DUNES and HESPERIA Magarita

Postby AllTrac » January 18th, 2012, 4:27 pm

Guys any of you have been to those hotels before in Margarita? i would like to get reviews on it, especially Dunes. Trip adviser has reviews but I would rather a local review since we know we that when a hotel here says 4 start they really mean 2 star. Is it just like those basic tobago hotels? how is staff towards Trinis? nasty toilets and sinks? etc
Thanks for the help

Re: DUNES and HESPERIA Magarita

Postby S_2NR » January 18th, 2012, 4:34 pm

laguna mar ftw.
alot of trinis myself included share this view.

but check out this thread. lots of info and pics here.
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=400837

Postby AllTrac » January 18th, 2012, 4:38 pm

Laguna Mar booked, last minute thing, meh bliss link up fall tru.

Racers Edge

Postby Racers Edge » January 18th, 2012, 4:48 pm

well I stayed at Dunes like 8 years ago..but it was fantastic... food is bess, drinks bess and senoritas muy bonita...lol....the pool is effing huge and there is a wet bar....

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 18th, 2012, 4:53 pm

carnival weekend booked.... wifey make me give up jumpin up in pos carnival tuesday for dat .. i hope its all i hear it should be

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » January 18th, 2012, 5:09 pm

Was @ Dunes last 3 mths
Overall rating I give is 8.75 out of 10
Rooms modern & clean, food is tops, women in abundance and nice beach front

Only bad thing is that to go into the capital is about a 40 minute drive.

Postby AllTrac » January 18th, 2012, 5:57 pm

nice nice, keep it coming.

Postby SR » January 18th, 2012, 6:00 pm

yup trac check dem clique fellas dem is regulars across dey

Postby SR » January 18th, 2012, 6:01 pm

but doh ask stones he does fall dong and hit he head when he see woman

Postby AllTrac » January 18th, 2012, 6:02 pm

nah i doh want to go up dey and see 2nrs, next thing is pics posting and maccomere man talk on de forum :lol:

Krystal tours have some really good packages

Postby S_2NR » January 18th, 2012, 6:04 pm

if is carnval weekend u wanna go, booking will be very difficult.
going miami for carnival this yr instead. maybe u should consider somewhere else.

Postby Greypatch » January 18th, 2012, 6:23 pm

Magarita Village Talk done

Postby A172 » January 18th, 2012, 6:50 pm

carnival costume AND vacation loan?

de phoq

Postby foss » January 18th, 2012, 7:53 pm

I wanna be like Trac when I grow up.

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2012, 7:57 pm

MonsterPower wrote:carnival weekend booked.... wifey make me give up jumpin up in pos carnival tuesday for dat .. i hope its all i hear it should be

dred :lol:

Postby SR » January 18th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Greypatch wrote:Magarita Village Talk done

look the king speaketh

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 18th, 2012, 9:41 pm

Hesperia (the bigger one) was pretty decent when I went a couple years back....(Laguna Mar was not my thing)....Decent food, nice rooms, free shuttles downtown...Was very satisfied....but that was a couple years back...

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2012, 9:44 pm

Looks like i'm the only one who not GTFO for carnival :(

Postby AllTrac » January 18th, 2012, 10:39 pm

Greypatch wrote:Magarita Village Talk done

im sold!!!

Thanks patch for your deep, enticing, detailed review, just the help i needed to make my decision.

Postby AllTrac » January 18th, 2012, 10:44 pm

S_2NR wrote:if is carnval weekend u wanna go, booking will be very difficult.
going miami for carnival this yr instead. maybe u should consider somewhere else.

Krystal tours currently have bookings available for DUNES and HESPERIA during the carnival days, hence my post. Laguna Mar is booked out. I was going orlando but i wanted to get atleast a week and a half there, we entered a huge project in work last minute so I have to be back out ash wednesday, from Friday to carnival Tuesday does make much sense for me to spend that amount to go to the US, would be able to capitalize on that if i had more days. So im looking for something from Friday to carnival Tuesday, if not then I have meh wrist band waiting in Spice, ill just grab that up.

After reading the link to the other thread, Dunes sound boring, i might miss meh carnival, 11 years strong :lol:

Postby cinco » January 18th, 2012, 10:51 pm

btw whereever u go
walk with yuh own likka margarita alco fail

Postby AllTrac » January 18th, 2012, 10:56 pm

cinco wrote:btw whereever u go

Ive been hearing this over and over, so why for for an all inclusive, i thought i was gonna drink dem out.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 19th, 2012, 12:27 am

I stayed at Dunes in 2003. They were doing some upgrades to the facility when I was there, so probably some of my comments are no longer applicable.

