BARS headlight cleaner

Re: BARS headlight cleaner

Postby rollingstock » January 31st, 2012, 4:12 pm

Used the Turtle wax with good results, came with the polishing pads, and a sealer included.

Will try the Bars though just because they always made a consistently good product.

Postby black start » January 31st, 2012, 4:33 pm

Ima try eet on d 13 but i feel duane was over exaggerating with his pic doh....

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 31st, 2012, 5:17 pm

nah he whole car does look like that so it eh no exageration

Postby black start » January 31st, 2012, 5:49 pm

^what faded and opaque? :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 31st, 2012, 6:15 pm

yup.... :D

chucky

Postby chucky » January 31st, 2012, 6:18 pm

cinco wrote:where u get the plastX CBH?
i lookin for that a while now

Cinco. It's available at quite a number of retail outlets around the country. PM me with your location and I'll hook you up.

Postby black start » January 31st, 2012, 6:54 pm

chucky wrote:
cinco wrote:where u get the plastX CBH?
i lookin for that a while now

Cinco. It's available at quite a number of retail outlets around the country. PM me with your location and I'll hook you up.

where in couva or central?

Postby cinco » January 31st, 2012, 10:57 pm

x2 im in chaguanas and barataria
i look but never see meguiars products

chucky

Postby chucky » February 1st, 2012, 9:14 am

Price Club (The Grocery in Center Point Mall) Chaguanas has a very large selection of Meguiar's Products including the PlastX. In Aranguez you can check Sasrena Auto Supplies and in El Socorro you can check Autorama Auto Supplies. All of them received delivery of this product earlier this month.

Postby cinco » February 1st, 2012, 9:17 am

thank you

Postby crazybalhead » February 1st, 2012, 9:27 am

I uses Sonax. Works OK. And then put on a Mother's wax to protect. It not really lasting though. I tried the Turtle Wax thing, and it helped get out some deep scratches from the previous owner's dog. But it still didn't have a nice final clarity, so I used a meguiars buffing pad, with a drill, and that did the trick...almost.

If this bars sheit really that good, i willing to give it a try.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 1st, 2012, 9:58 am

crazy u can use my car as a test :D

let me know when to pass by

Postby black start » February 1st, 2012, 12:36 pm

ok so after removing the opaque layer, what does you all use to prevent it from reoccuring so quickly?

chucky

Postby chucky » February 1st, 2012, 12:59 pm

Ordered and soon to be in retail outlets throughout Trinidad & Tobago.
yhst-41771694353694_2195_94153022.jpg

Postby bushwakka » February 1st, 2012, 1:09 pm

thread should be added to or merged with this one:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=64652&hilit=headlights&start=150

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 1st, 2012, 8:38 pm

crazybalhead wrote:I uses Sonax. Works OK. And then put on a Mother's wax to protect. It not really lasting though. I tried the Turtle Wax thing, and it helped get out some deep scratches from the previous owner's dog. But it still didn't have a nice final clarity, so I used a meguiars buffing pad, with a drill, and that did the trick...almost.

Is that the Turtle Wax Scratch and Swirl Remover? Cuz I've been thinking of trying that on some scratches..

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 1st, 2012, 11:16 pm

MadCrix wrote:nah he whole car does look like that so it eh no exageration

:D :D :D :D

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 1st, 2012, 11:26 pm

I used Waxco headlight cleaner..it worked pretty good

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » February 2nd, 2012, 8:01 am

crazybalhead wrote:I uses Sonax. Works OK. And then put on a Mother's wax to protect. It not really lasting though. I tried the Turtle Wax thing, and it helped get out some deep scratches from the previous owner's dog. But it still didn't have a nice final clarity, so I used a meguiars buffing pad, with a drill, and that did the trick...almost.

Mothers Powerball for headlights or the equivalent Meguiars kit will work.

Followup with Meguiars Headlight Protectant or Wolfgang Plastic Sealant (both you'll have to buy online - check Amazon).

Acts essentially like a UV shield....should keep the headlights looking good for another 3-4 months easy.

chucky

Postby chucky » February 2nd, 2012, 8:10 am

DSM_05 wrote:

Mothers Powerball for headlights or the equivalent Meguiars kit will work.

Followup with Meguiars Headlight Protectant or Wolfgang Plastic Sealant (both you'll have to buy online - check <a class="vglnk" title="Link added by VigLink" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" href="http://www.amazon.com/">Amazon</a>).

As mentioned previously, the Meguiar's Headlight Protectant will be available at leading retail outlets very soon.

Acts essentially like a UV shield....should keep the headlights looking good for another 3-4 months easy.

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » February 2nd, 2012, 11:22 am

alyuh try rallywax nah.....exact same results in 30 seconds per light.
pluss it cheaper.
rallywax has relatively strong cleaners in it as its also good for tree sap, pitch kickup etc.

Postby SR » February 2nd, 2012, 3:32 pm

yup
easy on and off and it cheap ish

Postby S_2NR » February 3rd, 2012, 8:03 am

good thread. mothers plastic polish aint really helping
will check this out

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » January 30th, 2014, 2:15 pm

Old thread. But had to revive it. Just bought the Bars Headlight restorer today and tried it out on my van. Just did a quick thing (didn't spend plenty time) and this was the result. As far as simple goes, this was one of the best I've used, and I would recommend it. Anything better would require sand paper.

Before:

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391105249.949346.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391105286.232425.jpg

After:

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391105317.671985.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391105363.557893.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391105384.772128.jpg

Pictures don't show the difference that much. But in person, it makes a BIG difference. I'm pleased. For $25, it's worth it.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391105451.949533.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1391105475.065045.jpg

Postby cinco » January 30th, 2014, 2:24 pm

not bad but i get much better results with plast-x
this is just straight up plast-x and my buffer
before
after

before
after

Postby Spitfir3 » January 30th, 2014, 2:44 pm

@DooMRR deforq hoss yuh coulda pack up any closer to that wall? :lol:
will try that bars product my headlight looks foggy like hell

Postby noshownogo » January 30th, 2014, 3:01 pm

Need to get me some PlastX this weekend.

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » January 30th, 2014, 10:50 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:@DooMRR deforq hoss yuh coulda pack up any closer to that wall? :lol:
will try that bars product my headlight looks foggy like hell

Lol. Another wide vehicle has to park next to me under the house, so to allow room to get out the van and to walk between the vehicles, I have to park like that all the time. It becomes a norm doing it over the years.

Might try the plastx later on and compare the two. But anyone you buy, you will be satisfied. Lights show much much brighter and show the road clearer with most of the stain gone.

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 31st, 2014, 12:47 pm

results look as good as when i use a $25 bottle of waxco headlight cleaner..

Postby javishm » January 31st, 2014, 1:36 pm

autosol usually does the trick for me