or www.unblock-us.com

that way you get all the content as if you are in the US.

pete wrote:What format video can the apple tv play? I assume it can stream from itunes so does that mean mp4s alone?

Wouldn't something like this be better?
yes the formats are limited to itunes formats

however there is a huge community of jailbreakers and hackers and since Apple Tv is considered to be a "experimental project" for Apple, they don't fuss about it.

You can run XBMC on the Apple TV and play just about any format

also check FireCore
http://firecore.com/atvflash

I havent jailbroken mine yet - the real attraction for me is Netflix and AirPlay, both of which don't require jailbreaking or hacking

biggz1985

Postby biggz1985 » February 3rd, 2012, 11:46 pm

Cool I'll have to look into getting one

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » February 4th, 2012, 9:52 am

My Apple Tv is jail broken and I must say it has opened up a new world for me .

Its no longer limited to iTunes and Netflix ....now I don't even need to use direct tv to watch my football games .....I can now watch my football games via live streaming through an xbmc add on !!

I am also using xbmc on my iPad 2 so now I have access to all cable channels , blues , football games , live tv movie channels , all latest DVDs + tv shows with the press of a button ....All for free

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 4th, 2012, 10:34 am

^ firecore then xbmc?

biggz1985

Postby biggz1985 » February 4th, 2012, 10:40 am

Wow ... I will order a receiver next week ... But who does the Apple TV jailbreaking for free movies & cable tv?
Last edited by biggz1985 on February 4th, 2012, 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » February 4th, 2012, 1:35 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ firecore then xbmc?

firecoreSP > Nitotv > Xbmc > ssh xbmc to get it up and running

biggz1985 wrote:Wow ... Defiantly will order a receiver next week ... But who does the Apple TV jailbreaking for free movies & cable tv?

me , $99 call or leave a text message my contact info is in my signature

Postby M_2NR » February 4th, 2012, 5:46 pm

iDynamic, what the addon for XBMC you using? :D

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » February 5th, 2012, 9:31 am

I know there is a lot of for and against jailbreaking, but for some of us, there are some jailbreak apps we cant live without. What are some of the apps those of you who jailbreak use? I'll start with Lockinfo (yes I paid for it). More info here

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 5th, 2012, 12:08 pm

^ but iOS5 has notifications on the lock screen AND the full notification center once you slide to unlock - all built in. FREE!

on a side note: I wonder why bmobile don't do visual voicemail?

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » February 5th, 2012, 4:40 pm

Visual voicemail and native hotspot capability would be a nice touch from bmobile

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 5th, 2012, 5:27 pm

^ personal hotspot was working and then it disappeared with bmobile's carrier update.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » February 5th, 2012, 6:51 pm

^ yeah I remember, at least it worked for a little when I was using my Gevey iPhone 4, miss having it on my 4S

Postby M_2NR » February 5th, 2012, 10:25 pm

Duane... dont bother comparing lockinfo to iOS 5 and how it handles sheit. Just unlock your phone and relock. ;) plus that has been around since iOS 3 :P

I recently got Zephyr... and my word... its epic. Worth every cent. flicking upwards on any page exits... chpwn deserves an away for it. Another is SBSettings and my last was SmartScreen but they didnt port it to iOS 5 yet and honestly, it worked well thru 3 and 4 i got more than my worth off it.
IntelliscreenX looks cool but honestly, a basic lockscreen is what i want nowadays. Activator fills in the rest.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 5th, 2012, 10:29 pm

^ of course earlier on I'd jailbreak when the phone didnt have a video camera, or basic things like a notification center etc

but now it's making less and less sense to jailbreak

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 5th, 2012, 10:37 pm

Question about apple tv,does it do live streaming as you would get on cable? or just video clips and TV Shows? Interested in getting one of these for the HT room as i already have XBMC.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2012, 12:11 am

^ as you would get on cable? i don't understand what you mean

the Apple Tv does not have any internal storage, so every thing it shows is via streaming

keep in mind the Apple Tv is 720p. Hopefully there will be a new 1080p model soon *fingers crossed*

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2012, 12:55 am

i waiting for that "1080p" model but i think with the iTV, if rumors are true, i dont see why apple would make another device :(

Duane, when u see zephyr in action you will bawl. i hardly use my home button again :P

iDynamic forget meh :(
iDynamic, what the addon for XBMC you using? :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2012, 12:59 am

^ nah they will still need to keep a set top box form factor of the Apple TV

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2012, 1:20 am

i hope so though. then id buy a 2nd gen for cheap :lol: Im surprised they didnt mod it to do 1080p though because from what i got from all the apps they were doing, its pretty much scalable nicely straight up to 2560x1440 i believe and from playing around, the a4 does handle 1080p pretty well.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 6th, 2012, 6:27 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ as you would get on cable? i don't understand what you mean

the Apple Tv does not have any internal storage, so every thing it shows is via streaming

keep in mind the Apple Tv is 720p. Hopefully there will be a new 1080p model soon *fingers crossed*

as in live cable stream? or just episodes and clips?if yes to the second,how long does it take for a newly released episode to get on there?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » February 6th, 2012, 9:33 am