Room: It was okay in terms of amenities, just a bit small when compared to Laguna Mar. The architecture of the complex was better than Laguna Mar.

Staff: Generally helpful. I never had a bad experience with any of the hotel staff wherever I stayed in Margarita Island.

Food: Excellent.

Pools: One large one and a couple smaller ones, so you could find your own space. Waitresses would bring your drinks to the poolside. Did not get that service at Laguna Mar.

Beach: Like Las Cuevas in Trinidad, but better than the one at Laguna Mar.

Access to shopping areas: The drive to Porlamar is about 40 minutes as someone indicated previously. But there is a free shuttle to and from the hotel to the shopping centre, you just have to book your place on the shuttle in advance. Taxis are also cheap if you want to move about on your own.

Topless women: About the same as at Laguna Mar, only saggy breasts old German women used to go topless at the pools. Not a pretty sight at all.

I would rate Dunes way above Margarita Village, but just below Laguna Mar.

Postby AllTrac » January 19th, 2012, 5:47 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:I stayed at Dunes in 2003. They were doing some upgrades to the facility when I was there, so probably some of my comments are no longer applicable.

Room: It was okay in terms of amenities, just a bit small when compared to Laguna Mar. The architecture of the complex was better than Laguna Mar.

Staff: Generally helpful. I never had a bad experience with any of the hotel staff wherever I stayed in Margarita Island.

Food: Excellent.

Pools: One large one and a couple smaller ones, so you could find your own space. Waitresses would bring your drinks to the poolside. Did not get that service at Laguna Mar.

Beach: Like Las Cuevas in Trinidad, but better than the one at Laguna Mar.

Access to shopping areas: The drive to Porlamar is about 40 minutes as someone indicated previously. But there is a free shuttle to and from the hotel to the shopping centre, you just have to book your place on the shuttle in advance. Taxis are also cheap if you want to move about on your own.

Topless women: About the same as at Laguna Mar, only saggy breasts old German women used to go topless at the pools. Not a pretty sight at all.

I would rate Dunes way above Margarita Village, but just below Laguna Mar.

well done sir, much appreciated!

Obi-Wan

Postby Obi-Wan » January 19th, 2012, 6:53 am

Stayed at Hesperia Isla a couple years back. Hotel itself was nice, about 3-4 stars, but not much people staying there at the time. Most trinis go to Lagunamar, Portofino and Dunes. Beach wasn't bad, but not a lot of people there, a few nice things to look at. But the bigger beaches with better views ar not far away. Food was ok, don't eat beef/pork so was kinda stuck with a few options.

Postby cinco » January 19th, 2012, 6:54 am

AllTrac wrote:
cinco wrote:btw whereever u go

Ive been hearing this over and over, so why for for an all inclusive, i thought i was gonna drink dem out.

you get bottom shelf alco free all marked with the red tag as margarita allowed import
polar beer is the beer of choice none of the other alco is anything you would know.
its also specific alco so dont go and expect it to be a free for all the bartenders only make certain drinks
pina colada and "vacationy" cocktails no gin bottom of the barrel scotch

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 19th, 2012, 7:24 am

Obi-Wan wrote:Stayed at Hesperia Isla a couple years back. Food was ok, don't eat beef/pork so was kinda stuck with a few options.

Dey does have rabbit in the buffet normel normel...

Postby tr1ad » January 19th, 2012, 7:56 am

AllTrac wrote:Guys any of you have been to those hotels before in Margarita? i would like to get reviews on it, especially Dunes. Trip adviser has reviews but I would rather a local review since we know we that when a hotel here says 4 start they really mean 2 star. Is it just like those basic tobago hotels? how is staff towards Trinis? nasty toilets and sinks? etc
Thanks for the help

my angus is prepared

Postby Dizzy28 » January 19th, 2012, 8:22 am

Went to Dunes bout a year and a half ago. Most ah the above comments are applicable. Stayed in a relatively newer part which had its own restaurant and pool and so forth. To access the main hotel building which has the big pool, Italian restaurant, beach access etc. required using the shuttle.

I felt the rooms whilst new with flat screens and all were a bit small and I am 6'4" and barely fit on the bed.

The below pic is the wing where I stayed.

Postby AllTrac » January 19th, 2012, 9:25 am

Thanks Dizzy!