M_2NR wrote:I recently got Zephyr... and my word... its epic. Worth every cent. flicking upwards on any page exits... chpwn deserves an award for it. Another is SBSettings

Zephyr/ SB Settings, both excellent tweaks. You more or less eliminating the need to constantly press your home button which I think will add less wear. Luv the activator also. Gridlockd, infinifolders, barrel are a couple more of my favs

casper

Postby casper » February 6th, 2012, 10:18 am

where to get zephyr??? i not seeing it on the app store :(

it not in d trini app store??? :cry:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2012, 10:28 am

ru$$ell wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ as you would get on cable? i don't understand what you mean

as in live cable stream? or just episodes and clips?if yes to the second,how long does it take for a newly released episode to get on there?
does any device do live Tv streaming?

the apple TV is episodes and clips - remember it's a device that accesses the itunes store and shows it on your TV

itunes gets stuff pretty quickly

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » February 6th, 2012, 10:30 am

sb settings and zypher are cydia tweaks...you won't find them on any region's app store.

casper

Postby casper » February 6th, 2012, 10:39 am

^^^ohhhhhhhhHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH FUDGE!!!!!!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 6th, 2012, 11:10 am

ru$$ell wrote:

the apple TV is episodes and clips - remember it's a device that accesses the itunes store and shows it on your TV

no device that i know of,hence i though this one was the 1st,lol. Anyways seem interesting enough,i'll get one and check it out.Thanks for the info.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2012, 12:18 pm

ru$$ell wrote:

no device that i know of,hence i though this one was the 1st,lol. Anyways seem interesting enough,i'll get one and check it out.Thanks for the info.
technically your cable box does that. But to do it over the internet would require someone hooking up a cable box, setting it to the required channel and sending out a streaming feed via server. They would require one box and one cable subscription per channel they want to transmit if you wanted to offer the service to others.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 6th, 2012, 12:44 pm

If you’re an observant type, then you’ve probably noticed in the past how Apple’s iPhone ads always seem to show its handset displaying the same time – 9:42. It’s a curious thing, and one that has led to much speculation over the years.

So much speculation in fact that it is not unheard of for journalists to ask Apple’s own press team for a reason, only for them to draw a blank. But we always knew there had to be a reason, right?

Now former Apple exec Bob Borcher claims to know the reason, and it’s a pretty boring one. During a presentation he recently gave, Borcher spilled the beans on the reason for all Apple’s press shots showing an iPhone with the same time.

According to Borcher, "if you ever see an Apple ad, print or TV, you look at the time and it’s always going to be 9:42 and 9:42 is when we launched the iPhone." That’s true, but we thought that perhaps there was more to it than that.

A bit of Google-fu tells us that Apple VP Scott Forstall has also weighed in on the story, and we much prefer his take on things. While the story does fit with Borchers to some extent, Forstall says that the 9:42 reference comes from Apple wanting the iPhone’s image to pop up on the big screen at around the 40-minute mark of Apple events. Apple eventually plumped for 9:42, so that the time on the image would match, as near as possible, the actual time when the latest handset is shown off.

We design the (product launch) keynotes so that the big reveal of the product happens around 40 minutes into the presentation. When the big image of the product appears on screen, we want the time shown to be close to the actual time on the audience’s watches. But we know we won’t hit 40 minutes exactly.

The story might also explain why the iPad tends to have a time of 9:41 in press images, with a similar story being true. While the times might not line up exactly during the keynotes at which new iPhones and iPads are announced, it tends to be fairly close at least.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2012, 1:17 pm

^ I always thought they used it cause 9:42am is a time of the day when you're fresh and being productive. It's not after lunch fatigue and its not too close to quitting time, it's not at clock-in time either where you're grumpy before getting your first cup of coffee... ok nevermind.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » February 6th, 2012, 4:43 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:I recently got Zephyr... and my word... its epic. Worth every cent. flicking upwards on any page exits... chpwn deserves an award for it. Another is SBSettings

Zephyr/ SB Settings, both excellent tweaks. You more or less eliminating the need to constantly press your home button which I think will add less wear. Luv the activator also. Gridlockd, infinifolders, barrel are a couple more of my favs

After going through every version of the iPhone and problems with the home button with 3 of them, Zephyr is welcomed! Slide from app to app and slide up from bottom to show multitasking bar. Really, really cool. I cant say I use gridlockd, infinifolders or barrel.

Another I use is biteSMS. Able to send and reply to SMS/iMessage without ever unlocking the phone.